DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 5/21/2026.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, 13-14, 19-21, and 23-24 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on May 21, 2026 Claims 1, 6, and 19 have been amended. Claims 3, 8, 12, 15-18, and 22 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, 13-14, 19-21, and 23-24 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6, and 19 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10, 11, 14, 19-21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170055192 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of Johansson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160112907 A1), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a cell reselection configuration ([see, [0008], cell reselection procedure]) method,
performed by an access network device of a multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030], and Fig. 3, the access network device (serving eNB 303) and its multi-carrier cell (such as neighboring eNBs and Inter-RAT configuration]), comprising:
sending reselection configuration information of the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030], and Fig. 3, In step 311, UE 301 receives configuration from its serving eNB 303. The configuration information contains cell reselection criterion within the multi-carrier cell (such as neighboring eNBs and Inter-RAT configuration]),
wherein the multi-carrier cell comprises a primary carrier and at least one secondary carrier ([see, [0030, 0033], and Fig. 3, serving eNB 303 corresponding to primary carrier, and the target eNB 302 corresponding to secondary carrier. In addition, E-UTRAN Inter-Frequency and Inter-RAT Cell Reselection]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the primary carrier is an FR1 carrier, the secondary carrier is an FR2 carrier, the reselection configuration information indicates a plurality of reselectioncarrier cell comprise a reselection threshold for the primary carrier in the multi-carrier cell: and wherein in response to a radio signal measurement value of the primary carrier being less than the reselection threshold for the primary carrier, the UE performs the cell reselection.
However, D2 discloses the primary carrier is an FR1 carrier ([see, [0033], and Fig. 4, the RAT-1 cells are LTE cells])
the secondary carrier is an FR2 carrier ([see, [0033], and Fig. 4, the RAT-2 cells are TD-SCDMA cells])
the reselection configuration information indicates a plurality of reselection([see, [0044-0045], relevant frequency lists and reselection thresholds at the UE, set reselection thresholds based on the stored pseudo-reselection parameters]);
wherein different reselection thresholds are reselection thresholds for different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([0053], and Fig. 5, he UE performs cell reselection based at least in part on the discovered candidate cell reselection frequencies and the autonomously set thresholds]); and
the reselection thresholds ([0044-0045], reselection thresholds) for different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0033], and Fig. 4, the RAT-1 cells are LTE cells and the RAT-2 cells are TD-SCDMA cells) comprise a reselection threshold for the primary carrier in the multi-carrier cell (]see, [0035-0037], wherein the primary carrier, such as serving system threshold compared with a neighbor system threshold]); and
wherein in response to a radio signal measurement value of the primary carrier being less than the reselection threshold for the primary carrier ([see, [0035], wherein received signal strength indicator (RSSI) compared based on the serving system threshold compared with a neighbor system threshold]),
the UE performs the cell reselection ([0053], and Fig. 5, the UE performs cell reselection based at least in part on the discovered candidate cell reselection frequencies and the set thresholds]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide reselection frequencies and radio access technology (RAT) information results improves the performance of existing wideband protocols (D2, ¶ [0005]).
As per Claim 20, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 20 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
As per Claim 2, D1 and D2 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein indication content of the reselection configuration information further comprises one reselection threshold, wherein the one reselection threshold is a reselection threshold collectively corresponding to different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0032-0033], a plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements, similar thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, based on Intra-frequency and equal priority Inter-Frequency Cell Reselection Criteria, a target cell can be reselected is it is offset better than the serving cell]).
As per Claim 5, D1 and D2 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the plurality of reselection thresholds ([see, [0032], cell reselection measurements thresholds disclosed]) comprise at least one of a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold or a reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ) threshold ([see, [0029], reference signal received quality (RSRP/RSRQ) over serving and neighboring cells]).
As per Claim 6, D1 discloses an information transmission method, performed by a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0054], and Fig. 8, a user equipment (UE) receives a cell reselection configuration in a wireless communication system]), comprising:
receiving reselection configuration information of a multi-carrier cell, ([see, [0030], and Fig. 3, In step 311, UE 301 receives configuration from its serving eNB 303. The configuration information contains cell reselection criterion within the multi-carrier cell (such as neighboring eNBs and Inter-RAT configuration]), wherein the multi-carrier cell comprises a primary carrier and at least one secondary carrier ([see, [0030, 0033], and Fig. 3, serving eNB 303 corresponding to primary carrier, and the target eNB 302 corresponding to secondary carrier. In addition, E-UTRAN Inter-Frequency and Inter-RAT Cell Reselection]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the primary carrier is an FR1 carrier, the secondary carrier is an FR2 carrier, the reselection configuration information indicates a plurality of reselection
However, D2 discloses the primary carrier is an FR1 carrier ([see, [0033], and Fig. 4, the RAT-1 cells are LTE cells])
the secondary carrier is an FR2 carrier ([see, [0033], and Fig. 4, the RAT-2 cells are TD-SCDMA cells])
the reselection configuration information indicates a plurality of reselection([see, [0044-0045], relevant frequency lists and reselection thresholds at the UE, set reselection thresholds based on the stored pseudo-reselection parameters]);
wherein different reselection thresholds are reselection thresholds for different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([0053], and Fig. 5, he UE performs cell reselection based at least in part on the discovered candidate cell reselection frequencies and the autonomously set thresholds]); and
the reselection thresholds ([0044-0045], reselection thresholds) for different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0033], and Fig. 4, the RAT-1 cells are LTE cells and the RAT-2 cells are TD-SCDMA cells) comprise a reselection threshold for the primary carrier in the multi-carrier cell (]see, [0035-0037], wherein the primary carrier, such as serving system threshold compared with a neighbor system threshold]); and
wherein in response to a radio signal measurement value of the primary carrier being less than the reselection threshold for the primary carrier ([see, [0035], wherein received signal strength indicator (RSSI) compared based on the serving system threshold compared with a neighbor system threshold]),
the UE performs the cell reselection ([0053], and Fig. 5, the UE performs cell reselection based at least in part on the discovered candidate cell reselection frequencies and the set thresholds]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide reselection frequencies and radio access technology (RAT) information results improves the performance of existing wideband protocols (D2, ¶ [0005]).
As per Claim 7, D1 and D2 discloses the method of claim 6, and D1 further discloses wherein indication content of the reselection configuration information further comprises one reselection threshold (reselection thresholds), wherein the one reselection threshold is a reselection threshold collectively corresponding to different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0032-0033], a plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements, similar thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, based on Intra-frequency and equal priority Inter-Frequency Cell Reselection Criteria, a target cell can be reselected is it is offset better than the serving cell]).
As per Claim 10, D1 and D2 discloses the method of claim 7, and D1 further discloses further comprising: performing the cell reselection based on a comparison result of a radio signal measurement value of the multi-carrier cell and the plurality of reselection thresholds (reselection thresholds) ([see, [0030-0033], and Fig. 3, wherein UE 301 performs RRM measurements for serving (primary carrier) and neighboring cells, plurality of reselection thresholds for connected mode cell reselection measurements based on cell/frequency specific offset, similar thresholds as in Idle mode cell reselection measurements are needed on signal strength and quality, based on Intra-frequency and equal priority Inter-Frequency Cell Reselection Criteria, a target cell can be reselected is it is offset better than the serving cell]).
As per Claim 11, D1 and D2 discloses the method of claim 10, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein performing the cell reselection based on the comparison result of the radio signal measurement value of the multi-carrier cell and the plurality of reselection thresholds ([see, [0035], wherein received signal strength indicator (RSSI) compared based on the serving system threshold compared with a neighbor system threshold]), comprises:
performing the cell reselection, wherein the reselection configuration information indicates the plurality of reselection thresholds, and radio signal measurement values of carriers are smaller than the reselection thresholds for the carriers respectively ([0053], and Fig. 5, the UE performs cell reselection based at least in part on the discovered candidate cell reselection frequencies and the set thresholds]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide reselection frequencies and radio access technology (RAT) information results improves the performance of existing wideband protocols (D2, ¶ [0005]).
As per Claim 14, D1 and D2 discloses the method of claim 6, and D1 further discloses wherein the plurality of reselection thresholds ([see, [0032], cell reselection measurements thresholds disclosed]) comprise at least one of a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold or a reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ) threshold ([see, [0029], reference signal received quality (RSRP/RSRQ) over serving and neighboring cells]).
As per Claim 19, D1 discloses an access network device, comprising: a processor ([see, [0028], a processor]), and a memory storing an executable program executable by the processor ([see, [0028], Memory 202 stores data and program instructions 210 to be executed by the processor]),
wherein the processor is configured to:
send reselection configuration information of a multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030], and Fig. 3, In step 311, UE 301 receives configuration from its serving eNB 303. The configuration information contains cell reselection criterion within the multi-carrier cell (such as neighboring eNBs and Inter-RAT configuration]),
wherein the multi- carrier cell comprises a primary carrier and at least one secondary carrier ([see, [0030, 0033], and Fig. 3, serving eNB 303 corresponding to primary carrier, and the target eNB 302 corresponding to secondary carrier. In addition, E-UTRAN Inter-Frequency and Inter-RAT Cell Reselection]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the primary carrier is an FR1 carrier, the secondary carrier is an FR2 carrier, the reselection configuration information indicates a plurality of reselection
However, D2 discloses the primary carrier is an FR1 carrier ([see, [0033], and Fig. 4, the RAT-1 cells are LTE cells])
the secondary carrier is an FR2 carrier ([see, [0033], and Fig. 4, the RAT-2 cells are TD-SCDMA cells])
the reselection configuration information indicates a plurality of reselection([see, [0044-0045], relevant frequency lists and reselection thresholds at the UE, set reselection thresholds based on the stored pseudo-reselection parameters]);
wherein different reselection thresholds are reselection thresholds for different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([0053], and Fig. 5, he UE performs cell reselection based at least in part on the discovered candidate cell reselection frequencies and the autonomously set thresholds]); and
the reselection thresholds ([0044-0045], reselection thresholds) for different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0033], and Fig. 4, the RAT-1 cells are LTE cells and the RAT-2 cells are TD-SCDMA cells) comprise a reselection threshold for the primary carrier in the multi-carrier cell (]see, [0035-0037], wherein the primary carrier, such as serving system threshold compared with a neighbor system threshold]); and
wherein in response to a radio signal measurement value of the primary carrier being less than the reselection threshold for the primary carrier ([see, [0035], wherein received signal strength indicator (RSSI) compared based on the serving system threshold compared with a neighbor system threshold]), the UE performs the cell reselection ([0053], and Fig. 5, the UE performs cell reselection based at least in part on the discovered candidate cell reselection frequencies and the set thresholds]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide reselection frequencies and radio access technology (RAT) information results improves the performance of existing wideband protocols (D2, ¶ [0005]).
As per Claim 21, D1 and D2 discloses the access network device of claim 19, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein indication content of the reselection configuration information further comprises one reselection threshold ([0044-0045], reselection thresholds),
wherein the one reselection threshold is a reselection threshold collectively corresponding to different carriers in the multi-carrier cell (]see, [0035-0037], wherein the primary carrier, such as serving system threshold compared with a neighbor system threshold]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide reselection frequencies and radio access technology (RAT) information results improves the performance of existing wideband protocols (D2, ¶ [0005]).
As per Claim 24, D1 and D1 disclose a user equipment (UE) and D1 further discloses ([see, [0028], and Fig. 2, a UE 201]), comprising:
a processor; and a memory storing program executable by the processor ([see, [0028], and Fig. 2, UE 201 has memory 202, a processor 203]);
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 6 ([see, [0054], and Fig. 8, a method of connected mode cell reselection in a LTE network in accordance with one novel aspect. In step 801, a user equipment (UE) receives a cell reselection configuration in a wireless communication system]).
Claims 4, 9, 13, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of UEHARA et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20090291688), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 4, 9, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the reselection threshold collectively corresponding to different carriers in the multi-carrier cell comprises a reselection threshold corresponding to an average value of radio signal measurement values of the different carriers.
However, D2 discloses wherein the reselection threshold collectively corresponding to different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0030], serving cell and the neighboring cell corresponding as multi-carrier cell) comprises a reselection threshold (cell reselection threshold) corresponding to an average value of radio signal measurement values (averaging measurements of a neighboring cell is determined according to parameters, such as the reception level may be averaged, reselection threshold, and a cell reselection wait period) of the different carriers ([see, [0022-0026], wherein a cell reselection threshold specified by the network, the cell reselection is performed if the reception level of signals from a neighboring cell becomes higher than the reception level of signals from a serving cell and the difference between the reception levels continues to be greater than or equal to a cell reselection threshold, determine the weight of the average F.sub.n-1 with respect to the most recent measurement taking into account the length of the cell reselection wait period]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the averaging factor of radio signal measurement results improve the call connection quality and to reduce the power consumption (D3, [0053]]).
As per Claim 13, D1 discloses the method of claim 10, and D1 further discloses wherein performing the cell reselection (a UE performs cell reselection) based on the comparison result of the radio signal measurement value of the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0029], wherein receives configuration information from the network for measurement, apply connected mode cell reselection and which parameters are used for connected mode cell reselection, such parameter includes reference signal received power and/or reference signal received quality (RSRP/RSRQ) over serving and neighboring cells (multi-carrier cell)]), and the plurality of reselection thresholds ([see, [0033], a higher-priority and a lower-priority neighbor cell reselection thresholds are different are cell reselection concerning on the cells]) comprises:
performing the cell reselection ([see, [0024], and Fig. 1, a UE performs cell reselection]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: comprises: wherein the reselection configuration information indicates a reselection threshold corresponding to an average value of radio signal measurement values of the different carriers, and the average value is smaller than the reselection threshold.
However, D2 discloses comprises wherein the reselection configuration information indicates a reselection threshold (cell reselection threshold) corresponding to an average value of radio signal measurement values (averaging measurements of a neighboring cell is determined according to parameters, such as the reception level may be averaged, reselection threshold, and a cell reselection wait period) of the different carriers ([see, [0022-0026], wherein a cell reselection threshold specified by the network, the cell reselection is performed if the reception level of signals from a neighboring cell becomes higher than the reception level of signals from a serving cell and the difference between the reception levels continues to be greater than or equal to a cell reselection threshold, determine the weight of the average F.sub.n-1 with respect to the most recent measurement taking into account the length of the cell reselection wait period]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the averaging factor of radio signal measurement results improve the call connection quality and to reduce the power consumption (D3, [0053]]).
As per Claim 23, D1 and D2 discloses the access network device of claim 21, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the reselection threshold ([0044-0045], reselection thresholds), collectively corresponding to different carriers in the multi-carrier cell ([see, [0033], and Fig. 4, the RAT-1 cells are LTE cells and the RAT-2 cells are TD-SCDMA cells]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide reselection frequencies and radio access technology (RAT) information results improves the performance of existing wideband protocols (D2, ¶ [0005]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: different carriers in the multi-carrier cell …comprises a reselection threshold corresponding to an average value of radio signal measurement values of the different carriers.
However, D2 discloses comprises a reselection threshold corresponding to an average value of radio signal measurement values of the different carriers ([see, [0022-0026], wherein a cell reselection threshold specified by the network, the cell reselection is performed if the reception level of signals from a neighboring cell becomes higher than the reception level of signals from a serving cell and the difference between the reception levels continues to be greater than or equal to a cell reselection threshold, determine the weight of the average F.sub.n-1 with respect to the most recent measurement taking into account the length of the cell reselection wait period]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the averaging factor of radio signal measurement results improve the call connection quality and to reduce the power consumption (D2, [0053]]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418