DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of Preliminary Amendments
For the record, acknowledgement is made of the applicant’s preliminary amendments to the Specification, Abstract and the Claims under 37 CFR 1.115. It is acknowledged that applicant cancelled claims, 1-19. Under examination are the newly amended claims, 19-38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 20, 24, 26, 28, 32, 34 & 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 20, 28 & 36
Claim(s) 20, 28 & 36 recite(s), “a center of the category of the PPG signal”. The claim limitation is not understood. A category is typically not defined as having a center. The Specification of the Applicant does not disclose how to a category has a center. The claim limitation is being interrupted as best understood by the Examiner.
Regarding Claim 24 & 32
Claim(s) 24 recite(s), “a duration”. It is unclear whether a duration is referring to a time duration, a period duration of the signal or another duration of some other type. Clarification is required.
Regarding Claim 26 & 34
Claim(s) 26 & 34 recite, “a difference”. It is unclear what the difference is referring to or what is being claimed. Is the difference a time duration and used to determine an update timing? The claim limitation is further confusing as a number of thresholds are claimed with out a relationship to what the threshold is. For example, a timing threshold, a pressure threshold, an ith threshold, a N set threshold, etc? The claim limitation is abstract and unclear and indefinite as to the metes and bounds of the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 110840427 A; enclosed herein and foreign translation referenced).
Claim 35: Li teaches –
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores programing instructions for execution by a processor of a blood pressure measurement apparatus to perform operations [An electronic device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, said computer program adapted to be executed by the processor to load and operate according to any one of claims 1 to 8 based on the volume pulse wave signal of the continuous blood pressure measuring method] (Claim 10) comprising:
controlling a first measurement component of the blood pressure measurement apparatus [obtaining the blood pressure value by a cuff-type blood pressure measuring way] (Top of Page 8) to collect N sets of blood pressure values of a user [at least two groups] (Middle of Page 13);
controlling a second measurement component of the blood pressure measurement apparatus to collect N sets of PPG signals [application program of the processor 301 can be for data synchronous displaying method call stored in the memory 63, and specifically executes the following operation: the volume pulse wave signal for obtaining the object] (Bottom of Page 15) corresponding to the N sets of blood pressure values [at the same time] (Top of Page 8);
generating a target model based on the N sets of blood pressure values and the N sets of PPG signals [linear blood model determining module 2043, for the at least two groups of said blood pressure characteristic value as input, the corresponding at least two groups of said blood pressure value as output, calculating to obtain the linear model] (Middle of Page 13),
wherein an input of the target model is the PPG signal, an output of the target model is the blood pressure value [linear blood model determining module 2043, for the at least two groups of said blood pressure characteristic value as input, the corresponding at least two groups of said blood pressure value as output, calculating to obtain the linear model] (Middle of Page 13), and N is an integer greater than or equal to 2 [at least two groups] (Middle of Page 13);
after generating the target model, controlling the second measurement component to collect a first PPG signal of the user [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1); and
Examiner’s Note: Since the method is continuous the blood pressure measurement is being collected even after the target model generation.
determining a first blood pressure value based on the target model and the first PPG signal [blood pressure characteristic value by obtaining the average value of the ratio of n power of each pulse amplitude change value corresponding to the pulse period value and m, can prevent the single analysis by a certain pulse period] (Bottom of Page 14).
Examiner’s Note: The average of the blood pressure is taken after the target model is formed based on the target model and a continuous PPG signal taken.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 25, 27, 33 & 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 110840427 A; enclosed herein and foreign translation referenced) and further in view of Yang (U.S. Patent Application 2005/0256411 A1).
Claim 19: Li teaches –
A blood pressure measurement apparatus [blood pressure measuring… apparatus] (Abstract), wherein the blood pressure measurement apparatus comprises
a processor [a processor] (Top of Page 3),
a first measurement component [the blood pressure measuring device 3000 can be cuff inflatable electronic sphygmomanometer] (Bottom of Page 5 and Figure 1, Element 3000), and
a second measurement component [a light source generating module and optical sensor module] (Middle of Page 5),
and wherein:
the second measurement component comprises a light source and a photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensor [source of the volume pulse wave measuring device generating module to emit light beams of a certain wavelength is irradiated to the skin surface, the light beam to be transmitted to the optical sensor module by transmission or reflection mode] (Top of Page 6);
the first measurement component is configured to collect a blood pressure value of a user [the blood pressure value obtained by the cuff-type blood pressure measuring way] (Bottom of Page 7);
the second measurement component is configured to collect a PPG signal of the user [photoelectric volume plethysmography (photoplethysmograph, abbreviated as PPG) in living tissue detecting a non-invasive detection method of blood volume change of means such as by photoelectric volume pulse wave measuring device] (Top of Page 6); and
the processor [An electronic device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, said computer program adapted to be executed by the processor to load and operate according to any one of claims 1 to 8 based on the volume pulse wave signal of the continuous blood pressure measuring method] (Claim 10) is configured to:
control the first measurement component to collect N sets of blood pressure values of the user [obtaining the blood pressure value by a cuff-type blood pressure measuring way] (Top of Page 8);
control the second measurement component to collect N sets of PPG signals [application program of the processor 301 can be for data synchronous displaying method call stored in the memory 63, and specifically executes the following operation: the volume pulse wave signal for obtaining the object] (Bottom of Page 15) corresponding to the N sets of blood pressure values [at the same time] (Top of Page 8);
generate a target model based on the N sets of blood pressure values and the N sets of PPG signals [linear blood model determining module 2043, for the at least two groups of said blood pressure characteristic value as input, the corresponding at least two groups of said blood pressure value as output, calculating to obtain the linear model] (Middle of Page 13),
wherein an input of the target model is the PPG signal, an output of the target model is the blood pressure value [linear blood model determining module 2043, for the at least two groups of said blood pressure characteristic value as input, the corresponding at least two groups of said blood pressure value as output, calculating to obtain the linear model] (Middle of Page 13), and N is an integer greater than or equal to 2 [at least two groups] (Middle of Page 13);
after generating the target model, control the second measurement component to collect a first PPG signal of the user [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1); and
Examiner’s Note: Since the method is continuous the blood pressure measurement is being collected even after the target model generation.
determine a first blood pressure value based on the target model and the first PPG signal [blood pressure characteristic value by obtaining the average value of the ratio of n power of each pulse amplitude change value corresponding to the pulse period value and m, can prevent the single analysis by a certain pulse period] (Bottom of Page 14).
Examiner’s Note: The average of the blood pressure is taken after the target model is formed based on the target model and a continuous PPG signal taken.
Li fails to teach the structural details of the electronic sphygmomanometer. However, Yang teaches –
the first measurement component comprises an inflatable part [driving device 30 to fill air into the airbag cuff] (Para 0021), an airbag [the airbag cuff] (Para 0018), and an air pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Abstract);
the airbag is separately connected to the inflatable part [driving device 30 to fill air into the airbag cuff] (Para 0021) and the air pressure sensor [microprocessor chip which is coupled individually to a pressure sensor] (Abstract) [a housing 20 disposed on the airbag cuff, and a pressure sensor 21 disposed in the housing 20] (Para 0018) in order for a more accurate blood pressure measurement (Para 0006);
Examiner’s Note: The airbag is connected to a separate device from the driving device. See Figure 2, Element 30 as a separate block from Figure 1, Element 10. Also the airbag is separately connected to the air pressure sensor. See Figure 1, Element 10 and 20, where the pressure sensor is within housing, Element 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic sphygmomanometer of Li with the details as taught by Yang in order for a more accurate blood pressure measurement (Para 0006).
Claim 27: Li teaches –
A blood pressure measurement method [blood pressure measuring…method] (Abstract), wherein:
the blood pressure measurement method [blood pressure measuring… method] (Abstract) is applied to a blood pressure measurement apparatus [blood pressure measuring…apparatus] (Abstract);
the blood pressure measurement apparatus [blood pressure measuring… apparatus] (Abstract) comprises
a first measurement component [the blood pressure measuring device 3000 can be cuff inflatable electronic sphygmomanometer] (Bottom of Page 5 and Figure 1, Element 3000) and
a second measurement component [a light source generating module and optical sensor module] (Middle of Page 5);
the second measurement component comprises
a light source and a photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensor [source of the volume pulse wave measuring device generating module to emit light beams of a certain wavelength is irradiated to the skin surface, the light beam to be transmitted to the optical sensor module by transmission or reflection mode] (Top of Page 6); and
the blood pressure measurement method comprises:
controlling the first measurement component [obtaining the blood pressure value by a cuff-type blood pressure measuring way] (Top of Page 8) to collect N sets of blood pressure values of a user [at least two groups] (Middle of Page 13);
controlling the second measurement component to collect N sets of PPG signals [application program of the processor 301 can be for data synchronous displaying method call stored in the memory 63, and specifically executes the following operation: the volume pulse wave signal for obtaining the object] (Bottom of Page 15) corresponding to the N sets of blood pressure values [at the same time] (Top of Page 8);
generating a target model based on the N sets of blood pressure values and the N sets of PPG signals [linear blood model determining module 2043, for the at least two groups of said blood pressure characteristic value as input, the corresponding at least two groups of said blood pressure value as output, calculating to obtain the linear model] (Middle of Page 13),
wherein an input of the target model is the PPG signal, an output of the target model is the blood pressure value [linear blood model determining module 2043, for the at least two groups of said blood pressure characteristic value as input, the corresponding at least two groups of said blood pressure value as output, calculating to obtain the linear model] (Middle of Page 13), and N is an integer greater than or equal to 2 [at least two groups] (Middle of Page 13);
after generating the target model, controlling the second measurement component to collect a first PPG signal of the user [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1); and
Examiner’s Note: Since the method is continuous the blood pressure measurement is being collected even after the target model generation.
determining a first blood pressure value based on the target model and the first PPG signal [blood pressure characteristic value by obtaining the average value of the ratio of n power of each pulse amplitude change value corresponding to the pulse period value and m, can prevent the single analysis by a certain pulse period] (Bottom of Page 14).
Examiner’s Note: The average of the blood pressure is taken after the target model is formed based on the target model and a continuous PPG signal taken.
Li fails to teach the structural details of the electronic sphygmomanometer. However, Yang teaches –
the first measurement component comprises an inflatable part [driving device 30 to fill air into the airbag cuff] (Para 0021), an airbag [the airbag cuff] (Para 0018), and an air pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Abstract);
the airbag is separately connected to the inflatable part [driving device 30 to fill air into the airbag cuff] (Para 0021) and the air pressure sensor [microprocessor chip which is coupled individually to a pressure sensor] (Abstract) [a housing 20 disposed on the airbag cuff, and a pressure sensor 21 disposed in the housing 20] (Para 0018) in order for a more accurate blood pressure measurement (Para 0006);
Examiner’s Note: The airbag is connected to a separate device from the driving device. See Figure 2, Element 30 as a separate block from Figure 1, Element 10. Also the airbag is separately connected to the air pressure sensor. See Figure 1, Element 10 and 20, where the pressure sensor is within housing, Element 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic sphygmomanometer of Li with the details as taught by Yang in order for a more accurate blood pressure measurement (Para 0006).
Claim(s) 20-21, 28-29 & 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 110840427 A) and Yang (U.S. Patent Application 2005/0256411 A1) and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 109871808 B; enclosed herein and English Translation referenced).
Claim 20/19: Li teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
when an ith set of PPG signals in the N sets of PPG signals is collected [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1) [at least two groups] (Middle of Page 13),
Examiner’s Note: The method is continuous and thus multiple sets and multiple signals are collected.
control the second measurement component to obtain a PPG signal of a first duration [application program of the processor 301 can be for data synchronous displaying method call stored in the memory 63, and specifically executes the following operation: the volume pulse wave signal for obtaining the object] (Bottom of Page 15),
wherein i is an integer greater than 0 [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1);
control the second measurement component to collect a PPG signal of the second duration [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1); and
combine the PPG signal of the first duration and the PPG signal of the second duration into the ith set of PPG signals [calculating the ratio of the n-th pulse amplitude value of the change value in each pulse cycle of the m-th pulse cycle value corresponding to the, wherein n and m are both positive, the ratio for the average value obtained after averaging is determined as the blood pressure characteristic value] (Bottom of Page 16).
Li and Yang fail to teach category and similarity. However, Zhang teaches –
determine a category of the PPG signal of the first duration [attribute category] (Claim 1);
determine a similarity between the PPG signal of the first duration and a center of the category of the PPG signal of the first duration in first historical PPG signals [obtaining the feature vector corresponding to each of the history PPG signal; generating a training sample set based on the feature vectors of multiple historical PPG signals and the corresponding attribute types] (Claim 5),
Examiner’s Note: See pending 35 USC § 112.
wherein the first historical PPG signals comprise a PPG signal that has been obtained before the ith set of PPG signals is obtained [respectively performing feature extraction for two paths of data sequences corresponding to each history PPG signal; obtaining the feature vector corresponding to each of the history PPG signal; generating a training sample set based on the feature vectors of multiple historical PPG signals and the corresponding attribute types] (Claim 5);
determine a second duration based on the similarity [detection of atrial fibrillation is associated with sequence data in a period of time] (Bottom of Page 11) in order to improve diagnostic capabilities of medical equipment (Page 2);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li and Lang to include the category and similarity determination of Zhang in order to improve diagnostic capabilities of medical equipment (Page 2).
Claim 21/20/19: Li teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: when 1st to Mth sets of PPG signals in the N sets of PPG signals are collected, control the second measurement component to obtain a PPG signal of a third duration, wherein M is an integer less than i [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1) [at least two groups] (Middle of Page 13),
Examiner’s Note: The method is continuous and thus multiple sets and multiple signals are collected.
Claim 25/19, 33/27 & 38/35: Li fails to teach the details with respect to the inflatable cuff. However, Yang teaches wherein the inflatable part is configured to inflate the airbag [driving device 30 to fill air into the airbag cuff] (Para 0021); and the air pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Abstract) is configured to collect a plurality of air pressure values of the airbag [microprocessor chip which is coupled individually to a pressure sensor] (Abstract), wherein a first air pressure value and a second air pressure value in the plurality of air pressure values are blood pressure values of the user [A pressure difference is used to detect a change in blood pressure] (Para 0018), the first air pressure value is an air pressure value corresponding to a moment at which an oscillatory wave of air pressure in the airbag reaches a maximum value, the second air pressure value is an air pressure value corresponding to a moment at which the oscillatory wave reaches the maximum value multiplied by a, and a is greater than 0 and less than 1 [the microprocessor chip 25 starts the driving device 30 to fill air into the airbag cuff 10 and inflate the airbag cuff 10 to press the blood vessels on the wrist. The driving device 30 will stop till the required pressure is achieved. Thus, a systolic pressure (high pressure) and a diastolic pressure (low pressure) are measured. At that time, the microprocessor chip 25 will turn on the air valve 40 to release the air inside the airbag cuff 10 to facilitate detecting the values of the systolic pressure (high pressure) and the diastolic pressure (low pressure)] (Para 0021) in order for a more accurate blood pressure measurement (Para 0006)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic sphygmomanometer of Li with the details as taught by Yang in order for a more accurate blood pressure measurement (Para 0006).
Claim 28/27: Li teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
when an ith set of PPG signals in the N sets of PPG signals is collected [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1) [at least two groups] (Middle of Page 13),
Examiner’s Note: The method is continuous and thus multiple sets and multiple signals are collected.
the controlling the second measurement component to collect N sets of PPG signals [application program of the processor 301 can be for data synchronous displaying method call stored in the memory 63, and specifically executes the following operation: the volume pulse wave signal for obtaining the object] (Bottom of Page 15) corresponding to the N sets of blood pressure values [at the same time] (Top of Page 8) comprises:
controlling the second measurement component to obtain a PPG signal of a first duration [application program of the processor 301 can be for data synchronous displaying method call stored in the memory 63, and specifically executes the following operation: the volume pulse wave signal for obtaining the object] (Bottom of Page 15);
controlling the second measurement component to collect a PPG signal of the second duration [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1); and
combining the PPG signal of the first duration and the PPG signal of the second duration into the ith set of PPG signals [calculating the ratio of the n-th pulse amplitude value of the change value in each pulse cycle of the m-th pulse cycle value corresponding to the, wherein n and m are both positive, the ratio for the average value obtained after averaging is determined as the blood pressure characteristic value] (Bottom of Page 16),
wherein i is an integer greater than 0 [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1).
Li and Yang fail to teach category and similarity. However, Zhang teaches –
determining a category of the PPG signal of the first duration [attribute category] (Claim 1);
determining a similarity between the PPG signal of the first duration and a center of the category of the PPG signal of the first duration in first historical PPG signals [obtaining the feature vector corresponding to each of the history PPG signal; generating a training sample set based on the feature vectors of multiple historical PPG signals and the corresponding attribute types] (Claim 5),
Examiner’s Note: See pending 35 USC § 112.
wherein the first historical PPG signals comprise a PPG signal that has been obtained before the ith set of PPG signals is obtained [respectively performing feature extraction for two paths of data sequences corresponding to each history PPG signal; obtaining the feature vector corresponding to each of the history PPG signal; generating a training sample set based on the feature vectors of multiple historical PPG signals and the corresponding attribute types] (Claim 5);
determining a second duration based on the similarity [detection of atrial fibrillation is associated with sequence data in a period of time] (Bottom of Page 11) in order to improve diagnostic capabilities of medical equipment (Page 2);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li and Lang to include the category and similarity determination of Zhang in order to improve diagnostic capabilities of medical equipment (Page 2).
Claim 29/28/27: Li teaches wherein when 1st to Mth sets of PPG signals in the N sets of PPG signals are collected, the controlling the second measurement component to collect N sets of PPG signals corresponding to the N sets of blood pressure values comprises: controlling the second measurement component to obtain a PPG signal of a third duration, wherein M is an integer less than I [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1) [at least two groups] (Middle of Page 13),
Examiner’s Note: The method is continuous and thus multiple sets and multiple signals are collected.
Claim 36/35: Li teaches wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores the programing instructions for execution by the processor of the blood pressure measurement apparatus to perform operations [An electronic device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, said computer program adapted to be executed by the processor to load and operate according to any one of claims 1 to 8 based on the volume pulse wave signal of the continuous blood pressure measuring method] (Claim 10) comprising:
when an ith set of PPG signals in the N sets of PPG signals is collected, controlling the second measurement component to obtain a PPG signal of a first duration [application program of the processor 301 can be for data synchronous displaying method call stored in the memory 63, and specifically executes the following operation: the volume pulse wave signal for obtaining the object] (Bottom of Page 15),
wherein i is an integer greater than 0 [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1);
controlling the second measurement component to collect a PPG signal of the second duration [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1); and
combining the PPG signal of the first duration and the PPG signal of the second duration into the ith set of PPG signals [calculating the ratio of the n-th pulse amplitude value of the change value in each pulse cycle of the m-th pulse cycle value corresponding to the, wherein n and m are both positive, the ratio for the average value obtained after averaging is determined as the blood pressure characteristic value] (Bottom of Page 16)
Li and Yang fail to teach category and similarity. However, Zhang teaches –
determining a category of the PPG signal of the first duration [attribute category] (Claim 1);
determining a similarity between the PPG signal of the first duration and a center of the category of the PPG signal of the first duration in first historical PPG signals [obtaining the feature vector corresponding to each of the history PPG signal; generating a training sample set based on the feature vectors of multiple historical PPG signals and the corresponding attribute types] (Claim 5),
Examiner’s Note: See pending 35 USC § 112.
wherein the first historical PPG signals comprise a PPG signal that has been obtained before the ith set of PPG signals is obtained [respectively performing feature extraction for two paths of data sequences corresponding to each history PPG signal; obtaining the feature vector corresponding to each of the history PPG signal; generating a training sample set based on the feature vectors of multiple historical PPG signals and the corresponding attribute types] (Claim 5);
determining a second duration based on the similarity [detection of atrial fibrillation is associated with sequence data in a period of time] (Bottom of Page 11) in order to improve diagnostic capabilities of medical equipment (Page 2);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li and Lang to include the category and similarity determination of Zhang in order to improve diagnostic capabilities of medical equipment (Page 2).
Claim(s) 22, 24, 30 & 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 110840427 A) and Yang (U.S. Patent Application 2005/0256411 A1) and further in view of Cronin et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2018/0008191 A1).
Claim 22/19: Li teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: for measuring blood pressure through the first measurement component [obtaining the blood pressure value by a cuff-type blood pressure measuring way] (Top of Page 8) and the second measurement component [a light source generating module and optical sensor module] (Middle of Page 5); the first measurement component [obtaining the blood pressure value by a cuff-type blood pressure measuring way] (Top of Page 8) to collect a second blood pressure value [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1) [at least two groups] (Middle of Page 13), and control the second measurement component to collect a second PPG signal corresponding to the second blood pressure value [application program of the processor 301 can be for data synchronous displaying method call stored in the memory 63, and specifically executes the following operation: the volume pulse wave signal for obtaining the object] (Bottom of Page 15); and generate the target model based on the second blood pressure value and the second PPG signal [linear blood model determining module 2043, for the at least two groups of said blood pressure characteristic value as input, the corresponding at least two groups of said blood pressure value as output, calculating to obtain the linear model] (Middle of Page 13) [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1).
Li and Yang fail to teach updating. However, Cronin teaches –
when determining to update the target model, prompt the user to trigger an instruction [determining the predictive model comprises obtaining inputs from the user via a user interface] (Para 0010)
in response to a first operation of the user, control and update the target model [updating the predictive model using the subset of the physiological data and the activity data] (Para 0018) in order to be more accurate based on the user’s experience (Para 0017-0018)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li and Yang to include the updating as taught by Cronin in order to be more accurate based on the user’s experience (Para 0017-0018).
Claim 24/19: Li and Yang fail to teach updating. However, Cronin teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine, based on a duration in which the target model is not updated, whether the target model needs to be updated [updating the predictive model using the subset of the physiological data and the activity data] (Para 0018) [the long term database 166 may continually accumulate the sensor data over a long period of time] (Para 0071) in order to be more accurate based on the user’s experience (Para 0017-0018)
Examiner’s Note: It is understood that the long term database which has data from over a duration of time would be accumulated over time and used to update the model continually.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li and Yang to include the updating as taught by Cronin in order to be more accurate based on the user’s experience (Para 0017-0018).
Claim 30/27: Li teaches wherein the blood pressure measurement method further comprises: for measuring blood pressure through the first measurement component [obtaining the blood pressure value by a cuff-type blood pressure measuring way] (Top of Page 8) and the second measurement component [a light source generating module and optical sensor module] (Middle of Page 5); controlling the first measurement component [obtaining the blood pressure value by a cuff-type blood pressure measuring way] (Top of Page 8) to collect a second blood pressure value [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1) [at least two groups] (Middle of Page 13), and controlling the second measurement component to collect a second PPG signal [application program of the processor 301 can be for data synchronous displaying method call stored in the memory 63, and specifically executes the following operation: the volume pulse wave signal for obtaining the object] (Bottom of Page 15) corresponding to the second blood pressure value [continuous blood pressure measurement] (Claim 1); and generating the target model based on the second blood pressure value and the second PPG signal [linear blood model determining module 2043, for the at least two groups of said blood pressure characteristic value as input, the corresponding at least two groups of said blood pressure value as output, calculating to obtain the linear model] (Middle of Page 13).
Li and Yang fail to teach updating. However, Cronin teaches –
when determining to update the target model, prompt the user to trigger an instruction [determining the predictive model comprises obtaining inputs from the user via a user interface] (Para 0010)
in response to a first operation of the user, controlling and updating the target model [updating the predictive model using the subset of the physiological data and the activity data] (Para 0018) in order to be more accurate based on the user’s experience (Para 0017-0018)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li and Yang to include the updating as taught by Cronin in order to be more accurate based on the user’s experience (Para 0017-0018).
Claim 32/27: Li and Yang fail to teach updating. However, Cronin teaches wherein the blood pressure measurement method further comprises: determining, based on a duration in which the target model is not updated, whether the target model needs to be updated [updating the predictive model using the subset of the physiological data and the activity data] (Para 0018) [the long term database 166 may continually accumulate the sensor data over a long period of time] (Para 0071) in order to be more accurate based on the user’s experience (Para 0017-0018)
Examiner’s Note: It is understood that the long term database which has data from over a duration of time would be accumulated over time and used to update the model continually.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li and Yang to include the updating as taught by Cronin in order to be more accurate based on the user’s experience (Para 0017-0018).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 23, 31 & 37 is/are allowed. The prior art fails to teach updating based on the claimed categories and similarity determinations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wenzel et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2011/0009755 A1) – Wenzel teaches implantable systems, and methods for use therewith, for monitoring a patient's arterial blood pressure while a patient's heart is being paced. A signal (e.g., PPG or IPG signal) indicative of changes in arterial blood volume remote from the patient's heart is obtained using a sensor or electrodes that are implanted remote from the patient's heart. One or more metrics indicative of pulse arrival time (PAT) are determined, where each metric can be determined by determining a time from a paced cardiac event to one or more predetermined features of the signal indicative of changes in arterial blood volume. Based on at the metric(s) indicative of PAT, arterial blood pressure is estimated, which can include determining values indicative of systolic blood pressure, diastolic blood pressure, pulse pressure and/or mean arterial blood pressure, and/or changes in such values.
Grudic et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2011/0172545 A1) – Grudic teaches tools and techniques for enhancing intelligent medical monitoring, and in particular monitoring that employs models for estimating and/or predicting physiological conditions. In an aspect, some of these tools and techniques employ active physical perturbation of a test subject (or patient), to induce physiological changes in the subject. By monitoring one or more of the patient's physiological parameters shortly before, during, and/or after the physical perturbation, the subject's reaction to the perturbation can be determined, and this reaction can be used to estimate and/or predict the subject's physiological state and/or clinical condition. In a particular case, the subject's response to the physical perturbation can be used to construct and/or refine a model that can be applied to analyze the subject's physiological parameters to produce such predications and/or estimations.
Douniama et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2012/0065525 A1) – Douniama teaches pressure gauge for determining at least one pressure value describing a pressure of a fluid flowing in a pulsating manner in a phase of the pulsating flow, includes a pulse wave characterizer. The pulse wave characterizer is configured to obtain transmit time information of a pulse wave, and amplitude information of the pulse wave. The pressure gauge additionally includes a pressure value determiner configured to obtain a first pressure value describing a pressure of the fluid in a first phase, on the basis of the transmit time information and while using a mapping. The pressure value determiner is further configured to obtain a second pressure value describing a pressure of the fluid in a second phase, on the basis of the first pressure value and the amplitude information while using a mapping.
/Helene Bor/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797