DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to amendment for Application 18/575845 filed 5/5/2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
3. Examiner statements in the mailed non-final with respect to obvious limitations including common knowledge or well-known in the art are taken to be admitted prior art because applicant failed to traverse the Examiner’s assertion, see MPEP 2144.03 C.
Applicant’s arguments in the amendment filed on 5/5/2026 regarding claim rejection under 35 USC § 102 have been considered and found unpersuasive. Thus, the rejection under 35 USC § 102 is maintained.
Applicant argues that the new amended is not taught by Lim. Examiner disagrees because Lim still teaches the claims as amended.
Lim teaches that Special User Information field or a Special STA Information Field may be included before the user information field in the Sensing NDPA frame. The Special User Information field or Special STA Information Field may contain specific AIDs. ¶0261-¶0264. For example, sensing NDPA frame utilizes Ranging NDPA frame. For example, if the NDPA type is Ranging or EHT, and the value of B31 of the user information field in the NDPA frame is set to a specific value, the specific value may indicate that the NDPA frame is a Sensing NDPA frame. See ¶0253-¶0258.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (hereinafter Lim) US 2026/0012826 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Lim teaches a device, the device comprising processing circuitry coupled to storage (Figs. 15 & 16; device), the processing circuitry configured to:
initiate sensing measurements by sending a sensing null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame to an access point (AP) responder (Figs. 15-16 & ¶0103-¶0104 & claim 1; initiator may transmit an NDPA frame e.g. sensing NDPA frame to the n responders. After a SIFS elapses from the time of transmitting the NDPA frame, the initiator may transmit an NDP frame to the n responders. ¶0102; sensing STAs may include STAs and Aps,), the NDPA frame comprising a station (STA) info field containing a specific association identification (AID) value to identify the frame as a Sensing NDPA frame (¶0261-¶0264Special User Information field or a Special STA Information Field may be included before the user information field in the Sensing NDPA frame. The Special User Information field or Special STA Information Field may contain specific AIDs. For example, sensing NDPA frame utilizes Ranging NDPA frame. For example, if the NDPA type is Ranging or EHT, and the value of B31 of the user information field in the NDPA frame is set to a specific value, the specific value may indicate that the NDPA frame is a Sensing NDPA frame. See ¶0253-¶0258. Also see Figs. 15-16, ¶0138-¶0172, ¶0186-¶0193);
and send one or more first null data packet (NDP) packets to the AP (Fig. 15 & ¶0104 & claim 1; After a SIFS elapses from the time of transmitting the NDPA frame, the initiator may transmit an NDP frame to the n responders. ¶0102; sensing STAs may include STAs and APs).
Regarding Claim 2, Lim further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to identify one or more second NDP packets received from the AP responder (Figs. 15-16 & ¶0103-¶0104 & claim 1; initiator may transmit an NDPA frame to the n responders. After a SIFS elapses from the time of transmitting the NDPA frame, the initiator may transmit an NDP frame to the n responders).
Regarding Claim 3, Lim further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: identify one or more second NDP packets received from the AP responder instead of sending one or more first null data packet (NDP) packets to the AP responder (Figs. 15-16 & ¶0103-¶0104 & claim 1; the initiator may transmit an NDP frame to the n responders which means that one or more second NDP packets are being send to different responders).
Regarding Claim 4, Lim further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to append an STA info field (¶0106; FIG. 15 and/or FIG. 16, for the transmission of the NDP frame, the sensing STA may transmit an NDPA frame to inform about the transmission of the NDP frame. In this case, the NDPA frame may be configured as follows to indicate that the NDP frame transmitted for channel measurement is transmitted for a sensing operation) using a particular association identification (AID) value to identify the sensing NDPA frame (¶0186-¶0190; Special User Field may include a specific Association Identifier (AID) to distinguish it from other user fields).
Regarding Claim 5, Lim further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more first NDP packets are sent after short inter-frame space (SIFS) of the sensing NDPA frame (Figs. 15-16; see SIFS for sensing NDPA frame).
Regarding Claim 6, Lim further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the NDPA frame comprise a Measurement Setup ID which associates the transmission with a previously established sensing setup (¶0184-¶0198; sounding Dialog Token Number field with a length of 6 bits may be used to represent the measurement instance ID. The name of this field may remain the same or may be changed to Measurement Instance ID).
Regarding Claim 7, Lim further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the NDPA frame comprise a dedicated signaling field that specify whether uplink (UL) NDP and downlink (DL) NDP is needed (¶0230-¶0232; Technical Feature 3. G. vii. 1. Both UL (trigger frame-based sounding, TF) and DL (NDPA-based sounding, NDPA) sounding can be present within one sensing measurement. Therefore, the information may be intended to indicate which of the UL/DL soundings is performed first).
Regarding Claim 8, Lim further teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver configured to transmit and receive wireless signals (¶0096-¶0098; see transceiver 630).
Regarding Claim 10, Lim teaches an access point (AP) device (Figs. 15-16 & ¶0103; initiator may be an AP or non-AP STA), the AP device comprising processing circuitry coupled to storage, the processing circuitry configured to: identify a sensing null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame received from a non-AP station (STA) device (Figs. 15-16 & ¶0101-¶0104 & claim 1; a method for transmitting NDP frames to a non-AP STA to perform WLAN sensing using Wi-Fi signaling, or for transmitting NDP frames to a non-AP STA, including information about the NDP frames to indicate that the transmitted NDPA frames are NDPA frames for sensing (i.e., Sensing NDPA). ¶0102; sensing STAs may include STAs and Aps. ¶0103; initiator may be an AP or non-AP STA. This means that the device receives NDPA frame from non-STA), the NDPA frame comprising a station (STA) info field containing a specific association identification (AID) value to identify the frame as a Sensing NDPA frame (¶0261-¶0264Special User Information field or a Special STA Information Field may be included before the user information field in the Sensing NDPA frame. The Special User Information field or Special STA Information Field may contain specific AIDs. For example, sensing NDPA frame utilizes Ranging NDPA frame. For example, if the NDPA type is Ranging or EHT, and the value of B31 of the user information field in the NDPA frame is set to a specific value, the specific value may indicate that the NDPA frame is a Sensing NDPA frame. See ¶0253-¶0258. Also see Figs. 15-16, ¶0138-¶0172, ¶0186-¶0193);
and identify one or more first NDP packets received from the STA device (Fig. 15 & ¶0101-¶0104 & claim 1; After a SIFS elapses from the time of transmitting the NDPA frame, the initiator may transmit an NDP frame to the n responders. ¶0102; sensing STAs may include STAs and Aps. ¶0103; initiator may be an AP or non-AP STA. This means that the device receives NDPA frame from non-STA which indicates identify the packet).
Regarding Claim 11, Lim further teaches the AP device of claim 10, the processing circuitry is further configured to: send one or more second null data packet (NDP) packets to the STA device (Fig. 15 & ¶0101-¶0104 & claim 1; After a SIFS elapses from the time of transmitting the NDPA frame, the initiator may transmit an NDP frame to the n responders. ¶0102; sensing STAs may include STAs and Aps. ¶0103; initiator may be an AP or non-AP STA. This means that the device receives NDPA frame from non-STA which indicates identify the packet).
Regarding Claim 12, Lim further teaches the AP device of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: send one or more second null data packet (NDP) packets to the STA device instead of identifying one or more first NDP packets received from the STA device (Fig. 15 & ¶0101-¶0104 & claim 1; After a SIFS elapses from the time of transmitting the NDPA frame, the initiator may transmit an NDP frame to the n responders. ¶0102; sensing STAs may include STAs and Aps. ¶0103; initiator may be an AP or non-AP STA. This means that the device receives NDPA frame from non-STA which indicates identify the packet).
Claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 1, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 14, Lim further teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise appending an STA info field using a particular association identification (AID) value to identify the sensing NDPA frame (¶0186-¶0190; Special User Field may include a specific Association Identifier (AID) to distinguish it from other user fields).
Regarding Claim 15, Lim further teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13, wherein the one or more NDP packets are sent after short inter-frame space (SIFS) of the sensing NDPA frame (Figs. 15-16; see SIFS for sensing NDPA frame).
Regarding Claim 16, Lim further teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13, wherein the NDPA frame comprise a Measurement Setup ID which associates the transmission with a previously established sensing setup (¶0184-¶0198; sounding Dialog Token Number field with a length of 6 bits may be used to represent the measurement instance ID. The name of this field may remain the same or may be changed to Measurement Instance ID).
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claims 1 and 10, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 18, Lim further teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising appending an STA info field using a particular association identification (AID) value to identify the sensing NDPA frame (¶0186-¶0190; Special User Field may include a specific Association Identifier (AID) to distinguish it from other user fields).
Regarding Claim 19, Lim further teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the one or more NDP packets are sent after short inter-frame space (SIFS) of the sensing NDPA frame (Figs. 15-16; see SIFS for sensing NDPA frame).
Regarding Claim 20, Lim further teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the NDPA frame comprise a Measurement Setup ID which associates the transmission with a previously established sensing setup (¶0184-¶0198; sounding Dialog Token Number field with a length of 6 bits may be used to represent the measurement instance ID. The name of this field may remain the same or may be changed to Measurement Instance ID).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Chu WO 2018/200164 A1.
Regarding Claim 9, Lim teaches the device of claim 8, but does not expressly teach further comprising an antenna coupled to the transceiver to cause to send the frame.
Chu is analogous art because Chu is directed to a first communication device (e.g., the client station 154) transmits a PPDU 1116 that includes an SU UL NDPA 1116 having information indicating the initiation of an SU ranging measurement exchange. In an embodiment, the SU UL NDPA in the PPDU 1116 is a type of NDPA frame specifically for initiating an SU ranging measurement exchange such as the SU ranging measurement exchange 1100. The SU UL NDPA in the PPDU 1116 causes the AP 114 [Ap responder] to be ready to receive an NDP as part of an SU ranging measurement exchange. See Figs. 11A & 11B & ¶00148.
Chu also teaches further comprising an antenna coupled to the transceiver to cause to send the frame (Fig. 1 & ¶0033 & ¶0047; includes a plurality of transceivers 134, and the transceivers 134 are coupled to a plurality of antennas 138. Although three transceivers 134 and three antennas 138 are illustrated in Fig. 1, the AP 114 includes other suitable numbers (e.g., 1, 2, 4, 5, etc.) of transceivers 134 and antennas 138 in other embodiments. In some embodiments, the AP 114 includes a higher number of antennas 138 than transceivers 134, and antenna switching techniques are utilized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Chu into the system of Lim in order to enable efficient two-way communication, improving signal strength, and extending coverage. A transceiver combines a transmitter and receiver in one unit, allowing devices to send and receive data simultaneously (common knowledge).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAHRAN ABU ROUMI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2455
/MAHRAN Y ABU ROUMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455