DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/28/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Meng et al. (US 2023/0397151).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 17, and 26, Meng discloses a location server, a method performed by the location server in a wireless network for position determination of a user equipment (UE) in the wireless network, a network node, an a method performed the network node , the method comprising:
sending positioning assistance data for the UE to a network node comprising configuration information for a plurality of positioning reference signal (PRS) resources for the network node to measure (paragraph [0075], [0091], [0101]; e.g., the location server 310 may send some configurations as the assistance information to guide the UE 305 to segment the PRS measurement);
sending a request to the network node indicating that the network node is to determine a subset of the plurality of the PRS resources for which measurement information is to be included in a location information report based on measured multipath characteristics of the PRS resources (paragraphs [0075], [0078], [0166], [0171]; e.g., the measurement of the PRSs may be performed by the first device 110 in response to a location information request from the second device 120. In this example, the configuration may be included in the location information request as assistance information) and (paragraph [0076]; e.g., the configuration may include line-of-sight (LoS) or non-line-of-sight (NLoS) requirement of PRSs);
receiving the location information report from the network node including the measurement information for the subset of the plurality of the PRS resources based on the measured multipath characteristics of the PRS resources (paragraphs [0009], [0054], [0065], [0096], [0144]; e.g., the UE should wait to measure the PRSs from all the configured cells, and then start to prepare data and further report the total measurement results in a measurement report to the location server).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Meng discloses the method and the location server of claims 1 and 9, wherein the request to the network node is a request for a location information report for position determination of the UE (paragraphs [0091]-[0093]; e.g., the location server 310 sends (325) a location information request to the UE 305).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Meng discloses the method and the location server of claims 1 and 9, further comprising: determining a position estimate for the UE based on the measurement information in the location information report received from the network node (paragraph [0100]; e.g., the location server 310 estimates (345) the location of the UE 305 based on the measurement report).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Meng discloses the method and the location server of claims 1 and 9, wherein an order of the measurement information for the subset of the plurality of the PRS resources in the location information report is based on the measured multipath characteristics of the PRS resources (paragraphs [0104], [0106], [0115]; e.g., the first device 110 performs measurement of a subset (referred to as a first subset) of PRSs from a set of PRSs).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Meng discloses the method and the location server of claims 1 and 9, wherein the measured multipath characteristics of the PRS resources comprises a number of multipath components detected for the PRS resources (paragraphs [0136], [0144]; e.g., a number of resources for positioning reference signals to be measured for the measurement report, quality requirement of measurement of positioning reference signals for the measurement report, or line-of-sight requirement of positioning reference signals for the measurement report).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Meng discloses the method and the location server of claims 1 and 9, wherein the measured multipath characteristics of the PRS resources comprises a strength metric of multipath components detected for the PRS resources (paragraphs [0076], [0080], [0092]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Meng discloses the method and the location server of claims 1 and 9, wherein the measured multipath characteristics of the PRS resources comprises a time domain span of multipath components detected for the PRS resources (paragraphs [0046], [0092], [0159]).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Meng discloses the method and the location server of claims 1 and 9, wherein the location information report from the network node with the measurement information for the subset of the plurality of the PRS resources comprises a number of multipath components detected for each PRS resource (paragraphs [0076], [0106], [0115]; e.g., a number of resources for PRSs to be measured for the measurement report, quality requirement of measurement of PRSs for the measurement report, or LoS requirement of PRSs for the measurement report).
Regarding claims 18 and 27, Meng discloses the method and the network node of claims 17 and 26, further comprising receiving a request from the location server indicating that the UE is to determine the subset of the plurality of the PRS resources for which the measurement information is to be included in the location information report based on the measured multipath characteristics of the PRS resources (resources (paragraphs [0075], [0078], [0166], [0171]; e.g., the measurement of the PRSs may be performed by the first device 110 in response to a location information request from the second device 120. In this example, the configuration may be included in the location information request as assistance information).
Regarding claims 19 and 28, Meng discloses the method and the network node of claims 17 and 26, wherein the request is a request for a location information report for position determination of the UE (paragraph [0100]; e.g., the location server 310 estimates (345) the location of the UE 305 based on the measurement report).
Regarding claims 20 and 29, Meng discloses the method and the network node of claims 17 and 26, wherein measuring multipath characteristics of the PRS resources comprises determining a number of multipath components for each PRS resource (paragraphs [0076], [0106], [0115]; e.g., a number of resources for PRSs to be measured for the measurement report, quality requirement of measurement of PRSs for the measurement report, or LoS requirement of PRSs for the measurement report).
Regarding claims 21 and 30, Meng discloses the method and the network node of claims 17 and 26, wherein an order of the measurement information for the subset of the plurality of the PRS resources in the location information report is based on the measured multipath characteristics of the PRS resources (paragraphs [0075], [0078], [0166], [0171]; e.g., the measurement of the PRSs may be performed by the first device 110 in response to a location information request from the second device 120. In this example, the configuration may be included in the location information request as assistance information).
Regarding claims 22 and 31, Meng discloses the method and the network node of claims 17 and 26, wherein the measured multipath characteristics of the PRS resources comprises a number of multipath components detected for the PRS resources (paragraphs [0076], [0106], [0115]; e.g., a number of resources for PRSs to be measured for the measurement report, quality requirement of measurement of PRSs for the measurement report, or LoS requirement of PRSs for the measurement report).
Regarding claims 23 and 32, Meng discloses the method and the network node of claims 17 and 26, wherein the measured multipath characteristics of the PRS resources comprises a strength metric of multipath components detected for the PRS resources (paragraphs [0076], [0080], [0092]).
Regarding claims 24 and 33, Meng discloses the method and the network node of claims 17 and 26, wherein the measured multipath characteristics of the PRS resources comprises a time domain span of multipath components detected for the PRS resources (paragraphs [0046], [0092], [0159]).
Regarding claims 25 and 34, Meng discloses the method and the network node of claims 17 and 26, further comprising including a number of multipath components detected for each PRS resource in the location information report (paragraphs [0136], [0144]).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648