DETAILED ACTION
This office action response to the communication filed on 03/08/2023.
Claims 15-18 cancelled.
Claims 1-14, and 19-24 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (lDSs) submitted on August 27, 2025; and January 02, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-12, 14, 19-20, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Johansson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170055192 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a cell reselection configuration ([see, [0008], cell reselection procedure]) method,
performed by an access network device of a multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030], and Fig. 3, the access network device (serving eNB 303) and its multi-carrier cell (such as neighboring eNBs and Inter-RAT configuration]), comprising:
sending reselection configuration information of the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030], and Fig. 3, In step 311, UE 301 receives configuration from its serving eNB 303. The configuration information contains cell reselection criterion within the multi-carrier cell (such as neighboring eNBs and Inter-RAT configuration]),
wherein the reselection configuration information at least indicates at least one reselection threshold for a user equipment (UE) to perform cell reselection ([see, [0032-0033], connected mode cell reselection measurements thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, and a higher-priority neighbor cell can be reselected when its RX or quality level is above a threshold]).
As per Claim 20, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 20 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
As per Claim 2, D1 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein indication content of the reselection configuration information comprises at least one of:
a plurality of reselection thresholds, wherein different reselection thresholds are reselection thresholds for different carriers in the multi-carrier cell; or one reselection threshold, wherein the one reselection threshold is a reselection threshold collectively corresponding to different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0032-0033], a plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements, similar thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, based on Intra-frequency and equal priority Inter-Frequency Cell Reselection Criteria, a target cell can be reselected is it is offset better than the serving cell]).
As per Claim 3, D1 discloses the method of claim 2, and D1 further discloses wherein the reselection thresholds for different carriers in the multi-carrier cell at least comprise a reselection threshold for a primary carrier in the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030-0033], and Fig. 3, wherein UE 301 performs RRM measurements for serving (primary carrier) and neighboring cells, plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements, similar thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, based on Intra-frequency and equal priority Inter-Frequency Cell Reselection Criteria, a target cell can be reselected is it is offset better than the serving cell]).
As per Claim 5, D1 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the at least one reselection threshold comprises at least one of a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold or a reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ) threshold ([see, [0029], reference signal received quality (RSRP/RSRQ) over serving and neighboring cells]).
As per Claim 6, D1 discloses an information transmission method, performed by a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0054], and Fig. 8, a user equipment (UE) receives a cell reselection configuration in a wireless communication system]), comprising:
receiving reselection configuration information of a multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030], and Fig. 3, In step 311, UE 301 receives configuration from its serving eNB 303. The configuration information contains cell reselection criterion within the multi-carrier cell (such as neighboring eNBs and Inter-RAT configuration]), wherein the reselection configuration information at least indicates at least one reselection threshold for the UE to perform cell reselection([see, [0032-0033], connected mode cell reselection measurements thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, and a higher-priority neighbor cell can be reselected when its RX or quality level is above a threshold]).
As per Claim 24, is the system claim corresponding to the method claim 6 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 6. Claim 24 is rejected under the same rational as claim 6.
As per Claim 7, D1 discloses the method of claim 6, and D1 further discloses wherein indication content of the reselection configuration information comprises at least one of: a plurality of reselection thresholds, wherein different reselection thresholds are reselection thresholds for different carriers in the multi-carrier cell; or one reselection threshold, wherein the one reselection threshold is a reselection threshold collectively corresponding to different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0032-0033], a plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements, similar thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, based on Intra-frequency and equal priority Inter-Frequency Cell Reselection Criteria, a target cell can be reselected is it is offset better than the serving cell]).
As per Claim 8, D1 discloses the method of claim 7, and D1 further discloses wherein the reselection thresholds for different carriers in the multi-carrier cell at least comprise a reselection threshold for a primary carrier in the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030-0033], and Fig. 3, wherein UE 301 performs RRM measurements for serving (primary carrier) and neighboring cells, plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements, similar thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, based on Intra-frequency and equal priority Inter-Frequency Cell Reselection Criteria, a target cell can be reselected is it is offset better than the serving cell]).
As per Claim 10, D1 discloses the method of claim 7, and D1 further discloses further comprising:
performing the cell reselection based on a comparison result of a radio signal measurement value (cell/frequency specific offset) of the multi-carrier cell and the at least one reselection threshold ([see, [0030-0033], and Fig. 3, wherein UE 301 performs RRM measurements for serving (primary carrier) and neighboring cells, plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements based on cell/frequency specific offset, similar thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, based on Intra-frequency and equal priority Inter-Frequency Cell Reselection Criteria, a target cell can be reselected is it is offset better than the serving cell]).
As per Claim 11, D1 discloses the method of claim 10, and D1 further discloses wherein performing the cell reselection based on the comparison result of the radio signal measurement value of the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030-0033], and Fig. 3, plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements based on cell/frequency specific offset]) and the at least one reselection threshold ([see, [0030-0033], and Fig. 3, the serving cell signal strength is below some threshold]) comprises:
performing the cell reselection, wherein the reselection configuration information indicates the plurality of reselection thresholds, and radio signal measurement values of carriers are smaller than the reselection thresholds for the carriers respectively ([see, [0032-0033], a plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements, similar thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, based on Intra-frequency and equal priority Inter-Frequency Cell Reselection Criteria, a target cell can be reselected is it is offset better than the serving cell]).
.
As per Claim 12, D1 discloses the method of claim 10, and D1 further discloses wherein performing the cell reselection based on the comparison result of the radio signal measurement value of the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030-0033], and Fig. 3, plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements based on cell/frequency specific offset]) and
the at least one reselection threshold (cell reselection measurements, similar thresholds) comprises:
performing the cell reselection, wherein the plurality of reselection thresholds indicated by the reselection configuration information include a reselection threshold for a primary carrier, and a radio signal measurement value of the primary carrier is smaller than the reselection threshold for the primary carrier ([see, [0030-0033], and Fig. 3, wherein UE 301 performs RRM measurements for serving (primary carrier) and neighboring cells, plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements, similar thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, based on Intra-frequency and equal priority Inter-Frequency Cell Reselection Criteria, a target cell can be reselected is it is offset better than the serving cell]).
As per Claim 14, D1 discloses the method of claim 6, and D1 further discloses wherein the at least one reselection threshold comprises at least one of a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold or a reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ) threshold ([see, [0029], reference signal received quality (RSRP/RSRQ) over serving and neighboring cells]).
As per Claim 19, D1 discloses an access network device, comprising;
a processor ([see, [0028], a processor]) and a memory storing an executable program executable by the processor ([see, [0028], Memory 202 stores data and program instructions 210 to be executed by the processor]), wherein the processor is configured to:
send reselection configuration information of a multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030], and Fig. 3, In step 311, UE 301 receives configuration from its serving eNB 303. The configuration information contains cell reselection criterion within the multi-carrier cell (such as neighboring eNBs and Inter-RAT configuration]),
wherein the reselection configuration information at least indicates at least one reselection threshold for a user equipment (UE) to perform cell reselection ([see, [0032-0033], connected mode cell reselection measurements thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, and a higher-priority neighbor cell can be reselected when its RX or quality level is above a threshold]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, 13, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170055192 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of UEHARA et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20090291688), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 4, 9, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the reselection threshold collectively corresponding to different carriers in the multi-carrier cell comprises a reselection threshold corresponding to an average value of radio signal measurement values of the different carriers.
However, D2 discloses wherein the reselection threshold collectively corresponding to different carriers in the multi-carrier cell comprises a reselection threshold corresponding to an average value of radio signal measurement values of the different carriers ([see, [0022-0026], wherein a cell reselection threshold specified by the network, the cell reselection is performed if the reception level of signals from a neighboring cell becomes higher than the reception level of signals from a serving cell and the difference between the reception levels continues to be greater than or equal to a cell reselection threshold, determine the weight of theaverage F.sub.n-1 with respect to the most recent measurement taking into account the length of the cell reselection wait period]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the averaging factor of radio signal measurement results improve the call connection quality and to reduce the power consumption (D2, [0053]]).
As per Claim 13, D1 discloses the method of claim 10, and D1 further discloses wherein performing the cell reselection based on the comparison result of the radio signal measurement value of the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030-0033], and Fig. 3, plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements based on cell/frequency specific offset]) and
the at least one reselection threshold (cell reselection measurements, similar thresholds) comprises:
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: performing the cell reselection, wherein the reselection configuration information
However, D2 discloses performing the cell reselection, wherein the reselection configuration information ([see, [0022-0026], wherein a cell reselection threshold specified by the network, the cell reselection is performed if the reception level of signals from a neighboring cell becomes higher than the reception level of signals from a serving cell and the difference between the reception levels continues to be greater than or equal to a cell reselection threshold, determine the weight of theaverage F.sub.n-1 with respect to the most recent measurement taking into account the length of the cell reselection wait period]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the averaging factor of radio signal measurement results improve the call connection quality and to reduce the power consumption (D2, [0053]]).
As per Claim 21, D1 discloses the access network device of claim 19, and D1 further discloses wherein indication content of the reselection configuration information ([see, [0030], and Fig. 3, In step 311, UE 301 receives configuration information from its serving eNB 303]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: comprises at least one of: a plurality of reselection thresholds, wherein different reselection thresholds are reselection thresholds for different carriers in the multi-carrier cell; or one reselection threshold, wherein the one reselection threshold is a reselection threshold collectively corresponding to different carriers in the multi-carrier cell.
However, D2 discloses a plurality of reselection thresholds, wherein different reselection thresholds are reselection thresholds for different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0022-0026], wherein a cell reselection threshold specified by the network, the cell reselection is performed if the reception level of signals from a neighboring cell becomes higher than the reception level of signals from a serving cell and the difference between the reception levels continues to be greater than or equal to a cell reselection threshold, determine the weight of theaverage F.sub.n-1 with respect to the most recent measurement taking into account the length of the cell reselection wait period]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the averaging factor of radio signal measurement results improve the call connection quality and to reduce the power consumption (D2, [0053]]).
As per Claim 23, D1 and D2 disclose the access network device of claim 21, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the at least one reselection threshold collectively corresponding to different carriers in the multi- carrier cell comprises a reselection threshold corresponding to an average value of radio signal measurement values of the different carriers ([see, [0022-0026], wherein a cell reselection threshold specified by the network, the cell reselection is performed if the reception level of signals from a neighboring cell becomes higher than the reception level of signals from a serving cell and the difference between the reception levels continues to be greater than or equal to a cell reselection threshold, determine the weight of the average F.sub.n-1 with respect to the most recent measurement taking into account the length of the cell reselection wait period]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the averaging factor of radio signal measurement results improve the call connection quality and to reduce the power consumption (D2, [0053]]).
Conclusion
/BERHANU D BELETE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418