DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12, 26, 28, 30, and 32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (US 2024/0204970 A1) in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2022/0159772 A1).
Regarding claims 10, 26, and 30, Matsumura discloses:
a device for use in a user equipment (UE) (fig.9 element 900), wherein the device comprises:
one or more processors (fig.9 depicts a one or more processors); and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (fig.9 memory circuitry) comprising instructions that, upon execution of the instructions by the one or more processors, are to cause the UE to perform a method for medium access control-element (par.[0054] describes utilizing a MAC-CE for TCI state switching) based transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state switching (par.[0054] the aforecited TCI State Switching) with a pathloss reference signal (par.[0013] describes the Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which is a downlink pathloss reference signal), the apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry (fig.8 which depicts the UE with a processor, element 810) coupled to the storage (fig.8 the storage element 820 which is communicatively coupled with element 810) which is a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store instructions (fig.8 element 820 and par.[0069]), the processing circuitry configured to:
generate a first time between a downlink data transmission received from a network device and a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (fig.3 and par.[0030] which recites, in part, “When the activation command is a MAC CE command, the UE 101 is allocated a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) timing period 204 (also referred to as T.sub.HARQ 204) for the UE 101 to receive the activation command or downlink (DL) data which may include the activation command from the BS 111, and for the UE 101 to transmit an acknowledgment.”. That is, the UE receives the command along with PDCCH or PDSCH, and THARQ is the period between the reception of a downlink transmission and an acknowledgement of that data, fig.4);
generate, based on the first time, a TCI state switch delay time (fig(s).3 depicts the delay time, or rather the time period it takes from reception of the MAC-CE indicating TCI State switching until the TCI state is switched. For example, with the MAC-CE HARQ-ACK feedback is needed, thus the delay includes the first time THARQ, as a time period for switching from a first TCI state to a second TCI state, wherein after the processing the TCI state is switched, par.[0035] which recites, in part, “For example, TRS proc 214 and T.sub.SSB proc 224 could each be 2 ms. When the UE 101 performs T/F tracking according to the TCI resource, and the first RS 210 is received before the first SSB 218, TCI switching to the target TCI state is complete after TRS proc 214.”).
While the disclosure of Cui discloses the TCI switching delay, it does not disclose explicitly:
by which the UE is to transmit an uplink signal to the network device after switching TCI states; and
encode the uplink signal to transmit to the network device by the TCI state switch delay time.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Raghavan discloses:
The UE is to transmit an uplink signal to the network device after switching TCI states (par.[0197] describes uplink transmission after TCI state switching); and
Encoding the uplink signal to transmit to the network device by the TCI state switch delay time (par.[0166] describes indicating by the network to the UE a TCI state switching by MAC-CE, which requires a delay, and par.[0196 – 0197] describes the transmission of an indication on an uplink channel of TCI state switching complete).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the disclosure of Cui for calculation of the delay for TCI switching, with the uplink signaling after the TCI state switching as discussed in Raghavan. The motivation/suggestion would have been to signal the completion of the TCI state switching to the network.
Regarding claims 12, 28, and 32, the disclosure of Cui teaches:
Generate a second time to a first pathloss reference signal transmission after reception of a downlink signal (fig.2 and par.[0034] which depicts a TfirstRS which may be a SSB or another type of pathloss reference signal); and
Identify a periodicity of the pathloss reference signal (fig.2 depicts the element 212 which defines the periodicity of the pathloss reference signal, par.[0034] note either element 218 and 222 or 210 and 216, wherein if the SSB is received first it can be the pathloss reference signal, and if the UE receives RS 210 it is the first reference signal)
Wherein to generate the TCI state switch delay time is further based on the second time and the periodicity (fig.2 depicts the switch delay after the different periods discussed in fig.2).
Claim(s) 11, 27, and 31, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (US 2024/0204970 A1) in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2022/0159772 A1), and further in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0178982 A1).
Regarding claims 11, 27, and 31, the disclosure of Cui and Raghavan TCI state switching delay and wherein a downlink reference signal is identified by the UE device (fig.3 and par.[0035] which recites, the SSB which is a downlink reference signal or another type of DL-RS), but may not disclose: teaches:
wherein the TCI state switch delay time is a sum of a value related to a slot , the first time, and three times a second time associated with a subframe and the slot.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Matsumura teaches:
wherein a downlink reference signal is identified by the UE device, wherein the TCI state switch delay time is a sum of a value related to a slot , the first time, and three times a second time associated with a subframe and the slot (fig.6 and par.[0193] which recites, in part, “In the example shown in FIG. 6, in the CC with a known TCI state, the TCI state switching/activation is performed afterT.sub.HARQ+3N.sup.subframe,μ.sub.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the disclosures of Cui and Rahavan, with the disclosure of Matsumura. The motivation/suggestion would have been that the UE needs a sufficient amount of time to process and perform TCI switching when the UE doesn’t know the TCI state.
Claim(s) 13, 29, and 33, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (US 2024/0204970 A1) in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2022/0159772 A1), and further in view of 3GPP “Email Discussion summary for feMIMO RRM”, May 2021, R4-2120226.
Regarding claims 13, 29, and 33, the combination of the Cui and Rahavan teach the delay TCI state switch but does not disclose:
Wherein the TCI state switch delay time based on a value related to a slot plus the first time, plus a sum of (a) the second time, (b) four times the periodicity, and (c) two milliseconds.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of 3GPP teaches:
wherein the TCI state switch delay time based on a value related to a slot plus the first time, plus a sum of (a) the second time, (b) four times the periodicity, and (c) two milliseconds (pg.2 Topic #1: Unified TCI, T-DOC R4-2117438 Apple, proposal 5 Define MAC CE based Joint TCI State Switch for known TCI State as: THARQ + 3ms + max{TOk*(Tfirst-SSB + TSSB-proc) , NM*( Tfirst_target-PL-RS + 4*Ttarget_PL-RS + 2ms)}, because the MAC-CE is used to indicate the TCI switch slotn is added to the THARQ from slot reception to feedback, see Cui. Also as defined above the second time is a time for the PL-RS, along with addition of 4*Ttarget_PL-RS + 2ms, which are (b) and (c) respectively.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the disclosure of Cui and Rahavan, in view of 3GPP. The motivation/suggestion would have been to give the UE an opportunity to respectfully transition to a new TCI state.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0178982 A1) “Terminal, Radio Communication Method, and Base Station”
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411