DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 8 – 14 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 13 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietrich et al. (US 2020/0016927 A1; pub. Jan. 16, 2020).
Regarding claim 8, Dietrich et al. disclose: A medical device undercarriage (fig.1), comprising: a pair of front wheels (fig.1 items W11 & W 12); a pair of rear wheels (fig.1 items W21 & W 22); and a controller operable to calculate a gear ratio of the rear wheels according to a position of the first position sensitive detector and a position of the second position sensitive detector (para. [0143] – [0144]).
Dietrich et al. do not specifically disclose: a first position sensitive detector located between the pair of front wheels; a second position sensitive detector located between the pair of rear wheels. However, in para. [0142] Dietrich et al. disclose that position sensor can be arranged separately from the wheel-hud. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have used the teachings of para. [0142] and have a first position sensitive detector located between the pair of front wheels; a second position sensitive detector located between the pair of rear wheels.
Regarding claim 13, Dietrich et al. disclose: the front wheel comprises a mobile encoder, a mobile motor, and a mobile drive, and wherein the rear wheel comprises a steering encoder, a steering motor, and a steering drive (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 8).
Regarding claim 14, Dietrich et al. disclose: the medical device is disposed on the medical device undercarriage, and the controller is operable to send the gear ratio of the rear wheels to the medical device (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: if a position
Claims 10 – 12 would be allowable on the same basis as claim 9 for dependency reasons.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884