DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 11 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: in both lines 2 and 8 “a metering system (109)” is recited. There is a minor antecedent basis issue with two recitals of this metering system. However, as both are recited as the same element “(109)” they will be considered as the same. As such, the second recitation will be considered as “the metering system (109)” or the like.
Regardless, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshi (US 20170187053) in view of Yang et al. ("Analysis of thermodynamic processes involving hydrogen", INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF HYDROGEN ENERGY, published 13 AUG 2008; all reference to copy of record 01/02/2024 with the IDS of the same day; hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Hoshi teaches a drive system (100) for providing energy to drive a load (abstract; [0029]), the drive system (100) comprising:
a compressed gas tank (101) with a pressure sensor (103) and a temperature sensor (105) (temperature/pressure sensors 41/42 with high-pressure tank 21 in gas supplying device 20; [0048] “gas supplying/discharging device 20 includes a high-pressure tank 21”; see also [0054] and [0081]; see also fig. 1 showing a representation the tank with sensors, valves and pump),
an energy converter (107) for converting energy from a gas stored in the compressed gas tank (101) into drive energy (fuel cell system 100 with fuel cell stack 1; [0025]; [0029]),
a metering system (109) for metering gas from the compressed gas tank (101) into the energy converter (107) ([0047-48]; see also at least [0053] teaching at least that “anode pressure control value 24 is controlled to open and close by the controller 101. By this open/close control, a pressure of the anode gas to be supplied to the fuel cell stack 1 is adjusted” in view of [0198] teaching that the adjustment is part of a stack request flow rate calculation for metering/calculating fuel flow rate to the cell via gas supplying device 20; see figs. 1 and 6-7; see also [0082]), and
a control device (111) (101; [0080]) configured to calculate a temperature of gas flowing in the metering system (109) by means of a mathematical model (200) that models gas flowing from the compressed gas tank (101) into the metering system (109) (see at least [0168-174] including [0174] “gas temperature calculation unit 346 calculates the gas temperature”; see fig. 5 showing the modeled calculation of gas temperature in the metering system in view of fig. 1),
wherein the control device (111) is further configured to provide the mathematical model (200) with measured values, which were determined by means of the pressure sensor (103) and/or the temperature sensor (105), as input values ([0168]; see also [0175-176]),
wherein the control device (111) is further configured to provide the calculated temperature of the gas flowing into the metering system (109) to a supplementary system (see at least fig. 5 showing the calculated temperature(s) is provided to a further/supplementary system).
Hoshi does not directly and specifically state that the model models an isenthalpic state change (teaching regarding a related gas enthalpy calculation – see at least [0168]).
However, Yang teaches analysis of thermodynamic processes involving hydrogen (title – all throughout) including modeling an isenthalpic state change (heading 2.2 - pp.4415 to 4417).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the drive system having control via calculation/modeling of gas enthalpy of Hoshi with the knowledge taught regard isenthalpic expansion modeling and curves especially for hydrogen of Yang. This is because such isenthalpic expansion modeling allows for modeling throttled gas expansion for controlling the release of e.g. hydrogen (2.2 of Yang; see also [0044] of Hoshi). This is important in order to properly control and supply a fuel cell for powering a vehicle safely (see abstract pf Yang and [0029] of Hoshi).
Regarding claim 2, Hoshi teaches that the energy converter (107) is a fuel cell system (see at least abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Hoshi and Yang lack teaching that the energy converter (107) is an internal combustion engine.
However, Hoshi does disclose use of the system in a vehicle (see at least [0029]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the knowledge of measurement for controlling providing energy to drive a vehicle with isenthalpic expansion modeling of Hoshi and Yang with use in an internal combustion engine driven vehicle. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the measurements regarding the gas temperature and pressure to be useful in vehicles generally supplying gas as energy to drive a load which is a vehicle is the desired result (see at least abstract and [0029] of Hoshi).
Regarding claim 4, Hoshi teaches that the load is a mechanical system (see at least [0029] and [0166]).
Regarding claim 5, Hoshi lacks direct and specific teaching that the mathematical model (200) comprises a correction term which mathematically represents an influence of a pressure reducer and/or a supply channel for supplying gas from the compressed gas tank (101) to the energy converter (107).
However, Hoshi does further disclose an “anode pressure control valve 24” (see at least [0053]) which works with the jet pump (25; see fig. 1) to adjust the pressure of the gas to the fuel cell ([0053]) which is calculated by the model ([0175-177]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pressure control valve, pressure sensor and model calculations of Hoshi with a correction term. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected a correction term in the model / calculations to be one of several straightforward ways (mathematical correction/offset; specifical physical amount control or calculation from other known values) of accounting for the pressure control valve’s pressure reduction because more accurate understanding of the pressure before and after such a valve / pressure reducer allows for better control of the volume flow of gas (see [0176] of Hoshi).
Regarding claim 6, Hoshi teaches that an area between the compressed gas tank (101) and the energy converter (107) is pressure sensor-free and temperature sensor-free (see at least fig. 1 showing various areas –i.e. all areas without a temperature of pressure sensor– which are pressure/temperature sensor-free).
Regarding claim 7, Hoshi teaches that the drive system (100) comprises a pressure accumulator (101), comprising a pressure sensor (103) and a temperature sensor (105), and the control device (111) is configured to provide the mathematical model (200) measured values as input values (see at least [0168] and [0175-176] teaching regarding input pressure and temperature values; see also figs. 2 and 5).
Hoshi lacks direct and specific teaching regarding a plurality of pressure accumulators each comprising a pressure and a temperature sensor and that the control device provides averaged measured values of the respective pressure sensors and temperature sensors.
However, Hoshi does disclose using average values of measured temperature ([0151]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the knowledge of averaging measured values of Hoshi with averaging measured values from plural pressure accumulators. This is important in order to a provide system wide understanding of the measured values.
Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device (here plural pressure accumulators with respective pressure / temperature sensors) involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B)).
Regarding claim 8, Hoshi does not directly and specifically state that the mathematical model (200) comprises a characteristic curve of an isenthalpic state change of a respective gas.
However, Yang teaches analysis of thermodynamic processes involving hydrogen (title – all throughout) including modeling an isenthalpic state change (heading 2.2 - pp.4415 to 4417) with a characteristic curve of an isenthalpic state change of at least hydrogen (see at least figs. 5, 6 and 7 and heading 2.2).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the drive system having control via calculation/modeling of gas enthalpy of Hoshi with the knowledge taught regard isenthalpic expansion modeling and characteristic curves especially for hydrogen of Yang. This is because such isenthalpic expansion modeling and characteristic curves allow for modeling throttled gas expansion for controlling the release of e.g. hydrogen (2.2 of Yang; see also [0044] of Hoshi). This is important in order to properly control and supply a fuel cell for powering a vehicle safely (see abstract pf Yang and [0029] of Hoshi).
Regarding claim 9, Hoshi teaches a method (300) (see at least title, [0001]) for determining a temperature (see at least fig. 7; element 346 “post-joining gas temperature calculation unit 346” [0164]) in a metering system (109) ([0047-48]; see also at least [0053] teaching at least that “anode pressure control value 24 is controlled to open and close by the controller 101. By this open/close control, a pressure of the anode gas to be supplied to the fuel cell stack 1 is adjusted” in view of [0198] teaching that the adjustment is part of a stack request flow rate calculation for metering/calculating fuel flow rate to the cell via gas supplying device 20; see figs. 1 and 6-7; see also [0082]) of a drive system (100) (abstract; [0029]),
wherein the drive system (100) comprises:
compressed gas tank (101) with a pressure sensor (103) and a temperature sensor (105) (temperature/pressure sensors 41/42 with high-pressure tank 21 in gas supplying device 20; [0048] “gas supplying/discharging device 20 includes a high-pressure tank 21”; see also [0054] and [0081]; see also fig. 1 showing a representation the tank with sensors, valves and pump),
an energy converter (107) for converting energy from a gas stored in the compressed gas tank (101) into drive energy (fuel cell system 100 with fuel cell stack 1; [0025]; [0029]), and
a metering system (109) for metering gas from the compressed gas tank (101) into the energy converter (107) ([0047-48]; see also at least [0053] teaching at least that “anode pressure control value 24 is controlled to open and close by the controller 101. By this open/close control, a pressure of the anode gas to be supplied to the fuel cell stack 1 is adjusted” in view of [0198] teaching that the adjustment is part of a stack request flow rate calculation for metering/calculating fuel flow rate to the cell via gas supplying device 20; see figs. 1 and 6-7; see also [0082]),
wherein the determining method (300) comprises:
a determining step (301) in which a pressure (see at least [0171]) and a temperature in the compressed gas tank (101) are determined (see at least [0168]; see also [0175-176]; see also fig. 5),
a modeling step (303) in which a change of gas flowing from the compressed gas tank (101) into the metering system (109) is modeled by means of a mathematical model (200) ([0164]; see fig. 5 showing the modeled calculation of gas temperature in the metering system in view of fig. 1; see also [0168-174] including [0174] “gas temperature calculation unit 346 calculates the gas temperature”),
a calculation step (305) in which a temperature of the gas flowing into the metering system (109) is calculated by means of the mathematical model (200) ([0172-176] including [0174] “gas temperature calculation unit 346 calculates the gas temperature” as well as equation 1 in [0175-176] teaching that pressure is at least in part “calculated on the basis of the post-joining gas temperature calculated by the post-joining gas temperature calculation unit 346”; see fig. 5 showing the modeled calculation of gas temperature in a model in the metering system in view of fig. 1), and
a providing step (307) for providing the calculated temperature of the gas flowing into the metering system (109) to a supplementary system (see at least fig. 5 showing the calculated temperature(s) is/are provided to a further / supplementary system).
Hoshi does not directly and specifically state that the model models an isenthalpic state change (teaching regarding a related gas enthalpy calculation – see at least [0168]).
However, Yang teaches analysis of thermodynamic processes involving hydrogen (title – all throughout) including modeling an isenthalpic state change (heading 2.2 - pp.4415 to 4417).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the drive system having control via calculation/modeling of gas enthalpy of Hoshi with the knowledge taught regard isenthalpic expansion modeling and curves especially for hydrogen of Yang. This is because such isenthalpic expansion modeling allows for modeling throttled gas expansion for controlling the release of e.g. hydrogen (2.2 of Yang; see also [0044] of Hoshi). This is important in order to properly control and supply a fuel cell for powering a vehicle safely (see abstract pf Yang and [0029] of Hoshi).
Regarding claim 10, Hoshi teaches a vehicle (400) (see at least [0003] and [0029]) comprising a drive system (100) according to claim 1 (see treatment of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 11, Hoshi teaches a tank system (500) (high-pressure tank 21 in gas supplying device 20 with temperature/pressure sensors 41/42; [0048] “gas supplying/discharging device 20 includes a high-pressure tank 21”; see also [0054] and [0081]; see also fig. 1 showing a representation the tank with sensors, valves and pump) for supplying a gas (at least hydrogen – see [0032]; [0170-171]) to a metering system (109) ([0047-48]; see also at least [0053] teaching at least that “anode pressure control value 24 is controlled to open and close by the controller 101. By this open/close control, a pressure of the anode gas to be supplied to the fuel cell stack 1 is adjusted” in view of [0198] teaching that the adjustment is part of a stack request flow rate calculation for metering/calculating fuel flow rate to the cell via gas supplying device 20; see figs. 1 and 6-7; see also [0082]) of an energy converter (107) (fuel cell system 100 with fuel cell stack 1; [0025]; [0029]),
wherein the tank system (500) comprises:
a compressed gas tank (501) with a pressure sensor (503) and a temperature sensor (505) (high-pressure tank 21 in gas supplying device 20 with temperature/pressure sensors 41/42; [0048] “gas supplying/discharging device 20 includes a high-pressure tank 21”; see also [0054] and [0081]; see also fig. 1 showing a representation the tank with sensors, valves and pump), and
a control device (507) (101 with 102; [0080]; [0092] “controller 101 includes a system control unit 102”),
wherein the control device (507) is configured to calculate (see fig. 2 in view of fig. 5 showing that the model and calculating units are part of control device 101/102) a temperature of gas flowing in the metering system (109) of the energy converter (107) by means of a mathematical model (200) that models change of a gas flowing from the compressed gas tank into the metering system (109) of the energy converter (107) ([0164]; see fig. 5 showing the modeled calculation of gas temperature in the metering system in view of fig. 1; see also [0168-174] including [0174] “gas temperature calculation unit 346 calculates the gas temperature”),
wherein the control device (507) is further configured to provide measured values determined by means of the pressure sensor (503) and the temperature sensor (505) as input values to the mathematical model (200) (see at least [0168] and [0175-176] teaching regarding input pressure and temperature values; see also figs. 2 and 5),
wherein the control device (507) is further configured to provide the calculated temperature of the gas flowing into the metering system (109) to a supplementary system (see at least fig. 5 showing the calculated temperature(s) is/are provided to a further / supplementary system).
Hoshi does not directly and specifically state that the model models an isenthalpic state change (teaching regarding a related gas enthalpy calculation – see at least [0168]).
However, Yang teaches analysis of thermodynamic processes involving hydrogen (title – all throughout) including modeling an isenthalpic state change (heading 2.2 - pp.4415 to 4417).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the drive system having control via calculation/modeling of gas enthalpy of Hoshi with the knowledge taught regard isenthalpic expansion modeling and curves especially for hydrogen of Yang. This is because such isenthalpic expansion modeling allows for modeling throttled gas expansion for controlling the release of e.g. hydrogen (2.2 of Yang; see also [0044] of Hoshi). This is important in order to properly control and supply a fuel cell for powering a vehicle safely (see abstract pf Yang and [0029] of Hoshi).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PHILIP L COTEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855