DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention Group I (claims 1, 4-9, 12-13, 20-21, 23-28, 30, and 33-36) in the reply filed on February 26th, 2026 is acknowledged. It is also acknowledged that claims 2-3, 10-11, 14-19, 22, 29, 31-32, 46-46, and 49 are canceled by the applicant and therefore not withdrawn.
Claims 37-44 and 47-48 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 26th, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
“The” in ln. 4 should be revised to “the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the at least one spray modulation actuator includes one or more of an agricultural product pump configured to pump the agricultural product, the control valve, an air inductor coupled with the modulating nozzle assembly, the spray tip including a modulating spray tip, or a modulating accumulator”. There is a lack of clarity for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the applicant intends to recite that the one or more of an agricultural product pump configured to pump just the agricultural product, or both the agricultural product and the control valve. It is also unclear whether the applicant intends to have the control valve and the air inductor both coupled with the modulating nozzle assembly. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted that the one or more of an agricultural product pump is configured to pump just the agricultural product, and the control valve and the air inductor are both coupled with the modulating nozzle assembly. To rectify the issue, the examiner recommends revising the claim language in claim 5 to be “the at least one spray modulation actuator includes one or more of an agricultural product pump configured to pump the agricultural product;
the control valve and an air inductor coupled with the modulating nozzle assembly; and
the spray tip including a modulating spray tip, or a modulating accumulator.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 20-21, 23-26, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Giles (US Patent 7,311,004).
Regarding claim 1, Giles discloses a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (entire structure, Fig. 1) comprising:
a modulating nozzle assembly (20, entire structure in Fig. 2A, Figs. 1-2A, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8) configured to spray an agricultural product (shown in Figs. 1-2A, Col. 8, Ln. 63-67), the modulating nozzle assembly (20, entire structure in Fig. 2A, Figs. 1-2A) includes:
a control valve (not shown in drawings, but there is at least one valve that controls and creates pulsating spray coming from nozzles 20, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8) configured to control at least a flow rate of the agricultural product (the valve controls and emits a flow rate of the agrochemical according to a duty cycle, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65);
a spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) in communication with the control valve (the valve controls and emits a flow rate of the agrochemical according to a duty cycle out of the nozzles, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8), the spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) configured to spray the agricultural product (shown in Figs. 1-2A); and
at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) included with one or both of the control valve or the spray tip (Col. 9, Ln. 15-25), the spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) is configured to control an actual spray profile of the sprayed agricultural product (actuators determine a frequency and duty cycle for the valves of the nozzles to spray a pulsed spray of the agrochemical, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25, Col. 12, Ln. 57 to Col. 13, Ln. 9);
a spray sensor (32, Fig. 2A) configured to monitor the actual spray profile of the spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, vibration sensor may sense nozzle vibrations to provide information about a spray pattern coming from the nozzles, shown in Figs. 1-2A, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65); and
a nozzle assembly controller (2, Fig. 1) in communication with the spray sensor (32, Fig. 2A, Col. 8, Ln. 32-45), the nozzle assembly controller (2, Fig. 1) configured to control modulation of the actual spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51), the nozzle assembly controller (2, Fig. 1) includes:
a comparator configured to compare the actual spray profile with a specified spray profile and generate a spray profile deviation based on the comparison (controller can compare a reference, standard, or ideal vibration output to an actual output received from the sensor, and based on the comparison, the controller can indicate an irregularity, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8); and
a spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) in communication with the at least one spray modulation actuator, the spray modulation interface directs actuation of the at least one spray modulation actuator to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, to decrease the detected irregularity from a reference output, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
Regarding claim 4, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 1, wherein the spray sensor (32, Fig. 2A) includes one or more of a camera, video camera, ultrasound sensor, laser sensor, LIDAR sensor or radar sensor (sensor can be a piezoelectric device, which includes an ultrasound sensor, Col. 5, Ln. 26-36, as evidenced by NPL APC International, Ltd.) and the spray sensor (32, Fig. 2A) is configured to monitor the actual spray profiles of the plurality of modulating nozzle assemblies (20, entire structure in Fig. 2A, vibration sensor may sense nozzle vibrations to provide information about a spray pattern coming from the nozzles, Figs. 1-2A, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65).
In regards to claim 5, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 1, wherein the at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) includes one or more of an agricultural product pump (42, Fig. 1) configured to pump the agricultural product (pump 42 pumps agrochemical from reservoir 24, Col. 8, Ln. 55-67), the control valve (not shown in drawings, but there is at least one valve that controls and creates pulsating spray coming from nozzles 20, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8), an air inductor (not explicitly shown, but nozzles may be air induction nozzles, and the system shown in Fig. 1 may incorporate the teachings of the present invention, Figs. 3K-3M, Col. 6, Ln. 61-64, Col. 12, Ln. 29-47) coupled with the modulating nozzle assembly (20, entire structure in Fig. 2A, Figs. 1-2A), the spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) including a modulating spray tip, or a modulating accumulator (nozzles are pulse width modulated, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8).
Regarding claim 20, Giles discloses a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (entire structure, Fig. 1) comprising:
a modulating nozzle assembly (20, entire structure in Fig. 2A, Figs. 1-2A) configured to spray an agricultural product (shown in Figs. 1-2A, Col. 8, Ln. 63-67), the modulating nozzle assembly (20, entire structure in Fig. 2A, Figs. 1-2A) includes:
a control valve (not shown in drawings, but there is at least one valve that controls and creates pulsating spray coming from nozzles 20, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8) configured to control at least a flow rate of the agricultural product (the valve controls and emits a flow rate of the agrochemical according to a duty cycle, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65);
a spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) in communication with the control valve (the valve controls and emits a flow rate of the agrochemical according to a duty cycle out of the nozzles, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8), the spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) configured to spray the agricultural product (shown in Figs. 1-2A); and
a spray sensor (32, Fig. 2A) configured to monitor an actual spray profile of the spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, vibration sensor may sense nozzle vibrations to provide information about a spray pattern coming from the nozzles, shown in Figs. 1-2A, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65); and
a nozzle assembly controller (2, Fig. 1) in communication with the spray sensor (32, Fig. 2A, Col. 8, Ln. 32-45), the nozzle assembly controller (2, Fig. 1) configured to control modulation of the actual spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51), the nozzle assembly controller (2, Fig. 1) includes:
a comparator configured to compare the actual spray profile with a specified spray profile and generate a spray profile deviation based on the comparison (controller can compare a reference, standard, or ideal vibration output to an actual output received from the sensor, and based on the comparison, the controller can indicate an irregularity, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8); and
a spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) in communication with the at least one spray modulation actuator, the spray modulation interface directs actuation of the at least one spray modulation actuator to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, to decrease the detected irregularity from a reference output, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
With respect to claim 21, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 20. Giles further discloses at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) configured to control an actual spray profile of the sprayed agricultural product (actuators determine a frequency and duty cycle for the valves of the nozzles to spray a pulsed spray of the agrochemical, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25, Col. 12, Ln. 57 to Col. 13, Ln. 9).
In regards to claim 23, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 21, wherein the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) to control component actual spray characteristics of the actual spray profile including one or more of droplet size, droplet size range, droplet size ratio, droplet kinematics, or spray pattern (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate, pattern, and droplet size, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
Regarding claim 24, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 21, wherein the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) includes at least one algorithm configured to direct actuation of the at least one spray modulation actuator to control the actual spray profile (information can be analyzed automatically using signal processing algorithms for indicating when nozzle malfunction occurs, to allow the microcontroller to control a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller (Col. 9, Ln. 15-25, Col. 17, Ln. 4-26, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
With respect to claim 25, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 24, wherein the at least one algorithm includes one or more of a feedback control algorithm, library of spray modulation instructions, prioritization of the at least one spray modulation actuator, apportionment of the at least one spray modulation actuator, operator preference, manufacturer preference, or weighting of the least one spray modulation actuator (algorithm is a library of spray modulation instructions, Col. 17, Ln. 4-26).
In regards to claim 26, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 21, wherein the spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) includes a modulating spray tip (nozzles are pulse width modulated, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8), and the at least one spray modulation actuator not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) includes the modulating spray tip (Col. 9, Ln. 15-25); and
wherein the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) is in communication with the modulating spray tip, the spray modulation interface directs actuation of the modulating spray tip to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint from the nozzles, supplied by the central controller, to decrease the detected irregularity from a reference output, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
Regarding claim 33, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 20, wherein the specified spray profile includes one or more component specified spray characteristics including droplet size, droplet size range, droplet size ratio, droplet kinematics, droplet position, droplet speed, droplet velocity, droplet acceleration, spray pattern, target coverage (vibration sensor may sense nozzle vibrations to provide information about a spray pattern coming from the nozzles, and microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate, pattern, and droplet size, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
In regards to claim 34, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 33, wherein target coverage includes one or more of application to a portion of a spray target, application to a target height of the spray target, or application at a boom height of a sprayer boom or the modulating nozzle assembly (desired flow is applied to a specific area of a field, Col. 4, Ln. 41-60).
With respect to claim 35, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 33, wherein the spray sensor (32, Fig. 2A) is configured to monitor component actual spray characteristics of the actual spray profile corresponding to the component specified spray characteristics of the specified spray profile (vibration sensor may sense nozzle vibrations to provide information about a spray pattern coming from the nozzles, and controller can compare a reference, standard, or ideal vibration output to an actual output received from the sensor, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giles (US Patent 7,311,004) in view of Schrader et al. (US 20190321844 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 1, wherein the at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) includes the control valve (not shown in drawings, but there is at least one valve that controls and actuates pulsating spray coming from nozzles 20, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8), and the control valve (not shown in drawings, but there is at least one valve that controls and creates pulsating spray coming from nozzles 20, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8) includes a solenoid operated control valve (valve may be a solenoid valve, Col. 5, Ln. 51-65).
However, Giles does not explicitly disclose a solenoid operated control valve with a valve poppet. Schrader teaches a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (10, Fig. 1) comprising a solenoid operated control valve (300, Fig. 3) with a valve poppet (312, Fig. 3)
Giles and Schrader are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of agricultural sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the valve poppet taught in Schrader’s system to Giles’ system, to allow Giles’ valve to have a valve poppet. There is a motivation to combine the valve poppet taught in Schrader to Giles’ valve because doing so provides linear displacement to open the valve so that fluid can be directed and dispensed out of the valve when needed, and close the valve when not in use (Schrader, Paragraphs 0040, 0043).
Regarding claim 7, Giles, as modified by Schrader, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 6. Giles further discloses the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the control valve to a first duty cycle for the spray profile deviation indicating a droplet size proximate to a specified droplet size of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a specified droplet size spectrum, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51); and
the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the control valve to a second duty cycle greater than the first duty cycle for the spray profile deviation indicating the droplet size is greater than the specified droplet size of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a specified droplet size spectrum, and if irregularities are detected in actuation characteristics, changes in the frequency and duty cycle of the spray actuation may be determined to compensate for the deviation, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8, 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
In regards to claim 8, Giles, as modified by Schrader, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 6. Giles further discloses the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the control valve to a first duty cycle for the spray profile deviation indicating droplets are within a specified spray pattern of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a desired spray pattern, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51); and
The spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the control valve to a second duty cycle less than the first duty cycle for the spray profile deviation indicating the droplets are outside of the specified spray pattern of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a desired spray pattern, and if irregularities are detected in actuation characteristics, changes in the frequency and duty cycle of the spray actuation may be determined to compensate for the deviation, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8, 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
Claims 9, 12-13, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giles (US Patent 7,311,004) in view of Solie et al. (US 20030019949 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 1. Giles further discloses the spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) includes a modulating spray tip (Col. 9, Ln. 1-8), and the at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there may be individual actuators for the nozzles, Col. 9, Ln. 15-25) includes the modulating spray tip (Col. 9, Ln. 15-25); and
the modulating spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) includes:
a spray tip housing (external structure of the nozzles 20 and 30, annotated in Fig. 2A) including one or more spray ports (outlets of nozzles 20 and 30, annotated in Fig. 2A);
a nozzle fitting (26, Fig. 1) movably coupled with the spray tip housing (external structure of the nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Fig. 1), the nozzle fitting (26, Fig. 1) including one or more fitting ports (distribution manifold 26 has a plurality of dispensing tubes or lines, shown in Fig. 1, Col. 8, Ln. 55-67).
However, Giles does not explicitly disclose the nozzle fitting including one or more fitting ports movable relative to the one or more spray ports, and a fitting actuator coupled with the nozzle fitting, the fitting actuator is configured to move the nozzle fitting relative to the spray tip and accordingly move the one or more fitting ports relative to the one or more spray ports.
Solie teaches a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (entire system, Figs. 1-2) comprising the nozzle fitting (28, Fig. 2) including one or more fitting ports (outlet of manifold 28, shown in Fig. 2) movable relative to the one or more spray ports (30, shown in Fig. 2), and a fitting actuator (40, Fig. 2) coupled with the nozzle fitting (28, shown in Fig. 2), the fitting actuator (40, Fig. 2) is configured to move the nozzle fitting (28, Fig. 2) relative to the spray tip (tip of nozzle 26, shown in Fig. 2) and accordingly move the one or more fitting ports (outlet of manifold 28, shown in Fig. 2) relative to the one or more spray ports (30, shown in Fig. 2).
Giles and Solie are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of agricultural sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the nozzle fitting and the fitting actuator taught in Solie’s system to Giles’ system, to allow Giles’ system to have the nozzle fitting including one or more fitting ports movable relative to the one or more spray ports, and a fitting actuator coupled with the nozzle fitting, the fitting actuator is configured to move the nozzle fitting relative to the spray tip and accordingly move the one or more fitting ports relative to the one or more spray ports. There is a motivation to combine the nozzle fitting and the fitting actuator taught in Solie to Giles’ system because doing so provides pivotal movement to nozzle fitting to adjust spray coming from the nozzle for changes in vehicle velocity, material ejection velocity, or elevation of the nozzle above the target (Solie, Paragraphs 0009, 0050).
With respect to claim 12, Giles, as modified by Solie, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 9. Giles further discloses the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the nozzle fitting to a first position relative to the spray tip for the spray profile deviation indicating a droplet size proximate to a specified droplet size of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a specified droplet size spectrum, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51); and
the spray modulation interface (4, Fig. 2A) directs actuation of the nozzle fitting to a second position relative to the first position to decrease alignment of the spray ports and the fitting ports for the spray profile deviation indicating the droplet size is greater than the specified droplet size of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a specified droplet size spectrum, and if irregularities are detected in actuation characteristics, changes in the frequency and duty cycle of the spray actuation may be determined to compensate for the deviation, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8, 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
In regards to claim 13, Giles, as modified by Solie, discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 9. Giles further discloses the spray modulation (4, Fig. 2A) interface directs actuation of the nozzle fitting to a first position relative to the spray tip for the spray profile deviation indicating droplets are within a specified spray pattern of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a desired spray pattern, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51); and
the spray modulation interface directs actuation of the nozzle fitting to a second position relative to the first position to increase alignment of the spray ports and the fitting ports for the spray profile deviation indicating the droplets are outside of the specified spray pattern of the specified spray profile (microcontroller controls a pulsating valve or other actuators to achieve a desired flow rate setpoint supplied by the central controller, based on a duty cycle and a desired spray pattern, and if irregularities are detected in actuation characteristics, changes in the frequency and duty cycle of the spray actuation may be determined to compensate for the deviation, Col. 5, Ln. 4-8, 51-65, Col. 9, Ln. 1-8, 26-33, Col. 18, Ln. 39-51).
Regarding claim 27, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 26, wherein the modulating spray tip (tip of nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Figs. 1-2A) includes:
a spray tip housing (external structure of the nozzles 20 and 30, annotated in Fig. 2A) including one or more spray ports (outlets of nozzles 20 and 30, annotated in Fig. 2A);
a nozzle fitting (26, Fig. 1) movably coupled with the spray tip housing (external structure of the nozzles 20 and 30, shown in Fig. 1), the nozzle fitting (26, Fig. 1) including one or more fitting ports (distribution manifold 26 has a plurality of dispensing tubes or lines, shown in Fig. 1, Col. 8, Ln. 55-67).
However, Giles does not explicitly disclose the nozzle fitting including one or more fitting ports movable relative to the one or more spray ports, and a fitting actuator coupled with the nozzle fitting, the fitting actuator is configured to move the nozzle fitting relative to the spray tip and accordingly move the one or more fitting ports relative to the one or more spray ports.
Solie teaches a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (entire system, Figs. 1-2) comprising the nozzle fitting (28, Fig. 2) including one or more fitting ports (outlet of manifold 28, shown in Fig. 2) movable relative to the one or more spray ports (30, shown in Fig. 2), and a fitting actuator (40, Fig. 2) coupled with the nozzle fitting (28, shown in Fig. 2), the fitting actuator (40, Fig. 2) is configured to move the nozzle fitting (28, Fig. 2) relative to the spray tip (tip of nozzle 26, shown in Fig. 2) and accordingly move the one or more fitting ports (outlet of manifold 28, shown in Fig. 2) relative to the one or more spray ports (30, shown in Fig. 2).
Giles and Solie are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of agricultural sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the nozzle fitting and the fitting actuator taught in Solie’s system to Giles’ system, to allow Giles’ system to have the nozzle fitting including one or more fitting ports movable relative to the one or more spray ports, and a fitting actuator coupled with the nozzle fitting, the fitting actuator is configured to move the nozzle fitting relative to the spray tip and accordingly move the one or more fitting ports relative to the one or more spray ports. There is a motivation to combine the nozzle fitting and the fitting actuator taught in Solie to Giles’ system because doing so provides pivotal movement to nozzle fitting to adjust spray coming from the nozzle for changes in vehicle velocity, material ejection velocity, or elevation of the nozzle above the target (Solie, Paragraphs 0009, 0050).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giles (US Patent 7,311,004) in view of Engelbrecht et al. (US 20180369851 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 21. However, Giles does not disclose the at least one spray modulation actuator includes a gas inductor. Engelbrecht teaches a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (200, Fig. 2) comprising the at least one spray modulation actuator (not explicitly shown, but there are various actuators within the system 200, Paragraph 0036) includes a gas inductor (400, Fig. 2) in communication with an assembly chamber (chamber within manifold 424, shown in Fig. 2,Paragraph 0033) of the modulating nozzle assembly (270, Fig. 2) between the spray tip (tip of nozzles 274-285, shown in Fig. 2) and the control valve (350, shown in Fig. 2); and
wherein the spray modulation interface (Paragraph 0037) is in communication with the gas inductor (400, Fig. 2, Paragraph 0041), the spray modulation interface (Paragraph 0037) directs actuation of the gas inductor to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation (air arrangement may be initiated with user interface associated with controller 450 to facilitate application of chemical solution during the spray cycle, based on flow rate within system 200, Paragraphs 0041-0042).
Giles and Engelbrecht are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of agricultural sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the gas inductor taught in Engelbrecht’s system to Giles’ system, to allow Giles’ system to have the at least one spray modulation actuator includes a gas inductor in communication with an assembly chamber of the modulating nozzle assembly between the spray tip and the control valve, and the spray modulation interface is in communication with the gas inductor, the spray modulation interface directs actuation of the gas inductor to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation. There is a motivation to combine the gas inductor taught in Engelbrecht to Giles’ system because doing so provides more control of the application of the chemical solution, enabling more productive use of it especially when supply is low or at an empty level (Engelbrecht, Paragraph 0041).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giles (US Patent 7,311,004) in view of Long et al. (US 20210293256 A1).
With respect to claim 30, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 21. However, Giles does not disclose a modulating accumulator. Long teaches a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (10, 100, Figs. 1, 3) comprising the at least one spray modulation actuator (52, 54, 56, Fig. 1) includes a modulating accumulator (150, Fig. 3) with an assembly chamber (112, Fig. 3) of the modulating nozzle assembly (114, 116, Fig. 3); and
wherein the spray modulation interface (22, Fig. 1) is in communication with the modulating accumulator (150, interface allows operator to control one or more user input devices within the system and accumulators 150 may have any suitable configuration including being able to be controlled by the interface, Fig. 3, Paragraphs 0021, 0039), the spray modulation interface (22, Fig. 1) directs actuation of the modulating accumulator to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation (accumulators 150 adjust circuit pressure in response to pressure variations that deviate from desired pressure range, Paragraph 0037).
Giles and Long are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of agricultural sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the modulating accumulator taught in Long’s system to Giles’ system, to allow Giles’ system to have the at least one spray modulation actuator includes a modulating accumulator with an assembly chamber of the modulating nozzle assembly, and the spray modulation interface is in communication with the modulating accumulator, the spray modulation interface directs actuation of the modulating accumulator to modulate the actual spray profile and decrease the spray profile deviation. There is a motivation to combine the modulating accumulator taught in Long to Giles’ system because doing so minimizes or prevents pressure fluctuations within the system that would cause variations in spray from the nozzles, which improves spray quality (Long, Paragraphs 0037-0038).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giles (US Patent 7,311,004) in view of Chapple (US 20210392869 A1).
With respect to claim 36, Giles discloses the sprayer nozzle assembly control system of claim 20. However, Giles does not explicitly disclose the spray sensor is configured to monitor one or more of a target height of a spray target, or a boom height of a sprayer boom or the modulating nozzle assembly. Chapple teaches a sprayer nozzle assembly control system (10, Fig. 1) comprising the spray sensor (64, Fig. 1) is configured to monitor one or more of a target height of a spray target, or a boom height of a sprayer boom or the modulating nozzle assembly (sensor 64 provides data of a height of the boom, Paragraph 0063).
Giles and Chapple are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of agricultural sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the spray sensor taught in Chapple’s system to Giles’ system, to allow Giles’ spray sensor is configured to monitor one or more of a target height of a spray target, or a boom height of a sprayer boom or the modulating nozzle assembly. There is a motivation to combine the spray sensor taught in Chapple to Giles’ system because doing so provides additional information that helps the user determine an ideal position of the spray boom to mitigate spray drift (Chapple, Paragraphs 0063-0064).
Conclusion
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/ARTHUR O. HALL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3752