DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 3/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 7-8, 10, 15, 21, 23, 25 and 31 have been amended. Claims 2, 5, 9, 16, 19 and 24 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10, 15, 18, 20-21, 23, 25 and 31 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 8, 15 and 23 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, 15, 20, 23 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2023/0309016, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses an information transmission method [Li discloses a method for wireless communication for receiving information regarding sidelink communication using sidelink DRX (Lim paragraph 0007). Li Figure 9A discloses an example of a network controlled protocol for coordinating SL DRX configuration], comprising:
Sending indication information to a network side device by a terminal [Li Figure 9A discloses that a UE (902) may send sidelink information message or UE assistance information to the base station, which may include SL DRX information (i.e. sending indication information to a network side by a terminal) (Li Figure 9A, operation 3, paragraph 0094)], wherein the indication information is used to indicate a usage condition of a SideLink Discontinuous Reception (SL DRX) and/or SideLink Discontinuous Transmission (SL DTX) of the terminal [Li discloses that a UE may send SL DRX information to a base station which may comprise QoS profile or parameters, traffic pattern, power saving, etc., or preferred SL DRX configuration received from the higher layer or UE (Li Figure 9A, operation 3, paragraph 0094). The SL DRX information may include periods and duty cycles for periodic traffic or traffic patterns, data packet size, QoS profile or QoS parameters such as latency and reliability specifications and data rate or volume and communication priority or priorities, power saving specification(s) such as for battery constrained UEs, communication range(s), location or zoning, SL DRX triggering criteria or condition(s) for SL DRX activation, deactivation, selecting or switching, etc. (see Li paragraph 0072). Indications such as QoS profile/parameters, traffic patterns, etc. correspond to the indication information used to indicate a usage condition of a SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal],
Wherein contents of the indication information comprises one of following:
Whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied at a sidelink interface for the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each sidelink destination of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each Quality of Service (QoS) profile corresponding to each QoS of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile list of a sidelink interface of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile of each sidelink destination of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile list of each sidelink destination of the terminal; a sidelink destination list using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; a sidelink destination list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; or a QoS profile list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX under each sidelink destination of the terminal [Li discloses that the SL DRX information may correspond to QoS specifications (e.g. associated or mapped with QoS profile(s) or QoS parameters, for different QoS flows associated with service types. The UE may start an application (e.g. service or service type corresponding to QoS flows); and may receive an indication of cast type and the associated PC5 link information (i.e. a sidelink interface) (Li paragraph 0071). Li further discloses that the SL DRX information may include information of SL DRX cycle length (i.e. SL DRX pattern), which may be associated with a QoS profile, and an SL DRX offset may be associated with PC5 RRC link ID for a unicast, or a pair of source ID and destination ID or a destination ID for one direction of a unicast (Li paragraph 0073). This corresponds to the indication information comprising whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied at a sidelink interface for the terminal, or whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each Quality of Service (QoS) profile corresponding to each QoS of the terminal].
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses the method according to claim 1. Li further discloses wherein the indication information is carried in any one of following: a SidelinkUEInformation message; a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling; a Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) [Li discloses that a UE (902) may send sidelink information message (e.g., SidelinkUEInformationNR) or UE assistance information to the base station, which may include SL DRX information or SL DRX configuration (i.e. indication information) (Li Figure 9A, operation 3, paragraph 0094)].
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses a resource scheduling method, comprising: receiving indication information from a terminal by a network side device [Li discloses that a UE (902) may send sidelink information message or UE assistance information to the base station, which may include SL DRX information or SL DRX configuration (i.e. indication information) (Li Figure 9A, operation 3, paragraph 0094)];
Performing scheduling of a sidelink interface of the terminal according to the indication information by the network side device [Li discloses that after sending SL DRX configuration to the network in operation 3, the UE may receive SL DRX configuration for sidelink communication from a base station (Li Figure 9A, operation 4A, paragraph 0094). Li discloses that after receiving the SL DRX configuration from the network in operation 4A, the UE (902) forwards the received SL DRX configuration to another UE (904) for configuring RRC connection via PC5 interface (i.e. scheduling of a sidelink interface according the indication from the network) (Li Figure 9A, operations 5, 5A, paragraph 0094). Li further discloses that a scheduling entity (e.g. a BS) may allocate resources for communication among devices within its service area or cell (Li paragraph 0182)],
Wherein contents of the indication information comprises one of following:
Whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied at a sidelink interface for the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each sidelink destination of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each Quality of Service (QoS) profile corresponding to each QoS of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile list of a sidelink interface of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile of each sidelink destination of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile list of each sidelink destination of the terminal; a sidelink destination list using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; a sidelink destination list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; or a QoS profile list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX under each sidelink destination of the terminal [Li discloses that the SL DRX information may correspond to QoS specifications (e.g. associated or mapped with QoS profile(s) or QoS parameters, for different QoS flows associated with service types. The UE may start an application (e.g. service or service type corresponding to QoS flows); and may receive an indication of cast type and the associated PC5 link information (i.e. a sidelink interface) (Li paragraph 0071). Li further discloses that the SL DRX information may include information of SL DRX cycle length (i.e. SL DRX pattern), which may be associated with a QoS profile, and an SL DRX offset may be associated with PC5 RRC link ID for a unicast, or a pair of source ID and destination ID or a destination ID for one direction of a unicast (Li paragraph 0073). This corresponds to the indication information comprising whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied at a sidelink interface for the terminal, or whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each Quality of Service (QoS) profile corresponding to each QoS of the terminal].
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses a terminal, comprising: a memory, a transceiver, and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a program instruction; the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under control of the processor; and the processor is configured to read the program instruction in the memory and execute following operations [Li Figure 2 discloses example components of BS (110a) and a UE (120a) comprising components such as a processor, transmit/receive processors, memories to store data and program codes, etc. (Li Figure 2, paragraphs 0037-0042). Also see Li Figures 10, 11 and paragraphs 0105-0108]: sending indication information to a network side device through the transceiver [Li Figure 9A discloses that a UE (902) may send sidelink information message or UE assistance information to the base station, which may include SL DRX information (i.e. sending indication information to a network side by a terminal) (Li Figure 9A, operation 3, paragraph 0094)], wherein the indication information is used to indicate a usage condition of a SideLink Discontinuous Reception (SL DRX) and/or SideLink Discontinuous Transmission (SL DTX) of the terminal [Li discloses that a UE may send SL DRX information to a base station which may comprise QoS profile or parameters, traffic pattern, power saving, etc., or preferred SL DRX configuration received from the higher layer or UE (Li Figure 9A, operation 3, paragraph 0094). The SL DRX information may include periods and duty cycles for periodic traffic or traffic patterns, data packet size, QoS profile or QoS parameters such as latency and reliability specifications and data rate or volume and communication priority or priorities, power saving specification(s) such as for battery constrained UEs, communication range(s), location or zoning, SL DRX triggering criteria or condition(s) for SL DRX activation, deactivation, selecting or switching, etc. (see Li paragraph 0072). Indications such as QoS profile/parameters, traffic patterns, etc. correspond to the indication information used to indicate a usage condition of a SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal],
Wherein contents of the indication information comprises one of following:
Whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied at a sidelink interface for the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each sidelink destination of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each Quality of Service (QoS) profile corresponding to each QoS of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile list of a sidelink interface of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile of each sidelink destination of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile list of each sidelink destination of the terminal; a sidelink destination list using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; a sidelink destination list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; or a QoS profile list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX under each sidelink destination of the terminal [Li discloses that the SL DRX information may correspond to QoS specifications (e.g. associated or mapped with QoS profile(s) or QoS parameters, for different QoS flows associated with service types. The UE may start an application (e.g. service or service type corresponding to QoS flows); and may receive an indication of cast type and the associated PC5 link information (i.e. a sidelink interface) (Li paragraph 0071). Li further discloses that the SL DRX information may include information of SL DRX cycle length (i.e. SL DRX pattern), which may be associated with a QoS profile, and an SL DRX offset may be associated with PC5 RRC link ID for a unicast, or a pair of source ID and destination ID or a destination ID for one direction of a unicast (Li paragraph 0073). This corresponds to the indication information comprising whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied at a sidelink interface for the terminal, or whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each Quality of Service (QoS) profile corresponding to each QoS of the terminal].
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses the terminal according to claim 15. Li further discloses wherein the indication information is carried in any one of following: a SidelinkUEInformation message; a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling; a Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) [Li discloses that a UE (902) may send sidelink information message (e.g., SidelinkUEInformationNR) or UE assistance information to the base station, which may include SL DRX information or SL DRX configuration (i.e. indication information) (Li Figure 9A, operation 3, paragraph 0094)].
Regarding claim 23, Li discloses a network side device, comprising: a memory, a transceiver, and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a program; the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under control of the processor; the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and execute following operations [Li Figure 2 discloses example components of BS (110a) and a UE (120a) comprising components such as a processor, transmit/receive processors, memories to store data and program codes, etc. (Li Figure 2, paragraphs 0037-0042). Also see Li Figures 10, 11 and paragraphs 0105-0108]: receiving indication information from a terminal through the transceiver [Li discloses that a UE (902) may send sidelink information message or UE assistance information to the base station, which may include SL DRX information or SL DRX configuration (i.e. indication information) (Li Figure 9A, operation 3, paragraph 0094)];
Performing scheduling of a sidelink interface of the terminal according to the indication information by a network side device [Li discloses that after sending SL DRX configuration to the network in operation 3, the UE may receive SL DRX configuration for sidelink communication from a base station (Li Figure 9A, operation 4A, paragraph 0094). Li discloses that after receiving the SL DRX configuration from the network in operation 4A, the UE (902) forwards the received SL DRX configuration to another UE (904) for configuring RRC connection via PC5 interface (i.e. scheduling of a sidelink interface according the indication from the network) (Li Figure 9A, operations 5, 5A, paragraph 0094). Li further discloses that a scheduling entity (e.g. a BS) may allocate resources for communication among devices within its service area or cell (Li paragraph 0182)],
Wherein contents of the indication information comprises one of following:
Whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied at a sidelink interface for the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each sidelink destination of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each Quality of Service (QoS) profile corresponding to each QoS of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile list of a sidelink interface of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile of each sidelink destination of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile list of each sidelink destination of the terminal; a sidelink destination list using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; a sidelink destination list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; or a QoS profile list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX under each sidelink destination of the terminal [Li discloses that the SL DRX information may correspond to QoS specifications (e.g. associated or mapped with QoS profile(s) or QoS parameters, for different QoS flows associated with service types. The UE may start an application (e.g. service or service type corresponding to QoS flows); and may receive an indication of cast type and the associated PC5 link information (i.e. a sidelink interface) (Li paragraph 0071). Li further discloses that the SL DRX information may include information of SL DRX cycle length (i.e. SL DRX pattern), which may be associated with a QoS profile, and an SL DRX offset may be associated with PC5 RRC link ID for a unicast, or a pair of source ID and destination ID or a destination ID for one direction of a unicast (Li paragraph 0073). This corresponds to the indication information comprising whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied at a sidelink interface for the terminal, or whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each Quality of Service (QoS) profile corresponding to each QoS of the terminal].
Regarding claim 31, Li discloses the information transmission method according to claim 1. Li further discloses a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, wherein the processor- readable storage medium stores a program, wherein the program is configured to cause a processor to execute steps of the information transmission method according to claim 1 [Li discloses a computer program product embodied on a computer-readable storage medium comprising code for performing the methods disclosed (Li paragraphs 0010, 0191 and 0192)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Leng et al. (US 2024/0057215, hereinafter Leng).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses the method according to claim 1. Li does not expressly disclose wherein the indication information is determined by the terminal according to a transmission profile (Tx profile) configured by a higher layer of the terminal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Leng discloses that a higher layer may configure a mapping between a transmission (Tx) profile and SL transmission service (Leng paragraph 0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li to have the features of wherein the indication information is determined by the terminal according to a transmission profile (Tx profile) configured by a higher layer of the terminal; as taught by Leng. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a sidelink transmission method with higher spectral efficiency and lower transmission delay (Leng paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 4, Li and Leng disclose the method according to claim 3. Li and Leng further disclose wherein contents of the Tx profile comprises one of following: mapping between a protocol release and a service type of a sidelink interface of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and a service of a sidelink interface of the terminal; a protocol release used when the terminal sends data at a sidelink interface; mapping between a protocol release and each sidelink destination of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and each QoS profile of a sidelink interface of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and each QoS profile list of a sidelink interface of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and each QoS profile under each sidelink destination of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and each QoS profile list under each sidelink destination of the terminal [Leng discloses that a higher layer may configure a mapping between a transmission (Tx) profile and SL transmission service. A parameter sidelink Tx profile release may be defined and the value of this parameter (e.g. rel14, rel15) may correspond to a data transmission format compatible with the protocol release (Leng paragraph 0079). This is similar to the claim limitation of mapping between a protocol release and a service of a sidelink interface of the terminal. Also see Leng paragraph 0124 and 0125]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses the terminal according to claim 15. Li does not expressly disclose wherein the indication information is determined by the terminal according to a transmission profile (Tx profile) configured by a higher layer of the terminal, contents of the Tx profile comprises one of following: mapping between a protocol release and a service type of a sidelink interface of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and a service of a sidelink interface of the terminal; a protocol release used when the terminal sends data at a sidelink interface; mapping between a protocol release and each sidelink destination of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and each QoS profile of a sidelink interface of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and each QoS profile list of a sidelink interface of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and each QoS profile under each sidelink destination of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and each QoS profile list under each sidelink destination of the terminal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Leng discloses that a higher layer may configure a mapping between a transmission (Tx) profile and SL transmission service (Leng paragraph 0079) (i.e. a Tx profile configured by a higher layer of the terminal). Leng further discloses that a parameter sidelink Tx profile release may be defined and the value of this parameter (e.g. rel14, rel15) may correspond to a data transmission format compatible with the protocol release (Leng paragraph 0079). This is similar to the claim limitation of mapping between a protocol release and a service of a sidelink interface of the terminal. Also see Leng paragraph 0124 and 0125.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li to have the features of wherein the indication information is determined by the terminal according to a transmission profile (Tx profile) configured by a higher layer of the terminal, contents of the Tx profile comprises one of following: mapping between a protocol release and a service type of a sidelink interface of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and a service of a sidelink interface of the terminal; a protocol release used when the terminal sends data at a sidelink interface; mapping between a protocol release and each sidelink destination of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and each QoS profile of a sidelink interface of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and each QoS profile list of a sidelink interface of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and each QoS profile under each sidelink destination of the terminal; mapping between a protocol release and each QoS profile list under each sidelink destination of the terminal. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a sidelink transmission method with higher spectral efficiency and lower transmission delay (Leng paragraph 0048).
Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0292343, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses the method according to claim 2. Li does not expressly disclose wherein a condition that triggers the terminal to send the indication information to the network side device comprises one of following: the indication information is carried in a SidelinkUEinformation message, and the terminal satisfies a condition of transmitting the SidelinkUEinformation message; a Transmission (Tx) profile configured by a higher layer is received, and the indication information is generated by the terminal according to the Tx profile; a newly arriving Quality of Service (QoS) flow belongs to a new QoS profile; a newly arriving QoS flow belongs to a new QoS profile list; data transmission of a QoS flow belonging to a first QoS profile ends, wherein the first QoS profile is one of all QoS profiles under a first destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the first destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; data transmissions of all QoS flows belonging to a first QoS profile list end, wherein the first QoS profile list is one of all QoS profile lists under a second destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the second destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; a state of whether a second QoS profile uses SL DRX and/or SL DTX changes, wherein the second QoS profile is one of all QoS profiles under a third destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the third destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; a state of whether a second QoS profile list uses SL DRX and/or SL DTX changes, wherein the second QoS profile list is one of all QoS profile lists under a fourth destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the fourth destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhang discloses that if a UE is no configured with SL DRX in a current primary cell, then the UE may transmit a SidelinkUEInformationNR message to the base station/network side. In this message, the UE indicates a preferred SL DRX configuration, e.g., a duration of a relevant timer in the aforementioned embodiments and a length of a DRX cycle. This scenario may occur when the UE has undergone a handover and the Pcell has been changed (Zhang paragraph 0097). This is similar to the claimed limitation of the indication information is carried in a SidelinkUEinformation message, and the terminal satisfies a condition of transmitting the SidelinkUEinformation message (the condition being the UE has undergone a handover).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li to have the features of wherein a condition that triggers the terminal to send the indication information to the network side device comprises one of following:
the indication information is carried in a SidelinkUEinformation message, and the terminal satisfies a condition of transmitting the SidelinkUEinformation message; a Transmission (Tx) profile configured by a higher layer is received, and the indication information is generated by the terminal according to the Tx profile; a newly arriving Quality of Service (QoS) flow belongs to a new QoS profile; a newly arriving QoS flow belongs to a new QoS profile list; data transmission of a QoS flow belonging to a first QoS profile ends, wherein the first QoS profile is one of all QoS profiles under a first destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the first destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; data transmissions of all QoS flows belonging to a first QoS profile list end, wherein the first QoS profile list is one of all QoS profile lists under a second destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the second destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; a state of whether a second QoS profile uses SL DRX and/or SL DTX changes, wherein the second QoS profile is one of all QoS profiles under a third destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the third destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; a state of whether a second QoS profile list uses SL DRX and/or SL DTX changes, wherein the second QoS profile list is one of all QoS profile lists under a fourth destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the fourth destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; as taught by Zhang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for maintaining a valid monitoring occasion at an RX UE side, and achieve effective negotiation with a base station to ensure that resources of the base station are also within the valid monitoring occasion of the RX UE (Zhang paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 21, Li discloses the terminal according to claim 16. Li does not expressly disclose wherein a condition that triggers the terminal to send the indication information to the network side device comprises one of following: the indication information is carried in a SidelinkUEinformation message, and the terminal satisfies a condition of transmitting the SidelinkUEinformation message; a Transmission (Tx) profile configured by a higher layer is received, and the indication information is generated by the terminal according to the Tx profile; a newly arriving Quality of Service (QoS) flow belongs to a new QoS profile; a newly arriving QoS flow belongs to a new QoS profile list; data transmission of a QoS flow belonging to a first QoS profile ends, wherein the first QoS profile is one of all QoS profiles under a first destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the first destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; data transmissions of all QoS flows belonging to a first QoS profile list end, wherein the first QoS profile list is one of all QoS profile lists under a second destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the second destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; a state of whether a second QoS profile uses SL DRX and/or SL DTX changes, wherein the second QoS profile is one of all QoS profiles under a third destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the third destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; a state of whether a second QoS profile list uses SL DRX and/or SL DTX changes, wherein the second QoS profile list is one of all QoS profile lists under a fourth destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the fourth destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhang discloses that if a UE is no configured with SL DRX in a current primary cell, then the UE may transmit a SidelinkUEInformationNR message to the base station/network side. In this message, the UE indicates a preferred SL DRX configuration, e.g., a duration of a relevant timer in the aforementioned embodiments and a length of a DRX cycle. This scenario may occur when the UE has undergone a handover and the Pcell has been changed (Zhang paragraph 0097). This is similar to the claimed limitation of the indication information is carried in a SidelinkUEinformation message, and the terminal satisfies a condition of transmitting the SidelinkUEinformation message (the condition being the UE has undergone a handover).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li to have the features of wherein a condition that triggers the terminal to send the indication information to the network side device comprises one of following: the indication information is carried in a SidelinkUEinformation message, and the terminal satisfies a condition of transmitting the SidelinkUEinformation message; a Transmission (Tx) profile configured by a higher layer is received, and the indication information is generated by the terminal according to the Tx profile; a newly arriving Quality of Service (QoS) flow belongs to a new QoS profile; a newly arriving QoS flow belongs to a new QoS profile list; data transmission of a QoS flow belonging to a first QoS profile ends, wherein the first QoS profile is one of all QoS profiles under a first destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the first destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; data transmissions of all QoS flows belonging to a first QoS profile list end, wherein the first QoS profile list is one of all QoS profile lists under a second destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the second destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; a state of whether a second QoS profile uses SL DRX and/or SL DTX changes, wherein the second QoS profile is one of all QoS profiles under a third destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the third destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; a state of whether a second QoS profile list uses SL DRX and/or SL DTX changes, wherein the second QoS profile list is one of all QoS profile lists under a fourth destination of a sidelink interface of the terminal, and the fourth destination is one of all sidelink destinations of the terminal; as taught by Zhang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for maintaining a valid monitoring occasion at an RX UE side, and achieve effective negotiation with a base station to ensure that resources of the base station are also within the valid monitoring occasion of the RX UE (Zhang paragraph 0006).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10 and 25 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein performing scheduling of the sidelink interface of the terminal according to the indication information by the network side device comprises: if it is determined, according to the indication information, that the terminal uses SL DRX and/or SL DTX at a sidelink interface, determining an SL DRX configuration and/or an SL DTX configuration corresponding to each QoS profile or each QoS profile list under each destination of the terminal; determining, according to the SL DRX configuration and the SL DTX configuration, SL DRX activation time and/or SL DTX activation time corresponding to each QoS profile or each QoS profile list under each destination of the terminal; scheduling a sidelink interface logical channel belonging to each QoS profile or each QoS profile list under each destination according to the SL DRX activation time and/or the SL DTX activation time corresponding to the QoS profile or the QoS profile list; or, performing scheduling of the sidelink interface of the terminal according to the indication information by the network side device comprises: if it is determined, according to the indication information, that at least part of sidelink destinations of the terminal uses SL DRX and/or SL DTX, or it is determined, according to the indication information, that a sidelink destination list uses SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal, determining an SL DRX configuration and/or an SL DTX configuration corresponding to each QoS profile or each QoS profile list using SL DRX and/or SL DTX under each destination of the terminal; determining, according to the SL DRX configuration and/or the SL DTX configuration, SL DRX activation time and/or SL DTX activation time corresponding to each QoS profile or each QoS profile list under each destination using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; scheduling, according to the SL DRX activation time and/or the SL DTX activation time corresponding to each QoS profile or each QoS profile list under each destination using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal, a sidelink interface logical channel belonging to the QoS profile or the QoS profile list; or, performing scheduling of the sidelink interface of the terminal according to the indication information by the network side device comprises: if it is determined, according to the indication information, that part of QoS profiles or QoS profile lists under at least a part of sidelink destinations of the terminal uses SL DRX and/or SL DTX, or a QoS profile list using SL DRX and/or SL DTX under each sidelink destination of the terminal is determined according to the indication information, determining an SL DRX configuration and/or an SL DTX configuration corresponding to the QoS profile or the QoS profile list under the destination using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; according to the SL DRX configuration and/or the SL DTX configuration, determining SL DRX activation time and/or SL DTX activation time corresponding to the QoS profile or the QoS profile list under the destination using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; scheduling, according to the SL DRX activation time and/or the SL DTX activation time corresponding to the QoS profile or the QoS profile list under the destination using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal, sidelink interface logical channels belonging to the QoS profile or the QoS profile list; or, performing scheduling of the sidelink interface of the terminal according to the indication information by the network side device comprises: if it is determined, according to the indication information, that SL DRX and/or SL DTX is not applied at the sidelink interface of the terminal, scheduling any sidelink interface logical channel belonging to the terminal by using all available resources of the sidelink interface; if it is determined, according to the indication information, that SL DRX and/or SL DTX is not applied to at least part of the sidelink destinations of the terminal, or a sidelink destination list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX is determined for the terminal according to the indication information, scheduling a sidelink interface logical channel under each destination not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX and belonging to the terminal, by using all available resources of the sidelink interface; if it is determined, according to the indication information, that SL DRX and/or SL DTX is not applied to at least part of QoS profiles or QoS profile lists of the sidelink interface of the terminal, or it is determined, according to the indication information, that SL DRX and/or SL DTX is not applied to part of QoS profiles or QoS profile lists under the at least part of sidelink destinations of the terminal, then scheduling, by using all available resources of the sidelink interface, a sidelink interface logical channel belonging to the QoS profile or the QoS profile list under a destination not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; if a sidelink interface QoS profile not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX is determined according to the indication information, scheduling a sidelink interface logical channel belonging to the QoS profile not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX under each destination of the terminal, by using all available resources of the sidelink interface; if a sidelink interface QoS profile list that does not use SL DRX and/or SL DTX is determined according to the indication information, or a QoS profile list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX under each sidelink destination of the terminal is determined according to the indication information, scheduling, by using all available resources of the sidelink interface, a sidelink interface logical channel belonging to a QoS profile list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX under each destination of the terminal; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 3/30/2026 with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 19-20 of Applicant's remarks, the Applicant argues the following with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102:
…The applicant submits that the paragraph 0094 of Li obviously fails to disclose the following…Thus, the Applicant submits that the above underlined features in claim 1 of the present application are not disclosed by Li…
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments for the following reasons:
It is noted that the amended claim 1 limitations – “…wherein contents of the indication information comprises one of the following… - are presented in alternative language.
Prior art Li discloses that the SL DRX information (e.g. sl-drx-info) or one or more candidate SL DRX configurations may be based on QoS specifications (e.g., associated or mapped with QoS profile(s) or QoS parameters, for example via a look-up table (LUT), for different QoS flows associated to one or more services or service types). The UEs may start an application (e.g., a service or service type with one or more QoS flows), and may receive an indication of at least one cast type (e.g., unicast as exemplified herein) and the associated PC5 link information (e.g., a PC5 link ID or pair of layer 2 source ID and destination ID or a layer 2 destination ID), associated SL DRX information, or candidate SL DRX configuration(s) (e.g., associated or mapped with the QoS profile or QoS parameters for the service or service type or the PC5 link ID or pair of layer 2 source ID and destination ID or a layer 2 destination ID) (see Li paragraph 0071). Li further discloses that the SL DRX information may include information of SL DRX cycle length (i.e. SL DRX pattern), which may be associated with a QoS profile, and an SL DRX offset may be associated with PC5 RRC link ID for a unicast, or a pair of source ID and destination ID or a destination ID for one direction of a unicast (Li paragraph 0073).
Above teachings of Li are similar to the claimed limitations of the indication information comprising whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied at a sidelink interface for the terminal, or whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each Quality of Service (QoS) profile corresponding to each QoS of the terminal. Therefore, it is clear that prior art Li discloses the amended claim 1 (and corresponding independent claims 8, 15 and 23) limitations of Wherein contents of the indication information comprises one of following: Whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied at a sidelink interface for the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each sidelink destination of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied for each Quality of Service (QoS) profile corresponding to each QoS of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile list of a sidelink interface of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile of each sidelink destination of the terminal; whether SL DRX and/or SL DTX is applied to each QoS profile list of each sidelink destination of the terminal; a sidelink destination list using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; a sidelink destination list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX of the terminal; or a QoS profile list not using SL DRX and/or SL DTX under each sidelink destination of the terminal
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414