DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ arguments filed on 1 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
By the amendment filed 1 July 2026, no claims have been amended.
Claims 10-14 are now pending.
Claims 10-14 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2023/0039771 A1) in view of Huang et al. (US 2022/0225247 A1).
Regarding claim 10, "A terminal comprising:" Liu teaches a terminal (UE) configured for wireless communication. See, e.g., Liu, Abstract; Fig. 1.
"a receiver that receives medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) including:" Liu teaches a receiver configured to receive a MAC CE for configuring a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) pathloss reference signal for one or more sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI)-PUSCH power controls. See Liu, Abstract; ¶¶ [0006], [0054]-[0062], [0072]-[0076].
"one or more fields indicating one or more sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) power control IDs;" Liu teaches that the MAC CE includes one or more SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl IDs identifying one or more SRI-PUSCH power controls to which the MAC CE applies. See Liu, ¶¶ [0054]-[0058]; claims 2, 18, and 26.
"a field indicating a pathloss reference signal;" Liu teaches that the MAC CE further includes one or more PUSCH-PathlossReferenceRS IDs identifying the pathloss reference signal corresponding to the indicated SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl ID(s). See Liu, ¶¶ [0057]-[0062]; claims 3, 19, and 27.
"and a processor that controls, based on the MAC CE, transmission of a PUSCH." Liu teaches a processor configured to control PUSCH transmission based on the received MAC CE. See Liu, Abstract; ¶¶ [0006], [0072]-[0076].
However, Liu does not expressly teach "a field indicating whether the one or more SRI-PUSCH power control IDs correspond to a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set or correspond to a second SRS resource set."
Huang teaches first and second SRS resource sets associated with different transmission reception points (TRPs). Specifically, Huang teaches that a first specific SRS resource set is associated with a first TRP and a second specific SRS resource set is associated with a second TRP (Huang, ¶¶ [0513]-[0516]). Huang further teaches including a TRP-related index in the SRS-ResourceSet configuration to distinguish the TRP associated with the SRS resource set (Huang, ¶ [0516]). Huang also teaches associating SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl information and corresponding PUSCH-PathlossReferenceRS information with the respective first and second SRS resource sets (Huang, ¶¶ [0435]-[0446]; Figs. 11-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Liu's MAC CE to include an indication identifying whether the indicated SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl ID corresponds to the first or second SRS resource set in view of Huang's teaching of distinguishing first and second SRS resource sets. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide such an indication so that the receiving terminal can correctly associate the indicated SRI-PUSCH power-control configuration and corresponding pathloss reference signal with the appropriate SRS resource set in a multi-TRP deployment, thereby improving the accuracy and flexibility of uplink power-control signaling.
Accordingly, claim 10 would have been obvious over Liu in view of Huang.
Regarding claim 11, Liu and Huang teach the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above.
"wherein usage of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set is codebook or non-codebook." Huang teaches that the disclosed multi-TRP framework supports both codebook-based and non-codebook-based uplink transmission using the first and second SRS resource sets. See, e.g., Huang, ¶¶ [0418]-[0426].
Accordingly, claim 11 would have been obvious over Liu in view of Huang.
Regarding claims 12–14, these claims recite a method (claim 12), a base station (claim 13), and a system comprising a terminal and a base station (claim 14), each corresponding to the apparatus of claim 10. As such, claims 12–14 are similarly rejected as being obvious over Nokia in view of Huawei for the reasons discussed with respect to claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form 892.
/Luat Phung/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468