DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 4/2/2026 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 14, 25, and 29 are amended, Claims 1-13 are canceled, Claims 34-39 have been added, and Claims 14-39 remain pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/29/2023 are acknowledged and accepted.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15, 17-20, 22, 25-30, and 32-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (JP2015163927A, of record in the IDS dated 12/20/2024, English translation included).
With respect to Claim 14, Sakai discloses a zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) comprising a plurality of lens groups (Fig. 3-- elements G21 and combined G22 and G23), a total number of the lens groups is two (Fig. 3-- elements G21 and combined G22 and G23), and the lens groups comprising:
a first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) and a second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) that are arranged from an object side to an image side,
wherein the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) is fixed (Fig. 3 and [0121]—element G21 is stationary), and the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) is capable of sliding along a direction of an optical axis (Fig. 3 and [0121]—element G21 moves along the optical axis),
the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) has a positive focal power ([0115]: G21 is positive),
the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) has a negative focal power ([0115]: G22 and G33 have a negative combined focal length),
a first ratio of a first focal length (EFLG1) ([0126]: f1= 22.0829) of the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) to a second focal length (EFLG2) ([0121]: f2= -24.775) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) satisfies |EFLG1/EFLG2 |<1.22 (|22.0829/-24.775|= 0.89), and
a second ratio of the second focal length (EFLG2) ([0121]: f2=-24.775) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) to a focal length (EFL) ([0123]: f= 48.4962) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies o.4< |EFLG2/EFL|<1 (|-24.775/48.4962|=0.51).
Thus, Sakai discloses the claimed invention except for 0.79< |EFLG1/EFLG2|. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alter the ratio of focal lengths, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
With respect to Claim 15, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 14, and further discloses wherein the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) comprises at least one lens (Fig. 3—G21 includes 4 lenses), and a lens that is in the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) and that is closest to the object side has a first positive focal power (Fig. 3 and [0121]: element L211 is positive).
With respect to Claim 17, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 15, and further discloses wherein the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) comprises a first lens and a second lens that are arranged from the object side to the image side, and the second lens has a second negative focal power (Fig. 3 and [0121]: element L212 is negative).
With respect to Claim 18, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 14, and further discloses wherein, in a process in which the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) changes from a telephoto state to a macro state ([0012]: the inner focusing lens has a focal length ranging from a wide angle to a standard angle of view), the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) moves from the object side to the image side ([0121]: d8 and d10 are variable), and a ratio of a moving distance (Δ) (calculated using values from [0123]: Δ= 2.85) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) to a total track length (TTL) ([0129]: L= 49.148) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies Δ /TLL<0.4 (2.85/49.148= 0.05).
With respect to Claim 19, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 18, and further discloses wherein the moving distance (Δ) (calculated using values from [0123]: Δ= 2.85) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) is less than 4 mm (calculated using values from [0123]: Δ= 2.85).
With respect to Claim 20, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 14, and further discloses
wherein the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) comprises at least one lens (Fig. 3: G22 and G23 includes more than one lens), and
a surface, facing the image side, of a lens that is in the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) and that is closest to the object side is a concave surface (Fig. 3—element r10 is concave).
With respect to Claim 22, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 14, and further discloses wherein, in a telephoto state, the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) moves to be closer to the object side ([0123]: d8 becomes larger as the lens focuses from infinity to 300mm), and a focusing distance (ODt) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies: 1 m<ODt<∞ ([0123]: the lens system is able to focus from 300mm to infinity).
With respect to Claim 25, Sakai discloses camera apparatus ([0040]: The present invention aims to provide an inner focusing lens that is suitable for cameras), comprising:
a photosensitive element (Fig. 3-- image sensor; [0007]) and a zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]), wherein the photosensitive element (Fig. 3-- image sensor; [0007]) is on an image side of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]), the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) is configured to receive light reflected by a photographed object and project the light to the photosensitive element (Fig. 3-- image sensor; [0007]), and the photosensitive element (Fig. 3-- image sensor; [0007]) is configured to convert the light into an image signal (See [0007]),
wherein the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) comprises a plurality of lens groups (Fig. 3-- elements G21 and combined G22 and G23), a total number of the lens groups is two (Fig. 3-- elements G21 and combined G22 and G23), and the lens groups comprise a first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) and a second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) that are arranged from an object side to the image side,
wherein the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) is fixed (Fig. 3 and [0121]—element G21 is stationary), and the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) is capable of sliding along a direction of an optical axis (Fig. 3 and [0121]—element G21 moves along the optical axis),
the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) has a positive focal power ([0115]: G21 is positive),
the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) has a negative focal power ([0115]: G22 and G33 have a negative combined focal length),
a first ratio of a first focal length (EFLG1) ([0126]: f1= 22.0829) of the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) to a second focal length (EFLG2) ) ([0121]: f2= -24.775) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) satisfies |EFLG1/EFLG2 |<1.22 (|22.0829/-24.775|= 0.89), and
a second ratio of the second focal length (EFLG2) ([0126]: f2= -24.775) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) to a focal length (EFL) ([0123]: f= 48.4962) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies o.4< |EFLG2/EFL|<1 (|-24.775/48.4962|=0.51).
Thus, Sakai discloses the claimed invention except for 0.79< |EFLG1/EFLG2|. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alter the ratio of focal lengths, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
With respect to Claim 26, Sakai discloses the camera apparatus according to claim 25, and further discloses wherein the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) comprises at least one lens (Fig. 3—G21 includes 4 lenses), and a lens that is in the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) and that is closest to the object side has a first positive focal power (Fig. 3 and [0121]: element L211 is positive).
With respect to Claim 27, Sakai discloses the camera apparatus according to claim 25, and further discloses wherein, in a telephoto state, the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) moves to be closer to the object side ([0123]: d8 becomes larger as the lens focuses from infinity to 300mm), and a focusing distance (ODt) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies: 1 m<ODt<∞ ([0123]: the lens system is able to focus from 300mm to infinity).
With respect to Claim 28, Sakai discloses the camera apparatus according to claim 25, and further discloses
wherein the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) comprises at least one lens (Fig. 3: G22 and G23 includes more than one lens), and
a surface, facing the image side, of a lens that is in the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) and that is closest to the object side is a concave surface (Fig. 3—element r10 is concave).
With respect to Claim 29, Sakai discloses a mobile terminal ([0157]: the inner focusing lens is useful for imaging devices such as photo cameras and video cameras), comprising:
a housing ([0094]: an inner focusing lens can be mounted on a camera) and a zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) that is disposed in the housing,
wherein the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) comprises a plurality of lens groups (Fig. 3-- elements G21 and combined G22 and G23), a total number of the lens groups is two (Fig. 3-- elements G21 and combined G22 and G23), and the lens groups comprise a first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) and a second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) that are arranged from an object side to an image side,
wherein the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) is fixed (Fig. 3 and [0121]—element G21 is stationary), and the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) is capable of sliding along a direction of an optical axis (Fig. 3 and [0121]—element G21 moves along the optical axis),
the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) has a positive focal power ([0115]: G21 is positive),
the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) has a negative focal power ([0115]: G22 and G33 have a negative combined focal length),
a first ratio of a first focal length (EFLG1) ([0126]: f1= 22.0829) of the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) to a second focal length (EFLG2) ) ([0121]: f2= -24.775) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) satisfies |EFLG1/EFLG2 |<1.22 (|22.0829/-24.775|= 0.89), and
a second ratio of the second focal length (EFLG2) ([0121]: f2= -24.775) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) to a focal length (EFL) ([0123]: f= 48.4962) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies o.4< |EFLG2/EFLI|<1 (|-24.775).
Thus, Sakai discloses the claimed invention except for 0.79< |EFLG1/EFLG2|. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alter the ratio of focal lengths, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
With respect to Claim 30, Sakai discloses the mobile terminal according to claim 29, and further discloses wherein the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) comprises at least one lens (Fig. 3—G21 includes 4 lenses), and a lens that is in the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) and that is closest to the object side has a first positive focal power (Fig. 3 and [0121]: element L211 is positive).
With respect to Claim 32, Sakai discloses the mobile terminal according to claim 30, and further discloses wherein the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) comprises a first lens and a second lens that are arranged from the object side to the image side, and the second lens has a second negative focal power (Fig. 3 and [0121]: element L212 is negative).
With respect to Claim 33, Sakai discloses the mobile terminal according to claim 29, and further discloses wherein, in a process in which the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) changes from a telephoto state to a macro state ([0012]: the inner focusing lens has a focal length ranging from a wide angle to a standard angle of view), the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) moves from the object side to the image side ([0121]: d8 and d10 are variable), and a ratio of a moving distance (Δ) (calculated using values from [0123]: Δ= 2.85) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) to a total track length (TTL) ([0129]: L= 49.148) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies Δ /TLL<0.4 (2.85/49.148= 0.05).
With respect to Claim 36, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 19, and further discloses wherein the moving distance (Δ) (calculated using values from [0123]: Δ= 2.85) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) satisfies 1.31mm ≤Δ <4mm ([0123]: Δ= 2.85).
With respect to Claim 37, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 14, and further discloses wherein the ratio of the focal length (EFLG1) ([0126]: f1= 22.0829) of the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]) to the focal length (EFLG2) ([0121]: f2= -24.775) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) satisfies 0.89≤|EFLG1/EFLG2|<1.22 (|22.0829/-24.775|= 0.89).
With respect to Claim 38, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 14, and further discloses wherein the ratio of the focal length (EFLG2) ([0121]: f2= -24.775) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) to the focal length (EFL) ([0123]: f= 48.4962) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies 0.4< EFLG2/EFL ≤o.86 (|-24.775/48.4962|=0.51).
With respect to Claim 39, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 14, and further discloses wherein the ratio of the focal length (EFLG2) ([0121]: f2= -24.775) of the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) to the focal length (EFL) ([0123]: f= 48.4962) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies 0.4< EFLG2/EFL≤ 0.7 (|-24.775/48.4962|=0.51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (JP2015163927A, of record in the IDS dated 12/20/2024, English translation included) in view of Gross (Handbook of Optical Systems Volume 3: Aberration Theory and Correction of Optical Systems).
With respect to Claim 16, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 15, and further discloses the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115])
Sakai does not explicitly disclose wherein the lens that is in the first lens group and that is closest to the object side is a lens made of optical glass. Sakai and Gross are related as both pertaining to the field of optical lens systems. Gross discloses that the basic choice of glass material is routine in the design process (Gross, Page 378, item 19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) of Sakai with the glass design of Gross in order to create a lens which is able to color-correct images (Gross, Page 378, item 19).
Further, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In reLeshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious). MPEP §2144.07.
With respect to Claim 31, Sakai discloses the mobile terminal according to claim 30, and further discloses the first lens group (Fig. 3-- element G21, first lens group; [0115]).
Sakai does not explicitly disclose wherein the lens that is in the first lens group and that is closest to the object side is a lens made of optical glass. Sakai and Gross are related as both pertaining to the field of optical lens systems. Gross discloses that the basic choice of glass material is routine in the design process (Gross, Page 378, item 19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) of Sakai with the glass design of Gross in order to create a lens which is able to color-correct images (Gross, Page 378, item 19).
Further, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In reLeshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious). MPEP §2144.07.
Claims 21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (JP2015163927A, of record in the IDS dated 12/20/2024, English translation included) .
With respect to Claim 21, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 14, and further discloses wherein a relative aperture (F#) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies 3.0>F# ([0123]: a F-number= 2.8).
However, Sakai does not explicitly disclose wherein a relative aperture (F#) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies 2.8>F#. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the relative aperture, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to Claim 23, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 14, and further discloses wherein, in a macro state, the second lens group (Fig. 3-- element G22 and G23, second and third lens groups; [0115]) moves to be closer to the image side ([0123]: d8 becomes smaller as the lens system focuses from 300mm to infinity), and a focusing distance (Odm) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies: 0.03 m <Odm ([0123]: lens system may focus from infinity to 300mm).
However, Sakai does not explicitly disclose a focusing distance (Odm) of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies: Odm< o.2 m. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the focusing distance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to Claim 24, Sakai discloses the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) according to claim 14, and further discloses wherein a macro horizontal magnification of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies 0.3<β ([0128]: βmod= 2).
However, Sakai does not explicitly disclose a macro horizontal magnification of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]) satisfies 0.3<β<0.7. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the magnification of the zoom lens (Fig. 3-- inner focusing lens, [0115]), since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
However, regarding Claim 34, the prior art taken either alone or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the value of Δ /TLL including the specific arrangement where a ratio of a moving distance (Δ) of the second lens to the total track length (TTL) of the zoom lens satisfy:
0.15≤ Δ /TLL<0.4,
and in combination with all other claimed limitations of Claim 14.
However, regarding Claim 35, the prior art taken either alone or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the value of Δ /TLL including the specific arrangement where a ratio of a moving distance (Δ) of the second lens to the total track length (TTL) of the zoom lens satisfy:
0.1≤ Δ /TLL<0.4,
and in combination with all other claimed limitations of Claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that Sakai fails to disclose that a number of lens groups in the lens groups of a zoom lens equals to two. However, the lens groups may be defined such that a first lens group includes element G21, and a second lens group includes elements G22 and G23 because Sakai does not state that the definition of the lens groups cannot be changed. Therefore, Sakai does disclose two lens groups.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that Sakai further fails to disclose a first ratio of a first focal length (EFLG1) of the first lens group to a second focal length (EFLG2) of the second lens group satisfies 0.79< |EFLG1/EFLG2| < 1.22. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alter the ratio of focal lengths, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Therefore, when defining the lens groups of Sakai as described above, it would have been obvious to modify Sakai in order to achieve a value of EFLG1/EFLG2 within the claimed range of 0.79< |EFLG1/EFLG2| < 1.22.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872