DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al., U.S. Patent No. 10,327,066, patented on June 18, 2019 (Jung), in view of Yu et al., U.S. Publication No. 2007/0263878, published on November 15, 2007 (Yu).
As to Claim 1, Jung discloses a sound reproduction apparatus [1] comprising: a speaker unit [11]; and a hollow sound conduit [12] having one end side [14] closed and another end side serving as an open end fitted with the speaker unit [11] (see Figs. 1-3), wherein the sound conduit [12] has a plurality of holes [12a] (see Figs. 1-3), the holes [12a] each inclined in a beam generation direction of sound radiated through the plurality of holes [12b] (the holes are provided on the radiation surface [12b] which is at an angle, the angle determines the beam generation direction; col. 10, lines 60-64). Jung does not explicitly disclose that the holes each have a shape inclined in the beam generation direction. However, Jung discloses that the holes can have shapes different from the disclosed embodiments (col. 9, lines 47-50), and the use of inclined hole shapes to adjust directivity of sound was well known. Yu teaches a radiation surface [10] with a plurality of holes [11] each inclined in a beam generation direction [β] of sound radiated through the plurality of holes [11] (para. 0019; see Figs. 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, to incorporate the inclined plurality of holes, as taught by Yu, into the sound reproduction apparatus of Jung, to further adjust the directivity of sound emitted from the apparatus.
As to Claim 2, Jung and Yu remain as applied above to Claim 1. Jung further discloses that the hollow sound conduit includes a wall portion (sides of [12]) and a plate-shaped portion [12b], and the plurality of holes [12a] is provided in the plate-shaped portion [12b] (see Fig. 4).
As to Claim 5, Jung and Yu remain as applied above to Claim 1. Jung further discloses that the plurality of holes [12a] is substantially aligned along an extending direction of the sound conduit [12] (the holes are linearly aligned; col. 5, lines 13-16; see Fig. 1).
As to Claim 6, Jung and Yu remain as applied above to Claim 5. Jung further discloses that a diameter of each of the plurality of holes [12a] increases from a side close to the speaker unit [11] toward the one end side [14] (col. 5, lines 19-22; see Fig. 1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al., U.S. Patent No. 10,327,066, patented on June 18, 2019 (Jung), Yu et al., U.S. Publication No. 2007/0263878, published on November 15, 2007 (Yu), further in view of Ickler et al., U.S. Publication No. 2009/0274329, published on November 5, 2009 (Ickler).
As to Claim 8, Jung and Yu remain as applied above to Claim 5. Jung and Yu do not explicitly disclose that the speaker unit includes a tweeter unit that reproduces sound in a high frequency range of a predetermined frequency or more. However, incorporating a tweeter into a sound reproduction apparatus such as the one taught by Jung and Yu was well known. Ickler discloses a sound reproduction apparatus [10] similar to Jung and Yu, comprising a speaker unit [15] including a tweeter unit that reproduces sound in a high frequency range of a predetermined frequency or more (para. 0031). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, to provide any suitable frequency range speaker, including a tweeter in the sound generation apparatus of Jung and Yu, as a design choice for a desired frequency range.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7, and 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 3 recites the unique features of in a case where a direction substantially orthogonal to the plate-shaped portion is taken as 0°, an extending direction of the plate-shaped portion toward the speaker unit is taken as −90°, and an extending direction of the plate-shaped portion toward the one end side of the sound conduit is taken as 90°, the beam generation direction ranges from 60° to 90°. Claim 7 recites the unique features of the plurality of holes including a first hole group provided substantially aligned with respect to a first row along the extending direction of the sound conduit and a second hole group provided substantially aligned with respect to a second row along the extending direction of the sound conduit, and individual holes constituting the first hole group and individual holes constituting the second hole group are arranged in a staggered manner. Claim 9 recites the unique feature of the sound in the high frequency range of the predetermined frequency or more including a sound of 5 kHz or more. Claim 10 recites the unique features of the speaker unit reproducing a signal passing through a high-pass filter whose cutoff frequency equals the predetermined frequency. The closest prior art does not disclose or suggest such features.
Conclusion
/RYAN ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694