DETAILED ACTION
Cross Reference to Related Applications
2. This application is a National Stage application under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of International Application No. PCT/KR2022/011625, filed on August 5, 2022, which claims the benefit of Korean Application No. 10-2021-0103484, filed on August 5, 2021. The disclosures of the prior applications are incorporated by reference in their entirety.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claims status
4. This office action is a response to an application filed on December 29, 2023 in which claims 1-11 and 13 are pending for examination.
Based on the Preliminary Amendment filed on December 29, 2023, the listing of claims replace all prior versions, and listings, of claims in the application.
Drawings
5. The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on December 29, 2023 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statements submitted on December 29, 2023, January 17, 2025 and February 26, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al. (US 2024/0313927 A1), hereinafter “Yoshioka” in view of Yang et al. (US 2024/0244623 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosure of provisional application number 63/187,085 field on May 11, 2021), hereinafter “Yang”.
Regarding claim 1, Yoshioka discloses a method of performing uplink transmission in a wireless communication system (Figs. 1, 4, 5C, a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems), the method performed by a terminal comprising:
receiving, from a base station, at least one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Figs. 4, 5C, paragraphs [0062]-[0063], UE-specific PDSCH i.e. unicast and group-common PDSCH i.e. multicast);
identifying a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource (Figs. 4, 5C, paragraphs [0029], [0080], [0113], [0134], PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field, an ACK/NACK resource indicator (ARI) field, or the like) for NACK only-based Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ)-ACK report (Figs. 4, 5C, paragraphs [0029], [0080], [0113], [0134], PUCCH including an HARQ-ACK corresponding to a multicast PDSCH, NACK-only feedback is configured/indicated) and a PUCCH resource for channel state information (CSI) report (Figs. 4, 5C, paragraphs [0029], [0080], [0113], [0134], PUCCH including at least one of a scheduling request (SR) and channel state information (CSI)); and
based on the NACK only-based (Figs. 4, 5C, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], [0172], PUCCH B including the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the multicast PDSCH and PUCCH C collide with each other in the time domain) HARQ-ACK report being multiplexed with the CSI report (Figs. 4, 5C, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], [0172], UE multiplexes HARQ-ACK A, HARQ-ACK B, and UCI of PUCCH C), transmitting, to the base station, HARQ-ACK information for the at least one PDSCH in the PUCCH resource for the CSI report (Figs. 4, 5C, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], [0172], (determines/applies/selects) any one of aspect 3c-1 to aspect 3c-4 based on the number of bits of each of HARQ-ACK A and HARQ-ACK B, a total number of bits of HARQ-ACK A and HARQ-ACK B (UCI for PUCCH A and PUCCH B), the number of bits of UCI for PUCCH C, or a total number of bits of HARQ-ACK A, HARQ-ACK B, and the UCI for PUCCH C (UCI for PUCCH A, PUCCH B, and PUCCH C)), wherein the HARQ-ACK information is determined based on the ACK/NACK-based HARQ-ACK report (Figs. 4, 5C, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], [0172], PUCCH A including the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the unicast PDSCH and PUCCH C collide with each other in the time domain), instead of the NACK only-based HARQ-ACK report (Figs. 4, 5C, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], [0172], PUCCH B including the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the multicast).
Assuming Arguendo that Yoshioka does not explicitly disclose or strongly suggest: “based on the NACK only-based HARQ-ACK report being multiplexed with the CSI report, transmitting, to the base station, HARQ-ACK information for the at least one PDSCH in the PUCCH resource for the CSI report, wherein the HARQ-ACK information is determined based on the ACK/NACK-based HARQ-ACK report, instead of the NACK only-based HARQ-ACK report”, Yang from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses based on the NACK only-based HARQ-ACK report being multiplexed with the CSI report (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0086], [0167], [0194], [0200], [0231], multi-CSI-PUCCH-ResourceList with/PUCCH resources), transmitting, to the base station, HARQ-ACK information for the at least one PDSCH in the PUCCH resource for the CSI report (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0085]-[0086], [0167], [0194], [0200], [0231], PUCCH resource using the PUCCH resource indicator field in a last of a number of DCI formats with a value of a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field), wherein the HARQ-ACK information is determined based on the ACK/NACK-based HARQ-ACK report, instead of the NACK only-based HARQ-ACK report (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0085]-[0086], [0167], [0194], [0200], [0231], HP HARQ-ACK 406, the HP SR 408, the HP CSI part 1 410, the LP CSI part 1 412, the LP HARQ-ACK 416, and the LP SR 418 placed in the UCI part I 402).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “based on the NACK only-based HARQ-ACK report being multiplexed with the CSI report, transmitting, to the base station, HARQ-ACK information for the at least one PDSCH in the PUCCH resource for the CSI report, wherein the HARQ-ACK information is determined based on the ACK/NACK-based HARQ-ACK report, instead of the NACK only-based HARQ-ACK report” as taught by Yang, in the system of Yoshioka, so that it would provide multiplexing a high-priority hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement and a low-priority HARQ-ACK relates to uplink control information (Yang, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshioka discloses the at least one PDSCH is transmitted based on a multicast method (Fig. 5C, paragraph [0080], PUCCH B including HARQ-ACK corresponding to multicast PDSCH).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshioka in view of Yang disclose the method according claim 3.
Yang further discloses the at least one PDSCH is transmitted without scheduling by downlink control information (paragraphs [0167], PDSCH reception without a corresponding PDCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the at least one PDSCH is transmitted without scheduling by downlink control information” as taught by Yang, in the system of Yoshioka, so that it would provide multiplexing a high-priority hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement and a low-priority HARQ-ACK relates to uplink control information (Yang, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshioka discloses the PUCCH resource for NACK only-based HARQ-ACK report is overlapped with the PUCCH resource for the CSI report (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0113], [0134], in a case where for a PUCCH including an HARQ-ACK corresponding to a multicast PDSCH, NACK-only feedback is configured/indicated, in a case where a UL channel colliding with a resource of the PUCCH in a time domain is present).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshioka in view of Yang disclose the method according claim 1.
Yang further discloses the PUCCH resource for CSI report is selected based on a payload size of uplink control information (UCI) including the HARQ-ACK information and the CSI report, among one or more PUCCH resources configured for the CSI report (paragraphs [0086], [0167], [0186], priority rule used cases where the UCI payload may exceed the capacity of a PUCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the PUCCH resource for CSI report is selected based on a payload size of uplink control information (UCI) including the HARQ-ACK information and the CSI report, among one or more PUCCH resources configured for the CSI report” as taught by Yang, in the system of Yoshioka, so that it would provide multiplexing a high-priority hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement and a low-priority HARQ-ACK relates to uplink control information (Yang, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshioka in view of Yang disclose the method according claim 6.
Yang further discloses the PUCCH resource for CSI report supports the payload size with the smallest UCI capacity according to a maximum coding rate related to the UCI (paragraphs [0071], [0122], [0149], [0202], maxCodeRate with a code rate for multiplexing HARQ-ACK, SR, and CSI report(s) in a PUCCH transmission; selecting minimum number MRB,min PUCCH of PRBs from the MRB PUCCH PRBs satifying (OACK+OSR+OCSI+OCRC)≤MRB,min PUCCH·Nsc,ctrl RBNsymb-UCI PUCCH·Qm·r ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the PUCCH resource for CSI report supports the payload size with the smallest UCI capacity according to a maximum coding rate related to the UCI” as taught by Yang, in the system of Yoshioka, so that it would provide multiplexing a high-priority hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement and a low-priority HARQ-ACK relates to uplink control information (Yang, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshioka in view of Yang disclose the method according claim 7.
Yang further discloses the smallest UCI capacity is based on a product between the maximum coding rate and a number of resource elements for the UCI (paragraphs [0059], [0071], [0122], [0146], [0149], selecting minimum number MRB,min PUCCH of PRBs from the MRB PUCCH PRBs satifying (OACK+OSR+OCSI+OCRC)≤MRB,min PUCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the smallest UCI capacity is based on a product between the maximum coding rate and a number of resource elements for the UCI” as taught by Yang, in the system of Yoshioka, so that it would provide multiplexing a high-priority hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement and a low-priority HARQ-ACK relates to uplink control information (Yang, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshioka in view of Yang disclose the method according claim 7.
Yang further discloses a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) for transmission of the UCI within the PUCCH resource for the CSI report is determined based on the payload size and the maximum coding rate (paragraphs [0059, [0071], [0122], [0146], [0149], [0202], PRB number of the selected PUCCH resource (if it is at PF2 or PF3), OUCI, a number of CRC bits OCRC, and the maxCodeRate according to the PUCCH format of the selected PUCCH resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) for transmission of the UCI within the PUCCH resource for the CSI report is determined based on the payload size and the maximum coding rate” as taught by Yang, in the system of Yoshioka, so that it would provide multiplexing a high-priority hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement and a low-priority HARQ-ACK relates to uplink control information (Yang, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshioka in view of Yang disclose the method according claim 7.
Yang further discloses the payload size and the maximum coding rate are configured based on a PUCCH format of the PUCCH resource for the CSI report (paragraphs [0048], [0059], PUCCH resource configured with different maxCodeRate parameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the payload size and the maximum coding rate are configured based on a PUCCH format of the PUCCH resource for the CSI report” as taught by Yang, in the system of Yoshioka, so that it would provide multiplexing a high-priority hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement and a low-priority HARQ-ACK relates to uplink control information (Yang, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1(from the perspective of the base station).
9. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al. (US 2024/0313927 A1), hereinafter “Yoshioka” in view of Yang et al. (US 2024/0244623 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosure of provisional application number 63/187,085 field on May 11, 2021), hereinafter “Yang” in view of Papasakellariou et al. (US 2022/0278809 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application numbers 63/155,116 field on March 01, 2021, 63/185,163 field on May 06, 2021 and 63/296,735 field on January 05, 2022), hereinafter “Papasakellariou”.
Regarding claim 4, Yoshioka in view of Yang disclose the method according claim 3.
While Yoshioka in view of Yang implicitly refer to “the PUCCH resource for NACK only-based HARQ-ACK report is configured through a higher layer signaling”, Papasakellariou from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses the PUCCH resource for NACK only-based HARQ-ACK report is configured through a higher layer signaling (paragraphs [0138], [0142], a higher layer parameter groupcast-PUCCH-AN-List (or mbs-PUCCH-AN-List or multicast-PUCCH-AN-List) a list of PUCCH resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the PUCCH resource for NACK only-based HARQ-ACK report is configured through a higher layer signaling” as taught by Papasakellariou, in the combined system of Yoshioka and Yang, so that it would provide multiplexing acknowledgment information and power and multiplexing procedures for transmission of multicast acknowledgment information relates to wireless communication (Papasakellariou, paragraph [0002]).
Conclusion
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414