Detail Action
This office action is a response to an amendment submitted on 03/12/2026.
Claims 1-8 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/29/2023. These drawings are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application.
Response to Amendment
The objection of title has been withdraw in view of amendment.
Claims 1- 8 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are summarized a following;
Applicant argued that the combined Farhadi in view of Yu does not teach “ at least the communicative connection between the slave terminal apparatus and the base station is stopped, in a case that the communicative connection by the slave terminal apparatus to the base station is not allowed” [See Arguments/Remarks Pg. 6-10].
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the current above argument.
In response to applicant's argument that “specifically, Yu’s Figs. 11, 12 an Par. 238 – 242 merely describes the limitation”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In this case, the Prior Art Yu’ expressly teaches the argued limitation. Yu describes when an access network device/terminal apparatus may receive data from a first terminal apparatus and second terminal apparatus /slave devices, the access network device instructs first and second terminal apparatus to stop transmitting data [Yu: Par. 220, 238- 242] based on the correspondence indication information. Yu’s access network device is clearly capable of performing the intended use of preventing an unauthorized communication path and can issues a stop-transmission instruction once the correspondence is evaluated, therefore can be treated as teaching the same operational result as the network-side system (access network device and core network device). Consequently, it’s reasonably analogous to the claim requirement of communicative connection between the slave terminal apparatus and the base station is stopped when the slave terminal apparatus is not allowed to communicate with the base station based on the correspondence information. Prior Art reference Yu teaches the same communication control concept of stopping the communication path through the network-side/ base station side control entity (access network device and core network device) and prevent the communication based on the correspondence.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Farhadi et al. (US 20140080534 A1), hereinafter “Farhadi”; and in further view of Yu et al. (US 20220322140 A1), hereinafter “Yu”.
Regarding claim 1, Farhadi teaches A communication system comprising:
a base station [Farhadi: Abstract teaches method to enable tethering among wireless devices];
a terminal apparatus configured to perform data communication with the base station, the terminal apparatus including a tethering function and operating, using the tethering function [See. Farhadi: Abstract] as a master terminal apparatus configured to communicatively connect a slave terminal apparatus to the base station [Farhadi: Fig. 3; Par. 60- 70 teaches of master device/wireless device operated tethering using information/ configuration from slave device and communicated with access point/ base station for configuration/connection]; and the slave terminal apparatus configured to utilize the communicative connection using the tethering function included in the terminal apparatus [Farhadi: Fig. 3;4; Par. 65- 75 teaches slave device 306 configured to communicate with terminal & access point];
However, Farhadi does not teach wherein at least the communicative connection between the slave terminal apparatus and the base station is stopped, in a case that the communicative connection by the slave terminal apparatus to the base station is not allowed.
Nevertheless, Yu, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches wherein at least the communicative connection between the slave terminal apparatus and the base station is stopped in a case that the communicative connection from the slave terminal apparatus to the base station is not allowed [Yu: Fig. 11; Par. 8, 214-240 teaches core network device/ base station stops transmission based on the correspondence information].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Yu for determine the connection with wireless devices. The teaching of Yu, when implemented in the Farhadi system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform tethering with different wireless devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Yu in the Farhadi system in order to decide the communication with network devices based on the received data [Yu: Par. 8].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Farhadi in view of Yu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Farhadi in view of Yu further teaches wherein the base station stops the communicative communication between the slave terminal apparatus and the base station by stopping the data communication with the terminal apparatus in the case that the communicative connection from the slave terminal apparatus to the base station is not allowed [Yu: Par. 238 teaches core network devices stopped the communication with slave terminal based on the correspondence information stopping scheduling].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Farhadi in view of Yu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Farhadi in view of Yu further teaches wherein the terminal apparatus stops the communicative connection between the slave terminal apparatus and the base station by stopping the tethering function in the case that the communicative connection from the slave terminal apparatus to the base station is not allowed [Yu: Par. 238 further teaches tethering is determined by received information].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Farhadi in view of Yu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Farhadi in view of Yu further teaches wherein the terminal apparatus stops the communicative connection between the slave terminal apparatus and the base station by stopping the communicative connection to the slave terminal apparatus using the tethering function in the case that the communicative connection from the slave terminal apparatus to the base station is not allowed [Farhadi: Fig. 4; Yu. Fig. 11].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Farhadi in view of Yu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Farhadi in view of Yu further teaches wherein at least one of the base stations and the terminal apparatus
stores slave terminal information of the slave terminal apparatus for which the communicative connection with the base station is allowed [Farhadi: Figs.2; 5; setup messages are received by access point for further determining of whether power and data requirements are met Par. 53], and
determines whether the communicative connection to the base station from the slave terminal apparatus configured to utilize the communicative connection using the tethering function, is allowed based on whether the stored slave terminal information includes slave terminal information of the slave terminal apparatus configured to utilize the communicative connection using the tethering function [Yu: Par. 238].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Farhadi in view of Yu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Farhadi in view of Yu further teaches wherein the base station provides the data communication through local fifth generation 5G, private Long Term Evolution (LTE), or private 5G [Farhadi: Par. 57 teaches method 200 operate with respect to LTE networks].
Regarding claim 7, Farhadi teaches A communication control method performed by a communication system, the communication system including
a base station [Farhadi: Abstract teaches method to enable tethering among wireless devices];
a terminal apparatus configured to perform data communication with the base station, the terminal apparatus including a tethering function and operating, using the tethering function [Farhadi: Abstract] as a master terminal apparatus configured to communicatively connect a slave terminal apparatus to the base station [Farhadi: Fig. 3; Par. 60- 70 teaches of master device/wireless device operated tethering using information/ configuration from slave device and communicated with access point/ base station for configuration/connection]; the slave terminal apparatus configured to utilize the communicative connection using the tethering function included in the terminal apparatus [Farhadi: Fig. 3;4; Par. 65- 75 teaches slave device 306 configured to communicate with terminal & access point];
However, Farhadi does not teach stopping, by the base station or the terminal apparatus, at least the communicative connection between the slave terminal apparatus and the base station, in a case that the communicative connection from the slave terminal apparatus to the base station is not allowed.
Nevertheless, Yu, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches stopping, by the base station or the terminal apparatus, at least the communicative connection between the slave terminal apparatus and the base station, in a case that the communicative connection from the slave terminal apparatus to the base station is not allowed [Yu: Fig. 11; Par. 8, 238-240 teaches core network device/ base station stops transmission based on the correspondence information].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Yu for determine the connection with wireless devices. The teaching of Yu, when implemented in the Farhadi system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform tethering with different wireless devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Yu in the Farhadi system in order to decide the communication with network devices based on the received data [Yu: Par. 8].
Regarding claim 8, Farhadi teaches A base station comprising:
a communicator configured to transmit and/or receive a radio signal used for data communication with a terminal apparatus; and
a controller [Farhadi: Abstract teaches method to enable tethering among wireless devices];
wherein the terminal apparatus includes a tethering function and operating, using the tethering function, as a master terminal apparatus configured to communicatively connect a slave terminal apparatus to the base station [Farhadi: Fig. 3; Par. 60- 70 teaches of master device/wireless device operated tethering using information/ configuration from slave device and communicated with access point/ base station for configuration/connection]; he controller
determines whether the communicative connection from the slave terminal apparatus to the base station is allowed in a case of attempting to establish the communicative connection between the slave terminal apparatus and the base station via the terminal apparatus using the tethering function [Farhadi: Fig. 3;4; Par. 65- 75 teaches slave device 306 configured to communicate with terminal & access point];
However, Farhadi does not teach performs control to stop at least the communicative connection between the slave terminal apparatus and the base station in the case that the communicative connection from the slave terminal apparatus to the base station is not determined to be allowed.
Nevertheless, Yu, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches performs control to stop at least the communicative connection between the slave terminal apparatus and the base station in the case that the communicative connection from the slave terminal apparatus to the base station is not determined to be allowed [Yu: Fig. 11; Par. 8, 238-240 teaches core network device/ base station stops transmission based on the correspondence information].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Yu for determine the connection with wireless devices. The teaching of Yu, when implemented in the Farhadi system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform tethering with different wireless devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Yu in the Farhadi system in order to decide the communication with network devices based on the received data [Yu: Par. 8].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYAW Z SOE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412