DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the claim objections, the amendments to the claims have rendered the objections moot, they are therefore withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections, the amendments to the claims have rendered the rejections moot, they are therefore withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 102/ 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Colello, Colello discloses each of the features of the present claims as is detailed in the Rejections sections below. Specifically regarding the arguments in lights of claim 1 and 7, the office is no longer relying on battery storage cells 600 for the rejection as the claims are heavily amended and required further search and consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colello, preciously cited, (US 2011/0282807 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Colello discloses an energy transportation system (system and method for transporting energy 2700 for transporting energy), comprising:
a transportation ship provided with a plurality of battery cells storing electric energy for transportation (see ship in §[0165] and in §[0020], reproduced below for convenience, the cells in the disclosed battery: a second battery integrated within the vehicle for storing energy for transmitting from the first location to the second location, specifically interconnected cells of subsystem 3000, an embodiment of subsystem 2708 for mobile energy storage system 2700 – Figs. 27 and 30, §[0170] see also Fig. 27, specifically a ship as evidenced by §[0165]: configured for installation in a ship);
a supply facility configured to be located outside the transportation ship and configured to supply electric energy to the plurality of battery cells (energy source 102 at first location 101; §§[0022], [0122], [0119]); and
a reception facility configured to be located outside the transportation ship and configured to receive a supply of electric energy from the plurality of battery cells (the office notes the facility where the energy is configured to be received at the second location, §[0020], 103),
wherein the transportation ship comprises a drive battery (the office notes a first battery integrated with the vehicle for storing energy for moving the vehicle see §[0020] below), and a container that is removable from a hull of a ship (the office notes the chassis 2702/removable container of mobile energy storage system 2700 configured for installation in a ship, Fig. 27, §[0164]),
wherein the container includes the plurality of battery cells (Figs. 27 and 30),
wherein the ship navigates without consuming the electric energy stored in the plurality of battery cells by supplying electric energy stored in the drive battery to “move the ship” (the ship is configured to navigate without consuming the electric energy stored in “a second battery” as is evidenced by the first battery that specifically for moving the vehicle, see §[0020] below),
wherein the plurality of battery cells and the drive battery are electrically connected (the office notes the electrical connection as is evidence by §[0020] below: the vehicle is configured and arranged such that energy can be transferred from the second battery to the first battery so that the energy for moving the vehicle is at least partially provided by the second battery), and
wherein the transportation ship allows the electric energy stored in the plurality of battery cells to be supplied to the drive battery (see §[0020] below: The vehicle is configured and arranged such that energy can be transferred from the second battery to the first battery so that the energy for moving the vehicle is at least partially provided by the second battery).
The ship disclosed in §[0165] of Colello does not appear to specifically disclose a motor of the ship; and a hull of the ship which includes the motor and the drive battery.
However, Colello teaches a ship (900, Figs. 9A-9B) comprising a hull (902) and a motor (900 with an electric propulsion system the is configured to utilize power of a battery, §[0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the energy transportation method disclosed by Colello with the a ship (900, Figs. 9A-9B) comprising a hull (902) and a motor as taught by Figs. 9A-9B of Colello, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the transportation ship comprises a hull and a motor and the hull includes the drive battery and the motor. The benefit being the predictable outcome of providing structural support for the vessel and at least receiving and distributing loads from the water for the transportation ship via the hull and an effective means for moving the vehicle that has the added capability of being configured to utilize the power of a drive battery (§[0020]).
Modified Colello does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the hull includes the drive battery and the motor.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the drive battery and motor in/on the hull, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. The benefit being the predictable outcome of providing force distribution for the propulsion system and protecting the components from water.
Reproduced: Colello, [0020] In an embodiment, a vehicle for transmitting electric power from a first location to a second location includes (1) a first battery integrated within the vehicle for storing energy for moving the vehicle, (2) a second battery integrated within the vehicle for storing energy for transmitting from the first location to the second location, (3) at least one power converter electrically coupled to the second battery for controlling charging and discharging of the second battery, (4) a controller coupled to the at least one power converter for controlling operation of the power converter, and (5) a power coupling electrically coupled to the at least one power converter. The power coupling is for electrically coupling the vehicle to a first power interface at the first location to receive electric power to charge the second battery and for electrically coupling the vehicle to a second power interface at the second location to deliver electric power from the second battery to a load at the second location. The vehicle is configured and arranged such that energy can be transferred from the second battery to the first battery so that the energy for moving the vehicle is at least partially provided by the second battery.
Regarding claim 4, modified Colello discloses the system according to claim 1, further comprising a power generation facility configured to supply electric energy to the supply facility (the office notes first energy source 102 may be any of: a coal/gas/nuclear power station, a wind farm, a solar array, an underwater turbine, a geothermal power generator, and so on, §[0087]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Colello discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the supply facility and the reception facility are configured to be located onshore (the office notes at least Fig. 21 wherein a ship receives electrical energy form an onshore solar array 2102).
Regarding claim 7, Colello discloses an energy transportation method comprising
transporting electric energy by a transportation ship (§[0020], reproduced below for convenience; see also Fig. 27, specifically a ship as evidenced by §[0165]: configured for installation in a ship);
provided with a plurality of battery cells storing electric energy (a second battery integrated within the vehicle for storing energy for transmitting from the first location to the second location, §[0020]; specifically interconnected cells of subsystem 3000, an embodiment of subsystem 2708 for mobile energy storage system 2700 – Figs. 27 and 30, §[0170]) from a supply facility outside the transportation ship (first location, §[0020], 101) to a reception facility outside the transportation ship (second location, §[0020], 103),
wherein the transportation ship comprises a container that is removable from a hull of a ship (the office notes the chassis 2702/removable container of mobile energy storage system 2700 configured for installation in a ship, Fig. 27, §[0164]),
the container includes the plurality of battery cells (Figs. 27 and 30), and a drive battery (the office notes a first battery integrated with the vehicle for storing energy for moving the vehicle see §[0020] below),
the plurality of battery cells and the drive battery are electrically connected (the office notes the electrical connection as is evidence by §[0020] below: the vehicle is configured and arranged such that energy can be transferred from the second battery to the first battery so that the energy for moving the vehicle is at least partially provided by the second battery), and
the transporting includes:
navigating the transportation ship without consuming the electric energy stored in the plurality of battery cells by supplying electric energy stored in the drive battery to the motor (as is evidenced by the first battery that specifically for moving the vehicle, see §[0020] below), and
allowing the electric energy stored in the plurality of battery cells to be supplied to the drive battery (see §[0020] below: The vehicle is configured and arranged such that energy can be transferred from the second battery to the first battery so that the energy for moving the vehicle is at least partially provided by the second battery).
[0020] In an embodiment, a vehicle for transmitting electric power from a first location to a second location includes (1) a first battery integrated within the vehicle for storing energy for moving the vehicle, (2) a second battery integrated within the vehicle for storing energy for transmitting from the first location to the second location, (3) at least one power converter electrically coupled to the second battery for controlling charging and discharging of the second battery, (4) a controller coupled to the at least one power converter for controlling operation of the power converter, and (5) a power coupling electrically coupled to the at least one power converter. The power coupling is for electrically coupling the vehicle to a first power interface at the first location to receive electric power to charge the second battery and for electrically coupling the vehicle to a second power interface at the second location to deliver electric power from the second battery to a load at the second location. The vehicle is configured and arranged such that energy can be transferred from the second battery to the first battery so that the energy for moving the vehicle is at least partially provided by the second battery.
The ship disclosed in §[0165] of Colello does not appear to specifically disclose a motor of the ship; and a hull of the ship includes the motor and the drive battery.
However, Colello teaches a ship (900, Figs. 9A-9B) comprising a hull (902) and a motor (900 with an electric propulsion system the is configured to utilize power of a battery, §[0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the energy transportation method disclosed by Colello with the a ship (900, Figs. 9A-9B) comprising a hull (902) and a motor as taught by Figs. 9A-9B of Colello, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the transportation ship comprises a hull and a motor and the hull includes the drive battery and the motor. The benefit being the predictable outcome of providing structural support for the vessel and at least receiving and distributing loads from the water for the transportation ship via the hull and an effective means for moving the vehicle that has the added capability of being configured to utilize the power of a drive battery (§[0020]).
Modified Colello does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the hull includes the drive battery and the motor.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the drive battery and motor in/on the hull, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. The benefit being the predictable outcome of providing force distribution for the propulsion system and protecting the components from water.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colello as applied to claim 1, and further, in view of (JP 2016/100970), hereinafter Hashimoto – previously cited.
Regarding claim 6, Colello discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the transportation ship is configured to receive electric energy from the supply facility via a cable (2010, Fig. 20, §[0150]: Ship 900 connects to power connector 2008 via a power line 2010 to receive electrical power from wind farm 2002), or is configured to supply electric energy
However, in the field of offshore power generation equipment, Hashimoto teaches technology that can be used to save, transport and store energy in the form of hydrogen gas and/or batteries (§[0001], pg. 51/106) including a robot arm for suspending and holding a cable (SAD for suspending and holding aerial power line AK, Fig. 1; moveable arm device, §[0032], pg. 66/106; §[0079], pg. 84/106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the transportation ship disclosed by Colello with the robot arm for suspending and holding cable taught by Hashimoto, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the ship comprises the robot arm for suspending and holding the cable. The benefit being the ability to quickly stop the ship, connect a power cable, separate the power cable, and depart the ship (§[0032], line 638, page 66/106).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.D.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642