Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “said germanium or germanium oxide layer comprising less than 20% tin” (emphasis added). “Comprise”/ “include” usually denotes actual presence of a material. However, in view of further limitations in claim 2 requiring said germanium or germanium oxide layer to be tin-free, “comprising less than 20% tin” is considered to mean that presence of tin is optional, and that should it be contained, its content <20% in the germanium or germanium oxide layer.
It is noted that none of claims 5, 6, 17, and 18 expressly requires the presence of the optional oxygen barrier layer. As such, these claims are treated to further limit an element that is optional, as opposed to requiring the presence of an (optional) element and further defining an attribute of this element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As amended, claim 1 requires a germanium or germanium oxide layer that consists essentially of germanium. It is noted that in the specification a germanium layer is disclosed to have a high content of Ge, and a germanium oxide layer is disclosed to have a high content of germanium oxide (that can be of various composition represented by GeOx, where 0.01≤x≤2). Requiring both germanium oxide layer to consists essentially of germanium oxide is thus indefinite, because it is not clear just how much Ge has to be contained to be contained in a GeOx layer to be deemed a GeOx layer that consists essentially of Ge. For prior art rejections above, a layer made entirely of GeO2 is deemed to be one consisting essentially of Ge, as the specification has not identified the basic and novel characteristics associated with consisting essentially of Ge.
As claims 2-12 and 15-20 depend on claim 1, and as the respective limitations of the dependent claims do not resolve the aforementioned issue in claim 1, claims 2-12 and 15-20 are also held to be rejected.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 recites the germanium or germanium oxide layer consists essentially of germanium oxide. Claim 10 at best does not further limit claim 1 and at worst appears to broaden the scope of what can be included.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over U.S. 5,365,345 A (“Propst”).
Considering claims 1-3, 10, and 15 Propst discloses a structure having a series of layers deposited on a preform 10, the layers including layer 12 of DLC film, layer 18 of a Ge:C film having 10-70% C, and an outer layer 16 of ZnS/ZnSe, wherein layer 18 of Ge:C has thickness of ~100 angstroms (10 nm). (Propst col. 2 line 27 to col. 3 line 41 and Fig. 1). Propst is analogous art, for it is directed to the same field of endeavor as that of the instant application (transparent structure having a DLC layer).
With significant range of the disclosed composition (~66%) resulting in Ge:C material that is significantly Ge, this layer is considered to read on a layer consisting essentially of Ge. Alternatively, selecting a composition resulting in a majority Ge layer is deemed to be selecting overlapping ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. (See In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379; MPEP § 2144.05).
The limitation re: characteristics of solubility of the claimed Ge/ GeOx layer is deemed to be a property, and the Ge:C layer of Propst is considered to possess the characteristics in view of substantially similar thickness and composition (viz. majority Ge). Propst anticipates or alternatively renders obvious claims 1-3.
Considering claims 5, 6, 17, and 18, as each of these claims further modifies an optional element without actually requiring presence of the optional element, Propst also reads on each of claims 5, 6, 17, and 18.
Considering claim 9, Propst discloses usage of silicon carbide for the preform. (Propst col. 2 line 27-34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2021/0122671 A1 (“Hart”).
Considering claims 1-3, 7, 9, 10, 15, and 19, Hart discloses a coated glass substrate comprising a glass substrate and a multilayered film 14 deposited upon the glass substrate, wherein the multilayered film 14 comprises alternate deposition of a first layer 14A that may be DLC and a second layer 14B placed immediately thereupon, the second layer may be composed of a low refractive index material such as GeO2. (Hart ¶¶ 0085, 0086, and 0096; and Fig. 1). Hart is analogous art, for it is directed to the same field of endeavor as that of the instant application (coated glass substrate having a DLC layer). Selections of respective materials for layers 14A and 14B are obvious, as these are specifically disclosed in Hart.
Hart further discloses that a seed layer 22 maybe placed between the glass substrate and the multilayered film 14, wherein the seed layer 22 may comprise silicon nitride. (Id. ¶ 0105). As expressly illustrated in Fig. 1 of Hart, a sequence of immediate layers of seed layer 22 (mapping onto the claimed ion diffusion barrier layer) / a first layer 14A/ a second layer 14B is shown.
With the reference not mentioning Sn, and with the second layer being composed of GeO2 (viz. containing no other element), no layer contains any tin. Further, no metal layer is contained anywhere in the multilayered film 14. Hart discloses that layer 14B has thickness of 5 nm or greater. (Id. ¶ 0087). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
The limitation re: characteristics of solubility of the claimed Ge/ GeOx layer is deemed to be a property, and the GeO2 layer of Hart is considered to possess the characteristics in view of substantially similar thickness and composition (viz. solely GeO2).
Hart thus renders obvious claims 1-3, 7, 9, 10, 15, and 19.
Considering claims 4, 8, 16, and 20, Hart discloses that layer 14A has thickness of 5 nm or greater, and that layer 22 has thickness of ~1 to ~10 nm. (Hart ¶¶ 0087 and 0104). These overlap the respectively recited ranges.
Considering claims 5, 6, 17, and 18, as each of these claims further modifies an optional element without actually requiring presence of the optional element, Hart also reads on each of claims 5, 6, 17, and 18.
Considering claim 11, this configuration is expressly shown in Fig. 1 of Hart.
Considering claim 12, Hart discloses that the multilayered film 14 can contain only two layers. (Id. ¶ 0085). In which case, there is only one layer 14A and one layer 14B.
Response to Arguments and Additional Comments
In view of amendments to claim 11, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 11 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments against Hart have been considered, but these are not persuasive, as less clear indication of the basic and novel characteristics associated with consisting essentially of germanium (which are presently absent), this limitation is interpreted as “comprising”, and the layer 14A of Hart made of GeO2 certainly comprises Ge. Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claim, as Applicant’s interpretation is unduly narrow compared to the scope of the claim.
The rejection over Hart may be overcome by expressly reciting a layer of germanium having a certain germanium content (e.g. 50% or more). The rejection over Probst may be overcome by expressly reciting a layer of germanium having at least 80% germanium.
Concluding Remarks
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z. Jim Yang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781