DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 3 or 4 be found allowable, claims 5 or 6, respectively, will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a range of the wedge angle” for each S region. It is unclear what is required by one S range being greater than or lesser than another S range. Is the entire range required to be greater or lesser? Is only one end point required to be greater or lesser? For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted such that any wedge angle value that is greater or lesser than another will satisfy the claim. Claims 2-6 are rejected for being dependent on claim 1.
Claim 1 recites “vertical center of both sides.” It is unclear to which sides this is referring. A display region has four sides. It is further unclear what a vertical center is. Is the center in the vertical direction? Or are the sides in the vertical direction? For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted such that the center is a horizontal line drawn through the center of two opposing vertical sides of the display region, as Examiner believes is intended. Claims 2-6 are rejected for being dependent on claim 1.
Claims 4 and 6 recite “large radius.” Is it unclear what “large” requires. It is unclear what radius value would satisfy “large” and what would not. For purposes of examination, any radius value will satisfy “large.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0285339 Spangler et al.
Regarding claim 1, Spangler teaches a windshield including an HUD device (paragraph 0009) switching a plurality of display regions (paragraph 0096) in a vertical direction (figure 12a),
the windshield comprising a glass plate (paragraph 0041) which has a first main surface and a second main surface opposite from the first main surface and in which the display region is formed (figure 13a), wherein
the glass plate is configured such that an upper end portion is formed so as to have a greater thickness than a lower end portion (figure 13a), and the first main surface and the second main surface form a wedge angle α (figure 4); and
S_Center <S-_Upper and S_Center <S_Lower are satisfied (figure 15, W-3 interlayer where the wedge angle value starts higher in the S_Lower region, decreases in the center S_Center region, and returns to a higher value in the S_Upper region).
Spangler does not disclose the Y height with the specific region sizes. Spangler does, however, teach that the interlayers may have any combination of increasing, decreasing and constant wedge angles (paragraph 0063). Spangler further teaches that the variable angle interlayers provide lower double image separation for drivers of different heights (paragraph 0146), which would be the different S regions of the claim. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to delineate S regions of the display based on the heights of different drivers, where different wedge angles will provide lower double images at different points of viewing.
Regarding claim 2, Spangler teaches that the plurality of display regions overlap in a vertical direction (figure 12a).
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Spangler teaches that the windshield is curved (paragraph 0048) so as to be convex outward from a vehicle in a horizontal direction (figure 1).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Spangler teaches a plurality of regions having different radii of curvature in the horizontal direction (paragraph 0048), wherein the display region is provided in a region having a large radius of curvature in the horizontal direction (figure 1).
Conclusion
/MEGHA M GAITONDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781