DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s response to election/restriction filed 08/21/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 and 16-19 in the reply filed on 08/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has not identified where Von Hagen discloses the additional technical features recited in each of the claimed inventions. This is not found persuasive because the restriction is based on the technical relationship shared among the inventions and not all of the technical features of each invention. In the instant case the shared technical feature is dispersing graphene material using polyalkylene oxides as a dispersant in a liquid continuous phase wherein the polyalkylene oxides comprise at least one aromatic radical.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-15 and 20-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/21/2026.
Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are pending. Claims 1-11 and 16-19 are being examined. Claims 12-15 and 20-21 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions. Claim 9 is canceled.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 16-17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Considering claim 11, the process requires adding the dispersant in a liquid continuous phase; however, claim 11 has steps for only charging the dispersant and then adding and dispersing the graphene material. It is unclear where/when the continuous phase is added to the dispersion. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted such that the dispersant is charged into the liquid continuous phase and then the graphene material is added and dispersed. In addition, the process comprises a step i and a step j; the numbering/lettering suggests steps a-h prior to the claimed steps. It is unclear what steps a-h are and/or would be.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Von Hagen (WO 2020/173821 A1).
Considering claim 1, Von Hagen teaches dispersing graphene material using polyalkylene oxides as a dispersant in a liquid continuous phase wherein the polyalkylene oxides comprise at least one aromatic radical (Von Hagen, claims 1 and 11, page 6 lines 5-23).
Considering claim 6, Von Hagen teaches the polyalkylene oxides do not contain any other heteroatoms apart from oxygen and optionally nitrogen atoms by teaching they are based on polymerized ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, butylene oxide and mixtures thereof (Von Hagen, paragraph bridging pages 3 and 4).
Considering claim 8, Von Hagen teaches the graphene material is dispersed in a liquid continuous phase containing as principal constituent compounds selected from the group consisting of DMF (dimethyl formamide), DMSO (dimethyl sulfoxide), and NMP (N-methyl pyrrolidone) (Von Hagen, page 5 lines 21-27).
Considering claim 10-11,Von Hagen teaches charging a continuous phase and initially charging/adding a dispersant and then adding and dispersing the carbon material (i.e., graphene) (Von Hagen, page 13 line 20 – page 14 line 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Hagen (WO 2020/173821 A1).
Considering claims 7 and 18, Von Hagen teaches the use of a carbon-based material which consists of 90 to100% by weight of carbon and is electrically conductive; Von Hagen teaches graphene is an example of suitable electrically conductive carbon-based material (Von Hagen, page 6 lines 5-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select any type of graphene including one according to ISO-TS 80004-13 from the claimed list of graphene materials. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so because any graphene that consists of 90 to100% by weight of carbon and is electrically conductive is suitable for Von Hagen’s method of dispersion.
Conclusion
/ANITA NASSIRI-MOTLAGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734