DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Shelby et al. (US 2004/0024560) (hereinafter Shelby).
Regarding claim 1, Shelby teaches a method for producing a thermal image of a preform for blow molding, the method comprising the steps of:
providing a preform suitable for blow molding (see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0041);
heating the preform (see paragraph 0041);
measuring the temperature of at least a portion of the preform along its longitudinal axis and around its circumference (“temperature from all points on the surface…” see paragraph 0085);
compiling the measured temperatures of the at least a portion of the preform (see paragraph 0085-0086 and Table 2);
converting the compiled measured temperatures into a three-dimensional thermal image representing the measured temperatures of the at least a portion of the preform (“The data is collected using any known means and used in the algorithm to determining the temperature distribution throughout the thickness of a preform;” see paragraph 0034) (Note: providing the temperature distribution through the thickness to the thermal images/two dimensional thermal images provide a three dimensional image) (see also paragraph 0070).
Regarding claim 2, Shelby further teaches the compiled temperatures are converted into a two-dimensional thermal image (IR pictures/digital image) representing the portion of the preform measured along its longitudinal axis and around its circumference in the converting step (“temperature from all points of the surface…” see paragraph 0085).
Regarding claim 3, Shelby further teaches a step of converting the three-dimensional thermal image into a two-dimensional thermal image (IR pictures/digital image) (Note: IR pictures are two dimensional images) (see paragraph 0085).
Regarding claim 4, Shelby further teaches the two-dimensional thermal image is a heat map (“a thermal imaging camera is used to take infrared ("IR") snapshots of the preforms as they exit the heat station and before they enter the blow molding station. The image should capture at least two preforms within its field of view. The snapshots are used to determine the temperature of the preforms as they move from the heat station to the blow molding station;” see paragraph 0034) (Note: infrared ("IR") snapshots are thermal maps) (see also paragraph 0085).
Regarding claim 8, Shelby teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches comprising a step of converting the compiled temperatures into a graphical image representing the temperatures of the least a portion of the preform against a position of the measurement (see Figures 6-7 and 9; and paragraphs 0024-0025, 0027, 0080-0082 and 0089).
Regarding claim 9, Shelby teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches the measuring step is performed by a camera (see paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 10, Shelby teaches all the limitations of claim 9, and further teaches the camera is an infrared camera (IR camera) (see paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 11, Shelby teaches a method for producing a thermal image of a preform for blow molding, the method comprising the steps of:
providing a preform suitable for blow molding (see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0041);
heating the preform (see paragraph 0034);
measuring the temperature of at least a portion of the preform along its longitudinal axis and around its circumference (“temperature from all points on the surface…” see paragraph 0085);
compiling the measured temperatures of the at least a portion of the preform (see paragraph 0085-0086 and Table 2);
converting the compiled measured temperatures into a three-dimensional thermal image representing the measured temperatures of the at least a portion of the preform (“The data is collected using any known means and used in the algorithm to determining the temperature distribution throughout the thickness of a preform;” see paragraph 0034) (Note: providing the temperature distribution through the thickness to the thermal images/two dimensional thermal images provide a three dimensional image) (see also paragraph 0070); and
converting the three-dimensional thermal image into a two-dimensional thermal image (IR pictures/digital image) representing the measured temperatures of the at least a portion of the preform image (Note: IR pictures are two dimensional images) (see paragraph 0085).
Regarding claim 12, Shelby teaches all the limitations of claim 11, and further teaches the two-dimensional thermal image is a heat map (“a thermal imaging camera is used to take infrared ("IR") snapshots of the preforms as they exit the heat station and before they enter the blow molding station. The image should capture at least two preforms within its field of view. The snapshots are used to determine the temperature of the preforms as they move from the heat station to the blow molding station;” see paragraph 0034) (Note: infrared ("IR") snapshots are thermal maps) (see also paragraph 0085).
Regarding claim 16, Shelby in view of Cochran teaches all the limitations of claim 11, and further teaches comprising a step of converting the compiled temperatures into a graphical image representing the temperatures of the least a portion of the preform against a position of the measurement (see Figures 6-7 and 9; and paragraphs 0024-0025, 0027, 0080-0082 and 0089).
Regarding claim 17, Shelby teaches all the limitations of claim 11, and further teaches the measuring step is performed by a camera (see paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 18, Shelby teaches a method for producing a thermal image of a preform for blow molding, the method comprising the steps of:
providing a preform suitable for blow molding (see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0041);
heating the preform (see paragraph 0041);
providing an infrared camera (IR camera) (see paragraph 0034);
measuring the temperature of at least a portion of the preform along its longitudinal axis and around its circumference (“temperature from all points on the surface…” see paragraph 0085) with the infrared camera (IR camera) (see paragraph 0034 and 0085);
compiling the measured temperatures of the at least a portion of the preform (see paragraph 0085-0086 and Table 2);
converting the compiled temperatures into a graphical image representing the temperatures of the least a portion of the preform against a position of the measurement (see Figures 6-7 and 9; and paragraphs 0024-0025, 0027, 0080-0082 and 0089);
converting the compiled measured temperatures into a three-dimensional thermal image representing the measured temperatures of the at least a portion of the preform (“The data is collected using any known means and used in the algorithm to determining the temperature distribution throughout the thickness of a preform;” see paragraph 0034) (Note: providing the temperature distribution through the thickness to the thermal images/two dimensional thermal images provide a three dimensional image) (see also paragraph 0070);
and converting the three-dimensional thermal image into a heat map representing the measured temperatures of the at least a portion of the preform (“a thermal imaging camera is used to take infrared ("IR") snapshots of the preforms as they exit the heat station and before they enter the blow molding station. The image should capture at least two preforms within its field of view. The snapshots are used to determine the temperature of the preforms as they move from the heat station to the blow molding station;” see paragraph 0034) (Note: infrared ("IR") snapshots are thermal maps) (see also paragraph 0085).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 13-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelby in view of Cochran et al. (US 10857722) (hereinafter Cochran).
Regarding claim 5, Shelby teaches all the limitations of claim 4.
However, Shelby does not explicitly teach during the heating step the preform is caused to rotate at least 360° about its longitudinal axis.
Cochran teaches during the heating step the preform is caused to rotate at least 360° about its longitudinal axis (see column 31, lines 47-49).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method as taught by Shelby with during the heating step the preform is caused to rotate at least 360° about its longitudinal axis as taught by Cochran. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to more uniformly and efficiently heat the preform as known in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Shelby in view of Cochran teaches all the limitations of claim 5, and further teaches the heat map (IR pictures/digital image) represents measurements of the circumference of the preform from about 0° to about 359° (“temperature from all points of the surface…” see Shelby; paragraph 0085) of the at least a portion of the preform (Note: “temperature from all points of the surface” overlaps the claimed range of about 0° to about 359°).
Regarding claim 7, Shelby in view of Cochran teaches all the limitations of claim 6, and further teaches the at least a portion of the preform is a body thereof (see Shelby; Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0080-0085).
Regarding claim 13, Shelby teaches all the limitations of claim 12.
However, Shelby does not explicitly teach during the heating step the preform is caused to rotate at least 360° about its longitudinal axis.
Cochran teaches during the heating step the preform is caused to rotate at least 360° about its longitudinal axis (see column 31, lines 47-49).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method as taught by Shelby with during the heating step the preform is caused to rotate at least 360° about its longitudinal axis as taught by Cochran. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to more uniformly and efficiently heat the preform as known in the art.
Regarding claim 14, Shelby in view of Cochran teaches all the limitations of claim 13, and further teaches the heat map (IR pictures/digital image) represents measurements of the circumference of the preform from about 0° to about 359° (“temperature from all points of the surface…” see Shelby; paragraph 0085) of the at least a portion of the preform (Note: “temperature from all points of the surface” overlaps the claimed range of about 0° to about 359°).
Regarding claim 15, Shelby in view of Cochran teaches all the limitations of claim 14, and further teaches the at least a portion of the preform is a body thereof (see Shelby; Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0080-0085).
Regarding claim 19, Shelby teaches all the limitations of claim 18.
However, Shelby does not explicitly teach during the heating step the preform is caused to rotate at least 360° about its longitudinal axis.
Cochran teaches during the heating step the preform is caused to rotate at least 360° about its longitudinal axis (see column 31, lines 47-49).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method as taught by Shelby with during the heating step the preform is caused to rotate at least 360° about its longitudinal axis as taught by Cochran. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to more uniformly and efficiently heat the preform as known in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Shelby in view of Cochran teaches all the limitations of claim 13, and further teaches the heat map (IR pictures/digital image) represents measurements of the circumference of the preform from about 0° to about 359° (“temperature from all points of the surface…” see Shelby; paragraph 0085) of the at least a portion of the preform (Note: “temperature from all points of the surface” overlaps the claimed range of about 0° to about 359°).
Conclusion
/JANICE M SOTO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855