Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/16/2026 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of new ground of rejection presented in this office action, which better addresses the claims as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification fails to mention a second RRC message without an indication to perform SCG deactivation. At most, the specification in page 9, lines 4-6, only mentions that if the UE does not receive the message/ MAC CE/ DCI, it’s considered that the UE has not received SCG deactivation command. There is no mention of an RRC message without an indication to perform SCG deactivation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et
al. (US 20230269607 A1) in view of Rugeland et al. (US 20230262501 A1) and further in view of Yilmaz et al. (US 20220141904 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
WANG discloses “A method performed by a user equipment, the method comprising the
following steps: upon receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message,
which includes an indication to perform Secondary Cell Group (SCG) deactivation” (See
[0063] In the process 300, the network device 110 transmits 302 to the terminal
device 130 an indication to suspend or deactivate the SCG 160 of the network device 120.
[0064] the network device 110 may transmit an RRCReconfiguration message to indicate the
SCG suspension); “re-establishing a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of an SCG bearer” (See
[0081] upon receiving the SCG suspension indication, the terminal device 130 may perform
one or more of the following: re-establishing the RLC entity of the SCG bearer).
WANG does not explicitly disclose re-establishing a RLC entity of an SCG bearer for a
measurement report.
However, Rugeland discloses “for a measurement report” (See [0134] the UE can be
configured to perform measurements of a suspended SCG for a limited time and only report
the measurement results once the SCG need to be re-activated. Relative to continuous
SCG measurement reporting, such embodiments can reduce UE energy consumption (e.g.,
due to fewer measurements) and signaling with the network (e.g., since only one report is
transmitted). On the other hand, relative to stopping SCG-related measurements when the
SCG is suspended, such embodiments can enable faster re-activation of the SCG when
needed (e.g., when data arrives for an SCG-terminated bearer) due to the network having
up-to-date SCG measurements).
Note: Rugeland discloses that when the SCG is suspended, the UE performs SCG
measurements and transmits measurement reports in order to enable faster SCG re-activation and reduce UE energy consumption. Transmission of such measurement reports
requires signaling via bearers implemented over RLC entities. WANG discloses re-
establishing the RLC entity of the SCG bearer upon SCG deactivation/ suspension.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of WANG, with
the teachings of Rugeland, to utilize the RLC re-establishment procedure upon SCG
deactivation, to enable transmission of the SCG measurement report, and the motivation to
do so would have been to achieve faster SCG re-activation and reduce UE energy
consumption (Rugeland [0134]).
WANG in view of Rugeland does not explicitly disclose receiving an RRC message without the indication to perform deactivation, considering a deactivated SCG to be activated, and initiating a RA process on the SCG.
However, Yilmaz discloses “and upon receiving a second RRC reconfiguration message without the indication to perform the SCG deactivation, considering a deactivated SCG to be activated and initiating a random-access procedure on the SCG” (See Fig. 7, [0335] In Action 4, the MN 110 transmits an RRCResume to the UE 120. In the RRCResume message, the UE 120 may receive an indication that the SCG should be resumed. This indication to resume the SCG may also be signalled as the absence of an indication to suspend the SCG. See Action 6, Fig. 7, The UE performs a random-access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of WANG and Rugeland, with the teachings of Yilmaz, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and improve signaling efficiency by using implicit signaling.
Regarding claim 10,
WANG discloses “A user equipment, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one
non-transitory machine-readable medium that is in electronic communication with the
processor, and that stores one or more computer-executable instructions that when
executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to” (See Fig. 11, [0136]
The device 1100 can be considered as a further example implementation of the terminal
device 130): “upon receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message
which includes an indication to perform Secondary Cell Group (SCG) deactivation” (See
[0063] In the process 300, the network device 110 transmits 302 to the terminal device 130
an indication to suspend or deactivate the SCG 160 of the network device 120. [0064] the
network device 110 may transmit an RRCReconfiguration message to indicate the SCG
suspension); “re-establish a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of a SCG bearer” (See [0081]
upon receiving the SCG suspension indication, the terminal device 130 may perform one or
more of the following: re-establishing the RLC entity of the SCG bearer).
WANG does not explicitly disclose re-establishing a RLC entity of an SCG bearer for a
measurement report.
However, Rugeland discloses “for a measurement report” (See [0134] the UE can be
configured to perform measurements of a suspended SCG for a limited time and only report
the measurement results once the SCG need to be re-activated. Relative to continuous
SCG measurement reporting, such embodiments can reduce UE energy consumption (e.g.,
due to fewer measurements) and signaling with the network (e.g., since only one report is
transmitted). On the other hand, relative to stopping SCG-related measurements when the
SCG is suspended, such embodiments can enable faster re-activation of the SCG when
needed (e.g., when data arrives for an SCG-terminated bearer) due to the network having
up-to-date SCG measurements).
Note: Rugeland discloses that when the SCG is suspended, the UE performs SCG
measurements and transmits measurement reports in order to enable faster SCG re-
activation and reduce UE energy consumption. Transmission of such measurement reports
requires signaling via bearers implemented over RLC entities. WANG discloses re-
establishing the RLC entity of the SCG bearer upon SCG deactivation/ suspension.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of WANG, with
the teachings of Rugeland, to utilize the RLC re-establishment procedure upon SCG
deactivation, to enable transmission of the SCG measurement report, and the motivation to
do so would have been to achieve faster SCG re-activation and reduce UE energy
consumption (Rugeland [0134]).
WANG in view of Rugeland does not explicitly disclose receiving an RRC message without the indication to perform deactivation, considering a deactivated SCG to be activated, and initiating a RA process on the SCG.
However, Yilmaz discloses “and upon receiving a second RRC reconfiguration message without the indication to perform the SCG deactivation, considering a deactivated SCG to be activated and initiating a random-access procedure on the SCG” (See Fig. 7, [0335] In Action 4, the MN 110 transmits an RRCResume to the UE 120. In the RRCResume message, the UE 120 may receive an indication that the SCG should be resumed. This indication to resume the SCG may also be signalled as the absence of an indication to suspend the SCG. See Action 6, Fig. 7, The UE performs a random-access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of WANG and Rugeland, with the teachings of Yilmaz, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and improve signaling efficiency by using implicit signaling.
Regarding claim 12,
WANG discloses “A base station, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-
transitory machine-readable medium that is in electronic communication with the
processor, and that stores one or more computer-executable instructions that, when
executed by the at least one processor cause the base station to” (See Fig. 11, [0136] The
device 1100 can be considered as a further example implementation of the network device
120): “transmit, to a user equipment, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration
message, which includes an indication to perform Secondary Cell Group (SCG)
deactivation” (See [0063] In the process 300, the network device 110 transmits 302 to the
terminal device 130 an indication to suspend or deactivate the SCG 160 of the network
device 120. [0064] the network device 110 may transmit an RRCReconfiguration message to
indicate the SCG suspension); “wherein, upon receiving the RRC reconfiguration message, the user equipment re-establishes a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity of an SCG bearer for a
measurement report” (See [0081] upon receiving the SCG suspension indication, the
terminal device 130 may perform one or more of the following: re- establishing the RLC
entity of the SCG bearer).
WANG does not explicitly disclose re-establishing a RLC entity of an SCG bearer for a
measurement report.
However, Rugeland discloses “for a measurement report” (See [0134] the UE can be
configured to perform measurements of a suspended SCG for a limited time and only report
the measurement results once the SCG need to be re-activated. Relative to continuous
SCG measurement reporting, such embodiments can reduce UE energy consumption (e.g.,
due to fewer measurements) and signaling with the network (e.g., since only one report is
transmitted). On the other hand, relative to stopping SCG-related measurements when the
SCG is suspended, such embodiments can enable faster re-activation of the SCG when
needed (e.g., when data arrives for an SCG-terminated bearer) due to the network having
up-to-date SCG measurements).
Note: Rugeland discloses that when the SCG is suspended, the UE performs SCG
measurements and transmits measurement reports in order to enable faster SCG re-
activation and reduce UE energy consumption. Transmission of such measurement reports
requires signaling via bearers implemented over RLC entities. WANG discloses re-
establishing the RLC entity of the SCG bearer upon SCG deactivation/ suspension.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of WANG, with the teachings of Rugeland, to utilize the RLC re-establishment procedure upon SCG
deactivation, to enable transmission of the SCG measurement report, and the motivation to
do so would have been to achieve faster SCG re-activation and reduce UE energy
consumption (Rugeland [0134]).
WANG in view of Rugeland does not explicitly disclose transmitting an RRC message without the indication to perform deactivation, considering a deactivated SCG to be activated, and initiating a RA process on the SCG.
However, Yilmaz discloses “and transmit, to the user equipment, a second RRC reconfiguration message without the indication to perform the SCG deactivation, wherein, upon receiving the second RRC reconfiguration message, the user equipment considers a deactivated SCG to be activated and initiates a random-access procedure on the SCG” (See Fig. 7, [0335] In Action 4, the MN 110 transmits an RRCResume to the UE 120. In the RRCResume message, the UE 120 may receive an indication that the SCG should be resumed. This indication to resume the SCG may also be signalled as the absence of an indication to suspend the SCG. See Action 6, Fig. 7, The UE performs a random-access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of WANG and Rugeland, with the teachings of Yilmaz, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and improve signaling efficiency by using implicit signaling.
Conclusion
/SALMA AYAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2462 /YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462