DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 05 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected methods, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05 July 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, the Figures do not appear to depict “a projection of a first side of the liquid pushing plate” (claim 2). Therefore, this feature must be shown or canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 requires “a projection of a first side of the liquid pushing plate”. However, it is unclear what kind of feature this “projection” reads on, as it is not depicted in the Figures or described with detail in the written specification. The pushing plates 2 illustrated in Figs. 1-5, for example, are all shown as having flat first and second sides that are not characterized by any additional projection configured as a straight line or arc extending from the side. It unclear if this recitation is drawn to a distinct projection element disposed on a surface of each pushing plate, or instead is intended to describe how the pushing plates themselves project inwardly in a radial direction within the centrifuge chamber.
Claims 3-8 are rejected as being dependent on claim 2.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the shell wall" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is believed that claim 6 should be dependent on claim 5 rather than claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishida (US 5227066).
With respect to claim 1, Ishida discloses a cell centrifugation apparatus comprising a centrifuge chamber (Figure 1:21) and one or more liquid pushing plates (Figure 1:20). The centrifuge chamber ha a rotation axis and is connected with a rotation drive mechanism (Figure 1:31, generally). The centrifuge chamber rotates around its rotation axis under drive of the rotation drive mechanism for centrifuging a live cell suspension, such as a blood sample. Column 3, line 65 to column 4, line 32 indicates that the pushing plates are used to push the blood sample to rotate synchronously along a same rotation direction as the centrifuge chamber (“the septa are rotated in the same rotating direction and at the same angular velocity as the rotor at the time of centrifugal separation while the entire portion of the septa or its part is immersed into the solution in the rotor”).
With respect to claims 2-4, Ishida discloses the apparatus as described above. Ishida further shows in Figs. 1, 3a, 3b and 7 that the liquid pushing plates are characterized by opposing first and second sides that project in a straight line through the interior of the centrifuge chamber in a radial direction. The pushing plates are separated from the inner side wall of the centrifuge chamber by a gap. See Figs. 1, 3a and 6a. Fig. 7 shows that there are four pushing plates 20 circumferentially and uniformly distributed relative to the rotation axis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Ishida is believed to be the closest prior art for the reasons expressed above. Ishida, however, does not teach the shell structure and liquid-through structures required by the claims. The Kabaha (US 9586213) and Miltenyi (US 8747290) references teach the state of the art regarding cell centrifugation structures having a shell wall and various liquid connection tubes. These references, however, do not teach the pushing plates configured to synchronously push a blood sample during rotation. Furthermore, it is unclear how the Ishida centrifugation device would be modified to include a first liquid-through structure, a second liquid-through structure, and a shell wall even after considering the teachings provided by Kabaha and Miltenyi.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Dennehey (US 4936820) and Brown (US 6511411) references teach the state of the art regarding cell centrifugation apparatuses.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799