DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/08/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/30/2025 has been entered. Claims 21, 27-31 and 38-56 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 07/03/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 30: “wherein the four antenna elements are arranged around a central point, first antenna element” should read “wherein the four antenna elements are arranged around a central point, the first antenna element”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-31 and 41-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "wherein a first edge of a first metal layer of the second antenna element and a first edge of a first metal layer of the first antenna element form a first gap;
wherein a third edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element and a third edge of the first metal layer of the first antenna element form a second gap;
wherein a first edge of a first metal layer of the fourth antenna element" in lines 6-10 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how these first metal layers relate to the first metal layer recited in claim 21.
For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as “wherein a first edge of the first metal layer of the second antenna element and a first edge ofthe first metal layer of the first antenna element form a first gap;
wherein a third edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element and a third edge of the first metal layer of the first antenna element form a second gap;
wherein a first edge of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element”.
Claims 28-31 and 41-51 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 27 and are subsequently rejected.
Similar rejections would be applied to claim 52. Claims 53-56 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 52 and are subsequently rejected.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the other end of the first feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element, and the first feeding branch is configured to feed a second metal layer of the first antenna element, the first metal layer of the first antenna element, a second metal layer of the fourth antenna element, and the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element; and
wherein one end of the second feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the second antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the second antenna element, the other end of the second feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the third antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the third antenna element, and the second feeding branch is configured to feed a second metal layer of the second antenna element, the first metal layer of the second antenna element, a second metal layer of the third antenna element, and the first metal layer of the third antenna element" in lines 7-23 which renders the claim indefinite.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the other end” in the claim. Moreover, it is not clear how these second metal layers relate to the second metal layer recited in claim 21.
For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as "another end of the first feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element, and the first feeding branch is configured to feed the second metal layer of the first antenna element, the first metal layer of the first antenna element, the second metal layer of the fourth antenna element, and the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element; and
wherein one end of the second feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the second antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the second antenna element, another end of the second feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the third antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the third antenna element, and the second feeding branch is configured to feed the second metal layer of the second antenna element, the first metal layer of the second antenna element, the second metal layer of the third antenna element, and the first metal layer of the third antenna element".
Similar rejections would be applied to claim 55.
Claim 48 recites the limitation " a second conducting member of the first antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member of the first antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the first antenna element that is closest to the central point, a second conducting member of the second antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member of the second antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the second antenna element that is closest to the central point, a second conducting member of the third antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member of the third antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the third antenna element that is closest to the central point, and a second conducting member of the fourth antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member of the fourth antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the fourth antenna element that is closest to the central point" in lines 2-13 which renders the claim indefinite.
It is not clear how these first and second conducting members relate to the first and second conducting members recited in claim 21. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets these are the first conducting member and the second conducting member.
Similar rejections would be applied to claim 53.
Claim 51 recites the limitation " an included angle between the extension direction of the first feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the first antenna element is 45°; an included angle between the extension direction of the first feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element is 45°; an included angle between the extension direction of the second feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element is 45°; or an included angle between the extension direction of the second feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the second antenna element is 45°" in lines 3-10 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the extension direction” in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets as “an extension direction”.
Similar rejections would be applied to claim 56.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 27-31, 38, 40-41 and 48-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al, KR-20180063403-A (hereinafter Kwon) in view of Zhang et al, WO-2023035391-A1 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 21, Kwon discloses the following:
a chip, comprising:
a package substrate (400, fig. 11);
an injection molded piece (300, page 11, para 2-3);
a chip body (200); and
an antenna structure (100), wherein both the antenna structure (100) and the chip body (200) are disposed on the package substrate (400) and are electrically connected to the package substrate (page 10, para 6 – page 11, para 1: antenna structure 100 and the chip body 200 are electrically connected to the package substrate 400 through the signal pad 210), and the injection molded piece (300) is configured to package the antenna structure (100) and the chip body (200, fig. 11), and the antenna structure comprises a ground layer (page 5, para 6: The upper and lower lengths of the radiation angle adjusting unit 130 are formed to be equal to the height of the EMS antenna module 100 and are grounded to the ground so that signals radiated to the side are absorbed to prevent interference such as crosstalk Can be, it is implied that there is a ground layer), a feeding element (page 10, para 6 – page 11, para 1: antenna structure 100 and the chip body 200 are electrically connected to the package substrate 400 through the signal pad 210), and at least one antenna element (113).
Kwon does not discloses wherein the at least one antenna element comprises a first metal layer, a second metal layer, a first conducting member, and a second conducting member, the first metal layer and the ground layer are disposed opposite to and spaced from each other, the second metal layer is located between the first metal layer and the ground layer and is spaced from both the first metal layer and the ground layer, the second metal layer comprises a first area and a second area that are spaced from each other, the first conducting member is connected between the first metal layer and the first area of the second metal layer, and the second conducting member is connected between the ground layer and the second area of the second metal layer; and wherein the feeding element is located on a side that is of the first metal layer and that faces the ground layer, the feeding element comprises a feeding branch, a projection of at least a part of the feeding branch on a plane, on which the first metal layer is located, falls within the first metal layer, and the feeding element is configured to feed the second metal layer and the first metal layer.
Zhang discloses wherein the at least one antenna element comprises a first metal layer (12, 121, 122, figs. 1, 22), a second metal layer (132, fig. 12), a first conducting member (131), and a second conducting member (133, 135), the first metal layer (12) and the ground layer (14) are disposed opposite to and spaced from each other, the second metal layer (132 of balun structure 13) is located between the first metal layer (12) and the ground layer (14) and is spaced from both the first metal layer and the ground layer (fig. 22), the second metal layer comprises a first area and a second area that are spaced from each other (fig. 12 below), the first conducting member (131) is connected between the first metal layer (12) and the first area of the second metal layer (132, fig. 12, page 14, para 2), and the second conducting member (133, 135) is connected between the ground layer (14, page 14, para 2) and the second area of the second metal layer (132); and wherein the feeding element (15, fig. 22) is located on a side that is of the first metal layer (12) and that faces the ground layer (14), the feeding element comprises a feeding branch (1621, 1622, figs. 13-15), a projection of at least a part of the feeding branch on a plane, on which the first metal layer is located, falls within the first metal layer (figs. 22, 23), and the feeding element is configured to feed the second metal layer and the first metal layer (page 14, para 5: the feed structure 15 includes a first polarized feed unit 151 and a second polarized feed unit 152, The first radiation patch group 121 is used for coupling the signal of the first polarization feeding unit 151; the second radiation patch group 122 is used for coupling the signal of the second polarization feeding unit 152. Although Zhang is silent about the feeding element is configured to feed the second metal layer, Zhang discloses the first metal layer 121, 122 are connected to the second metal layers 132, 134 by first conducting member 131, 133, it is implied that the feeding element also feeds the second metal layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the antenna structure as taught in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon as claimed for the purpose of extending the path length of the current signals in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang, page 13, para 4).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Regarding claim 27, as best understood, Kwon does not disclose wherein the at least one antenna element comprises four antenna elements arranged in two rows and two columns and spaced from each other, and the four antenna elements are a first antenna element, a second antenna element, a third antenna element, and a fourth antenna element;
wherein a first edge of a first metal layer of the second antenna element and a first edge of a first metal layer of the first antenna element form a first gap;
wherein a third edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element and a third edge of the first metal layer of the first antenna element form a second gap;
wherein a first edge of a first metal layer of the fourth antenna element and a first edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element form a third gap;
wherein a third edge of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element and a third edge of the first metal layer of the second antenna element form a fourth gap; and
wherein the fourth gap is interconnected to the first gap, the second gap, and the third gap, and wherein the first gap, the second gap, the third gap, and the fourth gap form a cruciform shape.
Zhang discloses wherein the at least one antenna element comprises four antenna elements arranged in two rows and two columns and spaced from each other (fig. 23 below), and the four antenna elements are a first antenna element, a second antenna element, a third antenna element, and a fourth antenna element (fig. 23);
wherein a first edge of a first metal layer of the second antenna element and a first edge of a first metal layer of the first antenna element form a first gap;
wherein a third edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element and a third edge of the first metal layer of the first antenna element form a second gap;
wherein a first edge of a first metal layer of the fourth antenna element and a first edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element form a third gap;
wherein a third edge of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element and a third edge of the first metal layer of the second antenna element form a fourth gap; and
wherein the fourth gap is interconnected to the first gap, the second gap, and the third gap, and wherein the first gap, the second gap, the third gap, and the fourth gap form a cruciform shape (fig. 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide four antenna elements as taught in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon as claimed for the purpose of generating current in four areas of the substrate in order to create an antenna array having strong beam scanning capability (Zhang, page 17, last para to page 18, para 1).
Regarding claim 28, Kwon does not disclose wherein the first antenna element, the second antenna element, the third antenna element, and the fourth antenna element form a centrosymmetric structure.
Zhang discloses wherein the first antenna element, the second antenna element, the third antenna element, and the fourth antenna element form a centrosymmetric structure (fig. 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide four antenna elements being a centrosymmetric structure as taught in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon as claimed for the purpose of generating current in four areas of the substrate in order to create an antenna array having strong beam scanning capability (Zhang, page 17, last para to page 18, para 1).
Regarding claim 29, as best understood, Kwon does not disclose wherein the feeding branch comprises a first feeding branch and a second feeding branch that are spaced from each other;
wherein one end of the first feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the first antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the first antenna element, the other end of the first feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element, and the first feeding branch is configured to feed a second metal layer of the first antenna element, the first metal layer of the first antenna element, a second metal layer of the fourth antenna element, and the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element; and
wherein one end of the second feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the second antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the second antenna element, the other end of the second feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the third antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the third antenna element, and the second feeding branch is configured to feed a second metal layer of the second antenna element, the first metal layer of the second antenna element, a second metal layer of the third antenna element, and the first metal layer of the third antenna element.
Zhang discloses wherein the feeding branch comprises a first feeding branch and a second feeding branch that are spaced from each other (1622, 1621, fig. 14);
wherein one end of the first feeding branch (1622) overlaps the first metal layer of the first antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the first antenna element, the other end of the first feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element (fig. 23), and the first feeding branch is configured to feed a second metal layer of the first antenna element, the first metal layer of the first antenna element, a second metal layer of the fourth antenna element, and the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element (page 14, para 5: the feed structure 15 includes a first polarized feed unit 151 and a second polarized feed unit 152, The first radiation patch group 121 is used for coupling the signal of the first polarization feeding unit 151; the second radiation patch group 122 is used for coupling the signal of the second polarization feeding unit 152. Although Zhang is silent about the first feeding branch is configured to feed the second metal layer, Zhang discloses the first metal layer 121, 122 are connected to the second metal layers 132, 134 by first conducting member 131, 133, it is implied that the feeding element also feeds the second metal layer); and
wherein one end of the second feeding branch (1621) overlaps the first metal layer of the second antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the second antenna element, the other end of the second feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the third antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the third antenna element (fig. 23), and the second feeding branch is configured to feed a second metal layer of the second antenna element, the first metal layer of the second antenna element, a second metal layer of the third antenna element, and the first metal layer of the third antenna element (page 14, para 5: the feed structure 15 includes a first polarized feed unit 151 and a second polarized feed unit 152, The first radiation patch group 121 is used for coupling the signal of the first polarization feeding unit 151; the second radiation patch group 122 is used for coupling the signal of the second polarization feeding unit 152. Although Zhang is silent about the first feeding branch is configured to feed the second metal layer, Zhang discloses the first metal layer 121, 122 are connected to the second metal layers 132, 134 by first conducting member 131, 133, it is implied that the feeding element also feeds the second metal layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first feeding branch and a second feeding branch as taught in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon as claimed for the purpose of providing two polarization feeding signals in order to create a dual-frequency dual polarization antenna (Zhang, page 14, page 5).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Regarding claim 30, Kwon does not disclose wherein the four antenna elements are arranged around a central point, first antenna element, the second antenna element, the third antenna element, and the fourth antenna element are all symmetric structures, and a symmetry plane of the first antenna element, a symmetry plane of the second antenna element, a symmetry plane of the third antenna element, and a symmetry plane of the fourth antenna element all pass through the central point; and
wherein an extension direction of the first feeding branch is parallel to the symmetry plane of the first antenna element and the symmetry plane of the fourth antenna element, and an extension direction of the second feeding branch is parallel to the symmetry plane of the second antenna element and the symmetry plane of the third antenna element.
Zhang discloses wherein the four antenna elements are arranged around a central point (fig. 23), first antenna element, the second antenna element, the third antenna element, and the fourth antenna element are all symmetric structures (fig. 23), and a symmetry plane of the first antenna element, a symmetry plane of the second antenna element, a symmetry plane of the third antenna element, and a symmetry plane of the fourth antenna element all pass through the central point (fig. 23); and
wherein an extension direction of the first feeding branch is parallel to the symmetry plane of the first antenna element and the symmetry plane of the fourth antenna element (fig. 23), and an extension direction of the second feeding branch is parallel to the symmetry plane of the second antenna element and the symmetry plane of the third antenna element (fig. 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the symmetry planes of the four antenna elements as taught in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon as claimed for the purpose of generating current in four areas of the substrate in order to create an antenna array having strong beam scanning capability (Zhang, page 17, last para to page 18, para 1).
Regarding claim 31, Kwon does not disclose wherein the first feeding branch comprises a first part, a second part, a third part, a fourth part, and a fifth part that are sequentially connected; and wherein a projection of a part of the first part on the plane, on which the first metal layer of the first antenna element is located, falls within the first metal layer of the first antenna element, and a projection of a part of the fifth part on the plane, on which the first metal layer of the first antenna element is located, falls within the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element.
Zhang discloses the first feeding branch comprises a first part, a second part, a third part, a fourth part, and a fifth part that are sequentially connected (fig. 14 below); and wherein a projection of a part of the first part on the plane, on which the first metal layer of the first antenna element is located, falls within the first metal layer of the first antenna element, and a projection of a part of the fifth part on the plane, on which the first metal layer of the first antenna element is located, falls within the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element (fig. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first feeding branch comprising five parts sequentially connected as taught in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon as claimed for the purpose of avoiding the overlapping of the first and second feeding branches in order to improve the polarization isolation of the antenna (Zhang, page 15, last para).
Regarding claim 38, Kwon discloses the following:
an electronic device, comprising:
a chip (1000, fig. 11) comprising a package substrate (400), an injection molded piece (300, page 11, para 2-3), a chip body (200), and an antenna structure (100), wherein both the antenna structure (100) and the chip body (200) are disposed on the package substrate (400) and are electrically connected to the package substrate (page 10, para 6 – page 11, para 1: antenna structure 100 and the chip body 200 are electrically connected to the package substrate 400 through the signal pad 210), and the injection molded piece (300) is configured to package the antenna structure (100) and the chip body (200, fig. 11), and the antenna structure comprises a ground layer (page 5, para 6: The upper and lower lengths of the radiation angle adjusting unit 130 are formed to be equal to the height of the EMS antenna module 100 and are grounded to the ground so that signals radiated to the side are absorbed to prevent interference such as crosstalk Can be, it is implied that there is a ground layer), a feeding element (page 10, para 6 – page 11, para 1: antenna structure 100 and the chip body 200 are electrically connected to the package substrate 400 through the signal pad 210), and at least one antenna element (113).
Kwon does not discloses wherein the at least one antenna element comprises a first metal layer, a second metal layer, a first conducting member, and a second conducting member, the first metal layer and the ground layer are disposed opposite to and spaced from each other, the second metal layer is located between the first metal layer and the ground layer and is spaced from both the first metal layer and the ground layer, the second metal layer comprises a first area and a second area that are spaced from each other, the first conducting member is connected between the first metal layer and the first area of the second metal layer, and the second conducting member is connected between the ground layer and the second area of the second metal layer; and wherein the feeding element is located on a side that is of the first metal layer and that faces the ground layer, the feeding element comprises a feeding branch, a projection of at least a part of the feeding branch on a plane, on which the first metal layer is located, falls within the first metal layer, and the feeding element is configured to feed the second metal layer and the first metal layer.
Zhang discloses wherein the at least one antenna element comprises a first metal layer (12, 121, 122, figs. 1, 22), a second metal layer (132, 134, fig. 12), a first conducting member (131, 133), and a second conducting member (135), the first metal layer (12) and the ground layer (14) are disposed opposite to and spaced from each other, the second metal layer (132, 134 of balun structure 13) is located between the first metal layer (12) and the ground layer (14) and is spaced from both the first metal layer and the ground layer (fig. 22), the second metal layer comprises a first area and a second area that are spaced from each other (fig. 12), the first conducting member (131, 133) is connected between the first metal layer (12) and the first area of the second metal layer (132, 134, fig. 12, page 14, para 1-2), and the second conducting member (135) is connected between the ground layer (14) and the second area of the second metal layer (132, 134); and wherein the feeding element (15, fig. 22) is located on a side that is of the first metal layer (12) and that faces the ground layer (14), the feeding element comprises a feeding branch (1621, 1622, figs. 13-15), a projection of at least a part of the feeding branch on a plane, on which the first metal layer is located, falls within the first metal layer (figs. 22, 23), and the feeding element is configured to feed the second metal layer and the first metal layer (page 14, para 5: the feed structure 15 includes a first polarized feed unit 151 and a second polarized feed unit 152, The first radiation patch group 121 is used for coupling the signal of the first polarization feeding unit 151; the second radiation patch group 122 is used for coupling the signal of the second polarization feeding unit 152. Although Zhang is silent about the feeding element is configured to feed the second metal layer, Zhang discloses the first metal layer 121, 122 are connected to the second metal layers 132, 134 by first conducting member 131, 133, it is implied that the feeding element also feeds the second metal layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the antenna structure as taught in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon as claimed for the purpose of extending the path length of the current signals in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang, page 13, para 4).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Regarding claim 40, Kwon does not disclose wherein a projection of the first metal layer on the ground layer falls within the ground layer, and a projection of the second metal layer on a plane, on which the first metal layer is located, falls within the first metal layer.
Zhang discloses wherein a projection of the first metal layer (12, fig. 22) on the ground layer (14) falls within the ground layer, and a projection of the second metal layer (132, 134 of balun structure 13, figs. 12) on a plane, on which the first metal layer is located, falls within the first metal layer (figs. 21-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the projections of the first, second metal layers as taught in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon as claimed for the purpose of extending the path length of the current signals in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang, page 13, para 4).
Regarding claim 41, Kwon does not disclose wherein the feeding branch comprises a first feeding branch and a second feeding branch that are spaced from each other; and
wherein a first metal via and a second metal via that are spaced from each other extend in the feeding element, the first metal via is connected to the first feeding branch and the second metal via is connected to the second feeding branch, and wherein projections of the first metal via and the second metal via on the plane, on which the first metal layer is located, falls within the first metal layer.
Zhang discloses wherein the feeding branch comprises a first feeding branch (1622, fig. 14) and a second feeding branch (1621) that are spaced from each other; and
wherein a first metal via (152) and a second metal via (151) that are spaced from each other extend in the feeding element, the first metal via (152) is connected to the first feeding branch (1622) and the second metal via (151) is connected to the second feeding branch (1621), and wherein projections of the first metal via and the second metal via on the plane, on which the first metal layer is located, falls within the first metal layer (fig. 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first feeding branch and a second feeding branch as taught in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon as claimed for the purpose of providing two polarization feeding signals in order to create a dual-frequency dual polarization antenna (Zhang, page 14, page 5).
Regarding claim 48, as best understood, the combination of Kwon and Wu does not disclose wherein the four antenna elements are arranged around a central point, a second conducting member of the first antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member of the first antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the first antenna element that is closest to the central point, a second conducting member of the second antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member of the second antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the second antenna element that is closest to the central point, a second conducting member of the third antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member of the third antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the third antenna element that is closest to the central point, and a second conducting member of the fourth antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member of the fourth antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the fourth antenna element that is closest to the central point.
Zhang discloses wherein the four antenna elements are arranged around a central point (fig. 21), a second conducting member (133-135, fig. 12) of the first antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member (131) of the first antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the first antenna element that is closest to the central point, a second conducting member (133-135) of the second antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member (131) of the second antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the second antenna element that is closest to the central point, a second conducting member (133-135) of the third antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member (131) of the third antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the third antenna element that is closest to the central point, and a second conducting member (133-135) of the fourth antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member (131) of the fourth antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the fourth antenna element that is closest to the central point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the second conducting members as suggested in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon and Wu as claimed for the purpose of extending the path length of the current signals in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang, page 13, para 4).
Regarding claim 49, the combination of Kwon and Wu does not disclose wherein the feeding branch is located in a space encircled by the second conducting member of the first antenna element, the second conducting member of the second antenna element, the second conducting member of the third antenna element, and the second conducting member of the fourth antenna element.
Zhang discloses wherein the feeding branch (1621, 1622 of feeding element 15, fig. 14) is located in a space encircled by the second conducting member (135) of the first antenna element, the second conducting member (135) of the second antenna element, the second conducting member (135) of the third antenna element, and the second conducting member (135) of the fourth antenna element (figs. 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the feeding branch as suggested in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon and Wu as claimed for the purpose of extending the path length of the current signals in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang, page 13, para 4).
Regarding claim 50, the combination of Kwon and Wu does not disclose wherein the second feeding branch includes a first part, a second part, and a third part that are sequentially connected, a projection of a part of the first part on the plane, on which the first metal layer of the third antenna element is located, falls within the first metal layer of the third antenna element, and a projection of a part of the third part on the plane, on which the first metal layer of the second antenna element is located, falls within the first metal layer of the second antenna element.
Zhang discloses wherein the second feeding branch (1621, fig. 14 below) includes a first part, a second part, and a third part that are sequentially connected, a projection of a part of the first part on the plane, on which the first metal layer of the third antenna element is located, falls within the first metal layer of the third antenna element, and a projection of a part of the third part on the plane, on which the first metal layer of the second antenna element is located, falls within the first metal layer of the second antenna element (figs. 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the second feeding branch as suggested in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon and Wu as claimed for the purpose of extending the path length of the current signals in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang, page 13, para 4).
Regarding claim 51, as best understood, the combination of Kwon and Wu does not disclose wherein the first feeding branch and the second feeding branch satisfy one of the following: an included angle between the extension direction of the first feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the first antenna element is 45°;an included angle between the extension direction of the first feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element is 45°; an included angle between the extension direction of the second feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element is 45°; or an included angle between the extension direction of the second feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the second antenna element is 45°.
Zhang discloses wherein the first feeding branch and the second feeding branch satisfy one of the following: an included angle between the extension direction of the first feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the first antenna element is 45° (fig. 23 below); an included angle between the extension direction of the first feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element is 45°; an included angle between the extension direction of the second feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element is 45°; or an included angle between the extension direction of the second feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the second antenna element is 45°.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first feeding branch as suggested in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon and Wu as claimed for the purpose of extending the path length of the current signals in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang, page 13, para 4).
Regarding claim 52, as best understood, Kwon does not disclose wherein the at least one antenna element comprises four antenna elements arranged in two rows and two columns and spaced from each other, and the four antenna elements are a first antenna element, a second antenna element, a third antenna element, and a fourth antenna element;
wherein a first edge of a first metal layer of the second antenna element and a first edge of a first metal layer of the first antenna element form a first gap;
wherein a third edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element and a third edge of the first metal layer of the first antenna element form a second gap;
wherein a first edge of a first metal layer of the fourth antenna element and a first edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element form a third gap;
wherein a third edge of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element and a third edge of the first metal layer of the second antenna element form a fourth gap; and
wherein the fourth gap is interconnected to the first gap, the second gap, and the third gap, and wherein the first gap, the second gap, the third gap, and the fourth gap form a cruciform shape.
Zhang discloses wherein the at least one antenna element comprises four antenna elements arranged in two rows and two columns and spaced from each other (fig. 23 above), and the four antenna elements are a first antenna element, a second antenna element, a third antenna element, and a fourth antenna element (fig. 23);
wherein a first edge of a first metal layer of the second antenna element and a first edge of a first metal layer of the first antenna element form a first gap;
wherein a third edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element and a third edge of the first metal layer of the first antenna element form a second gap;
wherein a first edge of a first metal layer of the fourth antenna element and a first edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element form a third gap;
wherein a third edge of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element and a third edge of the first metal layer of the second antenna element form a fourth gap; and
wherein the fourth gap is interconnected to the first gap, the second gap, and the third gap, and wherein the first gap, the second gap, the third gap, and the fourth gap form a cruciform shape (fig. 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide four antenna elements as taught in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon as claimed for the purpose of generating current in four areas of the substrate in order to create an antenna array having strong beam scanning capability (Zhang, page 17, last para to page 18, para 1).
Regarding claim 53, as best understood, the combination of Kwon and Wu does not disclose wherein the four antenna elements are arranged around a central point, a second conducting member of the first antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member of the first antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the first antenna element that is closest to the central point, a second conducting member of the second antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member of the second antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the second antenna element that is closest to the central point, a second conducting member of the third antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member of the third antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the third antenna element that is closest to the central point, and a second conducting member of the fourth antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member of the fourth antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the fourth antenna element that is closest to the central point.
Zhang discloses wherein the four antenna elements are arranged around a central point (fig. 21), a second conducting member (133-135, fig. 12) of the first antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member (131) of the first antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the first antenna element that is closest to the central point, a second conducting member (133-135) of the second antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member (131) of the second antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the second antenna element that is closest to the central point, a second conducting member (133-135) of the third antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member (131) of the third antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the third antenna element that is closest to the central point, and a second conducting member (133-135) of the fourth antenna element is located on a side that is of a first conducting member (131) of the fourth antenna element other than a side of the first conducting member of the fourth antenna element that is closest to the central point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the second conducting members as suggested in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon and Wu as claimed for the purpose of extending the path length of the current signals in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang, page 13, para 4).
Regarding claim 54, the combination of Kwon and Wu does not disclose wherein the feeding branch is located in a space encircled by the second conducting member of the first antenna element, the second conducting member of the second antenna element, the second conducting member of the third antenna element, and the second conducting member of the fourth antenna element.
Zhang discloses wherein the feeding branch (1621, 1622 of feeding element 15, fig. 14) is located in a space encircled by the second conducting member (135) of the first antenna element, the second conducting member (135) of the second antenna element, the second conducting member (135) of the third antenna element, and the second conducting member (135) of the fourth antenna element (figs. 21-23).
Regarding claim 55, as best understood, Kwon does not disclose wherein the feeding branch comprises a first feeding branch and a second feeding branch that are spaced from each other;
wherein one end of the first feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the first antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the first antenna element, the other end of the first feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element, and the first feeding branch is configured to feed a second metal layer of the first antenna element, the first metal layer of the first antenna element, a second metal layer of the fourth antenna element, and the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element; and
wherein one end of the second feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the second antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the second antenna element, the other end of the second feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the third antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the third antenna element, and the second feeding branch is configured to feed a second metal layer of the second antenna element, the first metal layer of the second antenna element, a second metal layer of the third antenna element, and the first metal layer of the third antenna element.
Zhang discloses wherein the feeding branch comprises a first feeding branch and a second feeding branch that are spaced from each other (1622, 1621, fig. 14);
wherein one end of the first feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the first antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the first antenna element, the other end of the first feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element (fig. 23), and the first feeding branch is configured to feed a second metal layer of the first antenna element, the first metal layer of the first antenna element, a second metal layer of the fourth antenna element, and the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element (page 14, para 5: the feed structure 15 includes a first polarized feed unit 151 and a second polarized feed unit 152, The first radiation patch group 121 is used for coupling the signal of the first polarization feeding unit 151; the second radiation patch group 122 is used for coupling the signal of the second polarization feeding unit 152 and the first metal layer 121, 122 are connected to the second metal layers 132, 134 as first conducting member 131, 133, it is implied that the feeding element also feeds the second metal layer); and
wherein one end of the second feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the second antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the second antenna element, the other end of the second feeding branch overlaps the first metal layer of the third antenna element in a plan view of the first metal layer of the third antenna element (fig. 23), and the second feeding branch is configured to feed a second metal layer of the second antenna element, the first metal layer of the second antenna element, a second metal layer of the third antenna element, and the first metal layer of the third antenna element (page 14, para 5: the feed structure 15 includes a first polarized feed unit 151 and a second polarized feed unit 152, The first radiation patch group 121 is used for coupling the signal of the first polarization feeding unit 151; the second radiation patch group 122 is used for coupling the signal of the second polarization feeding unit 152 and the first metal layer 121, 122 are connected to the second metal layers 132, 134 as first conducting member 131, 133, it is implied that the feeding element also feeds the second metal layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first feeding branch and a second feeding branch as taught in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon as claimed for the purpose of providing two polarization feeding signals in order to create a dual-frequency dual polarization antenna (Zhang, page 14, page 5).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Regarding claim 56, as best understood, the combination of Kwon and Wu does not disclose wherein the first feeding branch and the second feeding branch satisfy one of the following: an included angle between the extension direction of the first feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the first antenna element is 45°;an included angle between the extension direction of the first feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element is 45°; an included angle between the extension direction of the second feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element is 45°; or an included angle between the extension direction of the second feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the second antenna element is 45°.
Zhang discloses wherein the first feeding branch and the second feeding branch satisfy one of the following: an included angle between the extension direction of the first feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the first antenna element is 45° (fig. 23 above); an included angle between the extension direction of the first feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the fourth antenna element is 45°; an included angle between the extension direction of the second feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the third antenna element is 45°; or an included angle between the extension direction of the second feeding branch and the first edge of the first metal layer of the second antenna element is 45°.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first feeding branch as suggested in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon and Wu as claimed for the purpose of extending the path length of the current signals in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang, page 13, para 4).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Zhang as applied to claim 38 above, and in view of Khan et al, US-20190115643-A1 (hereinafter Khan).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Kwon and Zhang does not disclose the electronic device according to claim 38, further comprising a circuit board, wherein the chip is disposed on the circuit board, and the package substrate of the chip is electrically connected to the circuit board.
Khan discloses the electronic device according to claim 38, further comprising a circuit board (191, fig. 2B), wherein the chip (100) is disposed on the circuit board, and the package substrate (140, fig. 1C) of the chip is electrically connected to the circuit board (para [0047] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the circuit board as taught in Khan to the electronic device taught in Kwon and Zhang as claimed for the purpose of connecting the chip to other components of the circuit to perform wireless communication (Khan, para [0047]).
Claims 42-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Zhang as applied to claim 41 above, and further in view of Wu et al, US-20190096828-A1 (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Kwon and Zhang does not disclose wherein the chip further comprises a radio frequency circuit, a first through via and a second through via that are spaced from each other extend in the ground layer, the first metal via is electrically connected to the radio frequency circuit through the first through via, and the second metal via is electrically connected to the radio frequency circuit through the second through via.
Wu suggests wherein the chip further comprises a radio frequency circuit (120, figs. 1-3), a first through via (162) and a second through via (162) that are spaced from each other, the first metal via (170, para [0020]) is electrically connected to the radio frequency circuit through the first through via, and the second metal via (170, para [0020]) is electrically connected to the radio frequency circuit through the second through via.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first and second through vias and the radio frequency circuit as suggested in Wu to the chip taught in Kwon and Zhang as claimed for the purpose of supplying signals to the antenna element and achieving the desired feeding path depending on the requirements of the chip design.
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Kwon and Wu does not disclose wherein the first conducting member comprises a plurality of first metal columns; and wherein the second conducting member comprises a first metal connection sheet, a plurality of second metal columns, and a plurality of third metal columns, wherein the first metal connection sheet is located between the second metal layer and the ground layer, the plurality of second metal columns are connected between the first metal connection sheet and the second area of the second metal layer, and the plurality of third metal columns are connected between the first metal connection sheet and the ground layer.
Zhang suggests wherein the first conducting member (131, fig. 12) comprises a plurality of first metal columns (131); and wherein the second conducting member (133-135) comprises a first metal connection sheet (134), a plurality of second metal columns (133), and a plurality of third metal columns (135), wherein the first metal connection sheet (134) is located between the second metal layer (132) and the ground layer (14, fig. 22), the plurality of second metal columns (133) are connected between the first metal connection sheet (134) and the second area of the second metal layer (132), and the plurality of third metal columns (135) are connected between the first metal connection sheet (134) and the ground layer (page 14, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first metal connection sheet and plurality of metal columns as taught in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon and Wu as claimed for the purpose of extending the path length of the current signals in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang, page 13, para 4).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Kwon and Wu does not disclose wherein the plurality of third metal columns are disposed half-round the first through via, and the plurality of third metal columns are disposed half-round the second through via.
Zhang suggests wherein the plurality of third metal columns are disposed half-round the first through via, and the plurality of third metal columns are disposed half-round the second through via (fig. 17 and 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide plurality of third metal columns as suggested in Zhang to the chip taught in Kwon and Wu as claimed for the purpose of extending the path length of the current signals in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang, page 13, para 4).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Kwon and Wu does not disclose wherein a diameter of each third metal column is greater than a diameter of each second metal column.
Although Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein a diameter of each third metal column is greater than a diameter of each second metal column, Zhang discloses the metal columns have different sizes (fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the diameter of each third metal column taught by Kwon, Zhang and Wu to be greater than a diameter of each second metal column as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to provide more support to structure above the third metal columns.
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Kwon and Wu does not disclose wherein the chip satisfies at least one of the following: the plurality of first metal columns are arranged into an L shape or an arc shape; the first metal connection sheet has an L shape or an arc shape; the plurality of second metal columns are arranged into an L shape or an arc shape; or the plurality of third metal columns are arranged into an L shape or an arc shape.
Zhang discloses wherein the chip satisfies at least one of the following: the plurality of first metal columns are arranged into an L shape (fig. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first metal columns taught in Kwon and Wu to be an L shape as suggested in Zhang as claimed for the purpose of extending the path length of the current signals in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang, page 13, para 4).
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, Zhang and Wu as applied to claim 43 above, and further in view of Zhang et al, US-20240396218-A1 (hereinafter Zhang’218).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Kwon, Zhang and Wu does not disclose wherein projections of the plurality of third metal columns on the first metal connection sheet at least partly overlap projections of the plurality of second metal columns on the first metal connection sheet.
Although Zhang’218 does not explicitly disclose wherein projections of the third metal columns on the first metal connection sheet at least partly overlap projections of the second metal columns on the first metal connection sheet, Zhang discloses the axes of the metal columns between different layers could be the same or different (figs. 1-6, para [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the locations of the third metal columns of the chip taught in Kwon, Zhang, Wu and Zhang’218 to overlap projections of the second metal columns on the first metal connection sheet as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to adjust the current path in order to reduce the antenna’s height and still maintain the antenna performance (Zhang’218, para [0042]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21 and 38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued that “As can be seen above, however, Zhang doesn't disclose that a projection of at least a part of the electric feed structure 4 on a plane, on which the radiating sheets 1 of Zhang are located, falls within the radiating sheets 1 of Zhang.
As such, Zhang doesn't disclose the features of claim 21 of "a projection of at least a part of the feeding branch on a plane, on which the first metal layer is located, falls within the first metal layer."
Withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.
Independent claim 38 is amended to recite features that are the same as, or similar to, the features discussed above. As such, the features of claim 38 are not disclosed in the cited references for at least the reasons discussed above. Withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested. ”
The arguments are moot because claims 21 and 38 are now being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al, KR-20180063403-A in view of Zhang et al, WO-2023035391-A1 as explained above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH N HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845