DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10, 15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20200000359 in view of Hu (CN 205435751).
‘359 teaches a dividable dental care product, comprising a base part (30) having a handle portion (31) and an interconnection portion (40), and a head part (10) having an interconnection portion (20) and a dental care utility portion (11), wherein the base part and the head part are configured to be separably interconnected by their respective interconnection portion, wherein the interconnection portion of the head part comprises a tubular portion with an internal threading (21) formed on an inwardly facing envelope surface of the tubular portion, wherein the interconnection portion of the base part comprises a protruding portion extending along a longitudinal direction along a central axis from the handle portion towards a free end of the protruding portion, the protruding portion being provided with an external threading (41) formed in an outwardly facing envelope surface of the protruding portion, wherein the protruding portion is configured to be received into the tubular portion by a threading motion about the central axis, wherein the interconnection portion of the base part comprises a shoulder (base of threading) which extends radially outwardly from and circumferentially around the protruding portion and which presents an abutment surface configured to face the head part, wherein the tubular portion is provided with an end surface extending circumferentially around a mouth of the tubular portion, the abutment surface of the base part is configured to abut the end surface of the head part when the base part and head part are interconnected to each other in order to form said dividable dental care product.
‘359 teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the internal threading has a root thickness and a thread pitch as measured along long the central axis, wherein the thread pitch is at least two times the root thickness. Hu teaches a threading with a pitch that is two times the root thickness (root thickness, which is also known as thread depth, is 1mm; and thread pitch is 2.5mm; paragraph 0033; thus the pitch is 2 times the root thickness). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the threading of ‘359 with the threading of Hu to achieve the optimum performance of the threading connection.
With regards to claim 2, the abutment surface of the base part is configured to sealingly abut the end surface of the head part when the base part and head part are interconnected to each other in order to form said dividable dental care product (the base and head fit together to form a tight connection).
With regards to claim 5, the inwardly facing envelope surface comprises a non-threaded portion extending from the mouth a distance along the central axis, wherein the distance is at least equal to one times a root thickness of the internal threading (since the threading is helical, it is clear that at least one side of the inwardly facing envelope surface, opposite the start of the helical threading, would have a non-threaded portion equal to the root thickness).
With regards to claim 6, the protruding portion comprises a non-threaded portion extending from the shoulder a distance along the central axis, wherein the distance is at least equal to one times a root width of the external threading (since the threading is helical, it is clear that at least one side of the protruding portion, opposite the start of the helical threading, would have a non-threaded portion equal to the root width).
With regards to claim 7, the dividable dental care product is a toothbrush, wherein the dental care utility portion comprises a brush section (11) comprising a brush head formed in the head part at an end portion of the head part opposing the tubular portion and a plurality of bristles attached to a transversely oriented surface of the brush head.
With regards to claim 8, 19 and 20, the distance along the central axis between a distal end of the brush head and the mouth of the tubular portion is not specified, however, it would have been obvious to have the distance be at least 60mm (claim 8), between 60-90mm (claim 18) or between 60-80mm (claim 20) since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device. A device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device and therefore the claimed device is not patentable.
With regards to claim 9, an outer circumferential envelope surface of the shoulder of the base part is flush with an outer envelope surface of the head part at the mouth of the tubular portion when the base part and head part are interconnected to each other in order to form said dividable dental care product.
With regards to claim 10, the base part is rotationally symmetrical about the central axis (handle is rectangular and is symmetrical).
With regards to claim 15, ‘359 teaches a head part (10) configured to form part of a dividable dental care product (11), the head part having an interconnection portion (20) and a dental care utility portion (11), wherein the head part is configured to be separably interconnected with its interconnection portion to an interconnection portion (40) of a base part (30), wherein the interconnection portion of the head part comprises a tubular portion extending around a central axis and being provided with an internal threading (21) formed on an inwardly facing envelope surface of the tubular portion, wherein the tubular portion is provided with an end surface extending circumferentially around a mouth of the tubular portion, wherein the end surface of the head part is configured to abut an abutment surface (base of threading) of the base part facing the end surface of the head part, when the base part and the head part are interconnected to each other in order to form said dividable dental care product.
‘359 teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the internal threading has a root thickness and a thread pitch as measured along long the central axis, wherein the thread pitch is at least two times the root thickness. Hu teaches a threading with a pitch that is two times the root thickness (root thickness, which is also known as thread depth, is 1mm; and thread pitch is 2.5mm; paragraph 0033; thus the pitch is 2 times the root thickness). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the threading of ‘359 with the threading of Hu to achieve the optimum performance of the threading connection.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-13, 15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 211269079) in view of Hu (CN 205435751).
Liu teaches a dividable dental care product, comprising a base part (10) having a handle portion and an interconnection portion (9), and a head part (1) having an interconnection portion (8) and a dental care utility portion (5/7), wherein the base part and the head part are configured to be separably interconnected by their respective interconnection portion, wherein the interconnection portion of the head part comprises a tubular portion with an internal threading (paragraph 0026) formed on an inwardly facing envelope surface of the tubular portion, wherein the interconnection portion of the base part comprises a protruding portion extending along a longitudinal direction along a central axis from the handle portion towards a free end of the protruding portion, the protruding portion being provided with an external threading (paragraph 0026) formed in an outwardly facing envelope surface of the protruding portion, wherein the protruding portion is configured to be received into the tubular portion by a threading motion about the central axis, wherein the interconnection portion of the base part comprises a shoulder (base of threading) which extends radially outwardly from and circumferentially around the protruding portion and which presents an abutment surface configured to face the head part, wherein the tubular portion is provided with an end surface extending circumferentially around a mouth of the tubular portion, the abutment surface of the base part is configured to abut the end surface of the head part when the base part and head part are interconnected to each other in order to form said dividable dental care product.
Liu teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the internal threading has a root thickness and a thread pitch as measured along long the central axis, wherein the thread pitch is at least two times the root thickness. Hu teaches a threading with a pitch that is two times the root thickness (root thickness, which is also known as thread depth, is 1mm; and thread pitch is 2.5mm; paragraph 0033; thus the pitch is 2 times the root thickness). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the threading of Liu with the threading of Hu to achieve the optimum performance of the threading connection.
With regards to claim 2, the abutment surface of the base part is configured to sealingly abut the end surface of the head part when the base part and head part are interconnected to each other in order to form said dividable dental care product (the base and head fit together to form a tight connection).
With regards to claim 4, the inwardly facing envelope surface of the tubular portion is tapered such that an inner diameter of the inwardly facing envelope surface decreases with increased distance from the mouth of the tubular portion (figure 1 shows that the end of the of interconnection portions are rounded which is considered to be tapered).
With regards to claim 5, the inwardly facing envelope surface comprises a non-threaded portion extending from the mouth a distance along the central axis, wherein the distance is at least equal to one times a root thickness of the internal threading (since the threading is helical, it is clear that at least one side of the inwardly facing envelope surface, opposite the start of the helical threading, would have a non-threaded portion equal to the root thickness).
With regards to claim 6, the protruding portion comprises a non-threaded portion extending from the shoulder a distance along the central axis, wherein the distance is at least equal to one times a root width of the external threading (since the threading is helical, it is clear that at least one side of the protruding portion, opposite the start of the helical threading, would have a non-threaded portion equal to the root width).
With regards to claim 7, the dividable dental care product is a toothbrush, wherein the dental care utility portion comprises a brush section (5/7) comprising a brush head formed in the head part at an end portion of the head part opposing the tubular portion and a plurality of bristles attached to a transversely oriented surface of the brush head.
With regards to claim 8, 19 and 20, the distance along the central axis between a distal end of the brush head and the mouth of the tubular portion is not specified, however, it would have been obvious to have the distance be at least 60mm (claim 8), between 60-90mm (claim 18) or between 60-80mm (claim 20) since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device. A device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device and therefore the claimed device is not patentable.
With regards to claim 9, an outer circumferential envelope surface of the shoulder of the base part is flush with an outer envelope surface of the head part at the mouth of the tubular portion when the base part and head part are interconnected to each other in order to form said dividable dental care product.
With regards to claim 10, the base part is rotationally symmetrical about the central axis (handle is symmetrical).
With regards to claim 11, the base part and the head part are formed from different materials (paragraph 0026).
With regards to claim 12, the head part is formed of a polymer-based material (rubber).
With regards to claim 13, the base part (10) is formed of a wood-based material (paragraph 0026).
With regards to claim 15, ‘Liu teaches a head part (1) configured to form part of a dividable dental care product (5/7), the head part having an interconnection portion (6) and a dental care utility portion (5/7), wherein the head part is configured to be separably interconnected with its interconnection portion to an interconnection portion (9) of a base part (10), wherein the interconnection portion of the head part comprises a tubular portion extending around a central axis and being provided with an internal threading (paragraph 0026) formed on an inwardly facing envelope surface of the tubular portion, wherein the tubular portion is provided with an end surface extending circumferentially around a mouth of the tubular portion, wherein the end surface of the head part is configured to abut an abutment surface (base of threading) of the base part facing the end surface of the head part, when the base part and the head part are interconnected to each other in order to form said dividable dental care product.
Liu teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the internal threading has a root thickness and a thread pitch as measured along long the central axis, wherein the thread pitch is at least two times the root thickness. Hu teaches a threading with a pitch that is two times the root thickness (root thickness, which is also known as thread depth, is 1mm; and thread pitch is 2.5mm; paragraph 0033; thus the pitch is 2 times the root thickness). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the threading of Liu with the threading of Hu to achieve the optimum performance of the threading connection.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20200000359 or Liu (CN 211269079) both in view of Hu (CN 205435751) further in view of Shi (CN 108115230).
‘359 and Liu both in view of Hu teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach that the threading has a trapezoidal shape. Shi teaches a threading that is trapezoidal shaped (figure 5/6; abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the threading shape of ‘359 and Liu so that it is trapezoidal as taught by Shi since it will eliminate any cross threading or slipping from occurring while threading the base and head together.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20200000359 in view of Hu (CN 205435751) further in view of Pourova (CZ 33513).
and
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (‘079) in view of Hu (CN 205435751) further in view of Pourova (CZ 33513).
‘359 and Liu both in view of Hu teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however ‘359 fails to teach that material that the brush elements are made from and Liu fails to teach that the base could be made from a polymer material.
Pourova teaches a toothbrush with a replaceable head wherein the handle can be made from wood, plastic or metal and the head can be made from plastic or wood.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘359 so that the base and the head could be made from different materials and that the head could be made form a polymer (plastic) and the handle could be made from a polymer or a wood based material as taught by Pourova to reduce waste in the environment.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu so that the handle could be made from a polymer material as taught by Pourova to reduce waste in the environment since the polymer material is a recycled plastic.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20200000359 or Liu (‘079) both in view of Hu (CN 205435751) further in view of Baus (PGPub 20100200435).
‘359 and Liu in view of Hu teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention as shown above in claims 1 and 15, however fail to teach a kit with a plurality of heads to be used interchangeably. Baus teaches a toothbrush kit with several heads. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘359 and Liu with a kit of heads as taught by Baus to allow for the user to purchase a kit with several heads that can be used when one becomes worn.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20200000359 or Liu (‘079) both in view of Hu (CN 205435751) and Baus (PGPub 20100200435) and further in view of Pourova (‘513).
‘359 and Liu in view of Hu and Baus teach all the essential elements of claim 18 including having two base parts (Baus) however fail to teach that the base parts are made of different materials. Pourova teaches a toothbrush with a base portion that could be made form a polymer or a wood based material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the kit of Baus so that the handle could be made of different materials as taught by Pourova to allow for the various handles to be used depending on the user’s preference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 with DE 3425737 as a secondary reference have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hu (‘751) as a secondary reference.
Hu teaches a threaded surface with a thread pitch that is at least two times the root thickness (thread depth) thus a new rejection was made.
A google.com search found that root thickness is often called thread depth, which is what terminology Hu uses.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723