DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “fin-type” and “wing members” of Claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the “fin-type” of Claim 1 is not found in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, it is unclear what is meant by “fin-type” in line 13 of the amended claim. The specification is silent as to the term “fin-type” and it is also unclear what structure is required to be “fin-type” or what shape “fin-type” would encompass.
Regarding Claim 10, it is unclear what is meant by the “bone formation inducers a provided in the plurality of grooves.” The bone formation inducers are described in paragraph [0063] of the specification as “corresponding to the plurality of grooves” which is not the same thing as “in the plurality of grooves.” It is not clear from the specification or the figures how the bone formation inducers are provided in the plurality of grooves.
All claims not specifically addressed above are rejected based on their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “the bone formation inducers” in claims 1, 4, and 9-10, the “first type inducer” in Claim 4, and the “second type inducer” of Claim 4.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilgenbach Blume et. al. (WO 2020/099334 A2, hereinafter “Gilgenbach Blume”).
Regarding Claim 1, Gilgenbach Blume discloses an implant fixture (Figure 1) capable of reducing periodontitis comprising a body part (Figures 1 and 3) which is implanted into bone tissue to form an artificial tooth root (abstract), where the an outer surface of the body part has a predetermined roughness to enhance fixing force of the body part to the bone tissue (roughness as seen in Figure 3 and described on pages 37-40), and at least a portion of the outer surface of the body part is provided with bone formation inducers attached to be released gradually to the bone tissue to enable effective osseointegration (as described on page 39, where the osteointegration via bone formation in vivo via hydroxylated titanium surfaces is described), where an upper portion of the body part (coronal portion 2) has a machined surface with smoother surface characteristics compared to the outer surface of the body part to improve adhesion with soft tissue, where the body part comprises a first body part (transitional region 3) corresponding to a predetermined depth section downwards from the machined surface, and a second body part corresponding to the a lower end of the fixture (apical region 4). Gilgenbach Blume further discloses that the first body part is provided in a fin-type including a plurality of wing members (as seen in Figure 3, the threads of the transitional region can be considered a fin type with wing members), and the second body part is provided in a screw-type with threads formed on the outer surface thereof so that the first body part and the second body part can have distinct outer surface characteristics (as the second part has cut out sections in the treads as seen in Figure 3, it would have distinct outer surface characteristics from the first body part).
Gilgenbach Blume discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not specifically disclose that the wing members are made of a material with higher strength compared to the material of the second body part. However, as seen in Figure 3, the materials of the members of the body parts comprise different density as exhibited by the porosity size. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a stronger, more dense material for the wing members in order to prevent breakage and since such modification would merely involve choosing from one of a finite number of identified predictable solutions (e.g. higher, lower or the same strength), which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (see MPEP 2143).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilgenbach Blume in view of Collins et al. (US 2013/0022943 A1, hereinafter “Collins”).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Gilgenbach Blume discloses the implant fixture according to claim 1, but does not disclose that the that bone formation inducer provided on the outer surface of the first body part is a first type inducer and the bone formation inducer provided on the outer surface of the second body part is a second type inducer made of a material different from the first type inducer, nor does Gilgenbach Blume disclose that the first type of inducer includes
includes poly lactic-co glycolic acid (PLGA), and the second type inducer includes bone morphogenetic protein (BMP).
In the same art of dental implants, Collins teaches an implant with a first type of bone formation inducer (porous structure of shaft 12 as described in [0052]) that includes poly lactic-co glycolic acid (PLGA) (as described in [0057]), and a second type of inducer (channel structure 50 as seen in Figures 5A and 5B) that includes a bone morphogenetic protein (BMP) ([0072] describes that BMP can be used as the flowable material 54). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize PGLA in conjunction with the first body part of Gilgenbach Blume, and BMP with the second body part of Gilgenbach Blume in order to provide materials that are well known as biocompatible and effective for adding strength and stability and assisting in bone growth in the field of implants as is taught by Collins.
Claims 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilgenbach Blume in view of Wysocki et al. (US 2022/0387143 A1, hereinafter “Wysocki”).
Regarding Claim 6, Gilgenbach Blume discloses the implant fixture of Claim 1 but does not disclose a cavity formed by recessing upwards from the lower end of the body part where after the implant fixture is implanted, the implant fixture is configured to draw a portion of a bone tissue into the cavity ([0021]). Wysocki teaches an implant fixture with a cavity (Figure 5, channel 8) formed by recessing upwards from the lower end of the body part (channel starts at outlet 10 in the lower end of the body part), where after the implant fixture is implanted, at least a portion of bone tissue is drawn into the cavity ([0021]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the implant fixture of Gilgenbach Blume with a cavity from the lower end of the body part as taught by Wysocki in order to provide a cavity for additional bone growth and osteointegration.
Regarding Claim 7, Gilgenbach Blume in view of Wysocki discloses the implant fixture according to claim 6, and Wysocki further discloses that at least one through-hole (Figure 5, lateral channels 9) is formed to allow communication between the cavity and the outside of the body part. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the implant fixture of Gilgenbach Blume with at least one through-hole as taught by Wysocki in order to provide a cavity for additional bone growth and osteointegration.
Regarding Claim 9, Gilgenbach Blume discloses the implant fixture of Claim 1 but does not disclose that the bone formation inducers are provided at a plurality of different positions on the outer surface, each at a predetermined distance from each other. Wysocki teaches that bone formation inducers are provided at a plurality of different positions on the outer surface, each at a predetermined distance from each other (as seen in Figure 5, and as described in [0030] the endings of channels open at a predetermined location in the concave grooves 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the implant of Gilgenbach Blume with the bone formation inducers of Wysocki in order to provide a for additional bone growth and osteointegration.
Regarding Claim 10, Gilgenbach Blume in view of Wysocki discloses the implant fixture according to claim 9, and Wysocki further discloses a plurality of grooves (6) formed on the outer surface of the body part (as seen in Figure 5), and that the bone formation inducers are provided corresponding to the plurality of grooves (as described in [0030]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the implant of Gilgenbach Blume with grooves of Wysocki with corresponding bone formation inducers in order to provide a for additional bone growth and osteointegration.
Response to Arguments
Claim amendments filed on December 23, 2025 have overcome the prior drawing objections, claim objections, previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, and the previous 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection. Please see newly added drawing and specification objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections in response to the applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-7, and 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the references as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Amended Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gilgenbach Blume.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772