DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 5, filed 04/17/2026, with respect to the objection to claim 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The Examiner is in agreement that the amendments to claim 10 correct the previously-raised informalities. Accordingly, the objection to claim 10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pgs. 5-6, filed 04/17/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The cancellation of claim 14 is acknowledged. The Examiner is in agreement that the amendments to claims 13 correct the previously-raised indefiniteness concerns with respect to “the vertical direction from the monitoring sensor in the reference attitude” and “a first angle from the monitoring sensor in the reference attitude”. The Examiner notes, however, that the amendments introduce minor informalities which are discussed in the corresponding objection to claim 13 below. Accordingly, the 35 USC 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pgs. 6-9, filed 04/17/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection of independent claim 10 and its respective dependent claims have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 10, Applicant argues that Wada and Tamura fail to teach or suggest “wherein the monitoring sensor is a laser rangefinder for swing detection of the holding unit that enables the monitoring range to be set and input,” The Examiner respectfully disagrees, and asserts that Wada teaches the above-recited features in at least [0056] and FIG. 1.
In particular, Applicant argues that “Wada changes the monitoring range by mechanically and physically rotating the sensor using an actuator – not by changing a set input to a laser rangefinder that enables the monitoring range to be set and input. Wada’s look-down sensor 48 is not disclosed as a laser rangefinder for swing detection of the holding unit, and there is no teaching in Wada that the monitoring range of the sensor can be “set and input” as a configurable parameter.” The Examiner notes, however, that Applicant’s arguments are directed towards features which are not positively recited, and are therefore unpersuasive. While Applicant’s arguments appear to suggest that the setting and inputting of the monitoring range of the sensor must be “a configurable parameter” changed through data/software input to the sensor (rather than by physically or mechanically altering the orientation of the sensor), this is not reflected in the claim language of claim 10. With respect to the monitoring range, claim 10 recites in part: “a monitoring sensor provided to the lifting drive section and configured to monitor an area below the lifting drive section and be able to change a monitoring range; and a controller configured to change the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor in accordance with information on tilt of the lifting drive section with respect to a horizontal plane, wherein the monitoring sensor is a laser rangefinder for swing detection of the holding unit that enables the monitoring range to be set and input,”. At no point does the claim require that the monitoring range is a “configurable parameter that can be changed through data/software input to the sensor, rather than by physically or mechanically altering the orientation of the sensor”. Claim 10 at most requires that: the monitoring range is (1) able to be changed, (2) the controller is configured to change the monitoring range in accordance with tilt information, (3) the monitoring sensor is a laser rangefinder that enables the monitoring range to be set and input, and (4) the controller changes the monitoring range included in a range of the area scan by changing the set input. That is, while the controller is broadly claimed as changing the monitoring range, the claim does not at any point require that this changing of the monitoring range must be a “configurable parameter that can be changed through data/software input to the sensor, rather than by physically or mechanically altering the orientation of the sensor”. Further, the Examiner respectfully notes that Tamura, not Wada, is relied upon for teaching that the monitoring sensor is a laser rangefinder for swing detection of the holding unit (see [0006] of Tamura). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 10 are unpersuasive as they are directed towards features which have not been claimed.
The Examiner asserts that Wada teaches the above-discussed features of claim 10 in at least [0056]. Here, the controller 80 determines whether the application direction (i.e., the monitoring range) of the laser light L2 should be changed in accordance with a detected inclination of the up-and-down driver 43 in the θY direction. Then, “[when] the controller 80 determines that the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed, the second correction driver 76 is driven by the adjuster 81 described below to rotate the movable portion 73 as described above, and thus the application direction of the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 can be corrected.” Here, the monitoring sensor corresponds to look-down sensor 48. The monitoring range of the monitoring sensor is input by the controller 80 by determining whether the application direction should be changed. Then, the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor is set by driving the second correction driver 76 to rotate the movable portion 73. FIG. 1, included below, demonstrates that the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor has been changed due to the above-described setting and inputting.
Accordingly, the 35 USC 103 rejection of independent claim 10 and its respective dependent claims has been maintained to account for the modified scope of the amended claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, in order to more clearly establish antecedent basis for the vertical direction and the reference attitude, “the first monitoring range is a range oriented in a first direction along the vertical direction from the monitoring sensor in the reference attitude,” should be “the first monitoring range is a range oriented in a first direction along a vertical direction from the monitoring sensor in a reference attitude,”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 10, “a holding unit adapted to be lifted and lowered and configured to hold an article,”
Paragraph [0027] discloses “The holding unit 7 is disposed on a lower side of the lifting drive unit 6. The holding unit 7 is provided to be able to be lifted and lowered by the lifting drive unit 6. The holding unit 7 includes a pair of grippers 12 that can open and close along a horizontal direction. The holding unit 7 holds a flange 201 of the FOUP 200 with the pair of grippers 12.” Therefore, the holding unit is being interpreted as including a pair of grippers. The Examiner notes that claim 10 also recites “wherein the holding unit is provided with a reflector”; however, this reflector feature does not amount to sufficient structure to perform lifting and lowering and holding an article.
In claim 10, “a lifting drive section configured to lift and lower the holding unit”
Paragraph [0027] discloses “The lifting drive unit 6 is disposed on a lower side of the theta unit 5. The lifting drive unit 6 lifts and lowers the holding unit 7 by winding or paying out a plurality of belts (suspending members) B connected to the holding unit 7.” Therefore, the lifting drive section is being interpreted as a component for winding or paying out a plurality of belts to raise or lower the holding unit.
In claim 10, “a controller configured to change the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor in accordance with information on tilt of the lifting drive section with respect to a horizontal plane,”
Paragraph [0028] discloses “The transport vehicle controller 8 is an electronic control unit constituted of a central processing unit (CPU), a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM) and the like. The transport vehicle controller 8 controls respective parts of the overhead transport vehicle 1. The transport vehicle controller 8 may be configured with a plurality of electronic control units.” Therefore, the controller is being interpreted as one or more electronic control units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13, 15-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (US 2022/0059380 A1) in view of Tamura (JP2000255975A).
Regarding claim 10, Wada teaches an overhead transport vehicle comprising:
a holding unit adapted to be lifted and lowered and configured to hold an article,
Wada teaches ([0033]): "As illustrated in FIG. 1, the conveyance vehicle 100 includes a traveling driver (traveler) 10, a coupler 30, a main body 40, and a controller 80." Wada further teaches ([0034]): "The main body 40 includes a transfer apparatus 41. The transfer apparatus 41 includes an up-and-down stage 42, an up-and-down driver 43, a sensor 44, a lateral mover 45, and a corrector 46." Wada even further teaches ([0035]): " The up-and-down stage 42 can move up and down (can move in the Z direction) with respect to the main body 40. The up-and-down stage 42 includes a gripper 42a defining and functioning as a holder to hold the article FP."
a lifting drive section configured to lift and lower the holding unit;
Wada teaches ([0036]): "The up-and-down driver 43 causes the up-and-down stage 42 to move up and down (move in the Z direction)."
a lateral transfer mechanism comprising a moving shaft configured to move the lifting drive section laterally with respect to a body section;
Wada teaches ([0039]): "The lateral mover 45 causes the up-and-down driver 43 being cantilevered to protrude laterally of the main body 40 (the X direction). The lateral mover 45 includes an upper tier portion 51, a middle tier portion 52, a lower tier portion 53, and a drive apparatus 54."
a monitoring sensor provided to the lifting drive section and configured to monitor an area below the lifting drive section and be able to change a monitoring range;
Wada teaches ([0038]): "The look-down sensor 48 applies laser light L2 toward the vicinity of a lowering destination of the up-and-down stage 42. The look-down sensor 48 applies the laser light L2 and from reflected light thereof detects whether there is a foreign object near the transfer destination S being the lowering destination of the up-and-down stage 42." Wada further teaches ([0056]): "In accordance with the protruding amount by the lateral mover 45, the inclination of the up-and-down driver in the θY direction changes. Consequently, in the present preferred embodiment, when the up-and-down driver 43 is caused to protrude by the lateral mover 45, the controller 80 determines whether the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed in accordance with the inclination of the up-and-down driver 43 in the θY direction. When the controller 80 determines that the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed, the second correction driver 76 is driven by the adjuster 81 described below to rotate the movable portion 73 as described above, and thus the application direction of the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 can be corrected."
and a controller configured to change the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor in accordance with information on tilt of the lifting drive section with respect to a horizontal plane,
Wada teaches ([0056]): "As described above, the protruding amount in the X direction by the lateral mover 45 changes by the position of the transfer destination S. In accordance with the protruding amount by the lateral mover 45, the inclination of the up-and-down driver in the θY direction changes. Consequently, in the present preferred embodiment, when the up-and-down driver 43 is caused to protrude by the lateral mover 45, the controller 80 determines whether the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed in accordance with the inclination of the up-and-down driver 43 in the θY direction. When the controller 80 determines that the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed, the second correction driver 76 is driven by the adjuster 81 described below to rotate the movable portion 73 as described above, and thus the application direction of the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 can be corrected." FIG. 1, included below, demonstrates that the lifting drive section (i.e., the up-and-down driver 43) is tilted with respect to the horizontal plane. As a result of this tilt, the application direction of the laser light L2 is changed, thereby changing the monitoring range of the look-down sensor 48.
wherein the monitoring sensor… enables the monitoring range to be set and input,
Wada teaches ([0056]): "As described above, the protruding amount in the X direction by the lateral mover 45 changes by the position of the transfer destination S. In accordance with the protruding amount by the lateral mover 45, the inclination of the up-and-down driver in the θY direction changes. Consequently, in the present preferred embodiment, when the up-and-down driver 43 is caused to protrude by the lateral mover 45, the controller 80 determines whether the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed in accordance with the inclination of the up-and-down driver 43 in the θY direction. When the controller 80 determines that the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed, the second correction driver 76 is driven by the adjuster 81 described below to rotate the movable portion 73 as described above, and thus the application direction of the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 can be corrected." Here, the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor is input by the controller 80 by determining whether the application direction should be changed. Then, the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor is set by driving the second correction driver 76 to rotate the movable portion 73. FIG. 1, included above, demonstrates that the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor has been changed due to the above-described setting and inputting.
the [monitoring sensor] being configured to perform an area scan of a laser beam such that a light point moves along a first horizontal direction corresponding to a direction in which the lifting drive section is able to be moved by the lateral transfer mechanism,
Wada teaches ([0056]): "As described above, the protruding amount in the X direction by the lateral mover 45 changes by the position of the transfer destination S. In accordance with the protruding amount by the lateral mover 45, the inclination of the up-and-down driver in the θY direction changes. Consequently, in the present preferred embodiment, when the up-and-down driver 43 is caused to protrude by the lateral mover 45, the controller 80 determines whether the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed in accordance with the inclination of the up-and-down driver 43 in the θY direction. When the controller 80 determines that the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed, the second correction driver 76 is driven by the adjuster 81 described below to rotate the movable portion 73 as described above, and thus the application direction of the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 can be corrected." FIG. 1, included above, demonstrates that the up-and-down driver 43 (i.e., the lifting drive section) has been moved by the lateral mover 45 (i.e., the lateral transfer mechanism) in the +X direction. FIG. 1 further illustrates that the light beam L2 of the look-down sensor 48 is also adjusted in the +X direction. As acknowledged in [0013] and [0037]-[0038], the light beam L2 of the look-down sensor 48 is directed towards "a certain lower position" (i.e., a light point). Therefore, FIG. 1 illustrates an area scan of the light beam L2 in which the light point of the light beam L2 moves in the +X direction.
and the controller changes the monitoring range included in a range of the area scan by changing the set input,
Wada teaches ([0056]): "As described above, the protruding amount in the X direction by the lateral mover 45 changes by the position of the transfer destination S. In accordance with the protruding amount by the lateral mover 45, the inclination of the up-and-down driver in the θY direction changes. Consequently, in the present preferred embodiment, when the up-and-down driver 43 is caused to protrude by the lateral mover 45, the controller 80 determines whether the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed in accordance with the inclination of the up-and-down driver 43 in the θY direction. When the controller 80 determines that the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed, the second correction driver 76 is driven by the adjuster 81 described below to rotate the movable portion 73 as described above, and thus the application direction of the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 can be corrected." Here, application direction of the laser light L2 is changed by driving the adjuster 81 to rotate the movable portion 73. Therefore, the monitoring range is changed by changing the settings of the movable portion 73 (i.e., changing a set input).
wherein the monitoring sensor emits the laser beam... and detects return light reflected…
Wada teaches ([0038]): "The look-down sensor 48 applies laser light L2 toward the vicinity of a lowering destination of the up-and-down stage 42. The look-down sensor 48 applies the laser light L2 and from reflected light thereof detects whether there is a foreign object near the transfer destination S being the lowering destination of the up-and-down stage 42."
However, while Wada does teach a monitoring system which emits a laser beam and detects return light reflected, Wada does not outright teach that the monitoring sensor is a laser rangefinder for swing detection of the holding unit, wherein the monitoring sensor emits the laser beam toward the reflector and detects return light reflected by the reflector, and the controller determines occurrence or non- occurrence of swinging of the holding unit based on whether the return light is received within the set monitoring range. Tamura teaches a hoisting accessory swing detecting device for an automatic crane, comprising:
wherein the holding unit is provided with a reflector;
Tamura teaches ([0005]): "As an example, the photoelectric switch 21 provided in the crane body 10 shown in FIG. 1 is provided with a light beam irradiating means 21A, while the upper surface of the suspender 11 suspended from the crane body 10 has a light beam emitting means 21A. A reflecting plate 22 is provided as a reflecting means, and is adapted to receive and reflect the light beam emitted from the light beam emitting means 21A." FIG. 1, included below, demonstrates that the holding unit is provided with reflecting plate 22.
wherein the monitoring sensor is a laser rangefinder for swing detection of the holding unit…
Tamura teaches ([0006]): "In this device, as shown in FIG. 2, the swing of the hanger is detected between a position where the hoisting height is at a constant height h from the work surface or a position which is higher by 1 than that. The position detector 14 sets the height range. In the stationary state of the suspending tool, for example, when the suspending tool is fixed at the upper limit of winding, the light beam emitted from the light beam irradiation means 21A is reflected by the reflecting plate 22 provided on the upper surface of the suspending tool 22, and then the light receiving device. It is supposed to return to 21B. When the range of the shake w is shown in FIG. 2, the light receiving device 21B can capture the reflected light beam, but if the range is exceeded, the intensity of the reflected light beam sharply decreases, so it is determined that there is excessive shake. Measures are taken such as stopping the winding."
wherein the monitoring sensor emits the laser beam toward the reflector and detects return light reflected by the reflector,
Tamura teaches ([0005]): "As an example, the photoelectric switch 21 provided in the crane body 10 shown in FIG. 1 is provided with a light beam irradiating means 21A, while the upper surface of the suspender 11 suspended from the crane body 10 has a light beam emitting means 21A. A reflecting plate 22 is provided as a reflecting means, and is adapted to receive and reflect the light beam emitted from the light beam emitting means 21A." Tamura further teaches ([0006]): "In the stationary state of the suspending tool, for example, when the suspending tool is fixed at the upper limit of winding, the light beam emitted from the light beam irradiation means 21A is reflected by the reflecting plate 22 provided on the upper surface of the suspending tool 22, and then the light receiving device. It is supposed to return to 21B. When the range of the shake w is shown in FIG. 2, the light receiving device 21B can capture the reflected light beam, but if the range is exceeded, the intensity of the reflected light beam sharply decreases, so it is determined that there is excessive shake. Measures are taken such as stopping the winding."
and the controller determines occurrence or non- occurrence of swinging of the holding unit based on whether the return light is received within the set monitoring range.
Tamura teaches ([0006]): "In the stationary state of the suspending tool, for example, when the suspending tool is fixed at the upper limit of winding, the light beam emitted from the light beam irradiation means 21A is reflected by the reflecting plate 22 provided on the upper surface of the suspending tool 22, and then the light receiving device. It is supposed to return to 21B. When the range of the shake w is shown in FIG. 2, the light receiving device 21B can capture the reflected light beam, but if the range is exceeded, the intensity of the reflected light beam sharply decreases, so it is determined that there is excessive shake. Measures are taken such as stopping the winding." Tamura further teaches ([0011]): "The threshold value calculated as described above is input to the shake determination means 35 together with the reflected light beam intensity in the operating state of the crane, and is compared and calculated. As a result, if the reflected light beam intensity exceeds the threshold value, it is determined that shake is within the allowable limit... On the other hand, if the reflected light beam intensity is below the threshold value, it is determined that the shake exceeds the allowable limit. In that case, the operation such as hoisting is stopped."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Wada to incorporate the teachings of Tamura to provide that the holding unit is provided with a reflector, wherein the monitoring sensor is a laser rangefinder for swing detection of the holding unit, wherein the monitoring sensor emits the laser beam toward the reflector and detects return light reflected by the reflector, and the controller determines occurrence or non- occurrence of swinging of the holding unit based on whether the return light is received within the set monitoring range. Wada and Tamura are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of laser-based imaging used for swinging detection in lifts. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Tamura, as the range-based laser intensity monitoring of Tamura advantageously allows for a determination of whether swinging is detected within acceptable limits or whether swinging exceeds acceptable limits, and stopping lifting if excessing swinging is detected, as recognized by Tamura (see at least [0006] and [0011]).
Regarding claim 11, Wada and Tamura teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Wada further teaches:
the controller stores each of first to third monitoring ranges that are the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor in a manner associated with each of first to third patterns that are patterns of lifting and lowering the holding unit,
Wada teaches ([0077]): "Information on such transfer destinations S1 to S8 is stored in the storage 82 (refer to FIG. 1) of the controller 80 as a data table, for example." Wada further teaches ([0080]): "In this process, depending on the positions of the transfer destinations S1 to S8, at least either the adjustment of the laterally moved amount or the adjustment of the orientation of the sensor (the application direction of the laser light L1 of the shaking detection sensor 47 and the application direction of the laser light L2 of the look-down sensor 48) may be required. The adjuster 81 performs the adjustment of the laterally moved amount, adjustment of the lowered amount, and the adjustment of the orientation of the sensor in accordance with the positions of the transfer destinations S1 to S8 and the presence or absence of the article FP. The adjuster 81 performs the adjustment of the laterally moved amount, the adjustment of the lowered amount, and the adjustment of the orientation of the sensor from the data table DT2 stored in the storage 82 in accordance with the positions of the transfer destinations S1 to S8." FIG. 12 (i.e., data table DT2), included below, demonstrates that each of S1-S8 represent different patterns of lifting and lowering the holding unit.
and changes the monitoring range into the first monitoring range when the pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit is the first pattern,
Referring to FIG. 12, included above, and FIG. 10, included below, S7 comprises a pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit where the lateral movement is not adjusted and the sensor actuators are not driven. The Examiner has interpreted this orientation as a first monitoring range.
changes the monitoring range into the second monitoring range when the pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit is the second pattern,
Referring to FIGs. 12 and 10, included above, S8 comprises a pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit where the lateral movement adjustment amount is SLRX1 when the article is absent, resulting in sensor actuation in the -X direction (ON(2) = -X direction; see at least [0083]).
and changes the monitoring range into the third monitoring range when the pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit is the third pattern.
Referring to FIGs. 12 and 10, included above, S8 comprises a pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit where the lateral movement adjustment amount is SLRX1 when the article is present, resulting in sensor actuation in the -X direction (ON(2) = -X direction; see at least [0083]).
Regarding claim 12, Wada and Tamura teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 11. Wada further teaches:
the first pattern is a pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit directly below the body section,
Referring to FIGs. 12 and 10, included above, S7 comprises a pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit where the lateral movement is not adjusted and the sensor actuators are not driven.
the second pattern is a pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit that is not holding the article when the lifting drive section has been moved laterally with respect to the body section,
Referring to FIGs. 12 and 10, included above, S8 comprises a pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit where the lateral movement adjustment amount is SLRX1 when the article is absent, resulting in sensor actuation in the -X direction (ON(2) = -X direction; see at least [0083]).
and the third pattern is a pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit that is holding the article when the lifting drive section has been moved laterally with respect to the body section.
Referring to FIGs. 12 and 10, included above, S8 comprises a pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit where the lateral movement adjustment amount is SLRX1 when the article is present, resulting in sensor actuation in the -X direction (ON(2) = -X direction; see at least [0083]).
Regarding claim 13, Wada and Tamura teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 12. Wada further teaches:
the first monitoring range is a range oriented in a first direction along the vertical direction from the monitoring sensor in the reference attitude,
Wada teaches ([0038]): "The look-down sensor 48 applies laser light L2 toward the vicinity of a lowering destination of the up-and-down stage 42. The look-down sensor 48 applies the laser light L2 and from reflected light thereof detects whether there is a foreign object near the transfer destination S being the lowering destination of the up-and-down stage 42." Wada further teaches ([0083]): "For the transfer destinations S4 and S7, the lateral movement of the up-and-down driver 43 by the lateral mover 45 is not performed. Thus, the bending of the lateral mover 45 does not occur, and the adjustment of the laterally moved amount, the adjustment of the lowered amount, and the adjustment of the orientation of the sensor by the adjuster 81 are not performed." Referring to FIGs. 12 and 10, included above, S7 comprises a pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit where the lateral movement is not adjusted and the sensor actuators are not driven. Therefore, in such an arrangement, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the first monitoring range is a range oriented in a first direction along a vertical direction of the monitoring sensor in a reference attitude.
the second monitoring range is a range oriented in a second direction formed by tilting the first direction at a first angle from the monitoring sensor in the reference attitude,
Wada teaches ([0086]): "In the present preferred embodiment, the adjuster 81 corrects the application direction of the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 so as to be applied to the +X side in accordance with the laterally moved amount of the up-and-down driver 43 by the lateral mover 45. Consequently, the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 is corrected to be an application direction L2a to depart from the lower conveyance vehicle 100, and false detection by the look-down sensor 48 can be prevented." Referring to FIGs. 12 and 10, included above, S8 comprises a pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit where the lateral movement adjustment amount is SLRX1 when the article is absent, resulting in sensor actuation in the -X direction (ON(2) = -X direction; see at least [0083]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the monitoring range of the look-down sensor 48 is oriented in a second direction formed by tilting the first direction at a first angle in order to apply in the desired application direction L2a.
However, while Wada does teach a third monitoring range (see at least [0085]-[0086] and FIG. 12, in particular S8) Wada does not outright teach that the third monitoring range is a range oriented in a third direction formed by tilting the first direction at a second angle that is larger than the first angle from the monitoring sensor in the reference attitude. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the teachings of Wada to provide:
and the third monitoring range is a range oriented in a third direction formed by tilting the first direction at a second angle that is larger than the first angle from the monitoring sensor in the reference attitude.
Wada teaches ([0085]): "As illustrated in FIG. 13, in the processing room PR, upper and lower two-tier rails R are provided, and the conveyance vehicle 100 travels along each of the rails R. In this configuration, the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 mounted on the upper conveyance vehicle 100 is inclined to the −X side by the bending of the lateral mover 45. " Wada further teaches ([0086]): "In the present preferred embodiment, the adjuster 81 corrects the application direction of the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 so as to be applied to the +X side in accordance with the laterally moved amount of the up-and-down driver 43 by the lateral mover 45. Consequently, the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 is corrected to be an application direction L2a to depart from the lower conveyance vehicle 100, and false detection by the look-down sensor 48 can be prevented." Wada even further teaches ([0070]): "That is, with the article FB being held, when the up-and-down driver 43 is laterally moved by the lateral mover 45, the weight of the article FP is added, and thus the bending of the lateral mover 45 increases..." Referring to FIGs. 12 and 10, included above, S8 comprises a pattern of lifting and lowering the holding unit where the lateral movement adjustment amount is SLRX1 when the article is present, resulting in sensor actuation in the -X direction (ON(2) = -X direction; see at least [0083]). Based on the teachings of [0070], when the lifting drive section has been moved laterally, the bending of the lateral transfer mechanism increases. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the teachings of Wada such that the correction of the application direction of the laser light is greater while the article is present in order to compensate for the increase in bending (and an associated increase in inclination due to the bending).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Wada such that the third monitoring range is a range oriented in a third direction formed by tilting the first direction at a second angle that is larger than the first angle from the monitoring sensor in the reference attitude. Wada already provides that the second monitoring range is a range oriented in a second direction formed by tilting the first direction at a first angle in the monitoring sensor in the reference attitude (see at least [0083] and [0086]). The third pattern of Wada is similar to the second pattern of Wada, though the third pattern of Wada requires that the holding unit is holding the article, while the second pattern requires that the holding unit does not hold the article. Wada teaches ([0070]) that when the lifting drive section has been moved laterally, the bending of the lateral transfer mechanism increases. Therefore, in conjunction with the teachings of [0085]-[0086], which states that the inclination is caused by bending of the lateral mover 45, one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the conclusion that an increase of bending of the lateral transfer mechanism would require greater correction of the application direction of the laser light in order to compensate for the increased bending caused by the weight of the article. Therefore, despite the second and third pattern extending the lifting drive section laterally by the same amount (see S8 of FIG. 12), one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the teachings of Wada such that the second angle is larger than the first angle in order to compensate for the increased weight (and thus bending) contributed by the presence of the article.
Regarding claim 15, Wada and Tamura teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Wada further teaches:
the monitoring sensor is able to change orientation of the monitoring range in a direction along a first horizontal direction.
Wada teaches ([0056]): "As described above, the protruding amount in the X direction by the lateral mover 45 changes by the position of the transfer destination S. In accordance with the protruding amount by the lateral mover 45, the inclination of the up-and-down driver in the θY direction changes. Consequently, in the present preferred embodiment, when the up-and-down driver 43 is caused to protrude by the lateral mover 45, the controller 80 determines whether the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed in accordance with the inclination of the up-and-down driver 43 in the θY direction. When the controller 80 determines that the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed, the second correction driver 76 is driven by the adjuster 81 described below to rotate the movable portion 73 as described above, and thus the application direction of the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 can be corrected." FIG. 1, included above, demonstrates that the application direction of the laser light L2 is changed in a direction along a first horizontal direction (i.e., orientation of the monitoring range of laser light L2 is shifted in the +X direction)
Regarding claim 16, Wada and Tamura teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 15. Wada further teaches:
the first horizontal direction corresponds to a direction in which the lifting drive section is able to be moved by the lateral transfer mechanism.
FIG. 1, included above, demonstrates that the application direction of the laser light L2 is changed in a direction along a first horizontal direction (i.e., orientation of the monitoring range of laser light L2 is shifted in the +X direction). FIG. 1 also demonstrates that the +X direction is the same direction in which the lifting drive section is moved by the lateral transfer mechanism.
Regarding claim 18, Wada and Tamura teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Wada further teaches:
a tilt detection sensor configured to detect the tilt of the lifting drive section with respect to the horizontal plane,
Wada teaches ([0042]): "The shaking detection sensor 47 and the look-down sensor (the sensor 44) apply the laser light L1 and laser light L2, respectively, in directions deviated from original application directions by the inclination of the up-and-down driver 43." Wada further teaches ([0056]): "Consequently, in the present preferred embodiment, when the up-and-down driver 43 is caused to protrude by the lateral mover 45, the controller 80 determines whether the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed in accordance with the inclination of the up-and-down driver 43 in the θY direction. When the controller 80 determines that the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed, the second correction driver 76 is driven by the adjuster 81 described below to rotate the movable portion 73 as described above, and thus the application direction of the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 can be corrected."
wherein the controller changes the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor in accordance with a detection result of the tilt detection sensor.
Wada teaches ([0056]): "Consequently, in the present preferred embodiment, when the up-and-down driver 43 is caused to protrude by the lateral mover 45, the controller 80 determines whether the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed in accordance with the inclination of the up-and-down driver 43 in the θY direction. When the controller 80 determines that the application direction of the laser light L2 should be changed, the second correction driver 76 is driven by the adjuster 81 described below to rotate the movable portion 73 as described above, and thus the application direction of the laser light L2 applied from the look-down sensor 48 can be corrected."
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada and Tamura in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 2020/0307967 A1), hereinafter Ishikawa.
Regarding claim 17, Wada and Tamura teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 15. However, while Wada does teach adjusting the orientation of the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor in a first horizontal direction (e.g., see FIG. 1), Wada does not outright teach an adjustment structure configured to adjust a positional relation between the monitoring sensor and the lifting drive section such that the orientation of the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor is changed in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction. Ishikawa teaches a crane, comprising:
an adjustment structure configured to adjust a positional relation between the monitoring sensor and the lifting drive section such that the orientation of the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor is changed in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction.
Ishikawa teaches ([0027]): "Laser scanner 17 is configured to be swingable, via an actuator, centered on an axis, as a swing center, parallel to the swing axis of telescopic boom 8. Laser scanner 17 is configured to be capable of measuring an area perpendicularly downward from the installation position irrespective of the lowered angle of telescopic boom 8 or the lowered angle of jib 9, and is configured to be capable of changing its position from that perpendicularly downward in any situation." Ishikawa further teaches ([0043]): "As illustrated in FIGS. 3A, 3B and 3C, laser scanner 17 can change the measurement direction, the measurement range and the measurement density. As illustrated in FIG. 3A, the measurement direction can be changed by an actuator swinging laser scanner 17." Ishikawa even further teaches ([0044]): " As illustrated in FIG. 4, crane 1 at an operation site is configured to be capable of obtaining three-dimensional information on monitoring area B made up of the measurement direction and the measurement range of laser scanner 17 in operation area A. The operator sequentially obtains the three-dimensional information on monitoring area B that is changed according to the swing operation of swivel base 7, the luffing operation of telescopic boom 8, the extending and retracting operation of telescopic boom 8, or the traveling operation of crane 1, thereby obtaining the three-dimensional information on the entire range of operation area A." FIGs. 3-4, included below, demonstrate that the laser scanner 17 is able to change the orientation of its monitoring range in both axes of the horizontal plane. Therefore, the orientation of the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor of Ishikawa is capable of being changed in both axes of a horizontal plane
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wada and Tamura to incorporate the teachings of Ishikawa to provide an adjustment structure configured to adjust a positional relation between the monitoring sensor and the lifting drive section such that the orientation of the monitoring range of the monitoring sensor is changed in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction. Wada, Tamura, and Ishikawa are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of laser-based sensor systems in lifting applications. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the swingable laser scanner of Ishikawa, as enabling such actuation beneficially allows the monitoring sensor to be capable of changing its position from being perpendicularly downward in any situation, as recognized by Ishikawa ([0027]). Further, allowing for reorientation in both axes of the horizontal plane advantageously expands the measurement area, as illustrated in FIGs. 3-4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tax et al. (US 6,182,843 B1) teaches a method for target path correction of a load carrier, including providing movement correction along two paths of movement in a horizontal plane (see at least Col. 12 line 63 - Col. 13 line 5 and FIG. 1). Ozeki (US 2018/0193958 A1) teaches a laser machine with a workpiece rack and an elevator, including a gantry and slider configuration which allows movement of the laser head in the X, Y, and Z directions (see at least [0035]).
/F.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662