DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the more than one through hole (claimed as at least one) in claim 1 and the subject matter of claim 9 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: rotating element in claim 1; and sealing group in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “rotating element” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Disclosure of the rotating element as including a signaling cam creates a lack of clarity as to its structure because it is unclear how the element is considered a cam that signals. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 1 recites “a joint . . . having at least one through hole disposed to be hit on a first side by a first end of said rotating element” in Lines 8-10. The phrase “to be” infers an indeterminate point in time, which creates vagueness within the claim. Additionally, it is unclear how the through hole is “to be hit” by a first end of the rotating element. That is, it is unclear what is required by the first end being so “hit.” Appropriate correction required.
Claim 1 recites “said through hole” in Line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. The claim previously refers to “at least one through hole.” Appropriate correction required.
Claim 3 recites “a first annular gasket arranged to be in contact with said first end” in Lines 2-3. The phrase “to be” infers an indeterminate point in time, which creates vagueness within the claim. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 4 recites “a second annular gasket arranged to be in contact with said first end” in Lines 2-3. The phrase “to be” infers an indeterminate point in time, which creates vagueness within the claim. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 4 recites “spaced from said first annular gasket to identify a space for retaining lubricant of said first annular gasket.” The metes and bounds of “identifying a space” in this context are not clearly delineated. If the spacing between the gaskets merely provides space for retaining lubricant, the claim must be amended to clearly set that relationship forth. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 7 recites “said container is shaped to make a stable coupling with said joint in said through hole.” The phrase “to make” infers a future point in time such that it is unclear whether the container is coupled to the joint or that it will, at some point, be coupled to the joint. Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saccardo et al. (WO 2020/174272 A1) in view of Kubala (US Pub. No. 2008/0016950 A1).
(Claim 1) Saccardo et al. (“Saccardo”) discloses an electrospindle (1) having a motor (2) for moving a tool (clm. 1); a pulling shaft (3) configured to be operatively couplable coupled to the tool and operatively coupled to said motor (2) for a transmission of motion from said motor (2) to the tool; a rotating element (7) operatively connected to said pulling shaft (3); and a joint (6) stably coupled to said motor (2) and having a through hole (for receiving 7; Fig. 2), as best understood, disposed to be hit in on a first side by at least a first end of said rotating element (4). The joint (6) is provided with a fitting (8) for connection to a water supply pipe in said electrospindle (Fig. 2 showing drawbar 3 having channel therein for transfer of liquid). The fitting (8) is arranged at a second side of said through hole opposite to said first side (Fig. 2). Saccardo does not explicitly disclose the joint (6) having a water sensor interposed between said fitting (8) and said first side of said through hole so as to detect a passage of water from said through hole toward said motor.
Kubala discloses a water sensor (25, 325) interposed between said fitting (Fig. 3) and a first side of said through hole so as to detect a passage of water from said through hole (Figs. 1-4). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the electrospindle disclosed in Saccardo with a water sensor as suggested by Kubala in order to indicate leakage of fluid into areas that may be harmed by the fluid and/or stop a machine based upon the detection (¶¶ 0020-0023, 0042-0045).
(Claims 2-4) Saccaro does not explicitly disclose the joint (5) having a sealing group interposed between said fitting (8) and said water sensor and arranged circumferentially to1 said first end of said rotating element.
Kubala discloses a sealing group (11, 21) interposed between the fitting (Fig. 3) and the water sensor (315) and arranged circumferentially to a first end of a rotating element. The sealing group includes a first annular gasket (11) arranged to be in contact with said first end of said one rotating element. The sealing group (12) includes a second annular gasket (21) arranged to be in contact with said first end of said rotating element and spaced from said first annular gasket to identify a space for retaining lubricant of said first annular gasket (Figs. 1, 3; ¶ 0021). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the electrospindle disclosed in Saccaro with a sealing group as suggested by Kubala in order to prevent fluid from moving into sensitive areas of the device (¶¶ 0020-0023, 0042-0045).
(Claim 5) In the modified device, said water sensor includes an electrically conductive annular body (Kubala Fig. 2) arranged circumferentially to said first end of said at least one rotating element (Saccaro 7) and separate therefrom so as to avoid an electrical contact between said electrically conductive annular body and said at least one rotating element (Kubala Figs. 1, 3, 4).
(Claim 6) The water sensor includes a container (Kubala 207) for said electrically conductive annular body (Kubala 203).
(Claim 7) In the modified device, said container (Kubala 207) is shaped to make a stable coupling with said joint (Saccaro 6) in said through hole (Saccaro Fig. 2). That is, the container disposed about the electrically conductive annular body is disposed within a recess of to retain the sensor therein. The same would exist in the modification to dispose the sensor about the rotating element.
(Claim 8) The container (Kubala 207) includes an electrically insulating material arranged so as to ensure an electrical insulation between said electrically conductive annular body (Kubala 203) and said joint (Saccaro 6).
(Claim 9) Saccaro does not explicitly disclose a relay having a movable contact and a drive circuit, said movable contact being electrically interposed between an electric power supply of said electrospindle and said electrospindle, said drive circuit being electrically interposed between the electric power supply and said water sensor. Yet, Kubala does disclose that circuitry may be present to indicate leakage or even stop the machinery attached to the device (i.e., stop or shutdown spindle) (¶¶ 0020-0023, 0042-0045). Furthermore, such a claimed arrangement is well-known in the art, the fact of which examiner takes official notice thereof. As such, at a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed arrangement to the modified device of Saccaro as is well-known in the art or is taught by Kubala in order to protect components from the fluid leak.
Conclusion
/RYAN RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722
1 This is interpreted as “about.”