DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/16/25 and 12/28/23 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 19, 27, 29, filed 1/30/26, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7-9 of the applicant’s response, the applicant argues that the cited portions of Davydov does not teach “receive a downlink control information(DCI) that schedules multiple physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) and indicates whether each of the PUSCHs is scheduled as a single transmission points (S-TRP) or multiple (M-TRP)” .
Regarding the arguments above, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Davydov [0028] teaches that a DCI is received that schedules multiple PUSCH. These are taught with repetitions of PUSCH. In the cited/mapped example of the examiner, multiple repetitions of a multi-TRP mode. Here [0028-0029], the DCI indicates that each of the two repetitions are scheduled as a multiple (M-TRP). The first repetition is part of a m-TRP mode and the second repetition is as well. Therefore, as the claim language reads, Davydov does teach the argued limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2, 5-7, 15, 19-20, 22-25, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Davydov et al (Pub No: 2024/0187172).
As to claim 1, Davydov teaches an apparatus for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (Davydov, [0028], a UE) , comprising: at least one processor and a memory configured (Davydov, [0075], a processor and memory) to:
receive a downlink control information (DCI) (Davydov, [0028], a UE receives DCI from a TRP) that schedules multiple physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (Davydov, [0015][0016], the DCI schedules multiple PUSCH (repetitions)) and indicates whether each of the PUSCHs is scheduled as a single transmission reception points (S-TRP) or multiple TRP (M-TRP) transmission (Davydov, [0028] [0029], indicate that each repetition operates under the multi-TRP mode); and
transmit each of the PUSCHs to one or more of the TRPs in accordance with information indicated in the DCI (Davydov, Fig 3 [0028], 315 transmit the first and second PUSCH to the multiple TRP as indicated in the DCI received).
As to claim 2, Davydov teaches wherein the DCI comprises one or more bits that indicate whether the PUSCHs are S-TRP or M-TRP transmissions (Davydov, [0025], 2 bits in the DCI to indicate the PUSCH is sTRP or mTRP).
As to claim 5, Davydov teaches wherein the DCI indicates at least one of: one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicators (SRIs) (Davydov, [0023], the DCI indicates one or more SRI fields).
As to claim 6, Davydov teaches wherein the one or more TI states or one or more SRIs are applied to all scheduled PUSCH transmissions (Davydov, Table 3 SRI applied to all Tx PUSCH).
As to claim 7, Davydov teaches wherein: all PUSCH transmissions are associated with a same TRP (Davydov, [0028] [0029] Fig 1, the PUSCH transmissions in sTRP and mTRP are associated with TRP 1); and the DCI indicates a single SRI applied to all scheduled PUSCH transmissions (Davydov, Table 3 SRI applied to all Tx PUSCH).
As to claim 15, Davydov teaches wherein the DCI indicates at least one of: a transmission power control (TPC) command indicated per PUSCH or common to all the PUSCHs (Davydov, Table 1-3, a power control indication for transmitting the PUSCHs).
As to claim 19, Davydov teaches an apparatus for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising: at least one processor and a memory configured (Davydov, Fig 1, a TRP with processor and memory) to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a downlink control information (DCI) (Davydov, [0028], a UE receives DCI from a TRP) that schedules multiple physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (Davydov, [0015][0016], the DCI schedules multiple PUSCH (repetitions)) and indicates whether each of the PUSCHs is scheduled as a single transmission reception points (S-TRP) or multiple TRP (M-TRP) transmission (Davydov, [0028] [0029], indicate that each repetition operates under the multi-TRP mode) ; and receive each of the PUSCHs, via one or more of the TRPs, in accordance with information indicated in the DCI (Davydov, Fig 3 [0028], 315 receives the first and second PUSCH to the multiple TRP as indicated in the DCI).
As to claim 20, Davydov teaches wherein the DCI comprises one or more bits that indicate whether the PUSCHs are S-TRP or M-TRP transmissions (Davydov, [0025], 2 bits in the DCI to indicate the PUSCH is sTRP or mTRP).
As to claim 22, Davydov teaches wherein the one or more bits indicate whether all PUSCHs are S-TRP or all PUSCHs are M-TRP transmissions (Davydov, [0028] [0029], indicate that each repetition operates under the multi-TRP mode as a whole).
As to claim 23, Davydov teaches wherein the DCI indicates at least one of: one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicators (SRIs) (Davydov, [0023], the DCI indicates one or more SRI fields).
As to claim 24, Davydov teaches wherein the one or more TCI states or one or more SRIs are applied to all scheduled PUSCH transmissions (Davydov, Table 3 SRI applied to all Tx PUSCH).
As to claim 25, Davydov teaches wherein: all PUSCH transmissions are associated with a same TRP (Davydov, [0028] [0029] Fig 1, the PUSCH transmissions in sTRP and mTRP are associated with TRP 1); and the DCI indicates a single TCI state or SRI applied to all scheduled PUSCH transmissions (Davydov, Table 3 SRI applied to all Tx PUSCH).
As to claim 27, Davydov teaches a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (Davydov, [0028] Fig 3 a method by a UE), comprising:
receiving a downlink control information (DCI) (Davydov, [0028], a UE receives DCI from a TRP) that schedules multiple physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (Davydov, [0015][0016], the DCI schedules multiple PUSCH (repetitions)) and indicates whether each of the PUSCHs is scheduled as a single transmission reception point (S-TRP) or multiple TRP (M-TRP) transmission (Davydov, [0028] [0029], indicate that each repetition operates under the multi-TRP mode); and transmitting each of the PUSCHs to one or more of the TRPs in accordance with information indicated in the DCI (Davydov, Fig 3 [0028], 315 transmit the first and second PUSCH to the multiple TRP as indicated in the DCI received).
As to claim 28, Davydov teaches wherein the DCI comprises one or more bits that indicate whether the PUSCHs are S-TRP or M-TRP transmissions (Davydov, [0025], 2 bits in the DCI to indicate the PUSCH is sTRP or mTRP).
As to claim 29, Davydov teaches a method for wireless communications by a network entity (Davydov, [0028] Fig 3, a method by a TRP, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a downlink control information (DCI) (Davydov, [0028], a UE receives DCI from a TRP) that schedules multiple physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (Davydov, [0015][0016], the DCI schedules multiple PUSCH (repetitions))and indicates whether each of the PUSCHs is scheduled as a single transmission reception points (S-TRP) or multiple TRP (M-TRP) transmission (Davydov, [0028] [0029], indicate that each repetition operates under the multi-TRP mode); and receiving each of the PUSCHs, via one or more of the TRPs, in accordance with information indicated in the DCI (Davydov, Fig 3 [0028], 315 receives the first and second PUSCH to the multiple TRP as indicated in the DCI).
As to claim 30, Davydov teaches wherein the DCI comprises one or more bits that indicate whether the PUSCHs are S-TRP or M-TRP transmissions (Davydov, [0025], 2 bits in the DCI to indicate the PUSCH is sTRP or mTRP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov as applied to claims above, and further in view of Oppo: “Discussion on Beam Management for New SCSs”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106-e, R1-2107240, Aug 16-27 2021, as disclosed in the IDS.
As to claim 3, Davydov teaches one or more bits that indicate that PUSCH is an S-TRP or M-TRP transmission.
Davydov does not explicitly teach per scheduled PUSCH, that indicate whether that PUSCH is an S-TRP or M-TRP transmission.
However, Oppo teaches per scheduled PUSCH, that indicate whether that PUSCH is an S-TRP or M-TRP transmission. (Oppo, Section 2.2 Proposal 2 Fig 1&2, a single DCI with multiple PUSCH each indicating sTRP or mTRP, for each).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “per PUSCH indication” as taught by Oppo in the system of Davydov, so that it would provide a method of enhanced beam management (Oppo, Section 1).
As to claim 4, the combination of Davydov and Oppo teaches wherein the one or more bits indicate whether all PUSCHs are S-TRP or all PUSCHs are M-TRP transmissions (Davydov, [0028] [0029], indicate that each repetition operates under the multi-TRP mode as a whole).
As to claim 21, Davydov teaches one or more bits that indicate that PUSCH is an S-TRP or M-TRP transmission.
Davydov does not explicitly teach per scheduled PUSCH, that indicate whether that PUSCH is an S-TRP or M-TRP transmission.
However, Oppo teaches per scheduled PUSCH, that indicate whether that PUSCH is an S-TRP or M-TRP transmission. (Oppo, Section 2.2 Proposal 2 Fig 1&2, a single DCI with multiple PUSCH each indicating sTRP or mTRP, for each).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “per PUSCH indication” as taught by Oppo in the system of Davydov, so that it would provide a method of enhanced beam management (Oppo, Section 1).
Claims 8-13, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov as applied to claims above, and further in view of Kim et al (Pub No: 2021/0307070)
As to claim 8, Davydov teaches a DCI (Davydov, [0028], a UE receives DCI from a TRP).
Davydov does not explicitly teach a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field that indicates time domain resources for the multiple PUSCHs.
However, Kim teaches a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field that indicates time domain resources for the multiple PUSCHs (Kim, [0299], a TDRA field for resources for the PUSCH instances).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “TDRA” as taught by Kim in the system of Davydov, so that it would provide ultra-reliability and low latency communications (Kim, [0005]).
As to claim 9, the combination of Davydov and Kim teaches wherein each PUSCH has a separate start and length indicator vector (SLIV) (Kim, [0299], PUSCH instances have a SLIV), a mapping type (Davydov, [0028], the mapping type being s or m), and an offset between a slot in which the DCI is received and the PUSCH is scheduled (Kim, [00259], an offset for the TPC field in DCI).
As to claim 10, the combination of Davydov and Kim teaches wherein the DCI also indicates: a repetition number per PUSCH or a repetition number common to all the PUSCHs (Kim, [0336], a RV is indicated).
As to claim 11, the combination of Davydov and Kim teaches wherein the TDRA indicates time domain resources for two PUSCH occasions (Kim, [0299], a TDRA field for resources for the PUSCH instances) for a PUSCH scheduled as an M-TRP transmission to two TRPs (Davydov, Fig 3 [0028], an mTRP PUSCH to two TRPs).
As to claim 12, Davydov teaches a DCI (Davydov, [0028], a UE receives DCI from a TRP).
Davydov does not explicitly teach wherein the DCI comprises a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) field applied to all of the scheduled PUSCHs.
However, Kim teaches a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) field applied to all of the scheduled PUSCHs (Kim, [0540], a FDRA for the PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “FDRA” as taught by Kim in the system of Davydov, so that it would provide ultra-reliability and low latency communications (Kim, [0005]).
As to claim 13, the combination of Davydov and Kim teaches wherein the FDRA indicates frequency domain resources for two PUSCH occasions (Kim, [0540], a FDRA for the PUSCH). for a PUSCH scheduled as an M-TRP transmission to two TRPs (Davydov, Fig 3 [0028], an mTRP PUSCH to two TRPs).
As to claim 26, Davydov teaches wherein the DCI comprises a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field that indicates time domain resources for the multiple PUSCHs , Davydov teaches a DCI (Davydov, [0028], a UE receives DCI from a TRP).
Davydov does not explicitly teach a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field that indicates time domain resources for the multiple PUSCHs.
However, Kim teaches a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field that indicates time domain resources for the multiple PUSCHs (Kim, [0299], a TDRA field for resources for the PUSCH instances).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “TDRA” as taught by Kim in the system of Davydov, so that it would provide ultra-reliability and low latency communications (Kim, [0005]).
Claims 14, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov as applied to claims above, and further in view of Noh et al (Pub No: 2022/0278802)
As to claim 14, Davydov teaches a DCI (Davydov, [0028], a UE receives DCI from a TRP).
Davydov does not explicitly teach the DCI indicates one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) code division multiplexed (CDM) groups applied to all of the scheduled PUSCHs.
However, Noh teaches DCI indicates one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) code division multiplexed (CDM) groups applied to all of the scheduled PUSCHs. (Noh, [0172], the DCI indicates DMRS CDM groups applied to PUSCH and without).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “DMRS CDM group indication” as taught by Noh in the system of Davydov, because it teaches well knows fields indicated in a DCI format (Noh, [0144]).
As to claim 16, Davydov teaches a DCI (Davydov, [0028], a UE receives DCI from a TRP).
Davydov does not explicitly teach wherein the DCI indicates: at least one precoder indication and at least one demodulation reference signal (DMRS) phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) association indication.
However, Noh teaches the DCI indicates: at least one precoder indication and at least one demodulation reference signal (DMRS) phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) association indication. (Noh, [0176], PTRS association and [0171] precoding information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “precoding indication and PTRS association” as taught by Noh in the system of Davydov, because it teaches well knows fields indicated in a DCI format (Noh, [0144]).
As to claim 17, the combination of Davydov and Noh teaches wherein the at least one precoder indication indicates: a single SRI common to all the PUSCHs (Davydov, Table 3 SRI applied to all Tx PUSCH).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang et al (Pub No: 2022/0132534) [0427] [0435].
Lim et al (Pub No: 2022/0312337) [0516]
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469