DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgments are made that this application claims the priority to the following:
.
Information Disclosure Statement
Filed information disclosure statements (IDS) comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, they have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Response to Restriction
Applicant's response to restriction requirement and election of group I corresponding to claims 1-12, without traverse, in the reply filed on 09/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-14 and 16-18 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The claims 1-12 are examined on merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi (JP2008115165A) in view of BoardWorks 2010, Thacker (Carcass Disposal: a comprehensive review, Aug 2004, Chapter 6, pages 1-12) and Kawabe (US5763652).
For claim 1:
Takashi teaches the following preparation:
[see page 17].
In the above, the left side structural formula is identical to applicants chemical formula 2 and right side structure is also identical to applicants chemical formula 1, wherein R4 and R” are -H, and Y is -OH.
Difference is that Takashi silent on claimed metal hydroxide for the claimed method. However, peptide bond hydrolysis is well documented in the standard text books or in the known art. See some of the documents below.
BoardWorks teaches the following:
(see BoardWorks 2010 in www.slideserve.com PPT - Links to the current specifications PowerPoint Presentation, free download - ID:499012).
Thacker teaches alkaline hydrolysis of proteins using sodium or potassium hydroxides [sections 1.1 and 3.1, for example].
Kawabe teaches producing a carboxylic acid from amide compound using alkali metal hydroxide [see abstract and claims].
For claims 2-5:
See For claim 1 above.
For claim 6:
As explained above under For claim 1, the left side structural formula reads applicants chemical formula 2-1C. Though they differ in R3 of instant claim, these are positional isomers. The MPEP 2144.09 states “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus)….are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties, see In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
For claims 7-8:
As explained under For claim 1, the cited secondary art teaches NaOH and KOH in peptide hydrolysis.
With regard to concentrations, generally, concentrations of components for a given process is considered as result effective variables, and the differences in their amounts will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such differences in result-effective variables are critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results.
For claims 9-12:
Claimed limitations do not have weight, because these are “product by process” claim language format. See MPEP 2113 [R-1]. Accordingly, how the chemical formula 2 is separated or prepared is irrelevant. All claim 1 requires is chemical formula 2 and not its source of obtained or preparation.
Based on the above established facts from the cited prior art, it appears that all the claimed elements, i.e, applicants claimed preparative method and use of NaOH or KOH in peptide bond hydrolysis etc., were known in the prior art, and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known relationships, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The motivation to combine the art can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
A combination of prior art references is only proper if a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSA) at the time of the invention, faced with the same problem, would have been motivated to combine their teachings with a reasonable expectation of success. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Here, the technical fields and problems addressed by the references are not distinct from that of the present claimed invention.
The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983). In the instant case, one is simply substituting a linker from Bonny into the composition of Abrahmsen.
Conclusion
SUDHAKAR KATAKAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SUDHAKAR KATAKAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658