CTNF 18/575,705 CTNF 73886 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent No. JP 2013-220775 to Ono et al . Regarding Claim 1, Ono et al disclose a shock absorption structure (see Figures 1, 2, 6, and 10) having all the features of the instant invention including: a body 360 that is filled with air 61 inside and is able to absorb a shock occurring due to a collision of the body 360 with a damaging object L, wherein a plurality of fiber threads configured to tautly connect front and rear surfaces of the body 360 to each other is provided inside the body 360 (see Figure 10A and paragraph 0043 of the examiner provided translation), with air filled therein, so that when the damaging object L applies at least a predetermined level of shock to one point 364 of the body 360, fiber threads connected to portions adjacent to the one point 364 break, and the body 360 absorbs the shock as the portions adjacent to the one point 364 wrap around the damaging object L (see Figure 10b and paragraphs 0083 and 0084 of the examiner provided translation) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent No. JP 2013-220775 to Ono et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 1,519,967 to Hughes . Regarding Claim 2, Ono et al disclose most all the features of the instant invention as applied above, except for the body being provided with a strength reinforcement member made of aramid fibers at least on a front surface thereof. Hughes is relied upon merely for his teachings of a shock absorption structure (see Figure 1) having a body 1 provided with a strength reinforcement member 4 made of aramid fibers (see page 1 column 2 lines 56-68) at least on a front surface thereof (see Figures 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the body of Ono et al with a strength reinforcement member made of aramid fibers at least on a front surface thereof as taught by Hughes in order to better reinforce the body to provide another layer of absorption for larger impact forces . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent No. JP 2013-220775 to Ono et al in view of WO document no. 89/03328 to Park . Regarding Claim 3, Ono et al disclose most all the features of the instant invention as applied above, except for the body comprising a plurality of bodies arranged adjacently to each other such that a rear surface of one body and a front surface of another body are adjacent to each other so that a front surface of any one body of the bodies faces outward. Park is relied upon merely for his teachings of a shock absorption structure (see Figure 3) having a body 10 comprising a plurality of bodies 11-13 (see Figure 3) arranged adjacently to each other such that a rear surface of one body 12 and a front surface of another body 13 are adjacent to each other so that a front surface of any one body 11-13 of the bodies faces outward (see Figure 3 and page 4 line 13 – page 5 line 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the body of Ono et al with a plurality of bodies arranged adjacently to each other such that a rear surface of one body and a front surface of another body are adjacent to each other so that a front surface of any one body of the bodies faces outward as taught by Park in order to provide low, medium, and high pressure shock absorption with different volumes and gas capacity so that the gas of each body can be dispersed when the shock is inflicted thereby enhancing the shock absorption effect thereof. Regarding Claim 4, Park further discloses that the body 10 comprises a first body 12 having a front surface facing outward, and a second body 13 having a front surface arranged adjacently to a rear surface of the first body 12 and having a rear surface installed adjacently on an installation mount 14 (see Figure 3 of Park), wherein the first body 12 is filled with air of pressure lower than air filled in the second body 13 (see page 4 line 13 – page 5 line 15 of Park) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent No. JP 2013-220775 to Ono et al in view of Korean Patent No. KR 91-9528 . Regarding Claim 5, Ono et al disclose most all the features of the instant invention as applied above, except for the body being provided with an air inlet configured to inject air into the body and an air outlet configured to remove air from the inside of the body so as to increase and decrease air filled in the body. Korean Patent No. KR 91-9528 (hereinafter referred to as KR ‘528) is relied upon merely for its teachings of a shock absorption structure having a body 2 provided with an air inlet 3 configured to inject air into the body 2 and an air outlet 11 configured to remove air from the inside of the body 2 so as to increase and decrease air filled in the body 2 (see Figures 1-4 and applicant’s provided search report of his corresponding foreign application). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the body of Ono et al with an air inlet configured to inject air into the body and an air outlet configured to remove air from the inside of the body so as to increase and decrease air filled in the body as taught by KR ‘528 in order to provide a varying capacity of air within the body to improve upon the overall shock absorption characteristics of the structure. Regarding Claim 6, KR ‘528 further disclose that the air outlet 11 is provided with a spring 6 so that an entrance 7 of the air outlet is sealed due to elasticity of the spring 6, and when a force greater than an elastic force of the spring 6 is applied to the body 2 from the outside, air is discharged through the entrance 7, wherein the body 2 is provided with a plurality of air outlets 11 respectively provided with springs 6 having different elastic forces (see applicant’s provided search report of his corresponding foreign application) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent No. JP 2013-220775 to Ono et al in view of Korean Patent No. 1999-0049459 to Hyundai Motor Company . Regarding Claim 10, Ono et al disclose most all the features of the instant invention as applied with respect to Claim 1 above, except for an air pump for injecting air into the body or removing air from the inside of the body. Korean Patent No. KR 1999-0049459 to Hyundai Motor Company is relied upon merely for its teachings of a shock absorption system using a shock absorption structure (see Figures 1-4) having an air pump 15 for injecting air into a body 7 or removing air from the inside of the body 7 (see the translated abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the shock absorption system of Ono et al with an air pump for injecting air into the body or removing air from the inside of the body as taught by Hyundai Motor Company in order to alter the volume of the body in order to vary the damping characteristics of the body to better absorb all types of impact forces. Regarding Claim 11, Hyundai Motor Company further disclose a collision detection sensor 9-12 configured to detect at least one of volume, weight, speed, and distance of the damping object in real time, wherein the air pump 15 injects air into the body 7 or removes air from inside of the body 7 on a basis of information detected by the collision detection sensor 9-12 (see the translated abstract) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 7-9 are and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 2,876,979 to Barbera and U.S. Patent No. 3,971,583 to Kornhauser both disclose shock absorption structures similar to applicant’s. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAMELA RODRIGUEZ whose telephone number is (571)272-7122. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 7 AM - 5 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Siconolfi can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. PAMELA RODRIGUEZ Primary Examiner Art Unit 3616 /PAMELA RODRIGUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 02/17/26 Application/Control Number: 18/575,705 Page 2 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/575,705 Page 3 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/575,705 Page 4 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/575,705 Page 5 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/575,705 Page 6 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/575,705 Page 7 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/575,705 Page 8 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/575,705 Page 9 Art Unit: 3616