DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On multiple instances, the term “buttery” is used, including in Paragraph [0083], which makes mention of a “buttery charger”. The examiner assumes this is a typo for “battery charger” and that the applicant did not intend to have a charger incorporate butter of any kind.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (US 2016/0351972).
Regarding Claim 1, Hsu meets the claimed,
A power storage system ([0005] teaches a battery device, which is a power storage system), comprising: a first cell group ([0018] teaches a first cell group comprising acid rechargeable cells) including a plurality of first cells connected in series ([0017] and Fig. 1 teach battery device 10, which possesses multiple acid rechargeable cell units 12, which are connected in series), each of the plurality of first cells being a non-aqueous secondary battery ([0009] teaches the acid rechargeable cells being lithium iron phosphate cells, which are non-aqueous); and a second cell group ([0018] teaches a second cell group comprising alkaline rechargeable cells) including a plurality of second cells connected in series ([0008] teaches that at least two alkaline rechargeable cells are serially connected to each other), each of the plurality of second cells being an aqueous secondary battery ([0009] teaches that the alkaline rechargeable cells are nickel-zinc cells, which are aqueous), wherein one or more cells of the plurality of second cells included in the second cell group are connected in parallel to a corresponding one of the plurality of first cells included in the first cell group ([0017] and Fig. 1 teach that every two alkaline rechargeable cells 131 are parallel to one acid rechargeable cell 121).
Regarding Claim 2, Hsu meets the claimed,
The power storage system of claim 1, wherein; the one or more of the plurality of second cells included in the second cell group have a total charge voltage equal to or less than a charge voltage of the corresponding one of the plurality of first cells included in the first cell group ([0018] teaches that an acid rechargeable cell has an electric potential of 3.2 to 3.6V and an alkaline rechargeable cell has an electric potential of about 1.6V to 1.8V. Therefore, the plurality of second cells, nickel-zinc alkaline cells, has equal electric potential to the first cell, LFP cell).
Regarding Claim 3, Hsu meets the claimed,
The power storage system of claim 1, wherein; the non-aqueous secondary battery includes a lithium-ion secondary battery ([0009] teaches the acid rechargeable cells being lithium iron phosphate cells).
Regarding Claim 5, Hsu meets the claimed,
The power storage system of claim 1, wherein: the aqueous secondary battery includes a sealed aqueous secondary battery ([0009] teaches that the alkaline rechargeable cells are nickel-zinc cells, which are sealed; see also, applicant's specification [0023], "A type of aqueous secondary battery (sealed aqueous secondary battery) is not limited, and for example, […] a nickel-zinc battery").
Regarding Claim 6, Hsu meets the claimed,
The power storage system of claim 5, wherein: the sealed aqueous secondary battery includes a nickel-zinc battery ([0009] teaches that the alkaline rechargeable cells are nickel-zinc cells).
Regarding Claim 7, Hsu meets the claimed,
The power storage system of claim 1, wherein: the non-aqueous secondary battery is a lithium-ion secondary battery ([0009] teaches the acid rechargeable cells being lithium iron phosphate cells), and the aqueous secondary battery is a nickel-zinc battery ([0009] teaches that the alkaline rechargeable cells are nickel-zinc cells, which are aqueous), and two cells that are the nickel-zinc batteries are connected in parallel to corresponding one cell that is the lithium-ion secondary battery ([0017] and Fig. 1 teach that every two alkaline rechargeable cells 131 are parallel to one acid rechargeable cell 121).
Regarding Claim 8, Hsu meets the claimed,
The power storage system of claim 6, wherein: the plurality of second cells each of which is the nickel-zinc battery has a total charge power amount that is 0.5 times or more of a charge power amount of the power storage system ([0020] and Fig. 1 teaches that acid rechargeable cell unit 12 has a capacity close or equal to that of alkaline rechargeable cell unit 13. Unit 12 is made up of one acid rechargeable cell and Unit 13 is made up of two alkaline rechargeable cells).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2016/0351972) in view of Schaefer et al. (US 2012/0282513).
Hsu does not specifically teach an electrode containing manganese.
Schaefer is analogous to the art in that it teaches a battery cathode for use in a battery.
Schaefer meets the claimed,
The power storage system of claim 3, wherein: the lithium-ion secondary battery includes a positive electrode including a lithium transition metal oxide as a positive electrode active material, the lithium transition metal oxide including manganese ([0008] teaches a Lithium nickel-manganese-cobalt electrode material).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a lithium nickel-manganese-cobalt electrode as taught by Schaefer instead of the LPF electrode taught by Hsu as the LNMC electrode has a higher energy density (see [0008]).
Conclusion
/A.Y.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744