DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 18th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-9, 12-13, 20-21, 23-28, 30, and 33-36 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 18th, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 20-21, 23-26, and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giles (US Patent 7,311,004) in view of Long et al. (US 20220124962 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Giles discloses a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (entire structure, Fig. 1) comprising:
a modulating nozzle assembly (20, entire structure in Fig. 2A, Figs. 1-2A, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8) configured to spray an agricultural product (shown in Figs. 1-2A, Col. 8, Ln. 63-67), the modulating nozzle assembly (20, entire structure in Fig. 2A, Figs. 1-2A) includes:
a control valve (not shown in drawings, but there is at least one valve that controls and creates pulsating spray coming from nozzles 20, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8) configured to control at least a flow rate of the agricultural product (the valve controls and emits a flow rate of the agrochemical according to a duty cycle, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65);
a spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) in communication with the control valve (the valve controls and emits a flow rate of the agrochemical according to a duty cycle out of the nozzles, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8), the spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) configured to spray the agricultural product (shown in Figs. 1-2A); and
at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) included with one or both of the control valve or the spray tip (Col. 9, Ln. 15-25), the spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) is configured to control an actual spray profile of the sprayed agricultural product (actuators determine a frequency and duty cycle for the valves of the nozzles to spray a pulsed spray of the agrochemical, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25, Col. 12, Ln. 57 to Col. 13, Ln. 9); and
a nozzle assembly controller (2, Fig. 1) in communication with the spray sensor (32, Fig. 2A, Col. 8, Ln. 32-45), the nozzle assembly controller (2, Fig. 1) configured to control modulation of the actual spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51), the nozzle assembly controller (2, Fig. 1) includes:
a comparator configured to compare the actual spray profile with a specified spray profile and generate a spray profile deviation based on the comparison (controller can compare a reference, standard, or ideal vibration output to an actual output received from the sensor, and based on the comparison, the controller can indicate an irregularity, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8); and
a spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) in communication with the at least one spray modulation actuator, the spray modulation interface directs actuation of the at least one spray modulation actuator to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, to decrease the detected irregularity from a reference output, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
However, Giles does not disclose a visual spray sensor configured to visually monitor the actual spray profile of the spray tip.
Long teaches a visual spray sensor (50, 52, Figs. 1, 3, Paragraph 0042) configured to visually monitor the actual spray profile of the spray tip (Paragraph 0042).
Giles and Long are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sprayer nozzle assembly control systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the visual spray sensor taught in Long’s system to Giles’ system, to have the motivation to improve the quality of application by having an improved system to monitor the quality of the application (Long, Paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 4, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 1. Giles discloses wherein the spray sensor (32, Fig. 2A) includes one or more of a camera, video camera, ultrasound sensor, laser sensor, LIDAR sensor or radar sensor (sensor can be a piezoelectric device, which includes an ultrasound sensor, Col. 5, Ln. 26-36, as evidenced by NPL APC International, Ltd.) and the spray sensor (32, Fig. 2A) is configured to monitor the actual spray profiles of the plurality of modulating nozzle assemblies (20, entire structure in Fig. 2A, vibration sensor may sense nozzle vibrations to provide information about a spray pattern coming from the nozzles, Figs. 1-2A, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65).
In regards to claim 5, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 1. Giles discloses the at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) includes one or more of an agricultural product pump (42, Fig. 1), the control valve (not shown in drawings, but there is at least one valve that controls and creates pulsating spray coming from nozzles 20, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8), an air inductor (not explicitly shown, but nozzles may be air induction nozzles, and the system shown in Fig. 1 may incorporate the teachings of the present invention, Figs. 3K-3M, Col. 6, Ln. 61-64, Col. 12, Ln. 29-47), the spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) including a modulating spray tip, or a modulating accumulator (nozzles are pulse width modulated, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8).
Regarding claim 20, Giles discloses a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (entire structure, Fig. 1) comprising:
a modulating nozzle assembly (20, entire structure in Fig. 2A, Figs. 1-2A) configured to spray an agricultural product (shown in Figs. 1-2A, Col. 8, Ln. 63-67), the modulating nozzle assembly (20, entire structure in Fig. 2A, Figs. 1-2A) includes:
a control valve (not shown in drawings, but there is at least one valve that controls and creates pulsating spray coming from nozzles 20, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8) configured to control at least a flow rate of the agricultural product (the valve controls and emits a flow rate of the agrochemical according to a duty cycle, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65);
a spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) in communication with the control valve (the valve controls and emits a flow rate of the agrochemical according to a duty cycle out of the nozzles, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8), the spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) configured to spray the agricultural product (shown in Figs. 1-2A); and
a nozzle assembly controller (2, Fig. 1) in communication with the spray sensor (32, Fig. 2A, Col. 8, Ln. 32-45), the nozzle assembly controller (2, Fig. 1) configured to control modulation of the actual spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51), the nozzle assembly controller (2, Fig. 1) includes:
a comparator configured to compare the actual spray profile with a specified spray profile and generate a spray profile deviation based on the comparison (controller can compare a reference, standard, or ideal vibration output to an actual output received from the sensor, and based on the comparison, the controller can indicate an irregularity, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8); and
a spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) in communication with the at least one spray modulation actuator, the spray modulation interface directs actuation of the at least one spray modulation actuator to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, to decrease the detected irregularity from a reference output, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
However, Giles does not disclose a visual spray sensor configured to visually monitor the actual spray profile of the spray tip.
Long teaches a visual spray sensor (50, 52, Figs. 1, 3, Paragraph 0042) configured to visually monitor the actual spray profile of the spray tip (Paragraph 0042).
Giles and Long are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sprayer nozzle assembly control systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the visual spray sensor taught in Long’s system to Giles’ system, to have the motivation to improve the quality of application by having an improved system to monitor the quality of the application (Long, Paragraph 0005).
With respect to claim 21, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 20. Giles discloses at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) configured to control an actual spray profile of the sprayed agricultural product (actuators determine a frequency and duty cycle for the valves of the nozzles to spray a pulsed spray of the agrochemical, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25, Col. 12, Ln. 57 to Col. 13, Ln. 9).
In regards to claim 23, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 21. Giles discloses the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) to control component actual spray characteristics of the actual spray profile including one or more of droplet size, droplet size range, droplet size ratio, droplet kinematics, or spray pattern (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate, pattern, and droplet size, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
Regarding claim 24, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 21. Giles discloses the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) includes at least one algorithm configured to direct actuation of the at least one spray modulation actuator to control the actual spray profile (information can be analyzed automatically using signal processing algorithms for indicating when nozzle malfunction occurs, to allow the microcontroller to control a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller (Col. 9, Ln. 15-25, Col. 17, Ln. 4-26, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
With respect to claim 25, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 24. Giles discloses wherein the at least one algorithm includes one or more of a feedback control algorithm, library of spray modulation instructions, prioritization of the at least one spray modulation actuator, apportionment of the at least one spray modulation actuator, operator preference, manufacturer preference, or weighting of the least one spray modulation actuator (algorithm is a library of spray modulation instructions, Col. 17, Ln. 4-26).
In regards to claim 26, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 21. Giles discloses the spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) includes a modulating spray tip (nozzles are pulse width modulated, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8), and the at least one spray modulation actuator not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) includes the modulating spray tip (Col. 9, Ln. 15-25); and
wherein the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) is in communication with the modulating spray tip, the spray modulation interface directs actuation of the modulating spray tip to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint from the nozzles, supplied by the central controller, to decrease the detected irregularity from a reference output, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
Regarding claim 33, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 20. Giles discloses wherein the specified spray profile includes one or more component specified spray characteristics including droplet size, droplet size range, droplet size ratio, droplet kinematics, droplet position, droplet speed, droplet velocity, droplet acceleration, spray pattern, target coverage (vibration sensor may sense nozzle vibrations to provide information about a spray pattern coming from the nozzles, and microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate, pattern, and droplet size, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
In regards to claim 34, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 33. Giles discloses wherein target coverage includes one or more of application to a portion of a spray target, application to a target height of the spray target, or application at a boom height of a sprayer boom or the modulating nozzle assembly (desired flow is applied to a specific area of a field, Col. 4, Ln. 41-60).
With respect to claim 35, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 33. Giles discloses wherein the spray sensor (32, Fig. 2A) is configured to monitor component actual spray characteristics of the actual spray profile corresponding to the component specified spray characteristics of the specified spray profile (vibration sensor may sense nozzle vibrations to provide information about a spray pattern coming from the nozzles, and controller can compare a reference, standard, or ideal vibration output to an actual output received from the sensor, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65).
With respect to claim 36, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 20. Long teaches the spray sensor (50, 50a, Figs. 1, 3) is configured to monitor one or more of a target height of a spray target, or a boom height of a sprayer boom or the modulating nozzle assembly (Paragraphs 0038-0039).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giles (US Patent 7,311,004) in view of Long et al. (US 20220124962 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schrader et al. (US 20190321844 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 1. Giles discloses wherein the at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) includes the control valve (not shown in drawings, but there is at least one valve that controls and actuates pulsating spray coming from nozzles 20, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8), and the control valve (not shown in drawings, but there is at least one valve that controls and creates pulsating spray coming from nozzles 20, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8) includes a solenoid operated control valve (valve may be a solenoid valve, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65).
However, Giles and Long do not teach a solenoid operated control valve with a valve poppet.
Schrader teaches a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (10, Fig. 1) comprising a solenoid operated control valve (300, Fig. 3) with a valve poppet (312, Fig. 3)
Giles, Long, and Schrader are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of agricultural sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the valve poppet taught in Schrader’s system to Giles’ system, as modified by Long, to allow Giles’ valve to have a valve poppet. There is a motivation to combine the valve poppet taught in Schrader to Giles’ valve because doing so provides linear displacement to open the valve so that fluid can be directed and dispensed out of the valve when needed, and close the valve when not in use (Schrader, Paragraphs 0040, 0043).
Regarding claim 7, Giles, as modified by Long and Schrader, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 6. Giles further discloses the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the control valve to a first duty cycle for the spray profile deviation indicating a droplet size proximate to a specified droplet size of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a specified droplet size spectrum, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51); and
the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the control valve to a second duty cycle greater than the first duty cycle for the spray profile deviation indicating the droplet size is greater than the specified droplet size of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a specified droplet size spectrum, and if irregularities are detected in actuation characteristics, changes in the frequency and duty cycle of the spray actuation may be determined to compensate for the deviation, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8, 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
In regards to claim 8, Giles, as modified by Long and Schrader, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 6. Giles further discloses the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the control valve to a first duty cycle for the spray profile deviation indicating droplets are within a specified spray pattern of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a desired spray pattern, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51); and
the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the control valve to a second duty cycle less than the first duty cycle for the spray profile deviation indicating the droplets are outside of the specified spray pattern of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a desired spray pattern, and if irregularities are detected in actuation characteristics, changes in the frequency and duty cycle of the spray actuation may be determined to compensate for the deviation, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8, 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
Claims 9, 12-13, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giles (US Patent 7,311,004) in view of Long et al. (US 20220124962 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of Solie et al. (US 20030019949 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 1. Giles further discloses the spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) includes a modulating spray tip (Col. 9, Ln. 1-8), and the at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) includes the modulating spray tip (Col. 9, Ln. 15-25); and
the modulating spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) includes:
a spray tip housing (external structure of the nozzles 20 and 30, annotated in Fig. 2A) including one or more spray ports (outlets of nozzles 20 and 30, annotated in Fig. 2A);
a nozzle fitting (26, Fig. 1) movably coupled with the spray tip housing (external structure of the nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Fig. 1), the nozzle fitting (26, Fig. 1) including one or more fitting ports (distribution manifold 26 has a plurality of dispensing tubes or lines, shown in Fig. 1, Col. 8, Ln. 55-67).
However, Giles and Long do not teach the nozzle fitting including one or more fitting ports movable relative to the one or more spray ports, and a fitting actuator coupled with the nozzle fitting, the fitting actuator is configured to move the nozzle fitting relative to the spray tip and accordingly move the one or more fitting ports relative to the one or more spray ports.
Solie teaches a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (entire system, Figs. 1-2) comprising the nozzle fitting (28, Fig. 2) including one or more fitting ports (outlet of manifold 28, shown in Fig. 2) movable relative to the one or more spray ports (30, shown in Fig. 2), and a fitting actuator (40, Fig. 2) coupled with the nozzle fitting (28, shown in Fig. 2), the fitting actuator (40, Fig. 2) is configured to move the nozzle fitting (28, Fig. 2) relative to the spray tip (tip of nozzle 26, shown in Fig. 2) and accordingly move the one or more fitting ports (outlet of manifold 28, shown in Fig. 2) relative to the one or more spray ports (30, shown in Fig. 2).
Giles, Long, and Solie are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of agricultural sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the nozzle fitting and the fitting actuator taught in Solie’s system to Giles’ system, as modified by Long, to allow Giles’ system to have the nozzle fitting including one or more fitting ports movable relative to the one or more spray ports, and a fitting actuator coupled with the nozzle fitting, the fitting actuator is configured to move the nozzle fitting relative to the spray tip and accordingly move the one or more fitting ports relative to the one or more spray ports. There is a motivation to combine the nozzle fitting and the fitting actuator taught in Solie to Giles’ system because doing so provides pivotal movement to nozzle fitting to adjust spray coming from the nozzle for changes in vehicle velocity, material ejection velocity, or elevation of the nozzle above the target (Solie, Paragraphs 0009, 0050).
With respect to claim 12, Giles, as modified by Long and Solie, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 9. Giles further discloses the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the nozzle fitting to a first position relative to the spray tip for the spray profile deviation indicating a droplet size proximate to a specified droplet size of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a specified droplet size spectrum, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51); and
the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the nozzle fitting to a second position relative to the first position to decrease alignment of the spray ports and the fitting ports for the spray profile deviation indicating the droplet size is greater than the specified droplet size of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a specified droplet size spectrum, and if irregularities are detected in actuation characteristics, changes in the frequency and duty cycle of the spray actuation may be determined to compensate for the deviation, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8, 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
In regards to claim 13, Giles, as modified by Long and Solie, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 9. Giles further discloses the spray modulation (4, Fig. 2A) interface directs actuation of the nozzle fitting to a first position relative to the spray tip for the spray profile deviation indicating droplets are within a specified spray pattern of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a desired spray pattern, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51); and
the spray modulation interface directs actuation of the nozzle fitting to a second position relative to the first position to increase alignment of the spray ports and the fitting ports for the spray profile deviation indicating the droplets are outside of the specified spray pattern of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a desired spray pattern, and if irregularities are detected in actuation characteristics, changes in the frequency and duty cycle of the spray actuation may be determined to compensate for the deviation, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8, 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
Regarding claim 27, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 26, wherein the modulating spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) includes:
a spray tip housing (external structure of the nozzles 20 and 30, annotated in Fig. 2A) including one or more spray ports (outlets of nozzles 20 and 30, annotated in Fig. 2A);
a nozzle fitting (26, Fig. 1) movably coupled with the spray tip housing (external structure of the nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Fig. 1), the nozzle fitting (26, Fig. 1) including one or more fitting ports (distribution manifold 26 has a plurality of dispensing tubes or lines, shown in Fig. 1, Col. 8, Ln. 55-67).
However, Giles and Long do not teach the nozzle fitting including one or more fitting ports movable relative to the one or more spray ports, and a fitting actuator coupled with the nozzle fitting, the fitting actuator is configured to move the nozzle fitting relative to the spray tip and accordingly move the one or more fitting ports relative to the one or more spray ports.
Solie teaches a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (entire system, Figs. 1-2) comprising the nozzle fitting (28, Fig. 2) including one or more fitting ports (outlet of manifold 28, shown in Fig. 2) movable relative to the one or more spray ports (30, shown in Fig. 2), and a fitting actuator (40, Fig. 2) coupled with the nozzle fitting (28, shown in Fig. 2), the fitting actuator (40, Fig. 2) is configured to move the nozzle fitting (28, Fig. 2) relative to the spray tip (tip of nozzle 26, shown in Fig. 2) and accordingly move the one or more fitting ports (outlet of manifold 28, shown in Fig. 2) relative to the one or more spray ports (30, shown in Fig. 2).
Giles, Long, and Solie are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of agricultural sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the nozzle fitting and the fitting actuator taught in Solie’s system to Giles’ system, as modified by Long, to allow Giles’ system to have the nozzle fitting including one or more fitting ports movable relative to the one or more spray ports, and a fitting actuator coupled with the nozzle fitting, the fitting actuator is configured to move the nozzle fitting relative to the spray tip and accordingly move the one or more fitting ports relative to the one or more spray ports. There is a motivation to combine the nozzle fitting and the fitting actuator taught in Solie to Giles’ system because doing so provides pivotal movement to nozzle fitting to adjust spray coming from the nozzle for changes in vehicle velocity, material ejection velocity, or elevation of the nozzle above the target (Solie, Paragraphs 0009, 0050).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giles (US Patent 7,311,004) in view of Long et al. (US 20220124962 A1) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Engelbrecht et al. (US 20180369851 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 21. However, Giles and Long do not teach the at least one spray modulation actuator includes a gas inductor.
Engelbrecht teaches a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (200, Fig. 2) comprising the at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there are various actuators within the system 200, Paragraph 0036) includes a gas inductor (400, Fig. 2) in communication with an assembly chamber (chamber within manifold 424, shown in Fig. 2,Paragraph 0033) of the modulating nozzle assembly (270, Fig. 2) between the spray tip (tip of nozzles 274-285, shown in Fig. 2) and the control valve (350, shown in Fig. 2); and
wherein the spray modulation interface (Paragraph 0037) is in communication with the gas inductor (400, Fig. 2, Paragraph 0041), the spray modulation interface (Paragraph 0037) directs actuation of the gas inductor to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation (air arrangement may be initiated with user interface associated with controller 450 to facilitate application of chemical solution during the spray cycle, based on flow rate within system 200, Paragraphs 0041-0042).
Giles, Long, and Engelbrecht are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of agricultural sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the gas inductor taught in Engelbrecht’s system to Giles’ system, as modified by Long, to allow Giles’ system to have the at least one spray modulation actuator includes a gas inductor in communication with an assembly chamber of the modulating nozzle assembly between the spray tip and the control valve, and the spray modulation interface is in communication with the gas inductor, the spray modulation interface directs actuation of the gas inductor to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation. There is a motivation to combine the gas inductor taught in Engelbrecht to Giles’ system because doing so provides more control of the application of the chemical solution, enabling more productive use of it especially when supply is low or at an empty level (Engelbrecht, Paragraph 0041).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giles (US Patent 7,311,004) in view of Long et al. (US 20220124962 A1) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Long et al. (US 20210293256 A1, herein referenced to as Long ‘256).
With respect to claim 30, Giles, as modified by Long, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 21. However, Giles and Long do not teach a modulating accumulator.
Long ‘256 teaches a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (10, 100, Figs. 1, 3) comprising the at least one spray modulation actuator (52, 54, 56, Fig. 1) includes a modulating accumulator (150, Fig. 3) with an assembly chamber (112, Fig. 3) of the modulating nozzle assembly (114, 116, Fig. 3); and
wherein the spray modulation interface (22, Fig. 1) is in communication with the modulating accumulator (150, interface allows operator to control one or more user input devices within the system and accumulators 150 may have any suitable configuration including being able to be controlled by the interface, Fig. 3, Paragraphs 0021, 0039), the spray modulation interface (22, Fig. 1) directs actuation of the modulating accumulator to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation (accumulators 150 adjust circuit pressure in response to pressure variations that deviate from desired pressure range, Paragraph 0037).
Giles, Long, and Long ‘256 are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of agricultural sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the modulating accumulator taught in Long ‘256’s system to Giles’ system, as modified by Long, to allow Giles’ system to have the at least one spray modulation actuator includes a modulating accumulator with an assembly chamber of the modulating nozzle assembly, and the spray modulation interface is in communication with the modulating accumulator, the spray modulation interface directs actuation of the modulating accumulator to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation. There is a motivation to combine the modulating accumulator taught in Long ‘256 to Giles’ system because doing so minimizes or prevents pressure fluctuations within the system that would cause variations in spray from the nozzles, which improves spray quality (Long, Paragraphs 0037-0038).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-9, 12-13, 20-21, 23-28, 30, and 33-36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752