DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2016/0064868 A1, hereinafter referenced as Little), in view of Li (China Patent Document CN 210723527 U, hereinafter referenced as Li, cited in IDS filed December 29, 2023, please see document provide by Applicant for Figure references and English translation of original document provided for numeral/part references).
Regarding Claim 1, Little discloses “An electronic device assembly, comprising: an electronic device comprising a housing” (Figure 23, Item 400 ‘case’, and Paragraph [0073], Lines 1 – 5 (Notice that an electronic device assembly with housing 400 is provided.)), “the housing having a data interface” (Figure 23 and Paragraph [0075], Lines 1 - 5 (Notice that the receptacle connector with mating cavity 412 and contacts 414 provides a data interface.))“, “and a data cable comprising a cable body” (Figures 31 – 32D, Item 280 ‘cable’ (Notice that a data cable 280 to mate with the data interface of Figure 23 has cable body form.)), “a connection plug disposed at one end of the cable body” (Figure 32(A), Item 210 ‘mating part’ (Notice that mating part 210 provides a connection plug disposed at one end of the cable body of cable 280.)), “and a fixing structure disposed on a side of the connection plug” (Figure 32(A), Item 300 ‘boot’, and Paragraph [0078], Line 1 (Notice the boot 300 provides a structure disposed on a side of the connection plug.)), “wherein: when the connection plug is plugged in the data interface, the fixing structure is capable of fixing the connection plug to the housing” (Figures 23, 24, and 32(A) (Notice that when the connection plug 210 is plugged into the receptacle connector (data interface), the fixing structure 300 is capable of fixing the connection plug to the housing 400.)), “wherein: the fixing structure comprises a fixing table disposed on the side of the connection plug” (Figure 32(A) (Notice that fixing structure 300 provides a fixing table via the shape of boot body.)), “and a fastener movably disposed on the fixing table” (Figures 31 and 32(A), Item 310 ‘locking screw’, and Paragraph [0078], Lines 18 – 25 (Notice that at least a locking screw 310 is movable disposed in the fixing table body shape of boot 300.)), “the housing has an engagement portion; and the fastener is fixedly connected to the engagement portion” (Figures 23, 24, and 32(A), and Items 402 ‘screw holes’, and Paragraph [0075], last three lines (Notice that at least a screw hole 402 provide an engagement portion to be fixedly connected to plug locking screws.)), “the fixing table has a first through hole and second through hole [parallel] to each other” (Figures 31 and 32(A) (Notice that the table body shape of boot 300 provided a first through hole at the rear wall 306 and second though hole via a channel 304.)), “an axial direction of the first through hole being parallel to an extending direction of the cable body” (Figures 31 and 32(A) (Notice that an axial direction of the first through hole in the rear wall 306 extend parallel to the extending direction of the body of cable 280.)), “an axial direction of the second through hole being [parallel] to the extending direction of the cable body” (Figures 31 and 32(A) (Notice that an axial direction of the second through hole of a channel 304 is parallel to the extending direction of the body of cable 280.)), “the fixing table detachable sleeved on the side of the connection plug via the first through hole, and a part of the fastener penetrating and disposed in the second through hole” (Figures 31 and 32(A) – 32(D) (Notice that the stages of the cited figures show that table body shape of boot 300 providing the fixing table is detachable sleeved on the side of the connection plug 210 via the first through hole in the rear wall 306 and a fastener 310 disposed in the second through hole of a channel 304)), “the fastener comprises a limiting end and a fastening end, the limiting end being located outside of the second through hole and having a greater diameter that the second through hole, and the fastening end being configured to fixedly connected to the engagement portion” (Figure 32(A) (Notice that fastener 310 has a limiting end 320 located outside of the second through hole of channel 304 with diameter larger than the channel 304 an fastening end 318 configured to connected to the above described engagement portion.)),
“wherein the first through hole has an annular closed hole wall” (Figures 31 and 32(A) – 32(D) (Notice that the first through hole provided in the rear wall 306 is annular and closed (note that Figure 31 is cutaway view of Figure 28(B).)), “and a plug-in direction of the connection plug is [parallel] to the axial direction of the first through hole and parallel to the axial direction of the second through hole” (Figures 15, 23, 24, and 32(A) (Notice that the plug-in direction of connection plug 210 is parallel to the axial direction of the first through hole in real wall 306 and parallel to the axial direction of the second through hole of channel 304.)), “and the connection plug extends beyond a bottom surface of the fixing table along the plug-in direction [parallel] to the axial direction of the first through hole and parallel to the axial direction of the second through hole” (Figure 32(A) (Notice that the connection plug 210 extends past the bottom surface of the table body shape of boot 300 in the plug-direction with is parallel to the axial direction of the first through hole in real wall 306 and parallel to the axial direction of the second through hole of channel 304.)). However, Little fails to explicitly disclose the first through hole and second through hole being “perpendicular”, the second through hole being “perpendicular” to the extending direction of the cable body, the plug-direction of the connection plug being “perpendicular” to the first through hole, and the connection plug extending beyond the bottom surface along the “perpendicular” to the axial direction of the first through hole.
In a similar field of endeavor, Li describes a power adapter output joint (Figure 1, Page 2, Lines 34 - 38) that teaches a female connector 101(1011) and male connector 102(1021) that run perpendicular to an extension direction of power line(cable) 5 that enters 102 via an opening with axial direction parallel to the extending direction of power line 5. Also, male connector 102 shows a screw 1015 with a second through hole in insulating layer 1012 that are perpendicular to the extension direction of power line(cable) 5 and in the same direction of female connector 1011.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide where the first through hole and second through hole being “perpendicular”, the second through hole being “perpendicular” to the extending direction of the cable body, the plug-direction of the connection plug being “perpendicular” to the first through hole, and the connection plug extending beyond the bottom surface along the “perpendicular” to the axial direction of the first through hole because one having ordinary skill in the art would want to prevent bending fracture phenomenon (Li, Page 2, Lines 27 – 28).
Regarding Claim 4, Little and Li, the combination of hereinafter referenced as LL, disclose/teach everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Little discloses “wherein: the fastening end has threads” (Figure 31, Items 310 and 318, and Paragraph [0078], Line 19 (Notice front threaded section 318 of locking screw 310.), “the engagement portion has a threaded hole” (Figures 23, 24, and 32(A), and Items 402 ‘screw holes’, and Paragraph [0075], last three lines (Notice that at least a screw hole 402 provides an internal thread for accepting the external thread of threaded section 318.)), “and when the connection plug is plugged in the data interface, the threaded hole is located at a position corresponding to the fastening end, enabling the fastening end to be connected to the threaded hole through the threads” (Figures 15, 15(A), 23, 24, and 32(A) (Notice that when connection plug 210 is engaged with receptacle connector having mating cavity 412 and contacts 414, the threaded hole provided by a screw hole 402 is located at matching position to the front threaded section 318 of locking screw 310 to enable fastening through engagement of threads.))
Regarding Claim 6, LL discloses/teaches everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Little discloses “wherein the second through hole has a limiting boss disposed in a middle section of the second through hole, the limiting boss being configured to limit detachment of the fastener from the second through hole” (Figures 31, 32(A), 32(B) (Notice that the second through hole formed via channel 304 has a limiting boss formed where front narrow section 312 forms a tapered configuration 3121 with step structure 316 at behind to limit detachment of fastener 310.))
Regarding Claim 7, LL discloses/teaches everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Little fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the plug-in direction of the connection plug is perpendicular to an extending direction of the cable body” However, Li describes a power adapter output joint (Figure 1) that teaches a female connector 101(1011) and male connector 102(1021) that run perpendicular to an extension direction of power line(cable) 5 that enters 102 via an opening with axial direction parallel to the extending direction of power line 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “wherein the plug-in direction of the connection plug is perpendicular to an extending direction of the cable body” because one having ordinary skill in the art would want to prevent bending fracture phenomenon (Li, Page 2, Lines 27 – 28).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little, in view of Li, and further in view of Baxter.
Regarding Claim 5, LL disclose/teach everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, LL fail to explicitly disclose “wherein a diameter of the fastening end is greater than the diameter of the through hole by 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm”.
In a similar field of fastening tolerances, Baxter teaches thread tooth depth as being approximately 4 thousandths of inch (0.01MM) for a nut structure where a machine screw fastener tooth depth engages with the nut structure (Column 5, Lines 15 – 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “wherein a diameter of the fastening end is greater than the diameter of the through hole by 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm” because one having ordinary skill in the art would to provide thread engagement for screw retention.
Claims 8 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little, in view of Li, and further in view of Iverson.
Regarding Claim 8, LL and Iverson disclose/ teach everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Little discloses “wherein: the fixing structure comprises a knob screw” (Figures 31 and 32(A), Item 320 (Notice that rear operation section provided a knob for the locking screw 310.)) “the housing has a [screw hole] embedded therein; and when the connection plug is connected to the data interface, the [screw hole] is opposite to the knob screw, enabling the knob screw to be engaged with the [screw hole]” (Figures 15, 15(A), 23, 24, and 32(A) (Notice that when connection plug 210 is engaged with receptacle connector having mating cavity 412 and contacts 414, the threaded hole provided by a screw hole 402 is located at matching position to the front threaded section 318 of locking screw 310 to enable fastening through engagement of threads.)). However, Little and Li fails to explicitly disclose where threaded receptacles are a “metal nut” embedded therein.
In a similar field of endeavor, Iverson teaches a housing with embedded metal nut for engagement with a know screw for cable connection (Figure 3 and Column 3, Line 36 (Notice that metal nut 30 is embedded in housing 20.))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide threaded receptacles that are a “metal nut” because one having ordinary skill in the art would want to provide tightening feedback (Iverson, Column 3, Lines 10 – 14).
Regarding Claim 9, LL and Iverson disclose/ teach everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 8). In addition, LL fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the metal nut and the housing are formed into one piece”. However, Iverson teaches “wherein the metal nut and the housing are formed into one piece” (Figure 3 (Notice that metal nut 30 is place in opening 50 within the housing to form one assembly piece.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “wherein the metal nut and the housing are formed into one piece” because one having ordinary skill in the art would want to prevent movement that compromises a solid connection.
Regarding Claim 10, LL and Iverson disclose/ teach everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 8). In addition, LL fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the metal nut has a flange disposed at an end of the metal nut facing away from a surface of the housing, the flange being configured to block a movement of the metal nut toward the surface of the housing”. However, Iverson teaches “wherein the metal nut has a flange disposed at an end of the metal nut facing away from a surface of the housing, the flange being configured to block a movement of the metal nut toward the surface of the housing” (Figure 3 and Column 3, Lines 55 - 59 (Notice the metal nut 30 disposed in housing 20 has a flange at base portion 36 disposed at the end of the metal nut 30 that faces away from the surface of the housing near the arrowing coming from reference numeral 16 and blocks movement of the metal nut 30 toward said surface via contact with wall 52.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “wherein the metal nut has a flange disposed at an end of the metal nut facing away from a surface of the housing, the flange being configured to block a movement of the metal nut toward the surface of the housing” because one having ordinary skill in the art would want to prevent movement that compromises a solid connection.
Response to Applicants Amendments and Arguments
Applicants amendments and arguments filed November 10, 2025 have been fully considered.
First, the Examiner agrees that the arguments and amendments to Claim 1 have overcome the rejections of Claims 1, 4 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and the rejections of Claims 5, 6, and 8 – 10 under 35 U.S.C.103 as set forth and made of record in the Office Action mailed September 9, 2025.
Second, new grounds for rejection are presented in this instant Office Action as necessitated by amendment to at least independent Claim 1.
Conclusion
/BRIAN M BUTCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627 March 21, 2026