Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/13/2026 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of new ground of rejection presented in this office action which is necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et
al. (US 20230269607 A1) in view of Rugeland et al. (US 20230262501 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
WANG discloses “A method performed by a user equipment, the method comprising the
following steps: upon receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message,
which includes an indication to perform Secondary Cell Group (SCG) deactivation” (See [0063] In the process 300, the network device 110 transmits 302 to the terminal
device 130 an indication to suspend or deactivate the SCG 160 of the network device 120.
[0064] the network device 110 may transmit an RRCReconfiguration message to indicate the
SCG suspension); “re-establishing a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of an SCG bearer” (See
[0081] upon receiving the SCG suspension indication, the terminal device 130 may perform
one or more of the following: re-establishing the RLC entity of the SCG bearer).
WANG does not explicitly disclose re-establishing a RLC entity of an SCG bearer for a measurement report.
However, Rugeland discloses “for a measurement report” (See [0134] the UE can be configured to perform measurements of a suspended SCG for a limited time and only report the measurement results once the SCG need to be re-activated. Relative to continuous SCG measurement reporting, such embodiments can reduce UE energy consumption (e.g., due to fewer measurements) and signaling with the network (e.g., since only one report is transmitted). On the other hand, relative to stopping SCG-related measurements when the SCG is suspended, such embodiments can enable faster re-activation of the SCG when needed (e.g., when data arrives for an SCG-terminated bearer) due to the network having up-to-date SCG measurements).
Note: Rugeland discloses that when the SCG is suspended, the UE performs SCG measurements and transmits measurement reports in order to enable faster SCG re-activation and reduce UE energy consumption. Transmission of such measurement reports requires signaling via bearers implemented over RLC entities. WANG discloses re-establishing the RLC entity of the SCG bearer upon SCG deactivation/ suspension.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of WANG, with the teachings of Rugeland, to utilize the RLC re-establishment procedure upon SCG deactivation, to enable transmission of the SCG measurement report, and the motivation to do so would have been to achieve faster SCG re-activation and reduce UE energy consumption (Rugeland [0134]).
Regarding claim 10,
WANG discloses “A user equipment, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium that is in electronic communication with the processor, and that stores one or more computer-executable instructions that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to” (See Fig. 11, [0136] The device 1100 can be considered as a further example implementation of the terminal device 130): “upon receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message which includes an indication to perform Secondary Cell Group (SCG) deactivation” (See [0063] In the process 300, the network device 110 transmits 302 to the terminal device 130 an indication to suspend or deactivate the SCG 160 of the network device 120. [0064] the network device 110 may transmit an RRCReconfiguration message to indicate the SCG suspension); “re-establish a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of a SCG bearer” (See [0081] upon receiving the SCG suspension indication, the terminal device 130 may perform one or more of the following: re-establishing the RLC entity of the SCG bearer).
WANG does not explicitly disclose re-establishing a RLC entity of an SCG bearer for a measurement report.
However, Rugeland discloses “for a measurement report” (See [0134] the UE can be configured to perform measurements of a suspended SCG for a limited time and only report the measurement results once the SCG need to be re-activated. Relative to continuous SCG measurement reporting, such embodiments can reduce UE energy consumption (e.g., due to fewer measurements) and signaling with the network (e.g., since only one report is transmitted). On the other hand, relative to stopping SCG-related measurements when the SCG is suspended, such embodiments can enable faster re-activation of the SCG when needed (e.g., when data arrives for an SCG-terminated bearer) due to the network having up-to-date SCG measurements).
Note: Rugeland discloses that when the SCG is suspended, the UE performs SCG measurements and transmits measurement reports in order to enable faster SCG re-activation and reduce UE energy consumption. Transmission of such measurement reports requires signaling via bearers implemented over RLC entities. WANG discloses re-establishing the RLC entity of the SCG bearer upon SCG deactivation/ suspension.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of WANG, with the teachings of Rugeland, to utilize the RLC re-establishment procedure upon SCG deactivation, to enable transmission of the SCG measurement report, and the motivation to do so would have been to achieve faster SCG re-activation and reduce UE energy consumption (Rugeland [0134]).
Regarding claim 11,
WANG in view of Rugeland discloses “The user equipment according to claim 10, wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the user equipment to: upon activating the deactivated SCG, initiate a random access procedure on the SCG” (See WANG [0049] the terminal device receives an indication from the first network device to activate the SCG, which has
been previously deactivated. This indication is also referred to as a SCG resumption
indication. Upon receiving the SCG resumption indication, the terminal device performs a
procedure to resume the SCG. The terminal device starts a timer and initiates a random
access procedure on PSCell of the SCG).
Regarding claim 12,
WANG discloses “A base station, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium that is in electronic communication with the processor, and that stores one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor cause the base station to” (See Fig. 11, [0136] The device 1100 can be considered as a further example implementation of the network device 120): “transmit, to a user equipment, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, which includes an indication to perform Secondary Cell Group (SCG) deactivation” (See [0063] In the process 300, the network device 110 transmits 302 to the terminal device 130 an indication to suspend or deactivate the SCG 160 of the network device 120. [0064] the network device 110 may transmit an RRCReconfiguration message to indicate the SCG suspension); “wherein, upon receiving the RRC reconfiguration message, the user equipment re-establishes a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of an SCG bearer for a measurement report” (See [0081] upon receiving the SCG suspension indication, the terminal device 130 may perform one or more of the following: re- establishing the RLC entity of the SCG bearer).
WANG does not explicitly disclose re-establishing a RLC entity of an SCG bearer for a measurement report.
However, Rugeland discloses “for a measurement report” (See [0134] the UE can be configured to perform measurements of a suspended SCG for a limited time and only report the measurement results once the SCG need to be re-activated. Relative to continuous SCG measurement reporting, such embodiments can reduce UE energy consumption (e.g., due to fewer measurements) and signaling with the network (e.g., since only one report is transmitted). On the other hand, relative to stopping SCG-related measurements when the SCG is suspended, such embodiments can enable faster re-activation of the SCG when needed (e.g., when data arrives for an SCG-terminated bearer) due to the network having up-to-date SCG measurements).
Note: Rugeland discloses that when the SCG is suspended, the UE performs SCG measurements and transmits measurement reports in order to enable faster SCG re-activation and reduce UE energy consumption. Transmission of such measurement reports requires signaling via bearers implemented over RLC entities. WANG discloses re-establishing the RLC entity of the SCG bearer upon SCG deactivation/ suspension.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of WANG, with the teachings of Rugeland, to utilize the RLC re-establishment procedure upon SCG deactivation, to enable transmission of the SCG measurement report, and the motivation to do so would have been to achieve faster SCG re-activation and reduce UE energy consumption (Rugeland [0134]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SALMA AYAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2462 /YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462