DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two plates are arranged one inside the other in claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 3 recites the limitation “the two plates are arranged one inside the other” which is not described in the specification or drawings as to how two plates are arranged one inside the other. It appears the plates are stacked on top of each other as shown in the drawings rather than inside each other.
Claims 3, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the plate arranged inside another plate is unclear as to how a solid plate is arranged within another solid plate as claimed.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the same" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the same face" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martins et al. (US Publication No.: 2006/0053833 hereinafter “Martins”).
With respect to claim 1, Martins discloses a heat exchanger for a motor vehicle (Para 0009), the heat exchanger comprising: a first circuit configured to be traversed by a heat-transfer fluid (Fig. 4, first circuit F1 and Para 0047), the first circuit comprising: a first inlet header through which the heat-transfer fluid is admitted into the first circuit (Fig. 4, 12), and a first outlet header through which the heat-transfer fluid leaves the first circuit (Fig. 4, outlet 14), a second circuit configured to be traversed by a heat-transfer fluid (Fig. 4, second circuit F2), that wherein the second circuit is fluidically separate from the first circuit (Fig. 4) and comprises: a second inlet header through which the heat-transfer fluid is admitted into the heat exchanger (Fig. 4, second inlet 20), and a second outlet header through which the heat-transfer fluid leaves the heat exchanger (Fig. 4, second outlet 24), wherein the first circuit or the second circuit comprises an additional header that extends in the same direction as the inlet headers and outlet headers of the first circuit and the second circuit, and wherein the additional header is separate from the inlet and outlet headers (Fig. 4, additional headers 56 and 62).
With respect to claim 2, Martins discloses the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above. Martins also discloses wherein the first and second circuits comprise a plurality of chambers linked fluidically to the inlet headers and outlet headers of either the first circuit or the second circuit respectively (Figs. 4-5, chambers within plates 2 for both circuits and Para 0047-0048).
With respect to claim 3, Martins discloses the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 2 as discussed above. Martins also discloses wherein each chamber is delimited by at least two plates (Para 0048, Fig. 5 shows two plates 2 on top of each other to form a chamber), wherein each plate comprises a bottom wall surrounded by a raised edge (Para 0043, Fig. 9 shows plates 2 with raised edges 3), wherein the bottom wall comprises one opening per header that at least partially delimits each inlet header or, outlet header or, and additional header (Fig. 5 shows the openings in plates 2 for fluid flow to the headers), and wherein the two plates are arranged one inside the other (Fig. 9 shows plates 2 stacked on top of each other).
With respect to claim 4, Martins discloses the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 2 as discussed above. Martins also discloses wherein the heat exchanger comprises a first group of chambers and a second group of chambers (Fig. 5, first group of chambers for flow path F1 and second group for F2), and wherein the first group of chambers is separated from the second group of chambers by at least one deflecting plate configured to force the fluid of at least the first circuit or the second circuit to flow in a first flow direction in the first group of chambers and to force the fluid to flow in a second flow direction in the second group of chambers (Fig. 5, plates 2a-2f deflect the fluid into separate chambers).
With respect to claim 5, Martins discloses the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 4 as discussed above. Martins also discloses wherein the at least one deflecting plate comprises a bottom wall with no opening in the first inlet header or the second inlet header, depending on the circuit configured to have a second flow direction of the fluid (Fig. 5, plates 2 have no openings for fluid passages to guide the fluid flow into the chambers).
With respect to claim 6, Martins discloses the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 2 as discussed above. Martins also discloses wherein the first circuit and the second circuit each comprise an additional header (Fig. 5, headers in 2a-2f).
With respect to claim 7, Martins discloses the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 4 as discussed above. Martins also discloses wherein the heat exchanger comprises two deflecting plates, and wherein the deflecting plates are configured to provide a second flow direction to be provided for the fluid of the first circuit and the second circuit (Fig. 5, plates 2a-2f deflect the fluid into separate chambers that are in a cross flow pattern).
With respect to claim 10, Martins discloses the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above. Martins also discloses wherein the inlet headers of the first and second circuits each comprise a supply channel configured to supply heat-transfer fluid to the first circuit or the second circuit respectively (Fig. 4, supply channel in 12 and 14), and wherein the outlet headers of the first and second circuits each comprise an outlet channel configured to drain heat-transfer fluid from the first circuit or the second circuit respectively (Fig. 4, outlet channel in 20 and 24).
With respect to claim 12, Martins discloses the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above. Martins also discloses wherein the additional header of the first circuit is arranged between the second inlet header and the second outlet header of the second circuit (Fig. 4, 56 and 62 are between the inlet and outlet of the second circuit).
With respect to claim 13, Martins discloses the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above. Martins also discloses wherein the additional header of the second circuit is arranged between the first inlet header and the first outlet header of the first circuit (Fig. 4, 56 and 62 are between the inlet and outlet of the first circuit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martins et al. (US Publication No.: 2006/0053833 hereinafter “Martins”). In view of Flik et al. (US Publication No.: 2007/0125527 hereinafter “Flik”).
With respect to claim 8, Martins discloses the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 4 as discussed above. Martins does not disclose wherein the first inlet header and the first outlet header of the first circuit are arranged at one and the same first longitudinal end of the heat exchanger, and wherein the second inlet header and the second outlet header of the second circuit are arranged at a second longitudinal end of the heat exchanger, opposite the first longitudinal end.
Flik teaches a stacked plate heat exchanger with two inlets on a top plate and two outlets on a bottom plate (Figs. 1-2, inlets 1 & 2 are on the top plate 5 and outlets 11 and 31 are on the bottom plate or second longitudinal end of the heat exchanger at 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the inlets and outlets of Martins to be on the same ends as taught by Flik to have a desired fluid flow path of a series flow path (Para 0038 and 0061) and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to claim 9, Martins and Flik teach the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 8 as discussed above. Martins also discloses wherein the additional header is positioned at a longitudinal end opposite the inlet header and the outlet header to which the additional header is fluidically linked (Fig. 4, 56 and 62 are on opposite longitudinal end of 14, 24, 14 and 20).
With respect to claim 11, Martins discloses the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above. Martins does not disclose wherein the supply channels and the outlet channels are positioned on one and the same face of the heat exchanger.
Flik teaches a stacked plate heat exchanger with two inlets on a top plate and two outlets on a bottom plate or on the same face (Figs. 1-2, inlets 1 & 2 are on the top plate 5 and outlets 11 and 31 are on the bottom plate or second longitudinal end of the heat exchanger at 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the inlets and outlets of Martins to be on the same face as taught by Flik to have a desired fluid flow path of a series flow path (Para 0038 and 0061) and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/CLAIRE E ROJOHN III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763