DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is responsive to the preliminary amendment of December 29, 2023. As directed by the amendment, claims 1-6 have been amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “identity sensor configured to identify the individual” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over "Wingren et al., WO 2019101778 A1 ("Wingren") in view of Choi et al., US 20200345969 A1 (“Choi”).
Regarding claim 1, Wingren discloses a method for estimating an actual light profile for an individual (“110”), wherein the actual light profile comprises spectrally resolved information associated with an accumulated amount of light that the individual has been exposed to during a previous time period ([abstract], Fig. 3, “300” and associated discussion from [p. 13, line 14] and [p. 12, last paragraph]), the method comprising: exposing the individual to a predetermined light stimuli using a lighting system (“102” - see e.g., [abstract], [p. 13, lines 17-20]), wherein the act of exposing the individual to a predetermined light stimuli comprises: varying over time at least one of an intensity and a spectral distribution of light emitted by the lighting system ([abstract] and [page 14, lines 13-16 and 28-30]); sensing a body response of the individual in response to the predetermined light stimuli ([abstract], [p. 13, lines 21-29]), wherein the act of sensing a body response of the individual in response to the predetermined light stimuli comprises sensing a variation over time of one or more of: a body temperature, a skin color, a heart rate, a heart rate variation, a blood pressure, a respiration rate, and a melatonin level ([p. 18. lines 15-22]); and wherein the method further comprises: estimating the actual light profile based on the sensed body response of the individual and the predetermined light stimuli ([p. 12, last paragraph]), wherein the act of estimating the actual light profile comprises inputting data pertaining to the body response of the individual and data pertaining to the predetermined light stimuli into a central control engine to correlate body responses of individuals and light stimuli to actual light profiles ([p. 12, last paragraph] and [p. 14, lines 19-27]).
Wingren thus differs with the claimed invention in regards to using a machine learning model trained to perform the correlation. However, examiner notes that the use of a machine learning model trained to perform correlation of data for improving processing of data by general purpose computers was known and part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention. For instance, Choi discloses an AI device 200 (Fig. 35, [0467]) comprising an AI processor 220 to learn a neural network ([0469]) comprising a learning unit (221) for learning a neural network for data classification/recognition in order to improve a result of analysis or save resources or time ([0472], [0477-0478]), using a general purpose processor ([0471]). In view of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Choi and modified the processor of the central processing engine of Wingren to include an AI processor that correlate body responses of individuals and light stimuli to actual light profiles using a machine learning model because the technique for improving general purpose computer to include machine learning model, so as to improve a result of analysis or save resources or time in for correlation of a given health condition, a specific light exposure to a specific genomic data as exemplified by Choi.
Regarding claim 2, Wingren discloses the method involves identifying the individual ([abstract], Fig. 3 @302, [p. 13, lines 14-16] and [p. 14, lines 19-25]) and as modified by Choi, estimating the actual light profile comprise the identity of the individual, which will be input into the machine learning model as modified by Choi.
Regarding claim 3, Wingren has been modified by the teachings of Choi to include a machine learning model, Choi further teaches in [0469] that the machine learning model is based on a convolution neural network.
Regarding claim 4, Wingren discloses a lighting system (“200” - Fig. 1 - [p. 8, lines 4-5]) comprising: a central control server (“108” - [p. 8. lines 21-22]); one or more light sources (“102” - [p. 8, lines 6-7]); and a body response sensor (“106” - [p. 8, lines 12-14]) configured to sense a body response, wherein the body response sensor is configured to sense a variation over time of one or more of: a body temperature, a skin color, a heart rate, a heart rate variation, a blood pressure, a respiration rate, and a melatonin level ([page 14, lines 13-16 and 28-30] and [p. 18. lines 15-22]); and wherein the central control server is configured to: control the one or more light sources to expose an individual (“110”) to a predetermined light stimuli wherein the central control server is configured to control the one or more light sources to expose the individual to the predetermined light stimuli by being configured to: vary, over time, at least one of an intensity and a spectral distribution of light emitted by the one or more light sources ([abstract] and [page 14, lines 13-16 and 28-30]), receive, from the body response sensor, a body response of the individual in response to the predetermined light stimuli ([abstract], [p. 13, lines 21-29]), and estimate an actual light profile based on the sensed body response of the individual and the predetermined light stimuli ([p. 12, last paragraph]), wherein the actual light profile comprises spectrally resolved information associated with an accumulated amount of light that the individual has been exposed to during a previous time period ([p. 12, last paragraph]), and wherein the central control server is configured to estimate the actual light profile by being configured to: input data pertaining to the body response of the individual and data pertaining to the predetermined light stimuli into the central control engine to correlate body responses of individuals and light stimuli to actual light profiles ([p. 12, last paragraph]).
Wingren thus differs with the claimed invention in regards to using a machine learning model trained to perform the correlation. However, this limitation would have been obvious in view of Choi for substantially similar rationale as discussed in claim 1 above. The discussion and citations of the obviousness rationale applies equally to claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Wingren discloses identifying the individual and correlation of data e body responses of individuals, light stimuli, and identities of individuals to actual light profiles ([abstract], Fig. 3 @302, [p. 13, lines 14-16] and [p. 14, lines 19-27]) wherein the individual is identified via an identity sensor (“104” - [p. 8, lines 31-21] is taken to be an equivalent thereof identity sensor “140” disclosed in p. 12, lines 26-31 of instant specification as filed), and as modified by Choi, estimating the actual light profile comprise the identity of the individual, which will be input into the machine learning model as modified by Choi.
Regarding claim 6, Wingren has been modified by the teachings of Choi to include a machine learning model, Choi further teaches in [0469] that the machine learning model is based on a convolution neural network.
Conclusion
/BONIFACE N NGANGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797