Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Foreign Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/03/24 and 06/21/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Election/Restrictions Claims 4, 9 and 22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/21/2026. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 4.) Claim(s) 1 -2 , 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (A 0.8 μm Nonacell for 108 Megapixels CMOS Image Sensor with FD-Shared Dual Conversion Gain and 18,000e- Full-Well Capacitance – IEEE Document) . In regard to Claim 1 , Oh et al. disclose a n apparatus comprising ( A 0.8μm-pitch 108 megapixels ( Mp ) ultrahigh resolution CMOS image sensor has been demonstrated for mobile applications, Abstract and Figure 1) : a color filter system comprising a repeated 6×6 pattern of filter pixels ( See 6x6 filter pattern shown in Figure 1a and 4a) , each filter pixel being identifiable by integer coordinates ( m,n ), where 0≤m≤5 and 0≤n≤5, and each filter pixel having either a first, a second, or a third color; wherein, in each of the following groups of nine filter pixels, three have the first color, three have the second color, and three have the third color: (a) the filter pixels with both m=0, 1, or 2 and n=0, 1, or 2; (b) the filter pixels with both m=3, 4, or 5 and n=0, 1, or 2; (c) the filter pixels with both m=0, 1, or 2 and n=3, 4, or 5; (d) the filter pixels with both m=3, 4, or 5 and n=3, 4, or 5; (e) the filter pixels with both m=0, 2, or 4 and n=0, 2, or 4; (f) the filter pixels with both m=1, 3, or 5 and n=0, 2, or 4; (g) the filter pixels with both m=0, 2, or 4 and n=1, 3, or 5; and (h) the filter pixels with both m=1, 3, or 5 and n=1, 3, or 5 ( See pattern shown in diagram for Figure 1a below ) . With regard to Claim 2 , Oh et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: each filter pixel ( m,n ), with m≤2 has a different color than filter pixel (m+3, n); and each filter pixel ( m,n ), with n≤2 has a different color than filter pixel (m, n+3) ( See above configuration shown in Full mode in Figure 1a) . In regard to Claim 5 , Oh et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a light sensor array having a plurality of sensor pixels, wherein each of the filter pixels overlays a corresponding of the sensor pixels ( The Nonacell absorbs the light signal from nine 0.8μm pixels at once. The Nonacell was developed through a 3x3 color filter and 1x3 shared pixel structures which can be operated the 3 binning mode to achieve 12Mp resolution and improve low illuminance signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) characteristic, Abstract; Sections II and III) . Regarding Claim 8 , Oh et al. disclose t he apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first color is red, the second color is green, and the third color is blue ( See red, green and blue colors shown above in Figure 1A) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 5.) Claim(s) 6 -7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (A 0.8 μm Nonacell for 108 Megapixels CMOS Image Sensor with FD-Shared Dual Conversion Gain and 18,000e- Full-Well Capacitance – IEEE Document) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sabater et al. (US Pub No.: 2021/0118092A1 ) . Regarding Claim 6 , Oh et al. do not explicitly disclose t he apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an array of micro-lenses, wherein each of the micro-lenses overlays a respective 3×3 quadrant within the 6×6 pattern of filter pixels. Sabater et al. teach of an array of micro-lenses, wherein each of the micro-lenses overlays a respective quadrant pattern of filter pixels , ( Sabater et al. teach of a device comprising filtering means having a pattern of at least four blocks wherein a second block is located vertical to a first block, a third block is located horizontal to said first block and a fourth block is located vertical to said third block and horizontal to said second block; and means to generate a new image from images captured using said filtered rays , Abstract and Figure 5A of Sabater et al. . Sabater et al. teach of a microlens array embedded in a camera over a pixel sensor, Paragraph s 0016 , 0053-0054 ; Claims 1-3 and 6-7 of Sabater et al. . It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Oh et al. to include an array of micro-lenses, wherein each of the micro-lenses overlays a respective 3×3 quadrant within the 6×6 pattern of filter pixels as taught by Sabater et al., because they provide for precise way of directing light thus useful in high-resolution imaging ) . With regard to Claim 7 , Oh et al. and Sabater et al. disclose t he apparatus of claim 6, further comprising a main lens operative to focus light toward the array of micro-lenses ( See main lens 101, Paragraph 0003-0004; Figures 1 and 5A of Sabater et al. . It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Sabater et al. to include a main lens in addition to the microlens to focus light toward the array of micro-lenses as taught by Sabater et al., because it is useful in focusing the imaged object onto the micro-lens array ) . 6.) Claim(s) 11 -16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabater et al. (US Pub No.: 2021/0118092A1) and further in view of Oh et al. (A 0.8 μm Nonacell for 108 Megapixels CMOS Image Sensor with FD-Shared Dual Conversion Gain and 18,000e- Full-Well Capacitance – IEEE Document) . With regard to Claim 11 , Sabater et al. disclose a method of jointly refocusing and demosaicing a plenoptic image generated using a pixel sensor ( A filter array for plenoptic cameras with micro-lens images . A color filter array capable of providing colored sub-aperture images and automatically demosaicing refocused images for any integer disparity , Paragraphs 0001, 0009 , 0066-006 9 ; Figures 1, 7) the method comprising: generating a refocused image by summing sub-aperture images obtained from the plenoptic image with an integer disparity value ( T he filter array according to an embodiment of the invention cumulates the advantage of providing colored sub-aperture images and of automatically demosaicing refocused images for any integer disparity , Paragraph 0019 . With such a pattern the sub-aperture images are showing all the possible patterns of a filter array according to an embodiment of the invention. Thus, a refocused image with an integer disparity ρ=0(2) (0 modulo 2) is fully demosaiced , as well as a refocused image with an integer disparity ρ=1(2) , Paragraphs 0024 and 0066) . wherein each pixel of the refocused image is a normalized sum of pixels of a first color, pixels of a second color, and pixels of a third color in the plenoptic image ( For each light-field pixel projected on the refocused image, the value of 1.0 is added to the weight-map at the coordinate (X, Y). If interpolation is used, the same interpolation kernel is used for both the refocused and the weight-map images. After, all the light-field pixels are projected, the refocused image is divided pixel per pixel by the weight-map image. This normalization step, ensures brightness consistency of the normalized refocused image , Paragraph 0063 . T he filter array is made of the three colors Red, Green and Blue , Paragraphs 0069-0070) . Sabater et al. do not explicitly teach that the pixel sensor is a nona -pixel sensor. Sabater et al. also do not teach the summing of nine sub-aperture images and that the refocused image is a normalized sum of three pixels of a first color, three pixels of a second color and three pixels of a third color. Oh et al. teach of a pixel sensor that is a non-pixel sensor that sums nine sub-aperture images and that the refocused image is a normalized sum of three pixels of a first color, three pixels of a second color and three pixels of a third color, ( Oh et al. teach of A 0.8μm-pitch 108 megapixels ( Mp ) ultrahigh resolution CMOS image sensor has been demonstrated for mobile applications. The Nonacell was developed through a 3x3 color filter and 1x3 shared pixel structures which can be operated the 3 binning mode to achieve 12Mp resolution and improve low illuminance signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) characteristic , Abstract of Oh et al. . Oh et al. teach that t he Nonacell absorbs the light signal from nine 0.8μm pixels at once, consequentially the sensitivity and low-illuminance SNR performance are improved equivalent to a 2.4μm pixel . Fig. 4(a) and (b) shows schematic circuits and readout timing of the Nonacell . Three 1x3 shared pixel units are combined to create a 3x3 pixel with the same color. In nona -binning operation mode, 9 pixels are read simultaneously, signal electrons in shared three PDs are summed in the floating diffusion (FD), and the three vertical outputs are averaged at the voltage domain. To match the repetition pattern of the color filter to the unit pixel, it is necessary to change the order of the shared pixel in units of three, because binning and merging operation are possible only when the same color is in the same shared pixel. Three 1x3 shared pixels compose a 3x3 unit, each FD of the upper and lower neighboring rows are connected through wiring and control transistors are introduced , Sections II-III; Figure 1 of Oh et al. . It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Sabater et al. to enable the pixel sensor to be a non-pixel sensor that sums nine sub-aperture images and that the refocused image is a normalized sum of three pixels of a first color, three pixels of a second color and three pixels of a third color as taught by Oh et al., because it provides the benefits of improving the signal-to-noise ratio characteristic, Abstract; Section IV of Oh et al.) . Regarding Claim 12 , Sabater et al. and Oh et al. disclose t he method of claim 11, wherein each of the nine sub-aperture images has an extended Bayer pattern ( See Bayer patterns, Paragraph 0070 of Sabater et al.) . In regard to Claim 13 , Sabater et al. and Oh et al. disclose t he method of claim 11, wherein the integer disparity value is zero ( Thus, a refocused image with an integer disparity ρ=0(2) (0 modulo 2) is fully demosaiced , as well as for integer disparity ρ=1(2) , Paragraph 0070 of Sabater et al.) . With regard to Claim 14 , Sabater et al. and Oh et al. disclose t he method of claim 11, wherein the integer disparity value is one ( Thus, a refocused image with an integer disparity ρ=0(2) (0 modulo 2) is fully demosaiced , as well as for integer disparity ρ=1(2) , Paragraph 0070 of Sabater et al.) . Regarding Claim 15 , Sabater et al. and Oh et al. disclose t he method of claim 11, wherein the integer disparity value is two ( Thus, a refocused image with an integer disparity ρ=0(2) (0 modulo 2) is fully demosaiced , as well as for integer disparity ρ=1(2) , Paragraph 0070 of Sabater et al.) . In regard to Claim 16 , Sabater et al. and Oh et al. disclose t he method of claim 11, wherein the pixels in the plenoptic image are associated with a repeated 6×6 color pattern, each position in the color pattern being identifiable by integer coordinates ( m,n ), where 0≤m≤5 and 0≤n≤5, and each position in the color pattern having either a first, a second, or a third color; wherein, in each of the following groups of nine positions, three have the first color, three have the second color, and three have the third color: (a) the positions with both m=0, 1, or 2 and n=0, 1, or 2; (b) the positions with both m=3, 4, or 5 and n=0, 1, or 2; (c) the positions with both m=0, 1, or 2 and n=3, 4, or 5; (d) the positions with both m=3, 4, or 5 and n=3, 4, or 5; (e) the positions with both m=0, 2, or 4 and n=0, 2, or 4; (f) the positions with both m=1, 3, or 5 and n=0, 2, or 4; (g) the positions with both m=0, 2, or 4 and n=1, 3, or 5; and (h) the positions with both m=1, 3, or 5 and n=1, 3, or 5 ( See 6x6 filter pattern shown in Figure 1a and 4a below of Oh et al. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Sabater et al. to incorporate the 6x6 color pattern as taught by Oh et al., because it provides a high resolution while improving a low illuminance SNR characteristic, Abstract of Oh et al.) . 7.) Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwag (US Pub No.: 2021/0044783A1) and further in view of Sabater et al. (US Pub No.: 2021/0118092A1) . With regard to Claim 19 , Kwag discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a image comprising a plurality of pixels ( A n image signal processor may include a line memory configured to temporarily store image data that includes pixel data of each red color pixel, pixel data of each blue color pixel, and pixel data of each white color pixel, and a processing block configured to perform demosaicing of the image data in units of a demosaicing matrix in which three red color pixels, three blue color pixels, and three white color pixels are contained. The pixel data may be generated by an active pixel sensor (APS) block provided with a (3×3) matrix in which the three red color pixels, the three blue color pixels, and the three white color pixels are contained , Paragraphs 0009, 0011-0012, 0039-0044, 0083; Figure 2A) , the pixels in the image being associated with a repeated 6×6 color pattern ( 6x6 color pattern with colors R, B and W , Paragraphs 0046-0047; Figure 2A) , each position in the color pattern being identifiable by integer coordinates ( m,n ), where 0≤m≤5 and 0≤n≤5, and each position in the color pattern having either a first, a second, or a third color ( See Figure 2A below, Paragraphs 0045-0047-0057; Figure 2A) ; wherein, in each of the following groups of nine positions, three have the first color, three have the second color, and three have the third color: (a) the positions with both m=0, 1, or 2 and n=0, 1, or 2; (b) the positions with both m=3, 4, or 5 and n=0, 1, or 2; (c) the positions with both m=0, 1, or 2 and n=3, 4, or 5; (d) the positions with both m=3, 4, or 5 and n=3, 4, or 5; (e) the positions with both m=0, 2, or 4 and n=0, 2, or 4; (f) the positions with both m=1, 3, or 5 and n=0, 2, or 4; (g) the positions with both m=0, 2, or 4 and n=1, 3, or 5; and (h) the positions with both m=1, 3, or 5 and n=1, 3, or 5 ( See Figure 2A below ) . Kwag does not explicitly teach that the image is a plenoptic image. Sabater et al. teach of a plenoptic image, ( Sabater et al. teach of a device comprising filtering means having a pattern of at least four blocks wherein a second block is located vertical to a first block, a third block is located horizontal to said first block and a fourth block is located vertical to said third block and horizontal to said second block; and means to generate a new image from images captured using said filtered rays , Abstract; Figures 1, 5A and 7 of Sabater et al. . Sabater et al. teach of a filter array intended to be positioned on a pixels sensor of a plenoptic camera, said filter array comprising a pattern which is replicated to cover the whole pixels sensor, wherein said pattern: covers 2p×2p pixels of said pixels sensor, where p is an even number of pixels corresponding to a diameter of a micro-lens image produced by a micro-lens of a micro-lens array embedded in said plenoptic camera , Paragraph s 0016 -0017 of Sabater et al. . It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect filing date of the invention to enable the teachings of Kwag et al. to capture a plenoptic image via a plenoptic camera as taught by Sabater et al., because plenoptic cameras help record 4D light-field data which can be transformed into many various by-products such as re-focused images with freely selected distances of focalization , Paragraphs 0050-0051 of Sabater et al.) . Regarding Claim 20 , Kwag and Sabater et al. disclose t he non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein: each position ( m,n ), with m≤2 has a different color than position (m+3, n); and each position ( m,n ), with n≤2 has a different color than position (m, n+3) ( See above image 2A in Kwag ) . 8.) Allowable Subject Matter Claim 3 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT PRITHAM DAVID PRABHAKHER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1128 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday to Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lin Ye can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 5712727372 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Pritham David Prabhakher Patent Examiner Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov /PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638