DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deleval (USPub 2021/0046998).
With respect to claim 1, Deleval discloses a drive system for an electric bicycle, comprising a drive shaft (2), an output shaft (25) for driving a wheel of the electric bicycle, a first electric motor (40), which drives a first rotor shaft (47), a second electric motor (50), which drives a second rotor shaft (57), a superposition transmission, whose gear ratio is steplessly adjustable by means of the first and second electric motors and via which the drive shaft and the output shaft are coupled with each other (Fig 1 shows the parallel branches of the transmission corresponding to a superposition transmission), wherein a torque generated by the first electric motor can at least partly be transmitted to the output shaft [0128], and an energy accumulator (battery, [0093]) for supplying the first and second electric motors with electric current, characterized in that wherein the drive system comprises an electronic control system [0120] for a power control of the first and second electric motors in an emergency mode of the drive system, wherein the emergency mode is active when the first and second electric motors cannot be supplied with electric current via the energy accumulator (emergency mode when battery is empty; [0019]), and via the electronic control system, at least one of the first and second electric motors can at least temporarily be operated regeneratively in the emergency mode ([0097-0098]), in order to convert a power applied at the drive shaft by muscle force into electric energy [0072], which provides for a stepless variation of the gear ratio of the superposition transmission also in the emergency mode.
With respect to claim 2, wherein in the emergency mode the electronic control system for the power control of the first and second electric motors is adapted to actuate one of the electric motors with the aim to regulate an electric energy balance within the drive system to zero (the examiner notes that “with the aim to” is a functional limitation, and the structure must only have the ability to perform said function; in the instant case, Deleval does teach actuating one of the electric motors as discussed above but the purpose for which the motors are actuated in the emergency mode is not germane to the issue of patentability itself; however, one possible outcome of actuating one of the electric motors could be to regulate an electric energy balance within the drive system to zero).
With respect to claim 3, wherein in the emergency mode the electronic control system for the power control of the first and second electric motors is adapted to actuate the second electric motor corresponding to a normal mode (one motor operates normally and other “smooths” the power coming from the battery [0093]), in which the supply of the first and second electric motors with electric current is effected via the energy accumulator [0146], and to actuate the first electric motor with the aim to regulate an electric energy balance within the drive system to zero ([0193], one of the motors “smooths” power coming from the battery, and second motor allows CVT selection in both normal and emergency modes [0146]).
With respect to claim 5, wherein the drive system comprises at least one energy buffer (battery) connected to the electronic control system.
With respect to claim 6, wherein in the emergency mode the electronic control system for the power control of the first and second electric motors is adapted to actuate one of the electric motors with the aim to hold an intermediate circuit voltage provided via the energy buffer at a particular voltage value (the examiner notes that “with the aim to” is a functional limitation, and the structure must only have the ability to perform said function; in the instant case, Deleval does teach actuating one of the electric motors as discussed above but the purpose for which the motors are actuated in the emergency mode is not germane to the issue of patentability itself; however, one possible outcome of actuating one of the electric motors could be to hold an intermediate circuit voltage provided via the energy buffer at a particular voltage value).
With respect to claims 7 and 8, wherein the electronic control system is adapted for processing a measurement signal which is representative of the current intermediate circuit voltage of the drive system, and the electronic control system is adapted to compare an actual voltage value detected on the basis of the measurement signal with at least one setpoint voltage value (with regards to claims 7 and 8, the phrase “adapted to” is functional and the structure must only have the ability to perform the function; in the instant case, the control system is able to process measurement signals and compare voltages in order to operate the emergency mode in more stable way).
With respect to claim 11, Deleval discloses an electric bicycle [0030].
With respect to claims 12-14, the apparatus discussed above meets the method limitations.
With respect to claim 15, Deleval discloses a computer program product, including instructions which on execution by at least one processor of an electronic control system for a drive system of an electric bicycle cause the at least one processor to carry out a method according to claim 12 [0040-0044].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deleval (USPub 2021/0046998).
With respect to claim 4, Deleval discloses the claimed invention discussed above but does not disclose wherein in the emergency mode the electronic control system for the power control of the first and second electric motors is adapted to take account of a power consumption of at least one load supplied with electric energy via the drive system and/or a power loss for the regulation of the one electric motor. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to modify the invention of Deleval to take into account a power consumption of at least one load supplied with electric energy via the drive system or a power loss in order to operate essential electrical devices when the battery is empty such as headlights, which improves the safety and comfort of the vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
DREW BROWN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DREW J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617