DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 1, 16, and 20; and dependent claims 2-15 and 17-19.
The Preliminary Amendment has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “storage racks” and “virtual twins” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites the limitation “the target conveying system”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 2 and 5 recite that certain steps of the independent claim are omitted. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-10, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticiapted by Pidarparthi et a. (US 2022/0402139).
Regarding independent claim 1, Pidarparthi discloses a method for loading a target loading aid (106) with articles at a loading station (see Fig. 1) with an automatic loading device (102) comprising the steps: a) acquiring an order and determining the articles associated with the order using an order-processing computer (118; see at least paras. 0043, 0058, 0111); b) providing loading properties comprising properties of the loading device (see at least paras. 0044, 0045, 0056, 0061, 0062) and articles properties of the articles (see at least paras. 0045, 0056, 0061, 0117) in a database (see at least para. 0056) for a simulation unit (see at least para. 0066); c) specifying loading parameters comprising at least one parameter relating to the loading device and/or at least one parameter relating to the articles and/or at least one parameter relating to the target loading aid in the simulation unit (see at least para. 0043); d) simulating a loading operation of the target loading aid with articles using the simulation unit based on the loading properties and the loading parameters and generating a loading pattern with the simulation unit (see at least paras. 0060, 0116); e) repeating steps b) to d) with modified loading parameters (see at least paras. 0036, 0060); f) analyzing the loading patterns generated on the basis of a target specification by means of the simulation unit (see at least paras. 0060, 0116); g) selecting that loading pattern that best fulfils the target specification and generating the loading regulation for the loading device comprising the loading parameters that lead to the selected loading pattern by means of the simulation unit (see at least para. 0116-0118); h1) transporting the articles to the automatic loading device of the loading station and loading the target loading aid with the articles by means of the automatic loading device according to the loading regulation if at least one of the loading patterns fulfils the target specification (see at least paras. 0113-0115).
Regarding independent claim 16, Pidaparthi discloses a storage and picking system comprising; a storage zone (see at least para. 0112) for providing articles; a loading station (see Fig. 1) with an automatic loading device (102) for loading target loading aids (106) with articles according to a loading regulation; a source conveying system (104) for transporting the articles that connects the storage zone and the loading station; an order-processing computer (118) for acquiring an order and determining the articles associated with the order (see at least paras. 0044, 0045, 0056, 0061, 0062); at least one database (see at least para. 0056), in which loading properties comprising properties of the loading device and articles properties of the articles, can be provided; and a simulation unit (see at least para. 0066), which is connected to the at least one database using data technology and which is configured for processing loading properties, comprising properties of the loading device and articles properties of the articles (see at least paras. 0043, 0045, 0056, 0061, 0117), processing a loading parameter specification comprising at least one parameter relating to the loading device and/or at least one parameter relating to the articles and/or at least one parameter relating to the target loading aid (see at least para. 0043), simulating a loading operation of the target loading aid with articles based on the loading properties and the loading parameters (see at least paras. 0060, 0016), generating a loading pattern (see at least paras. 0116-0118), repeating the aforementioned steps with modified loading parameters (see at least paras. 0036, 0060, 0116-118), analyzing the loading patterns generated on the basis of the target specification, and selecting that loading pattern that best fulfils the target specification and generating the loading regulation for the loading device comprising the loading parameters that lead to the selected loading pattern (see at least paras. 0113-0115).
Regarding independent claim 20, Pidaparthi discloses a storage and picking system comprising; a storage zone (see at least para. 0112) for providing articles; a loading station (see Fig. 1) with an automatic loading device (102) for loading target loading aids (106) with articles according to a loading regulation; a source conveying system (104) for transporting the articles that connects the storage zone and the loading station; an order-processing computer (118) for acquiring an order and determining the articles associated with the order; at least one database (see at least para. 0056), in which loading properties comprising properties of the loading device and/or articles properties of the articles, can be provided (see at least paras. 0044, 0045, 0056, 0061, 0017); and a simulation unit (see at least paras. 0056), which is connected to a database which is configured to do at least one of: processing loading properties, comprising properties of the loading device and articles properties of the articles, processing a loading parameter specification comprising at least one parameter relating to the loading device and/or at least one parameter relating to the articles and/or at least one parameter relating to the target loading aid, simulating a loading operation of the target loading aid with articles based on the loading properties and the loading parameters, generating a loading pattern, repeating the aforementioned steps with modified loading parameters, analyzing the loading patterns generated on the basis of the target specification, or selecting that loading pattern that best fulfils the target specification and generating the loading regulation for the loading device comprising the loading parameters that lead to the selected loading pattern (see at least paras. 0036, 0060 and 0113-0118).
Regarding dependent claims 4, 6-10, 13-15, and 17-19 Pidarparthi discloses for loading the target loading aid, at least one article of the articles is transferred to the target loading aid by falling, sliding and/or throwing (see at least para. 0058). An analysis quantity is defined that comprises any number of orders, wherein steps a) to g) are carried out for all orders of the analysis quantity, wherein the method comprises the following steps between steps f) and g):i) generating a first order quantity, which comprises all orders for which at least one loading pattern has been generated that fulfils the target specification (see at least paras. 0040, 0111), ii) generating a second order quantity, which comprises all orders for which at least one loading pattern has been generated that fulfils the target specification (see at least paras. 0040, 0111). The at least one parameter relating to the loading device is selected from a group comprising a construction of the loading device, a loading speed, a dumping angle of a source loading aid, a drop height of the article into the target loading aid and/or a loading position of the target loading aid and/or the at least one parameter relating to the articles is selected from a group comprising a selection of articles of an order, a loading sequence and/or a positioning of the article when the articles are fed to the target loading aid, and/or the at least one parameter relating to the target loading aid is selected from a group comprising a target loading aid orientation, target loading aid position, target loading aid shape and/or target loading aid dimensioning (see at least para. 0031). The target specification is selected from a group comprising a fill level of the target loading aid, a state of the articles in the target loading aid and/or a positioning of the articles in the target loading aid (see at least para. 0060). To generate the loading pattern, the state of the articles is calculated by the simulation unit, the article having said state after reaching the resting state after simulated loading of the target loading aid with the articles, the fill level of the target loading aid is calculated by the simulation unit and/or the positioning of the articles in the target loading aid is calculated by the simulation unit, the articles having said position after reaching the resting state after the simulated loading of the target loading aid with the articles (see at least paras. 0060, 0116). The step e) is repeated with modified loading properties (see at least paras. 0030-0036). Loading the target loading aid with the articles in step h1) is detected by a camera (100) and a model for simulating loading in the simulation unit is adaptively adjusted in accordance with the detection of the camera to real loading (see at least para. 0076). The loading properties and/or the loading parameters are adjusted according to the detection (see at least para. 0076). Loading the target loading aid is virtualized with the help of virtual twins of the loading device, the target loading aid and/or the articles, and the loading properties and/or the loading parameters of the virtual loading device, the virtual target loading aid and/or the virtual articles are adjusted in accordance with the detection of loading by the camera (see at least para. 0076). The storage zone has a plurality of stationary storage racks and at least one automatically operated storage and retrieval device for storing the articles in the storage racks and/or retrieving the articles from the storage racks (see at least para. 0112). The source conveying system (104) and/or a target conveying system is configured as a stationary or mobile conveying system. The source conveying system (104) is configured for horizontal or suspended transport of articles (see Fig. 1) or source loading aids with articles and/or the target conveying system is configured for horizontal or suspended transport of the articles or target loading aids with articles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Diankov et al. (US 10,647,528) and Kreis et al. (US 12,221,281) disclose a methods/systems of loading a target aid utilizing simulations.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653