DETAILED ACTION
The action is in response to the application filed on 12/28/2023. Claims 1-12 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170188910 A1 (cited in IDS; hereinafter referred to as “Halac”).
Regarding claim 1, Halac, a transcutaneous analyte sensor, teaches an applicator for inserting a sensor for measuring biometric information into skin of a user (104; paragraphs [0259]-[0261]; Figures 2-4), the applicator comprising:
an applicator body (120; paragraphs [0259]-[0261]; Figures 2-3) to which a base unit comprising a base unit housing (128) and an adhesive portion (126) provided on the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user (paragraphs [0272]-[0273]; Figure 4) is separatably coupled (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; Figures 18, 19);
a locking hook (220) installed to the applicator body to be engaged with the base unit to maintain a state in which the base unit is coupled to the applicator body (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; Figures 18-19);
an insertion unit (150, 152; paragraphs [0282]-[0284]; as shown in Figures 3, 7-10, 18-19) installed to the applicator body to insert the sensor into the skin of the user by moving the sensor unit (134; paragraphs [0282]-[0284]; as shown in Figures 3, 7-10), comprising the sensor (138; paragraphs [0282]-[0284]; as shown in Figures 3, 7-10) and a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted (156; paragraph [0287]; as shown in Figures 3, 7-10), from a first position spaced apart from the base unit to a second position coupled with the base unit (paragraphs [0282]-[0284]; as shown in Figures 7-10); and
a moving member (222; Figures 18-19) installed to the applicator body to be movable from a third position to a fourth position, and configured to bias the locking hook to be disengaged from the base unit at the fourth position (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; Figures 18-19).
Regarding claim 2, Halac teaches wherein the moving member is installed to move in a direction of intersecting a direction in which the sensor unit moves from the first position to the second position (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; Figures 18, 19).
Regarding claim 3, Halac teaches wherein
the insertion unit comprises
a plunger installed to be movable from the first position to the second position together with the sensor unit (132; paragraphs [0292]-[0295]; Figures 7-11),
a needle separatably coupled with the sensor unit to be inserted into the skin of the user with the sensor (156; paragraphs [0292]-[0295]; Figures 7-11),
a carrier installed to the plunger and coupled with the needle (162; paragraphs [0292]-[0295]; Figures 7-11), and
a plunger driver configured to provide a moving force to the plunger in a direction of moving from the first position to the second position (234; paragraphs [0292]-[0295], [0375]; Figures 7-11), and
the plunger is configured to be restricted from moving at the first position by contacting the moving member located at the third position, and, when the moving member moves to the fourth position, move away from the moving member and move to the second position (paragraphs [0282]-[0284], [0355]-[0358]; Figures 18, 19).
Regarding claim 4, Halac teaches wherein:
the applicator body comprises
a base frame comprising a base portion configured to be contactable with the skin of the user, and a column portion protruding from the base portion and accommodating the plunger (as shown in Figures 3, 7-11), and
a middle frame having a stage disposed at an upper side of the base portion to support the moving member, and a middle frame opening formed in a middle of the stage such that the column portion is inserted in the middle frame opening (as shown in Figures 3, 7-11).
Regarding claim 5, Halac teaches further comprising:
an elastic member configured to apply an elastic force to the moving member such that the moving member is movable from the third position to the fourth position (paragraph [0348]-[0349], [0381]; Figure 18);
a stopper configured to restrain movement of the moving member in a state in which the elastic member is elastically deformed (paragraphs [0348]-[0350]; Figure 18); and
an operating member configured to release the stopper such that the moving member is movable by the elastic member according to manipulation of the user (paragraphs [0348]-[0350]; Figure 18).
Regarding claim 6, Halac teaches wherein the locking hook is pivotally coupled to the applicator body, and the moving member moves from the third position to the fourth position to rotate the locking hook in a direction of disengaging the locking hook from the base unit (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; Figures 18-19).
Regarding claim 7, Halac teaches wherein the locking hook comprises
a pivot portion coupled to the applicator body (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; as shown in Figures 18-19),
a hook portion protruding from the pivot portion to be engaged with the base unit (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; as shown in Figures 18-19), and
a rod protruding from the pivot portion to be engaged with the moving member (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; as shown in Figures 18-19),
wherein the moving member is installed to move in a direction of intersecting a direction in which the sensor unit moves from the first position to the second position (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; as shown in Figures 18-19), and
wherein the moving member is provided with a guide portion engaged with the rod in an inclined form with respect to a moving direction of the moving member, and the guide portion moves in a state of being engaged with the rod to rotate the locking hook (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; as shown in Figures 18-19).
Regarding claim 8, Halac teaches further comprising
a moving member driver configured to move the moving member from the third position to the fourth position (paragraph [0348]-[0349]).
Regarding claim 9, Halac teaches wherein the moving member driver includes an elastic member configured to apply an elastic force to the moving member (paragraph [0348]-[0349], [0381]).
Regarding claim 10, Halac teaches further comprising:
a stopper configured to restrain movement of the moving member in a state in which the elastic member is elastically deformed (paragraphs [0348]-[0350]); and
an operating member configured to release the stopper such that the moving member is movable by the elastic member according to manipulation of the user (paragraphs [0348]-[0350]).
Regarding claim 11, Halac, a transcutaneous analyte sensor, teaches an applicator for inserting a sensor for measuring biometric information into skin of a user (104; paragraphs [0259]-[0261]; Figures 2-4), the applicator comprising:
an applicator body (120; paragraphs [0259]-[0261]; Figures 2-3) to which a body attachable unit base unit comprising the sensor, a base unit housing (128), and an adhesive portion (126) provided on the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user (paragraphs [0272]-[0273]; Figure 4)) is separatably coupled (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; Figures 18, 19);
a locking hook (220) installed to the applicator body to be engaged with the base unit housing to maintain a state in which the base unit housing is coupled to the applicator body (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; Figures 18-19);
a needle (156; paragraph [0287]; as shown in Figures 3, 7-10) installed to the applicator body such that the needle is movable from the first position to the second position to be inserted into the skin of the user together with the sensor (paragraphs [0282]-[0284]; as shown in Figures 7-10); and
a moving member (222; Figures 18-19) installed to the applicator body to be movable from a third position to a fourth position, and configured to bias the locking hook to be disengaged from the base unit housing at the fourth position (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; Figures 18-19).
Regarding claim 12, Halac, a transcutaneous analyte sensor, teaches an applicator assembly (104; paragraphs [0259]-[0261]; Figures 2-4) comprising:
an applicator body configured to be contactable with skin of a user (120; paragraphs [0259]-[0261]; Figures 2-3);
a sensor unit (134; paragraphs [0282]-[0284]; as shown in Figures 3, 7-10) comprising a sensor (138; paragraphs [0282]-[0284]; as shown in Figures 3, 7-10) and a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted (156; paragraph [0287]; as shown in Figures 3, 7-10);
a base unit including a base unit housing (128) and an adhesive portion (126) provided on the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user, disposed to be spaced apart from the sensor unit (paragraphs [0272]-[0273]; Figure 4), and separatably coupled to the applicator body (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; Figures 18, 19);
an insertion unit (150, 152; paragraphs [0282]-[0284]; as shown in Figures 3, 7-10, 18-19) installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit from a first position away from the base unit to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user to couple the sensor unit with the base unit (paragraphs [0282]-[0284]; as shown in Figures 7-10);
a locking hook (220) installed to the applicator body to be engaged with the base unit to maintain a state in which the base unit is coupled to the applicator body (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; Figures 18-19); and
a moving member (222; Figures 18-19) installed to the applicator body to be movable from a third position to a fourth position, and configured to bias the locking hook to be disengaged from the base unit at the fourth position (paragraphs [0355]-[0358]; Figures 18-19).
Conclusion
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/Examiner, Art Unit 3791