DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US Publ. 2014/0337490 A1) further in view of Papa et al. (US Patent 9386480 B2).
In regards to claims 1-2 and 13-14 Zhao et al. (US Publ. 2014/0337490 A1) teaches, a method for managing communications in a wireless network, the method comprising: collecting, by a wireless network controller, information regarding one or more key performance indicators (KPIs) (see paragraph 90; The monitoring module 421 is configured to monitor the key performance indicator after the SON function is started), wherein the information relates to one or more of a ranking of the one or more KPIs and a target value of the one or more KPIs (see paragraph 90; the terminating or triggering module 422 is configured to terminate the running of the SON function or trigger another SON function if the running of the SON function leads to that the key performance indicator is lower than the target value or a threshold value of the target value; see paragraph 47 and figure 2; multiple KPIs may exist, and a priority sequence is set between or among these KPIs. In this case, whether a SON function reaches or is better than the target value may be determined according to the priority sequence of these KPIs in the Step S122); determining, by the wireless network controller, an optimal configuration of the wireless network that best meets the collected information relating to the one or more KPIs (see figure 3, steps S120 and S130 and paragraphs 34 and 64; Coordinate running of the self organizing network function according to the coordination parameter; Return or notify a result or a state of the running of the self organizing network function, where the result or the state serves as a running state parameter for coordinating a next SON function).
In further regards to claims 1-2, Zhao fails to teach, assigning, by the wireless network controller, a role to each of one or more network devices associated with the wireless network based on the optimal configuration of the wireless network, wherein the role is selected from a gateway (GW), a mesh node, a cellular node and an end node (EN) and wherein the wireless network controller assigns a role to each of a plurality of network devices.
Papa et al. (US Patent 9386480 B2) teaches, assigning, by the wireless network controller, a role to each of one or more network devices associated with the wireless network based on the optimal configuration of the wireless network, wherein the role is selected from a gateway (GW), a mesh node, a cellular node and an end node (EN) (see column 5, lines 47-59; Either the first or the second mesh node may be enabled to dynamically switch between the two roles based on traffic conditions at a given time. The UE functionality and the eNodeB functionality may be considered to be roles that may be simultaneously adopted by a single mesh node, and that may be subject to switching and coordination. Additionally, combinations with more than two functionalities may be supported, e.g., multiple eNodeB functionalities may be provided for a single network node) and wherein the wireless network controller assigns a role to each of a plurality of network devices (see column 5, lines 47-59; The UE functionality and the eNodeB functionality may be considered to be roles that may be simultaneously adopted by a single mesh node, and that may be subject to switching and coordination; reads on role assignment to a network device).
Zhao and Papa both relate to wireless self-organizing networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the role changing as taught by Papa into the teachings of Zhao. The motivation to do so would be to provide efficient quality of service by prioritizing downstream and upstream traffic at different times (see column 5, lines 47-50).
In regards to claims 3 and 15, Zhao teaches, wherein the one or more KPIs includes one or more of: a monthly operating cost, a device originated (DO) latency, a device terminated (DT) latency, a data volume, a data rate, a reliability, a network geographical topology, a number of devices per gateway (GW), a length of a device discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, a maximum number of mesh hops, a number of GWs within a coverage area of the one or more the network devices, a coverage level, an aggregation level, a radio frequency (RF) link quality information, remaining battery capacity and a power consumption, wherein the KPIs apply to at least one of the network devices (see paragraph 46; KPI includes a handover success rate and a rate reflecting a quality of service).
In regards to claims 4 and 16 Zhao teaches, wherein the wireless network controller estimates a value of one or more KPIs that are uncollected (see paragraph 137; mobility load balance (MLB) monitoring during adjustment period of the mobility robust optimization (MRO) is invalid, as the network is being adjusted, a period needs to be set when the MLB is stared, to indicate a period from a starting moment of the MRO adjustment to an end, moment of the MRO adjustment, and the validity of data monitored by the MLB in the period needs to be estimated again).
In regards to claims 5 and 17 Zhao teaches, wherein the one or more KPIs are related to each other (see paragraph 46; when KPI includes a handover success rate and a rate reflecting a quality of service, a threshold value of the handover success rate may be set as 100%, and a threshold value of the rate may be set as 80%. That means, the requirement to the handover success rate is that 100% of the target value is met, and the requirement to the rate is that it is fine as long as 80% of the target value is met).
In regards to claims 6 and 18 Zhao teaches, initiating, by the wireless network controller, a link quality evaluation (LQE) process to update RF link quality information (see paragraph 37; The execution sequence is used to indicate an execution sequence between a current SON function and another SON function. It is because that running of a SON function may change some configuration of a network, and then another SON function needs to be invoked to readjust the network, so as to ensure a quality of service).
In regards to claims 7 and 19, Zhao teaches, wherein the LQE process includes: transmitting, by the wireless network controller, a configuration message to one or more network devices, wherein the configuration message indicates a timing of transmission of a signal for evaluating the RF link quality; transmitting, by one of the one or more network devices, the signal; measuring and recording, by remaining one or more network devices, a quality of the signal (see paragraph 90; he coordination module 420 further includes a monitoring module 421 and a terminating or triggering module 422. The monitoring module 421 is configured to monitor the key performance indicator after the SON function is started; and the terminating or triggering module 422 is configured to terminate the running of the SON function or trigger another SON function if the running of the SON function leads to that the key performance indicator is lower than the target value or a threshold value of the target value); and transmitting, by each network device, an LQE report to the wireless network controller, the LQE report based on the measurement of the quality of the signal (see paragraph 127; an UE needs to be selected in advance to periodically report measurement data of a neighboring cell, and the ANR like this can only run in a period of time after the running of the CCO or CODC, once lifetime expires, ANR must be terminated no matter whether a neighbor relationship is adjusted successfully or not).
Claim(s) 8-10 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US Publ. 2014/0337490 A1) in view of Papa et al. (US Patent 9386480 B2) as stated above and further in view of Van Phan et al.(WO 2015/062642 A1).
In regards to claims 8-10 and 20-22 are Zhao and Papa in combination teach all the limitations of the parent claim as stated above.
Zhao and Papa however fails to teach, wherein assigning further includes: instructing at least one of the one or more network devices to broadcast a device-to-device (D2D) synchronization signal, wherein the wireless network controller provides the at least one of the one or more network devices instructions relating to how frequently to transmit the D2D synchronization signal and wherein the wireless network controller determines a level of the D2D synchronization based on a mobility level indicated by the one or more network devices and a desired reliability level.
Van Phan teaches, wherein assigning further includes: instructing at least one of the one or more network devices to broadcast a device-to-device (D2D) synchronization signal, wherein the wireless network controller provides the at least one of the one or more network devices instructions relating to how frequently to transmit the D2D synchronization signal and wherein the wireless network controller determines a level of the D2D synchronization based on a mobility level indicated by the one or more network devices and a desired reliability level (see page 4, lines 18-31; CH 1 determines, for example, the authenticating of CH2 based on the reported information, and decides the need for possible establishment of the inter-cluster relationship with CH2. CH 1 then instructs UEk to access CH2 to request establishing the inter-cluster relationship, wherein CH 1 may exchange/provide UEk with cluster synchronization information (e.g. timing information with possible timing offsets to some preconfigured common timing references), resource allocation information (e.g . carrier informatbn, occupied ti m e-f req u e ncy-cod e-s pa ce resources, resource usage principles, etc.), possible D2D inter-cluster mobility and communication support information (e.g. possible handover of a cluster member, possible inter-cluster communication via selected members of involved clusters, restrictbn and assisting pre- configu ration thereof, etc.), existing D2D inter-cluster relationship information (identity, synchronization, resource allocation information about other clusters it has established relationship with), and so forth. CH 1 may also provide UEk with configuration information necessary to access CH2).
Van Phan, Zhao and Papa relate to network coordination.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the coordination using synchronization as taught by Van Phan into the teachings of Zhao and Papa. The motivation to do so would be implement better data forwarding via a cluster head (enodeB) that is designated as such based on mobility management.
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US Publ. 2014/0337490 A1) in view of Papa et al. (US Patent 9386480 B2) as stated above and further in view of Borsos et al.(US Publication 2023/0216737 A1).
In regards to claims 11-12, Zhao and Papa in combination teach all the limitations of the parent claims as stated above.
Papa also teaches, prioritizing downstream and upstream traffic at different times (see column 5, lines 47-50).
In further regards, Zhao and Papa fail to teach, wherein determining the optimal configuration further includes determining, by the wireless network controller, one or more predicted KPIs for multiple configurations of the wireless network and wherein the multiple configurations of the wireless network are based on the collected information.
Borsos et al.(US Publication 2023/0216737 A1) teaches, wherein determining the optimal configuration further includes determining, by the wireless network controller, one or more predicted KPIs for multiple configurations of the wireless network and wherein the multiple configurations of the wireless network are based on the collected information (see paragraphs 83 and 85; filtering out (or excluding) the contribution of the one or more factors to the KPI to identify the contribution of the change to the configuration of the network to the KPI. More specifically, the processing circuitry 12 of the first node 10 may be configured to perform this filtering. Thus, the actual impact of the applied configuration changes can be determined and the impacts caused by the variability of other factors, e.g. environmental impacts and/or noise, can be excluded. In this way, the accuracy of impact assessment can be significantly improved and further applications can be enabled by way of the method described with reference to FIG. 3. The method can be related to iterative self-organising network (SON); to determine the effect of a configuration change in a current iteration C.sup.(t) compared to a reference configuration C.sub.Ref, a predicted KPI value is compared to a reference KPI value, i.e. KPI.sup.(t) is compared to KPI.sup.(ref). Based on the difference in the KPI values, the first node 10 can assess the impact of the applied configuration C.sup.(t)).
Borsos, Zhao and Papa all relate to network performance assessment in self-organizing networks (SON).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present application to incorporate the reconfiguring according to the predicted KPI as taught by Borsos into the teachings of Zhao and Papa. The motivation to do so to improve quality of service by reconfiguration the SON based on a reasonable predictable KPIs.
Relevant Prior Art
Prior art Horemuz et al. (US Publication 2023/0062037 A1) teaches in figure 12, procedure performed by an network optimization in a wireless network. The procedure includes block 1220, in which the network optimization function can apply a multi-layer forecasting model to the first time-series data to determine second time-series data representing the plurality of KPIs for each of the plurality of cells at a second plurality of future time points (see paragraph 142).
Prior art Scott et al. (US Publication 2020/0205016 A1) teaches, an adaptive self-optimizing network using closed-loop feedback.
Conclusion
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466