DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Re. claim 9, contains language that are not positively recited. The claim recites selecting a base to be used for feature amount extraction”. The claim language “to be” can be interpreted as a suggestion and does not have patentable weight.
Response to Arguments
In response to the claim interpretation, filed 11/19/2025 on page 9 of the remarks, the claims no longer invoke 112f in light of claim amendment.
In response to 35 USC 112b, filed 11/19/2025 on page 9 of the remarks, the 35 USC 112b rejection has been withdrawn in light claim amendment.
In response to 35 USC 102 and 103 with regards to independent claims 1 and 20 along with their respective dependent claims, filed 11/19/2025 on pages 10-12 of the remarks, applicant argues that Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu do not teach “performing a preprocessing that includes performing low-pass filter processing on the data in directions of a plurality of coordinate axes, before extracting the feature amount; and generating, as the reference hash information, a plurality of pieces of information of first directional shapes and second directional shapes respectively corresponding to the coordinate axes of a kernel of the low-pass filter processing”.
The Examiner does not concede. Liu teaches “performing a preprocessing that includes performing low-pass filter processing on the data in directions of a plurality of coordinate axes, before extracting the feature amount”. Liu discloses “the image undergoes a standard preprocessing process, where the original image is converted into a standard m×m image using an interpolation algorithm. ensure that the hash sequences generated by different images have the same length and can resist scaling distortion to a certain extent. The image is then subjected to a low-pass filtering operation, which can filter out some easily changing noise and retain the important content features of the image [0043][0047]. If the image f(x,y) is rotated by angle θ around the origin, g(r,θ) will be translated accordingly at the horizontal coordinate angle θ, [0017] [0060]”. The images has coordinates. The image is performed to a low-pass filter and retain information.
However, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu does not explicitly teach “generating, as the reference hash information, a plurality of pieces of information of first directional shapes and second directional shapes respectively corresponding to the coordinate axes of a kernel of the low-pass filter processing”.
Applicant’s argument have been considered but are moot, because the newly recited amendment does not rely on the newly recited reference being applied to the prior rejection of record or any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domeki (US 20200387421) in view of TOSHIHIKO (JP 2004336702) and in further view of Liu (CN 104091303) and in further view Dowson et al. (“Hashed nonlocal means for Rapid Image Filtering” hereinafter Dowson).
Re. claim 1, Domeki discloses a hash generation device, comprising: a memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising (Domeki discloses the PLC system 300, the two PLCs that are the first PLC 1 and the second PLC 2 mutually perform the processing [0086]. Memory and CPU [0178]. Program can be recorded on a recording medium readable by the computer device [0172]), generating a plurality of pieces of reference hash information according to data (Domeki discloses a first hash value calculation unit 121 described later, of a notification of various pieces of information that is provided from the control target device 60 or a device outside the first PLC 1 to the first PLC 1 in operation [0032] Figs 1 and 6);
the plurality of pieces of reference hash information being information of a reference hash that is generated from the data for determination of falsification of the data (Domeki discloses the hash value is a hash value of event history data calculated by the first hash value calculation unit 121 on the basis of the event history data [0038][0059][0069][0086] Figs 1 and 6) generating the reference hash on a basis of the generated reference hash information (Domeki discloses the first anomaly detection unit 122 can detect an anomaly in the recalculated hash value by comparing the recalculated hash value with the hash value stored in the first hash value history storage unit 112 corresponding to the event history data for which the hash value has been recalculated [0044][0059][0069][0086] [0180] Figs 1 and 6).
Domeki discloses obtaining data, Domeki does not explicitly teach but Toshihiko teaches wherein generating the reference hash includes extracting a feature amount and performing quantization processing of reducing the extracted feature amount (Toshihiko teaches data division unit that divides the data into a plurality of divided data pieces from which the data can be restored using a secret sharing method [0012]. Identification data generation unit that generates identification data that can uniquely identify a data body from the data body whose originality is to be ensured, and a division unit that divides the data that is the combination of the generated identification data and the data body using a secret sharing method [0013] Fig. 2, the identification data generation unit as the feature amount extraction unit and diving unit as the quantization unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki to include wherein generating the reference hash includes extracting a feature amount and performing quantization processing of reducing the extracted feature amount as disclosed by Toshihiko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of ensuring the data is original (Toshihiko [0013]).
Domeki-Toshihiko do not explicitly teach but Liu teaches data that includes an image (Liu teaches the image hash algorithm mainly generates hash information by extracting some robust image features that represent the perceived content of the image [0006]. The local hash sequence and the global hash sequence are combined to generate the final image hash sequence [0020]), performing a preprocessing that includes performing low-pass filter processing on the data in directions of a plurality of coordinate axes, before extracting the feature amount (Liu teaches the image undergoes a standard preprocessing process, where the original image is converted into a standard m×m image using an interpolation algorithm. ensure that the hash sequences generated by different images have the same length and can resist scaling distortion to a certain extent. The image is then subjected to a low-pass filtering operation, which can filter out some easily changing noise and retain the important content features of the image [0043][0047]. If the image f(x,y) is rotated by angle θ around the origin, g(r,θ) will be translated accordingly at the horizontal coordinate angle θ, [0017] [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki-Toshihiko to include data that includes an image, performing a preprocessing that includes performing low-pass filter processing on the data in directions of a plurality of coordinate axes, before extracting the feature amount as disclosed by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of retaining important content of the image (Liu [0043]).
Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu do not explicitly teach but Dowson teaches generating, as the reference hash information, a plurality of pieces of information of first directional shapes and second directional shapes respectively corresponding to the coordinate axes of a kernel of the low-pass filter processing (Dowson teaches the Gaussian-shaped kernel acts as a low-pass filter on the hash space [Page 488] [Page 490, 3.2 Design Trade-offs] Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu to include generating, as the reference hash information, a plurality of pieces of information of first directional shapes and second directional shapes respectively corresponding to the coordinate axes of a kernel of the low-pass filter processing as disclosed by Dowson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of improving speed by speeding up filtering [Page 486] and increasing computational cost in the convolution step for lower smoothing values [Page 489].
Re. claim 14, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson teach the hash generation device according to claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a hash region including a plurality of hashes as the reference hash information (Toshihiko teaches reads from the memory 10 the original data B that is to be stored with the originality assured, and generates a hash value H of the read original data B using a predetermined hash function [0039], original data as the preprocessing and hashing the original as the after the preprocessing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki to include generating a hash region including a plurality of hashes as the reference hash information as disclosed by Toshihiko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of ensuring the data is original (Toshihiko [0013]).
Re. claim 15, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson teach the hash generation device according to claim 14, wherein the operations further comprise: processing the data by a plurality of processes, generating a plurality of feature amounts for each processing result, generating hashes one by one for the plurality of processes, and generating the hash region including the plurality of generated hashes as the reference hash information (Toshihiko teaches reads from the memory 10 the original data B that is to be stored with the originality assured, and generates a hash value H of the read original data B using a predetermined hash function [0039], original data as the preprocessing and hashing the original as the after the preprocessing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki to include processing the data by a plurality of processes, generating a plurality of feature amounts for each processing result, generating hashes one by one for the plurality of processes, and generating the hash region including the plurality of generated hashes as the reference hash information as disclosed by Toshihiko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of ensuring the data is original (Toshihiko [0013]).
Re. claim 16, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson teach the hash generation device according to claim 15, Domeki-Toshihiko do not explicitly teach but Liu teaches wherein the operations further comprise: generating a region represented by polar coordinates centered on the reference hash as the hash region (Liu teaches the image undergoes a standard preprocessing process, where the original image is converted into a standard m×m image using an interpolation algorithm. ensure that the hash sequences generated by different images have the same length and can resist scaling distortion to a certain extent. The image is then subjected to a low-pass filtering operation, which can filter out some easily changing noise and retain the important content features of the image [0043][0047]. If the image f(x,y) is rotated by angle θ around the origin, g(r,θ) will be translated accordingly at the horizontal coordinate angle θ, [0017] [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki-Toshihiko to include generating a region represented by polar coordinates centered on the reference hash as the hash region as disclosed by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of image authentication (Liu [0010]).
Re. claim 20, 20 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 1 above.
Claims 5-7 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domeki (US 20200387421) in view of TOSHIHIKO (JP 2004336702) in view of Liu (CN 104091303) in view of Dowson et al. (“Hashed nonlocal means for Rapid Image Filtering” hereinafter Dowson) and in further view of TOMOCHIKA (JP2003298579A [0092]).
Re. claim 5, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson teach the hash generation device according to claim 1, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson do not explicitly teach but Tomochika teaches wherein the operations further comprise: performing as the preprocessing, processing of reducing a size of the data along a plurality of coordinate axes; and generating information of a size for each of the plurality of coordinate axes as the reference hash information (Tomochika teaches the main header MH consists of the size of the image to be encoded (number of pixels in the horizontal and vertical directions), the size of the image when divided into tiles, which are multiple rectangular areas, the number of components representing the number of each color component, the size of each component, and component information representing the bit precision [0092]. Generate multilevel robust digital signatures for 1/16 reduced images, 1/4 reduced images, and full-size images [0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson to include wherein the operations further comprise: performing as the preprocessing, processing of reducing a size of the data along a plurality of coordinate axes; and generating information of a size for each of the plurality of coordinate axes as the reference hash information as disclosed by Toshihiko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of reliability of digital image data (Tomochika [0013]).
Re. claim 6, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson teach the hash generation device according to claim 1, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson do not explicitly teach but Tomochika teaches wherein the operations further comprise: performing processing of dividing the data into a plurality of blocks as the preprocessing; and generating information of a size for each of coordinate axes of the blocks as the reference hash information (Tomochika teaches the main header MH consists of the size of the image to be encoded (number of pixels in the horizontal and vertical directions), the size of the image when divided into tiles, which are multiple rectangular areas, the number of components representing the number of each color component, the size of each component, and component information representing the bit precision [0092]. Generate multilevel robust digital signatures for 1/16 reduced images, 1/4 reduced images, and full-size images [0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson to include performing processing of dividing the data into a plurality of blocks as the preprocessing; and generating information of a size for each of coordinate axes of the blocks as the reference hash information as disclosed by Tomochika. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of reliability of digital image data (Tomochika [0013]).
Re. claim 7, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson teach the hash generation device according to claim 1, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson do not explicitly teach but Tomochika teaches wherein performing processing of dividing the data into a plurality of blocks as the preprocessing; and generating information of a number of the blocks for each of coordinate axes as the reference hash information (Tomochika teaches the main header MH consists of the size of the image to be encoded (number of pixels in the horizontal and vertical directions), the size of the image when divided into tiles, which are multiple rectangular areas, the number of components representing the number of each color component, the size of each component, and component information representing the bit precision [0092]. Generate multilevel robust digital signatures for 1/16 reduced images, 1/4 reduced images, and full-size images [0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki-Toshihiko to processing of dividing the data into a plurality of blocks as the preprocessing; and generating information of a number of the blocks for each of coordinate axes as the reference hash information as disclosed by Tomochika. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of reliability of digital image data (Tomochika [0013]).
Re. claim 21, rejection of claim 20 is included and claim 21 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 5 above.
Re. claim 22, rejection of claim 20 is included and claim 22 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 6 above.
Re. claim 23, rejection of claim 20 is included and claim 23 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 7 above.
Claims 9, 12, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domeki (US 20200387421) in view of TOSHIHIKO (JP 2004336702) in view of Liu (CN 104091303) in view of Dowson et al. (“Hashed nonlocal means for Rapid Image Filtering” hereinafter Dowson) and in further view of Liang et al. (US 20180204132).
Re. claim 9, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson teach the hash generation device according to claim 1, extract the feature amount on a basis of the generated reference hash information (Toshihiko teaches data division unit that divides the data into a plurality of divided data pieces from which the data can be restored using a secret sharing method [0012]. identification data generation unit that generates identification data that can uniquely identify a data body from the data body whose originality is to be ensured, and a division unit that divides the data that is the combination of the generated identification data and the data body using a secret sharing method [0013] Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki to include extract the feature amount on a basis of the generated reference hash information as disclosed by Toshihiko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of ensuring the data is original (Toshihiko [0013]).
Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson do not explicitly teach but Liang teaches wherein the operations further comprise: performing calculation processing of score on a plurality of bases for selecting a base to be used for extracting the feature amount, and generating information of a base selected on a basis of the calculated score as the reference hash information (Liang teaches a selection unit configured to estimate a degree of matching of the learning data at each portion with the first dictionary using the generated first dictionary and select a portion of the learning data based on the estimated degree of matching, wherein the generation unit generates a second dictionary based on the selected portion of the learning data [0009]. When the dictionary is generated (in step S301 or step S308), the information processing apparatus 110 calculates a projection error of each data in the defect data set with respect to the generated dictionary and ranks the data according to the value of the projection error [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki-Toshihiko to include performing calculation processing of score on a plurality of bases for selecting a base to be used for extracting the feature amount, and generating information of a base selected on a basis of the calculated score as the reference hash information as disclosed by Liang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of reliability of the data (Liang [0137])
Re. claim 12, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson teach the hash generation device according to claim 1, extracting a feature amount for a plurality of base groups including a plurality of bases used for feature amount extraction and generates a plurality of feature amount groups corresponding to the plurality of base groups (Toshihiko teaches data division unit that divides the data into a plurality of divided data pieces from which the data can be restored using a secret sharing method [0012]. identification data generation unit that generates identification data that can uniquely identify a data body from the data body whose originality is to be ensured, and a division unit that divides the data that is the combination of the generated identification data and the data body using a secret sharing method [0013] Fig. 2).
Domeki-Toshihiko do not explicitly teach but Liang teaches performing calculation processing of score for each of the plurality of generated feature amount groups to generate a number of feature amounts for each of the feature amount groups as the reference hash information, and performing the quantization processing by determining a feature amount corresponding to the number of feature amounts for each group on a basis of the generated reference hash information, and combining feature amounts on a basis of a comparison result of a relationship of the feature amounts in the group (Liang teaches a selection unit configured to estimate a degree of matching of the learning data at each portion with the first dictionary using the generated first dictionary and select a portion of the learning data based on the estimated degree of matching, wherein the generation unit generates a second dictionary based on the selected portion of the learning data [0009]. When the dictionary is generated (in step S301 or step S308), the information processing apparatus 110 calculates a projection error of each data in the defect data set with respect to the generated dictionary and ranks the data according to the value of the projection error [0104]. the information processing apparatus 110 compares the category of the discrimination result with the known category using whether the learning data belongs to the specific category or not as the known information. The category is confused with the other category is used as a data weight in relearning using the discrimination score [0159]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson to include the reference hash information generation unit performs calculation processing of score for each of the plurality of generated feature amount groups to generate a number of feature amounts for each of the feature amount groups as the reference hash information, and the quantization unit performs the quantization processing by determining a feature amount corresponding to the number of feature amounts for each group on a basis of the generated reference hash information, and combining feature amounts on a basis of a comparison result of a relationship of the feature amounts in the group as disclosed by Liang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of reliability of the data (Liang [0137]).
Re. claim 24, rejection of claim 20 is included and claim 24 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 9 above.
Re. claim 26, rejection of claim 20 is included and claim 26 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 12 above.
Claims 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domeki (US 20200387421) in view of TOSHIHIKO (JP 2004336702) in view of Liu (CN 104091303) in view of Dowson et al. (“Hashed nonlocal means for Rapid Image Filtering” hereinafter Dowson) and in further view of Araki (US 20200265148).
Re. claim 11, Domeki-Toshihiko teach the hash generation device according to claim 1, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson do not explicitly teach but Araki teaches wherein the operations further comprise: generating a digit of rounding for each of plural extracted feature amounts as the reference hash information; and performing rounding processing based on the generated reference hash information as the quantization processing (Araki teaches dividing the digital data value “10” by the conversion constant “3” and is represented by an infinite decimal such as “3.333333. . . . ” In this case, the infinite decimal needs to be controlled, for example, truncated or rounded according to a certain finite position [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson to include generating a digit of rounding for each of plural extracted feature amounts as the reference hash information; and performing rounding processing based on the generated reference hash information as the quantization processing as disclosed by Araki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of having a finite number in order to have a certain finite position (Araki [0077]).
Re. claim 25, rejection of claim 20 is included and claim 25 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 11 above.
Claims 13 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domeki (US 20200387421) in view of TOSHIHIKO (JP 2004336702) in view of Liu (CN 104091303) in view of Dowson et al. (“Hashed nonlocal means for Rapid Image Filtering” hereinafter Dowson) and in further view of Katoh (US 20170345116).
Re. claim 13, Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson teach the hash generation device according to claim 1 wherein the operations further comprise: extracting a feature amount on a basis of a plurality of bases used for feature amount extraction (Toshihiko teaches data division unit that divides the data into a plurality of divided data pieces from which the data can be restored using a secret sharing method [0012]. identification data generation unit that generates identification data that can uniquely identify a data body from the data body whose originality is to be ensured, and a division unit that divides the data that is the combination of the generated identification data and the data body using a secret sharing method [0013] Fig. 2).
Domeki-Toshihiko-Liu-Dowson do not explicitly teach but Katoh teaches generating a threshold value for binarizing the feature amount as the reference hash information; and performing the quantization processing by binarizing the extracted feature amount on a basis of the generated reference hash information (Katoh teach compares the resistance information data with a threshold value inputted to the input terminal A, and outputs a median error signal 0 for equal, 1 for larger, −1 for smaller from the output terminal B [0139]. The resistance value is detected, and the resistance value of each of memory cells is converted to binary data of 0/1 using the median as a threshold [0141][0125]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Domeki-Toshihiko to include generating a threshold value for binarizing the feature amount as the reference hash information; and performing the quantization processing by binarizing the extracted feature amount on a basis of the generated reference hash information as disclosed by Katoh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of outputting error signals (Katoh [0139]).
Re. claim 27, rejection of claim 20 is included and claim 27 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 13 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yagi (US 11010153) discloses an information processing apparatus and an information processing apparatus are provided. The information processing apparatus detects whether or not a control program stored in a storage has been falsified, updates the control program to a valid control program in accordance with a detection of the detecting unit that the control program has been falsified, and initializes setting data set in the information processing apparatus in accordance with an update of the control program.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN AYALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496