DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-12 are currently pending. Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-12 are rejected despite Applicant amendments/arguments filed 07/24/2026. A response to Applicant’s arguments is found at the end of this Office action. This Office action is final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laffin (US 2022/0362682 A1) in view of Snyder et al. (US 2017/0225084 A1)
Referring to Claim 1: Laffin teaches an amusement park ride (100), comprising at least one car (110) which can be moved along a route with a first orientation in a direction of exit (260) from an exit (124) from an amusement park ride area and into which the at least one car returns with a direction of entry (210) after the route via an entrance (120) (Fig. 2) (Para. [0023]),
wherein the amusement park ride area and the route are configured such that the at least one car, while maintaining its direction of travel, enters the entrance (120) of the amusement park ride area with a direction of entry (210) that is opposite to the previous direction of exit (260) in order to travel the route on a subsequent route in a second orientation opposite to the first orientation (Para. [0034]) (Fig. 2),
wherein the exit (124) and the entrance (120) of the route are on a front of the amusement park ride area (100) (Fig. 2) (Para. [0023]), wherein the at least one car (110) is coupled to a route section (180) in a region of the amusement park ride area and can be moved together with the route section during a vertical movement in the region of the amusement park ride area (Para. [0034]).
Laffin teaches vertical movement rather than lateral movement. However,
Snyder teaches an amusement park ride, wherein the exit (110A) and the entrance (110B) of the route are on a front of the amusement park ride area (100) (Fig. 1) (Para. [0033]), wherein the at least one car (105) is coupled to a route section (125) in a region of the amusement park ride area and can be moved together with the route section during a lateral movement in the region of the amusement park ride area (Fig. 9) (Para. [0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Laffin to move the car laterally with the route section, as taught by Snyder, in order to enhance the rider experience by providing varied track components and movements with a reasonable expectation of success.
Referring to Claim 3: Laffin further teaches an amusement park ride (100), wherein the exit (124) and the entrance (120) are offset in height from one another (Fig. 2).
Referring to Claim 5: Laffin teaches an amusement park ride (100), wherein the amusement park ride area has a lowering device (140), via which the car (110) can be moved from an upper position to a lower position in order to leave the amusement park ride area from there via the exit thereof, wherein the car can be moved into the entrance (120) of the amusement park ride area in the lower position after traveling the route (Fig. 2).
As noted by strikethrough above, Laffin teaches a lowering device (Fig. 2) rather than a lifting device. However, Snyder teaches an amusement ride, wherein the amusement park ride area has a lifting device (115), via which the car (105) can be moved from a lower position to an upper position in order to leave the amusement park ride area from there via the exit thereof (Fig. 1) (Para. [0027]), wherein the car can be moved into the entrance (110) of the amusement park ride area in the lower position after traveling the route (Fig. 1) (Para. [0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Laffin to replace the lowering device with a lifting device, as taught by Snyder, in order to allow the car to be raised to a starting position while simultaneously switching the orientation with a reasonable expectation of success.
Referring to Claim 8: Laffin further teaches an amusement park ride (100), wherein the route is at least partially designed as a rail route (Fig. 1B) (Para. [0019])
Referring to Claim 9: Laffin further teaches an amusement park ride (100), wherein the ride area is a station where passengers can board the at least one car (Para. [0023]).
Referring to Claim 10: Laffin further teaches an amusement park ride (100), wherein the first orientation comprises a forward orientation (Para. [0034], last sentence).
Referring to Claim 11: Laffin further teaches an amusement park ride (100), wherein the second orientation comprises a backward orientation (Para. [0034], last sentence).
Referring to Claim 12: Laffin further teaches an amusement park ride (100), wherein the at least one car (110) and the route section (180) can be further moved together during a vertical movement in the region of the amusement park ride area (Fig. 2) (Para. [0034]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laffin in view of Snyder and DE 10160039 C1 (hereinafter “Walser”).
Referring to Claim 4: Laffin does not specifically teach that the exit (C) and the entrance (D) are laterally offset from one another. However, Walser teaches an amusement ride, wherein the exit (10) and the entrance (9) are laterally offset from one another (Figs. 1 and 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Laffin to add a lifting area with a laterally offset entrance and exit, as taught by Walser, in order to enable backward/forward vehicle orientation switching in another area of the ride and thereby increase versatility with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laffin in view of Snyder and DE 202020101431 U1 (hereinafter “Hereus”).
Referring to Claim 6: Laffin does not specifically teach that the route (20) in the region of the amusement park ride area (30) has a switch (24) and a route section (25), which can be traveled both when exiting and entering the amusement park ride area (30). However, DE 202020101431 teaches an amusement ride (1), wherein the route (2) in the region of the amusement park ride area (22-24) has a switch (9) and a route section (7), which can be traveled both when exiting and entering (18, 19) the amusement park ride area (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Laffin to add a switch to the route, as taught by Hereus, in order to enable backward/forward vehicle orientation switching in another area of the ride and thereby increase versatility with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the anticipation rejection, Applicant argues that Laffin fails to teach that the car and route section move together laterally, as recited in amended claim 1. Examiner agrees and has introduced Snyder to teach this amended limitation, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 seen above.
Regarding the obviousness rejection, Applicant argues that Laffin, Walser and Hereus fail to teach that the car and route section move together laterally, as recited in amended claim 1. Examiner agrees and has introduced Snyder to teach this amended limitation, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 seen above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY L KUHFUSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615A