DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse on 30 January, 2026, of Group 1, claims 1-6, is acknowledged. Claims 7-11, Groups 2-4, are withdrawn, and claims 1-6 are examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Accordingly, the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) is obtained.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1-6, the claims do not provide indentation where new items are provided. Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, 37 CFR 1.75(i). See MPEP 6.08.01 (m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, the claim reads “a distal tip” [line 1], “a bending section” [line 1], “a distal tip” [line 2] and “a bending section” [line 4]. It is unclear if the latter recitations are the same as the earlier recitations. Therefore, the claim is unclear. For the purposes of prosecution, it will be assumed the latter recitations are the same as the earlier recitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Matsumoto (US 2006/0111612).
In regards to Claim 1, Matsumoto discloses a connecting structure for a distal tip and a bending section [Figs.2, 10-11, 16], comprising:
a distal tip [19, 31, Figs.2, 10-11, 15-16] provided with first engaging portions [88,
Fig.16], the first engaging portions being located in a circumferential direction of the distal tip [Fig.16]; and
a bending section [18, Figs.1-4, 10-11, para.36] coupled to the distal tip [Fig.11],
the bending section being provided with second engaging portions [89, Fig.10, para.73],
the second engaging portions being located in a circumferential direction of the bending
section, and the first engaging portions being snap-fitted with the second engaging portions, such that the distal tip is connected to the bending section [Fig. 10, para.73-74].
In regards to claim 2, Matsumoto discloses the connecting structure for a distal tip and a bending section according to claim 1,
wherein at least two first engaging portions and at least two second engaging portions are provided [Figs.10, 16, para.73-74];
the at least two first engaging portions being arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the distal tip [Figs.10, 16];
the at least two second engaging portions being arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the bending section [Figs.10, 16]; and
the at least two first engaging portions and the at least two second engaging portions being arranged in one-to-one correspondence [Figs.10, 16].
In regards to claim 3, Matsumoto discloses the connecting structure for a distal tip and a bending section according to claim 2, wherein the first engaging portions are formed as engaging posts [88, Figs.10, 16], the second engaging portions are formed as engaging holes [89, Fig.10]; and
cross-sectional profiles of the engaging posts are adapted to opening shapes of the engaging holes respectively [Fig.10, para.73].
In regards to claim 4, Matsumoto discloses the connecting structure for a distal tip and a bending section according to claim 3, wherein the engaging posts are provided with introducing inclined surfaces respectively [sloped surfaces of 88, Fig.16];
the introducing inclined surfaces being configured to guide the engaging posts into the engaging holes respectively [Fig.10, para.73-74, 90].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph set forth in this office action, and claim objections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art fails to teach, among other features, a connected distal tip and bending section comprising:
the distal tip provided with at least two first engaging portions provided at a circumferential part of the tip,
the bending section having at least two second engaging portions, the second engaging portions provided at a circumferential part of the bending section,
the first and second engaging portions being snap-fitted together,
the first engaging portions arranged separately from each other in a circumferential direction of the distal tip, the second engaging portions arranged separately from each other in a circumferential direction of the distal tip, the first and second engaging portions being arranged in a one-to-one correspondence,
either the first or the second engaging portions are formed as engaging posts, and the other of the first or second engaging portions are arranged as engaging holes, cross-sectional profiles of the engaging posts are adapted to opening shapes of the engaging holes,
wherein the at least two engaging posts comprise a first engaging post and a second engaging post;
the at least two engaging holes comprise a first engaging hole and a second engaging hole;
the first engaging post being snap-fitted with the first engaging hole; and the second engaging post being snap-fitted with the second engaging hole;
a cross-sectional profile of the first engaging post is different from that of the second engaging post; and
an opening shape of the first engaging hole is different from that of the second engaging hole.
Matsumoto (US 2006/0111612) discloses the above except for the opening shape of the first engaging hole being different from that of the second engaging hole,
and further discloses wherein the distal tip and bending sections being connected are tubes.
Carr (US 2,910,311) discloses a snap-fit tube connecting structure with complementary posts and holes on both of two tubes to be connected.
Coel et al. (US 4,126,338) discloses a snap-fit tube connecting structure with multiple assymetrically arranged posts and holes of the same shape respectively arranged on two tubes to be connected.
Gnauert et al. (US 5,259,650) discloses a tube connecting structure with posts of different shapes on one of the two tubes.
Lepautre (US 2003/0075923) discloses a snap-fit tube connecting structure with posts of two different shape types on one of the two tubes, on the other of the two tubes enclosed slots configured to receive one of the post types, and holes configured to receive the other of the two post types.
Isendam et al. (US 2005/0155209) discloses a snap-fit tube connecting structure where in various embodiments, various different types of plural, uniform post-hole fitting structures are used.
Suigetsu et al. (US 2009/0093679) discloses a snap-fit connecting structure for a bending section and a flexible tube section, where two posts on the flexible tube section are the same shape, and two holes on the bending section are the same shape.
There is no reason or suggestion provided in the prior art to modify the above prior art to teach the limitations as claimed above, and the only reason to modify the references would be based on Applicant's disclosure, which is impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Carr (US 2,910,311)
Coel et al. (US 4,126,338)
Gnauert et al. (US 5,259,650)
Lepautre (US 2003/0075923)
Isendam et al. (US 2005/0155209)
Suigetsu et al. (US 2009/0093679)
/AARON B FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795