DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 13-14-15, 17-23, 27-29, 31-33 & 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 and 102(a)2 as being anticipated by Wankewycz et al., Pub. No.: US 20220041299 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wankewycz et al. discloses an electric propulsion system ([0053] “a hydrogen-electric aircraft with distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods”) that includes
a power source and a traction system combined into a single unit that is configured for installation into a vehicle, in which the single unit is modular and configured to enable a scalable number of such single units to form a distributed electric propulsion (DEP) system ([0128] FIG. 14 shows a hydrogen farm 64 that is comprised of modular and autonomous renewable energy powered (solar or wind, hybridized with battery or fuel cells or any combination of different renewable energy sources with battery/fuel cells) hydrogen refueling modules 61in order to … refill the distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods”)
where the number of such units depends on the size, and/or weight, and/or required traction force and/or required lifting capacity of the vehicle, in which the vehicle is any of the following: an aircraft, flying vehicle, air taxi and drone ([0113] –[0116] In order to increase the effective flight time and the range, it is essential that all possible energy resources are utilized very efficiently with a smart engineering approach … design of the power supply system. ... namely multiple large batteries stored at the same location to create a more or less centralized power generation scheme, to achieve high air speed values, … Solar or solar/battery hybrid designs, on the other hand, provided a safe platform by spreading out the solar cells or photovoltaic cells over the entire wing surface, though long/wide wing to accommodate large number of solar cells or photovoltaic cells created an aerodynamic issue that limit the high air speed.” & [0115] FIG. 1 shows the back-view of hydrogen-electric aircraft with distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods and solar wing 1, multiple solar cells or photovoltaic cells are placed across the wing surface area …The hydrogen-electric aircraft 1 with distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods 6 and solar wing 2 has the capability of utilizing multiple of these distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods 6 and a sufficient number of these distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods 6 are attached to the solar wing 2 depending on the effective flight time or mission. … according to the needs of the aircraft using a proper power management system that is used in the aviation industry.” & [0170] “customized unmanned vehicle platforms may have the capability of utilizing multiple hydrogen storage solutions. … the disclosed autonomous hydrogen refueling or exchanging and unmanned vehicle storing station may have either a gaseous or liquid cylinders/pods, or slurry or solid hydrogen cartridges/pods or it may have combinations of these (depending on the need of the unmanned vehicle's missions and different fuel utilization capability).” & [0205] FIG. 50 shows the basic schematic of an unmanned vehicle 284 with multiple of distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods 268 attached to different parts of the fuselage 280, … The flexibility of the distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods 268 comes from its unique design that allows its multiple unit use depending on the aircraft need and also enables other safety features.).
Regarding claim 6, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1. in which the single unit is modular, and configured to be installed and removed from a vehicle as a complete unit ([0067] FIG. 14 illustrates the schematic view of a hydrogen farm with modular and autonomous hydrogen generation/refueling modules that have the capability of utilizing various forms of renewable energy (solar, wind or solar and wind) and hybridization of this electrical energy with the batteries or fuel cells to generate the hydrogen fuel (gaseous or liquid) that is needed to refuel the distributed and interchangeable propulsion pods.).
Regarding claims 13 & 20-22, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1,
(claim 13) which is configured to operate autonomously and to alert the vehicle or a main control unit in the vehicle if it becomes unsafe or malfunctions,
(claim 20) which is configured to autonomously negotiate with other self-powered propulsion systems in the vehicle,
(claim 21) which is configured to autonomously self-initialise.
(claim 22) which is configured to autonomously determine its physical position in the vehicle.
([0223]-[0228] “electric propulsion pods which have the capability of being autonomously refueled through an interface located on the distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods with the aid of autonomous ground refueling vehicles” & [0224] “a control module (electrical, electronics, data, communication, etc.) to safely operate all of the components/systems located inside the propulsion pod, … an interface to connect the propulsion pods to the propeller and to the aircraft for its safe operation depending on the needs of the aircrafts, … an autonomous mobile catapult system with batteries to assist during the takeoff” & [0228] where the autonomously operating mobile catapult system has sufficient battery modules in order to store ample amount of electrical energy and then provide this energy to the hydrogen electric-aircraft during the take off period, furthermore, the autonomously operating mobile catapult system has the capability of carrying the entire hydrogen-electric aircraft on the runway until the aircraft achieves the takeoff air speed and then autonomously operating mobile catapult system detaches itself from the aircraft automatically with lock/unlock mechanism”).
Regarding claims 14 & 19, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1, (claim 14) which is configured to monitor and to report its own status to a central control and/or vehicle, (claim 19) which is configured to report performance data back to the vehicle ([0117] FIG. 3 … all of the operations of the distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pod is managed with an electronics and control module 18, … electrical communication interface 20 to safely operate and monitor the status of the distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods 6, propeller 12, the speed of the propeller and hence the speed of the hydrogen-electric aircraft 1, monitoring the lock/unlock status of distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods 6, and numerous other parameters that need to be adjusted or monitored for a safe flight and aircraft maintenance.”).
Regarding claim 15, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1, which is configured to only shut itself down if there is a critical error ([0207] FIG. 52 … “autonomous vehicles communicates with each other in order to shut off the hydrogen line and then secure disengage the hydrogen transfer line to transfer the hydrogen” & [0208] FIG. 53… “the system awaits for the charging of the depleted storage media and then sends another signal in order to shut off the discharge of hydrogen fuel from the hydrogen discharge mechanism” & [0210] FIG. 55 … “the system awaits for the refueling to complete and sends a signal to shut off the hydrogen dispensation, disengages from the manned ground hydrogen supply tanker by disconnecting it receiving mechanism and carries back the refueled propulsion pods to the location of the unmanned vehicle that will be used for the neutralization of the drones.).
Regarding claims 17-18, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1,
(claim 17) which is configured for two-way communications with one or more of: the vehicle; a main control unit; other propulsion systems,
(claim 18) which is configured with authentication or security features and procedures to enable secure communications with one or more of: the vehicle; a main control unit; other propulsion systems
([0086]-[0097] “communication with the drone box and drone-detection systems” & [0087] FIG. 34 illustrates the schematic view of a hydrogen fuel cell powered unmanned vehicle (multi-rotor drone) with a camera, its storing and autonomous refueling station (the said station is also called as drone box), its communication with the drone box and drone-detection systems to obtain the location of the unauthorized, stray or outlaw drone, its activation and being en-route for neutralization of the unauthorized, stray, or outlaw drone”).
Regarding claim 23, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1, (claim 23) which is configured to electrically arm only when it is fully installed in the vehicle ([0016] The autonomous refueling vehicle also includes a propulsion pod handling device that is adapted to activate the lock and unlock mechanism of each propulsion pod to remove each propulsion pods ... A control unit of the autonomous refueling vehicle then directs the propulsion pod handling device to move to the propulsion pod, and later hold or grasp the propulsion pod. The propulsion pod handling device then activates the lock and unlock mechanism such that the propulsion pod is unlocked from the wing.”).
Regarding claim 27-28, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1,
(claim 27) in which the power source is a fuel cell, such as a hydrogen fuel cell,
(claim 28) in which the traction system includes an electric motor.
([0293] where distributed and interchangeable pods are first connected to the electric gearbox or gear, then electrical gearbox or gear connected to the electrical motor and then electrical motor is connected to the shaft of the propeller in order to energize the propeller in order to optimize the gear ratio between the electric motor and fuel cell subsystems for the sake of further improving the energy efficiency of the hydrogen-electric aircraft).
Regarding claims 29 & 31-33, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1, (claim 29) in which, the traction system is a thruster system, (claim 31) in which the thruster system includes one or more propellers, (claim 32) in which the thruster system is contained within an air duct, (claim 33) in which the duct is tubular or cylindrical in shape ([0117] FIG. 3 shows a distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pod 6, …, a hydrogen storage cylinder 15, cartridge 15, or pod 15 to store the hydrogen fuel and transfer this fuel to the fuel cell stack 14 or stacks 14 with the aid of a delivery mechanism 16, the fuel cell stack 14 converts the hydrogen energy into electrical energy via electrochemical means and the generated electrical energy is diverted to either propulsion propeller 12, or stored inside the hybrid battery storage 17, or utilized within the fuselage 4 for another particular need, all of the operations of the distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pod is managed with an electronics and control module 18, then electrical energy provided by the distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pod 6, solar wing 2, and battery modules 9 or 17 on-board hydrogen-electric aircraft 1 are diverted to directly to the propeller 12 with or with an electric motor gearbox or gear setup 10 in order to propel or energize propeller 12 via propeller attachment interface 21 to the aircraft wing 2 and the distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods 6, data and electrical communication interface 20 to safely operate and monitor the status of the distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods 6, propeller 12, the speed of the propeller and hence the speed of the hydrogen-electric aircraft 1, monitoring the lock/unlock status of distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods 6, and numerous other parameters that need to be adjusted or monitored for a safe flight and aircraft maintenance.).
Regarding claim 43, Wankewycz et al. discloses a vehicle that includes an electric propulsion system as claimed in claim 1 ([0053] The subject matter of a hydrogen aviation eco-system with a hydrogen-electric aircraft with distributed and interchangeable electric propulsion pods.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wankewycz et al., Pub. No.: US 20220041299 A1 in view of Beckton`148, Pub. No.: US 20170302148 A1.
Regarding claims 2-4 & 12, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1.
Wankewycz et al. is not explicit on “self-powered single unit”, however, Beckton`148, US 20170302148 A1, teaches SELF-POWERED GENERATOR and discloses,
which is self-powered in that it includes in the single unit; (claim 4) a battery pack, an electric motor powered by the battery pack, and a propeller driven by the electric motor; all sub-systems needed to store electrical energy and to convert that electrical energy into propulsive force, (claim 3) without needing power from any source external to the unit, (claim 12) which is self- contained in that it does not need power from any power source external to the unit ([0007] FIG. 1 ... The self-powered generator 100 comprises a stator member 101, a rotor member 102, a direct current motor 103, and an alternating current motor 105. … a closed loop arrangement as shown in FIG. 1, to generate a continuous supply of electricity.” & [0009] “the self-powered generator 100 further comprises a battery unit 106 which is configured to power the direct current motor 103 to drive the rotor member 102 within the stator member 101. In an embodiment, the direct current motor 103 and the alternating current motor 105 are coupled to the rotor shaft 104 via belt drives 107. In an embodiment, the self-powered generator 100 further comprises a control panel 108 configured to monitor the output values of current, voltage, and power generated.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by Beckton`148 with the system disclosed by Wankewycz et al. in order to provide a self-powered generator further comprises a battery unit which is configured to power the direct current motor to drive the rotor member within the stator member, includes a control panel configured to monitor the output values of current, voltage, and power generated. (see Abstract & para. [0005]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wankewycz et al., Pub. No.: US 20220041299 A1 in view of Demont et al., Pub. No.: US 20240317109 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1.
Wankewycz et al. is not explicit on “fire resistant material”, however, Demont et al., US 20240317109 A1, teaches BATTERY MODULE FOR AN ELECTRICALLY-DRIVEN AIRCRAFT, METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING A BATTERY MODULE AND ELECTRICALLY-DRIVEN AIRCRAFT POWERED BY A BATTERY MODULE and discloses;
in which a wall of a unit is composed of a highly fire resistant material ([0049] The housing of the battery module can be made of a non-conductive material but fire-resistive material, such as plastic. Elements, such as corrugates, might extend from the housing to improve a heat exchange with its environment.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by Demont et al. with the system disclosed by Wankewycz et al. in order to provide a battery module for an electrically-driven aircraft with enhanced fire resistance and a method for manufacturing said battery module. The present invention further concerns an electrically-driven aircraft powered by a battery module. (see Abstract & para. [0001]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wankewycz et al., Pub. No.: US 20220041299 A1 in view of YUSHIN et al., Pub. No.: US 20200373555 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1.
Wankewycz et al. is not explicit on “sacrificial material”, however, YUSHIN et al., US 20200373555 A1, teaches DENSIFIED BATTERY ELECTRODES AND METHODS THEREOF and discloses,
in which a wall of a unit is composed of a sacrificial material designed to be sacrificed in the event of over-heating in the unit to increase convection cooling of the unit (See para. [0074]-[0075] “a sacrificial material may be introduced in the form of a solid(s)/powder(s)” & [0081]-[0082] “conductive additives 702, binder 703 and sacrificial material 704 coated on a current collector foil 705.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by YUSHIN et al. with the system disclosed by Wankewycz et al. in order to provide a sacrificial material in the form of a solid or a solution, with random shapes. A suitable composition of the sacrificial material may depend on multiple factors, including the composition of the binder, active material, conductive additives, temperature (see Abstract & para. [0074]).
Examiner Remarks: Usage of “sacrificial material” and “fire-retardant material” is well known standard, in some cases mandatory, applications at the aviation industry for an ordinary skilled person. Therefore there is no inventive distinction.).
Claim 16, 24-26, 34-35 & 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wankewycz et al., Pub. No.: US 20220041299 A1 in view of Nayar et al., Patent No.: US 9893385 B1.
Regarding claim 16, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1.
Wankewycz et al. is not explicit on “battery management system”, however, Nayar et al., US 9893385 B1, teaches Battery Management Systems For Energy Storage Devices and discloses,
which includes a BMS (battery management system) configured to monitor the status of individual battery cells or packs or pouches (e.g., voltage, charge, temperature) (col.3 lines 38-40 (9) FIG. 8 shows an energy storage system comprising an energy storage device and a battery management system” & col.20 lines 59-67 (96) A battery management system (BMS) may be provided to manage an energy storage system, such as, for example, one or multiple rechargeable batteries. A BMS can include a computer processor and other electrical components, as described elsewhere herein. In some examples, a BMS manages a battery by protecting it from operating outside its safe or permissible operating range(s), by monitoring its state of charge and state of health, calculating secondary data, reporting the secondary data, controlling its environment, authenticating it and/or balancing it. In some cases, the BMS manages (e.g., monitor and/or control) an energy storage device (e.g., a battery) by monitoring a first parameter (e.g., voltage, temperature) of the energy storage device (e.g., of an electrochemical cell in the energy storage device) and determining a second parameter based on the first parameter (e.g., state of charge, state of health, impedance value, etc.)).
Regarding claims 24-26, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1.
Wankewycz et al. is not explicit on “rechargeable & solid state battery”, however, Nayar et al., US 9893385 B1, teaches Battery Management Systems For Energy Storage Devices and discloses,
(claim 24) in which the power source includes a battery, (claim 25) in which the battery is a rechargeable battery such as a Li-ion battery, (claim 26) in which the battery is a solid state battery. (colon7 lines 29-53 (41) In some cases, an electrochemical cell is a high temperature battery that utilizes a liquid metal negative electrode (e.g., Na, Li), and a solid ion-conducting … An energy storage device of the disclosure (e.g., a battery) may include a Li-ion battery, a flow battery, a lead acid battery, a nickel-metal hydride (NiMH) battery, or any combination thereof.” & col.20 lines 60-67 (96) A battery management system (BMS) may be provided to manage an energy storage system, such as, for example, one or multiple rechargeable batteries. & (col.25 lines 39-67 (119) “The auxiliary power source may be, for example, an electric power grid and/or the back-up battery system. In some cases, the controller is predominantly powered from the auxiliary power source.”).
Regarding claims 34-35 & 38-39, Wankewycz et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 32. Wankewycz et al. is not explicit on “battery management system & inverter”, however, Nayar et al., US 9893385 B1, teaches Battery Management Systems For Energy Storage Devices and discloses,
(claim 34) in which the unit includes power components, such as one or more of inverters, the BMS, and low voltage battery packs, and in which the arrangement of the power components provide structural integrity for the duct,
(claim 35) in which the power components are convection cooled, by virtue of being part of or in the duct,
(claim 38) in which the vehicle 's an aircraft and a boundary layer over the propulsion system is maintained by closing or part closing a cover over the propulsion system,
(claim 39) in which the vehicle is an aircraft and a boundary layer over the propulsion system is maintained using the thrust of the thruster system when the propulsion system is activated (col. 27 lines 5-65 (123) A BMS may calculate one or more parameters … average (e.g., nominal) charge voltage … energy efficiency after the cells are brought back to a previously recorded SOC (e.g., full SOC) …total number of thermal cycles (e.g., number of times the system is heated up to operating temperature and cooled to a temperature less than the operating temperature (e.g., room temperature)) …separate charging circuitry (e.g., power electronics such as a bi-directional inverter). & (125) “the BMS comprises a plurality of controllers. The controllers can communicate with one another and/or with other controllers outside a system (e.g., BMS system) boundary” & (149) “the BMS may have a first boundary (e.g., BMS system boundary) 1105. In some cases, the BMS may have a second boundary 1110. In some cases, the BMS may have a third boundary 1115. In some cases, the system boundary may extend between the system boundaries 1105 and 1110. … For example, BMS controllers (or boards) may be provided within or attached to cells, modules, packs, cores, systems or batteries.” & Col.35 lines 25-50 (150) “pack controllers 1120. … the power electronics (e.g., a bi-directional inverter). & see also col.30 lines 5-65).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by Nayar et al. with the system disclosed by Wankewycz et al. in order to provide energy storage systems and battery management systems for monitoring and/or regulating the energy storage devices. A battery management system can be programmed or otherwise configured to regulate the operation (e.g., charging, discharging, cell balancing, routing current) of the energy storage device (e.g., liquid metal battery). The battery management system can monitor the operation of the energy storage device (see Abstract & col.2 lines 2-20 (8)-(9)).
Claims 5, 7-9, 30, 36-37, 40-42 : Cancelled
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited.
/Jalal C CODUROGLU/Examiner, Art Unit 3665