DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e, e-Meeting, October 26th – November 13th, 2020, R1-2008034, Source CMCC, Title: Discussion on group scheduling mechanisms, Agenda item: 8.12.1, hereinafter Document CMCC (R1-2008034), in view of (3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #105-e, e-Meeting, 10th – 27th May, 2021, Tdoc R1-2104462, Agenda Item: 8.2.5, Source: Ericsson, Title: PDSCH/PUSCH enhancements, hereinafter Document Ericsson).
Regarding Claim 1, (Original) Document CMCC discloses a method for receiving a multicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a wireless communication system, the method performed by a terminal comprising:
receiving first configuration information related to a PDSCH for a bandwidth part (BWP) and second configuration information related to the multicast PDSCH for a common frequency resource (CFR) configured within the BWP from a base station; (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 1, Introduction, discloses PDCCH to schedule PDSCH for MBS, further it discloses relation between common frequency resource and UE dedicated BWP, e.g. the common frequency resource (CFR) is a MBS specific BWP, or the common frequency resource is confined within UE’s dedicated BWP)
receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the multicast PDSCH from the base station; (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 1, Introduction, discloses PDCCH to schedule PDSCH for MBS) and
receiving the multicast PDSCH within the CFR based on the DCI from the base station, (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 1, Introduction, discloses PDCCH to schedule PDSCH for MBS)
Document CMCC (R1-2008034) does not explicitly disclose following:
wherein the first configuration information includes information on at least one first rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one first rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for a resource which is not available for reception of a PDSCH,
wherein the second configuration information includes information on at least one second rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one second rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for the resource which is not available for reception of the PDSCH,
wherein although the CFR is configured within the BWP, among the at least one first rate match pattern group and the at least one second rate match pattern group, only the at least one second rate match pattern group is indicated by the DCI to apply it to reception of the multicast PDSCH.
However, Document CMCC (R1-2008034), in view of Document Ericsson disclose following:
wherein the first configuration information includes information on at least one first rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one first rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for a resource which is not available for reception of a PDSCH, (Document Ericsson, page 9, Rate matching indicator: Document Ericsson discloses RateMatchPattern(s). In addition, UE be further configured with up to 2 rate matching pattern groups, (i.e. rateMatchPatternGroup1 or rateMatchPatternGroup2. Each rate matching pattern group contains a list of indices of RateMatchPattern(s) forming a union of resource-sets not available for a PDSCH)
wherein the second configuration information includes information on at least one second rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one second rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for the resource which is not available for reception of the PDSCH, (Document Ericsson, page 9, Rate matching indicator: Document Ericsson discloses RateMatchPattern(s). In addition, UE be further configured with up to 2 rate matching pattern groups, (i.e. rateMatchPatternGroup1 or rateMatchPatternGroup2. Each rate matching pattern group contains a list of indices of RateMatchPattern(s) forming a union of resource-sets not available for a PDSCH)
wherein although the CFR is configured within the BWP, among the at least one first rate match pattern group and the at least one second rate match pattern group, only the at least one second rate match pattern group is indicated by the DCI to apply it to reception of the multicast PDSCH. (Document Ericsson, page 9, Rate matching indicator: Document Ericsson discloses RateMatchPattern(s). In addition, UE be further configured with up to 2 rate matching pattern groups, (i.e. rateMatchPatternGroup1 or rateMatchPatternGroup2)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teaching of Document CMCC (R1-2008034) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Ericsson so that wherein the first configuration information includes information on at least one first rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one first rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for a resource which is not available for reception of a PDSCH, wherein the second configuration information includes information on at least one second rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one second rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for the resource which is not available for reception of the PDSCH, wherein although the CFR is configured within the BWP, among the at least one first rate match pattern group and the at least one second rate match pattern group, only the at least one second rate match pattern group is indicated by the DCI to apply it to reception of the multicast PDSCH be included in a method for receiving a multicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a wireless communication system, performed by a terminal. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Ericsson would contribute agreements reached regarding multi-PDSCH scheduling. (Document Ericsson, whole document, emphasis: section 1, section 2, and section 5)
Regarding Claim 2, (Original) The combination of Document CMCC (R1-2008034), and Document Ericsson disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein:
based on the at least one first rate match pattern group being indicated by the DCI, information indicating the at least one first rate match pattern group within the DCI is ignored by the terminal. (Document Ericsson, page 9 discloses first rate match pattern group (i.e. rateMatchPatternGroup1)
Regarding Claim 3, (Original) The combination of Document CMCC (R1-2008034), and Document Ericsson disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein:
based on the at least one first rate match pattern group being indicated by the DCI, the entire DCI is ignored by the terminal. (Document Ericsson, page 9 discloses first rate match pattern group (i.e. rateMatchPatternGroup1)
Regarding Claim 4, (Original) The combination of Document CMCC (R1-2008034), and Document Ericsson disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein:
the at least one second rate match pattern group is implicitly indicated by the DCI based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) scrambling cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the DCI. (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 2.1, and Proposal 1, page 3 discloses PDCCH with CRC scrambled by RNTI, section 2.2, page 6, under DCI size alignment, discloses DCI with CRC scrambled by RNTIs)
Regarding Claim 5, (Original) The combination of Document CMCC (R1-2008034), and Document Ericsson disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein:
the DCI includes cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) or a group-configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI). (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 2.1, and Proposal 1, page 3 discloses PDCCH with CRC scrambled by RNTI, Further, page 3, and also Table 1 discloses group-common PDCCH scheduling PDSCH scrambled with the same group-common RNTI (G-RNTI) section 2.2, page 6, under DCI size alignment, discloses DCI with CRC scrambled by RNTIs)
Regarding Claim 6, (Original) The combination of Document CMCC (R1-2008034), and Document Ericsson disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein:
the terminal assumes that the multicast PDSCH is not overlapped with system information (SI) or paging transmission. (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 3.3, page 11, discloses during a process of P-RNTI triggered SI acquisition, another PDSCH scheduled with SI-RNTI that partially or fully overlapped in time in non-overlapping PRBs with another SI-RNTI PDSCH in one slot in time, also Proposal 22, partially overlapped is being interpreted as not overlapped, page 5, Proposal 4 also discloses not overlapped)
Regarding Claim 7, (Original) The combination of Document CMCC (R1-2008034), and Document Ericsson disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein:
when the multicast PDSCH is overlapped with system information (SI) or paging transmission, any one of i) the multicast PDSCH or ii) the SI or paging transmission is received based on a preconfigured priority. (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 3.3, page 11, discloses during a process of P-RNTI triggered SI acquisition, another PDSCH scheduled with SI-RNTI that partially or fully overlap in time, also Proposal 22)
Regarding Claim 8, (Original) The combination of Document CMCC (R1-2008034), and Document Ericsson disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein:
a parameter configured within the first configuration information not included in the second configuration information is applied to receive the multicast PDSCH within the CFR. (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), page 4, configure common frequency resource (CFR) for PDSCH/PDSCH in the common frequency resource (CFR), page 5, PDSCH should be confined in the common frequency resource, Under Proposal 3, For the physical layer parameters which are same for PTP transmission and PTM transmission, no need to configure them in common frequency resource for MBS)
Regarding Claim 9, (Original) The combination of Document CMCC (R1-2008034), and Document Ericsson disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein:
based on a citation indication in the first configuration information, a parameter configured within the first configuration information not included in the second configuration information is applied to receive the multicast PDSCH within the CFR. (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), page 4, configure common frequency resource (CFR) for PDSCH/PDSCH in the common frequency resource (CFR), page 5, PDSCH should be confined in the common frequency resource, For the physical layer parameters which are same for PTP transmission and PTM transmission, no need to configure them in common frequency resource for MBS)
6. Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amuru et al., (KR20190138656 (A)), in view of (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e, e-Meeting, October 26th – November 13th, 2020, R1-2008034, Source CMCC, Title: Discussion on group scheduling mechanisms, Agenda item: 8.12.1, hereinafter Document CMCC (R1-2008034), and further in view of (3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #105-e, e-Meeting, 10th – 27th May, 2021, Tdoc R1-2104462, Agenda Item: 8.2.5, Source: Ericsson, Title: PDSCH/PUSCH enhancements, hereinafter Document Ericsson).
Regarding Claim 10, (Original) Amuru discloses a terminal for receiving a multicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: (Amuru, Fig. 1, paragraph [0089]-[0090] A wireless communication system (1000) includes a UE (200) which is a terminal, Fig. 8, paragraph [0153] UE (200))
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; (Amuru, Fig. 1, paragraph [0089]-[0090] A wireless communication system (1000) includes a UE (200) which is a terminal, Fig. 8, paragraph [0153] UE (200) The UE has a transceiver which transmits and receives wireless signal respectively) and
at least one processor controlling the at least one transceiver, (Amuru, Fig. 8, paragraph [0153] processor (220), Fig. 1, paragraph [0089]-[0090] A wireless communication system (1000) includes a UE (200) which is a terminal, Fig. 8, paragraph [0153] UE (200) The UE has a transceiver)
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: (Amuru, Fig. 8, paragraph [0153] processor (220))
Amuru does not explicitly disclose following:
receive first configuration information related to a PDSCH for a bandwidth part (BWP) and second configuration information related to the multicast PDSCH for a common frequency resource (CFR) configured within the BWP from a base station;
receive downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the multicast PDSCH from the base station;
receive the multicast PDSCH within the CFR based on the DCI from the base station,
wherein the first configuration information includes information on at least one first rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one first rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for a resource which is not available for reception of a PDSCH,
wherein the second configuration information includes information on at least one second rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one second rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for the resource which is not available for reception of the PDSCH,
wherein although the CFR is configured within the BWP, among the at least one first rate match pattern group and the at least one second rate match pattern group, only the at least one second rate match pattern group is indicated by the DCI to apply it to reception of the multicast PDSCH.
However, Amuru in view of Document CMCC (R1-2008034) disclose following:
receive first configuration information related to a PDSCH for a bandwidth part (BWP) and second configuration information related to the multicast PDSCH for a common frequency resource (CFR) configured within the BWP from a base station; (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 1, Introduction, discloses PDCCH to schedule PDSCH for MBS, further it discloses relation between common frequency resource and UE dedicated BWP, e.g. the common frequency resource (CFR) is a MBS specific BWP, or the common frequency resource is confined within UE’s dedicated BWP)
receive downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the multicast PDSCH from the base station; (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 1, Introduction, discloses PDCCH to schedule PDSCH for MBS) and
receive the multicast PDSCH within the CFR based on the DCI from the base station, (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 1, Introduction, discloses PDCCH to schedule PDSCH for MBS)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Amuru before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document CMCC (R1-2008034) so that receive first configuration information related to a PDSCH for a bandwidth part (BWP) and second configuration information related to the multicast PDSCH for a common frequency resource (CFR) configured within the BWP from a base station; receive downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the multicast PDSCH from the base station; receive the multicast PDSCH within the CFR based on the DCI from the base station be included in a terminal for receiving a multicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a wireless communication system. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document CMCC (R1-2008034) would support UE-specific PDCCH to schedule PDSCH for MBS, define configure common frequency resource (CFR) for PDSCH, and would improve reliability. (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), whole document, emphasis: section 1, section 2, and section 5)
Amuru and Document CMCC (R1-2008034) do not explicitly disclose following:
wherein the first configuration information includes information on at least one first rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one first rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for a resource which is not available for reception of a PDSCH,
wherein the second configuration information includes information on at least one second rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one second rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for the resource which is not available for reception of the PDSCH,
wherein although the CFR is configured within the BWP, among the at least one first rate match pattern group and the at least one second rate match pattern group, only the at least one second rate match pattern group is indicated by the DCI to apply it to reception of the multicast PDSCH.
However, Amuru, and Document CMCC (R1-2008034), in view of Document Ericsson disclose following:
wherein the first configuration information includes information on at least one first rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one first rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for a resource which is not available for reception of a PDSCH, (Document Ericsson, page 9, Rate matching indicator: Document Ericsson discloses RateMatchPattern(s). In addition, UE be further configured with up to 2 rate matching pattern groups, (i.e. rateMatchPatternGroup1 or rateMatchPatternGroup2. Each rate matching pattern group contains a list of indices of RateMatchPattern(s) forming a union of resource-sets not available for a PDSCH)
wherein the second configuration information includes information on at least one second rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one second rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for the resource which is not available for reception of the PDSCH, (Document Ericsson, page 9, Rate matching indicator: Document Ericsson discloses RateMatchPattern(s). In addition, UE be further configured with up to 2 rate matching pattern groups, (i.e. rateMatchPatternGroup1 or rateMatchPatternGroup2. Each rate matching pattern group contains a list of indices of RateMatchPattern(s) forming a union of resource-sets not available for a PDSCH)
wherein although the CFR is configured within the BWP, among the at least one first rate match pattern group and the at least one second rate match pattern group, only the at least one second rate match pattern group is indicated by the DCI to apply it to reception of the multicast PDSCH. (Document Ericsson, page 9, Rate matching indicator: Document Ericsson discloses RateMatchPattern(s). In addition, UE be further configured with up to 2 rate matching pattern groups, (i.e. rateMatchPatternGroup1 or rateMatchPatternGroup2)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Amuru, and Document CMCC (R1-2008034) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Ericsson so that wherein the first configuration information includes information on at least one first rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one first rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for a resource which is not available for reception of a PDSCH, wherein the second configuration information includes information on at least one second rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one second rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for the resource which is not available for reception of the PDSCH, wherein although the CFR is configured within the BWP, among the at least one first rate match pattern group and the at least one second rate match pattern group, only the at least one second rate match pattern group is indicated by the DCI to apply it to reception of the multicast PDSCH be included in a terminal for receiving a multicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a wireless communication system. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Ericsson would contribute agreements reached regarding multi-PDSCH scheduling. (Document Ericsson, whole document, emphasis: section 1, section 2, and section 5)
Claims 11-13. (Cancelled)
Regarding Claim 14, (Original) Amuru discloses a base station for transmitting a multicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: (Amuru, Fig. 1, paragraph [0091]-[0092], and [0094] base station (100), Fig. 5, paragraph [0137] base station (100))
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; (Amuru, Fig. 1, paragraph [0091]-[0092], and [0094] base station (100), Fig. 5, paragraph [0137] base station (100) has a transceiver which transmits and receives a wireless signal respectively) and
at least one processor controlling the at least one transceiver, (Amuru, Fig. 5, paragraph [0137] processor (120), Fig. 1, paragraph [0091]-[0092], and [0094] base station (100), Fig. 5, paragraph [0137] base station (100) has a transceiver)
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: (Amuru, Fig. 5, paragraph [0137] processor (120))
Amuru does not explicitly disclose following:
transmit to a terminal first configuration information related to a PDSCH for a frequency bandwidth part (BWP) and second configuration information related to the multicast PDSCH for a common frequency resource (CRF) configured within the BWP;
transmit to the terminal downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the multicast PDSCH;
transmit the multicast PDSCH within the CFR based on the DCI to the terminal
wherein the first configuration information includes information on at least one first rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one first rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for a resource which is not available for reception of a PDSCH,
wherein the second configuration information includes information on at least one second rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one second rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for the resource which is not available for reception of the PDSCH,
wherein although the CFR is configured within the BWP, among the at least one first rate match pattern group and the at least one second rate match pattern group, only the at least one second rate match pattern group is indicated by the DCI to apply it to reception of the multicast PDSCH.
However, Amuru in view of Document CMCC (R1-2008034) disclose following:
transmit to a terminal first configuration information related to a PDSCH for a frequency bandwidth part (BWP) and second configuration information related to the multicast PDSCH for a common frequency resource (CRF) configured within the BWP; (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 1, Introduction, discloses PDCCH to schedule PDSCH for MBS, further it discloses relation between common frequency resource and UE dedicated BWP, e.g. the common frequency resource (CFR) is a MBS specific BWP, or the common frequency resource is confined within UE’s dedicated BWP)
transmit to the terminal downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the multicast PDSCH; (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 1, Introduction, discloses PDCCH to schedule PDSCH for MBS) and
transmit the multicast PDSCH within the CFR based on the DCI to the terminal (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), section 1, Introduction, discloses PDCCH to schedule PDSCH for MBS)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Amuru before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document CMCC (R1-2008034) so that transmit to a terminal first configuration information related to a PDSCH for a frequency bandwidth part (BWP) and second configuration information related to the multicast PDSCH for a common frequency resource (CRF) configured within the BWP; transmit to the terminal downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the multicast PDSCH; transmit the multicast PDSCH within the CFR based on the DCI to the terminal be included in a base station for transmitting a multicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a wireless communication system. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document CMCC (R1-2008034) would support UE-specific PDCCH to schedule PDSCH for MBS, define configure common frequency resource (CFR) for PDSCH, and would improve reliability. (Document CMCC (R1-2008034), whole document, emphasis: section 1, section 2, and section 5)
Amuru, and Document CMCC (R1-2008034) do not explicitly disclose following:
wherein the first configuration information includes information on at least one first rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one first rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for a resource which is not available for reception of a PDSCH,
wherein the second configuration information includes information on at least one second rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one second rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for the resource which is not available for reception of the PDSCH,
wherein although the CFR is configured within the BWP, among the at least one first rate match pattern group and the at least one second rate match pattern group, only the at least one second rate match pattern group is indicated by the DCI to apply it to reception of the multicast PDSCH.
However, Amuru, and Document CMCC (R1-2008034) in view of Document Ericsson disclose following:
wherein the first configuration information includes information on at least one first rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one first rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for a resource which is not available for reception of a PDSCH, (Document Ericsson, page 9, Rate matching indicator: Document Ericsson discloses RateMatchPattern(s). In addition, UE be further configured with up to 2 rate matching pattern groups, (i.e. rateMatchPatternGroup1 or rateMatchPatternGroup2. Each rate matching pattern group contains a list of indices of RateMatchPattern(s) forming a union of resource-sets not available for a PDSCH)
wherein the second configuration information includes information on at least one second rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one second rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for the resource which is not available for reception of the PDSCH, (Document Ericsson, page 9, Rate matching indicator: Document Ericsson discloses RateMatchPattern(s). In addition, UE be further configured with up to 2 rate matching pattern groups, (i.e. rateMatchPatternGroup1 or rateMatchPatternGroup2. Each rate matching pattern group contains a list of indices of RateMatchPattern(s) forming a union of resource-sets not available for a PDSCH)
wherein although the CFR is configured within the BWP, among the at least one first rate match pattern group and the at least one second rate match pattern group, only the at least one second rate match pattern group is indicated by the DCI to apply it to reception of the multicast PDSCH. (Document Ericsson, page 9, Rate matching indicator: Document Ericsson discloses RateMatchPattern(s). In addition, UE be further configured with up to 2 rate matching pattern groups, (i.e. rateMatchPatternGroup1 or rateMatchPatternGroup2)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Amuru, and Document CMCC (R1-2008034) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Ericsson so that wherein the first configuration information includes information on at least one first rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one first rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for a resource which is not available for reception of a PDSCH, wherein the second configuration information includes information on at least one second rate match pattern group, and each of the at least one second rate match pattern includes at least one rate match pattern for the resource which is not available for reception of the PDSCH, wherein although the CFR is configured within the BWP, among the at least one first rate match pattern group and the at least one second rate match pattern group, only the at least one second rate match pattern group is indicated by the DCI to apply it to reception of the multicast PDSCH be included in a base station for transmitting a multicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a wireless communication system. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Ericsson would contribute agreements reached regarding multi-PDSCH scheduling. (Document Ericsson, whole document, emphasis: section 1, section 2, and section 5)
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a) Liu et al., (Pub. No.: US 2022/0124675 A1)
(b) Liu et al., (Pub. No.: US 2022/0210766 A1)
(c) Shrivastava, (Pub. No.: US 2023/0269828 A1)
(d) Zhou et al., (WO 2022/081996 A1)
(e) Wang et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0049535 A1)
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472