DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are presented for examination.
Claim 9 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beveridge et al hereafter Beveridge (US pat. 11748510) and in view of Muthaiah (US pat. App. Pub. 20120155636).
4. As per claim 1, Beveridge discloses a computer implemented method for deletion of data in a data storage of a vehicle having a hardware security module (HSM), the method comprising: a) a user causing a human machine interface (HMI) to generate an erase command for private data that is suitable to personally identify the user; b) transmitting the erase command to an electronic control unit (ECU) of the vehicle (4:25-52, 8:25-67, and 9:1-30; wherein it emphasizes an human interactive interface/device generates a erase instruction for personally identifiable information (PII) and sends that erase instruction to a control unit of a vehicle); c) identifying the user by checking a user ID stored in a user ID database and determining the existence of the user ID and, if the user ID is determined to exist, continuing in step d), otherwise continuing in step e) (3:29-67, 9:31-62; wherein it elaborates if the system found a matched user ID of PII in the database the it will perform the erasing operation of encryption key and the user private data); d) generating a request for destruction of an encryption key that is associated and sending said request to the HSM and the HSM destroying the encryption key; and e) delete the private data indicated by the user (4:53-67, 4:1-19, 10:1-49, 11:44-67, wherein it discusses generates a request to delete the encryption key through security module and also delete the private data related to the user). Although, Beveridge discloses deleting the encryption key. In the same field of endeavor, Muthaiah more specifically discloses destruction of an encryption key that is associated with the user ID (paragraphs: 6, and 33).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network security art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Muthaiah’s teachings of destruction of an encryption key that is associated with the user ID with the teachings of Beveridge, for the purpose of effectively protecting the sensitive encryption from any unauthorized intruders.
5. As per claim 2, Beveridge and in view of Muthaiah discloses the method, characterized in that in step a) the HMI comprises a head unit installed in the vehicle, and the user interacts with the head unit to generate the erase command, and in step b) the erase command is transmitted from the head unit to the ECU using a communication channel within the vehicle (Beveridge, 3:55-67, 4:5-37).
6. As per claim 3, Beveridge and in view of Muthaiah discloses the method, characterized in that in step a) the HMI comprises a web site hosted by a telematic service provider (TSP), and the user interacts with the web site to generate the erase command, and in step b) the erase command is transmitted from the web site via internet to a TSP, relayed to a telematic control unit (TCU) of the vehicle via a cellular network, and passed on to the ECU (Beveridge, 2:1-30, 5:1-33, 5:35-67).
7. As per claim 4, Beveridge and in view of Muthaiah discloses the method, characterized in that in step a) the HMI comprises a mobile application running on a personal device, and the user interacts with the mobile application to generate the erase command, and in step b) the erase command is transmitted from the mobile application via internet or via a cellular network (Beveridge, 2:31-44, 6:10-40, 7:10-37).
8. As per claim 5, Beveridge discloses a method for registering a user in a user ID database of a vehicle such that the user is able to delete data in a data storage of a vehicle having a hardware security module, the method comprising: a) a user causing a human machine interface (HMI) to generate an erase command for private data that is suitable to personally identify the user; b) transmitting the erase command to an electronic control unit (ECU) of the vehicle (4:25-52, 8:25-67, and 9:1-30); c) identifying the user by checking a user ID stored in a user ID database and determining the existence of the user ID and, if the user ID is determined to exist, continuing in step d), otherwise continuing in step e) (3:29-67, 9:31-62); d) generating a request for destruction of an encryption key that is associated with the user ID and sending said request to the HSM and the HSM destroying the encryption key; and e) delete the private data indicated by the user, f) the user selecting, whether a privacy feature is enabled; and g) if the privacy feature is enabled, generating an encryption key and storing the encryption key in the HSM, and storing the pair of key ID and user ID in the user ID database, otherwise storing the user in a user list of the user ID database (4:53-67, 4:1-19, 10:1-49, 11:44-67). Although, Beveridge discloses deleting the encryption key. In the same field of endeavor, Muthaiah more specifically discloses generating a key ID that is indicative of the encryption key and a user ID that is indicative of the user, associating the key ID with the user ID (paragraphs: 6, and 33).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network security art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Muthaiah’s teachings of generating a key ID that is indicative of the encryption key and a user ID that is indicative of the user, associating the key ID with the user ID with the teachings of Beveridge, for the purpose of effectively protecting the sensitive encryption from any unauthorized intruders.
9. As per claim 6, Beveridge discloses method for in-vehicle data encryption such that a user is able to delete data in a data storage of a vehicle having a hardware security module (HSM), the method comprising: a) a user causing a human machine interface (HMI) to generate an erase command for private data that is suitable to personally identify the user; b) transmitting the erase command to an electronic control unit (ECU) of the vehicle (4:25-52, 8:25-67, and 9:1-30); c) identifying the user by checking a user ID stored in a user ID database and determining the existence of the user ID and, if the user ID is determined to exist, continuing in step d) otherwise continuing in step e) (3:29-67, 9:31-62); d) generating a request for destruction of an encryption key that is associated with the user ID and sending said request to the HSM and the HSM destroying the encryption key; and e) delete the private data indicated by the user, f) determining for a piece of in-vehicle data, whether the in-vehicle data include privacy information or not; and g) if the in-vehicle data are determined to include privacy information, retrieving from a user ID database a user ID corresponding to a current user and an associated key ID, encrypting the in-vehicle data by the HSM based on the retrieved key ID, and storing the encrypted in-vehicle data in a data storage, otherwise storing the in-vehicle data unencrypted in the data storage (4:53-67, 4:1-19, 10:1-49, 11:44-67). Although, Beveridge discloses deleting the encryption key. In the same field of endeavor, Muthaiah more specifically discloses a user ID corresponding to a current user and an associated key ID (paragraphs: 6, and 33).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network security art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Muthaiah’s teachings of a user ID corresponding to a current user and an associated key ID with the teachings of Beveridge, for the purpose of effectively protecting the sensitive encryption from any unauthorized intruders.
10. As per claim 7, Beveridge and in view of Muthaiah discloses the method according to claim 5, further comprising: h) determining for a piece of in-vehicle data, whether the in-vehicle data includes privacy information or not; and i) if the in-vehicle data are determined to include privacy information, retrieving from a user ID database a user ID corresponding to a current user and an associated key ID, encrypting the in-vehicle data by the HSM based on the retrieved key ID, and storing the encrypted in-vehicle data in a data storage, otherwise storing the in-vehicle data unencrypted in the data storage (Beveridge, 4:40-67, and 8:5:11-39).
11. As per claim 8, Beveridge discloses a system for data management in a vehicle, the system comprising a human machine interface (HMI) configured for user interaction, a vehicle having a telematic control unit (TCU), a hardware security module (HSM), and an electronic control unit (ECU), wherein the TCU is configured for transmitting and receiving commands, the HSM is configured to perform cryptography, and the ECU is configured for controlling the components of the system, characterized in that the system as a whole is configured to delete data in a data storage of the vehicle, the method comprising: a) a user causing the HMI to generate an erase command for private data that is suitable to personally identify the user; b) transmitting the erase command to the ECU of the vehicle ((4:25-52, 8:25-67, and 9:1-30); c) identifying the user by checking a user ID stored in a user ID database and determining the existence of the user ID and, if the user ID is determined to exist continuing in step d), otherwise continuing in step e) (3:29-67, 9:31-62); d) generating a request for destruction of an encryption key and sending said request to the HSM and the HSM destroying the encryption key; and e) delete the private data indicated by the user (4:53-67, 4:1-19, 10:1-49, 11:44-67). Although, Beveridge discloses deleting the encryption key. In the same field of endeavor, Muthaiah more specifically discloses destruction of an encryption key that is associated with the user ID (paragraphs: 6, and 33).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network security art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Muthaiah’s teachings of destruction of an encryption key that is associated with the user ID with the teachings of Beveridge, for the purpose of effectively protecting the sensitive encryption from any unauthorized intruders.
Citation of References
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are cited but not been replied upon for this office action:
Amico (US pat. 11157648): discusses server receives vehicle information associated with a target vehicle that has a target in-vehicle module from which a privacy information of a user is to be removed. Using the vehicle information, the server retrieves and transmits data associated with removing privacy information from a set of candidate in-vehicle modules of vehicles that are related to the target vehicle. The computing device presents images associated with the candidate in-vehicle modules in a likely order of resemblance of the candidate in-vehicle modules to the target in-vehicle module. The user selects an image of a candidate in-vehicle module that matches or resembles the target in-vehicle module. The computing device presents an instruction set associated with removing privacy information from the candidate in-vehicle module that corresponds to the selected image. The server receives user feedback associated with the instruction set.
Hiruta et al (US pat. App. Pub. 20140237576): elaborates that input information management system for a vehicle that can be used by using each of a plurality of electronic keys, the system managing input information that is input by a user, where the system includes a key information acquisition unit that acquires and stores key information of an electronic key, when an operation is performed on the vehicle using the electronic key, and an input information erasure unit that erases the input information that is stored in a storage device, where, when the key information is acquired by the key information acquisition unit, the input information erasure unit compares current key information that is acquired with last key information that is last stored by the key information acquisition unit before acquisition of the current key information, and erases the input information that is stored in the storage device on a basis of a result of the comparison.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Cathy Thiaw can be reached on 571-270-1138. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/MOHAMMAD W REZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407