Response to Amendment
Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending. Claim 7 has been canceled. Claims, 1, 6, 8, and 11-12 have been amended. Claim 21 is new. Claims 16-20 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koswara (US 2019/0176122) in view of Dawe (US 4,32,761).
Regarding claim 1, Koswara discloses a flow reactor system ([0007], Figs. 1A-D) comprising: a plurality of liquid pumps for communicating a plurality of liquid reagents based on a set of flow conditions (syringe pumps, [0061], Fig. 1B); a fluid pump for communicating a carrier fluid that is immiscible with the liquid reagents (mass flow controller communicates N2, [0135], Fig. 1B);
a fluidic mixer for mixing the liquid reagents into a liquid mixture (microreactor to channel before liquid cooler, [0113], Fig. 1B), the fluidic mixer comprising: a plurality of liquid inlets for receiving the liquid reagents from the liquid pumps (check valves before microreactor, Fig. 1B); a fluid inlet for receiving the carrier fluid from the fluid pump (inlet after mass flow controller, Fig. 1B); and an outlet for discharging the liquid mixture and the carrier fluid (outlet from liquid cooler, Fig. 1B), wherein the liquid mixture is discharged from the outlet as a series of liquid plugs separated by the carrier fluid (slug flow crystallizer, Fig. 1B); a fluidic tubing connected to the outlet (tubing through slug flow crystallizer, Fig. 1B), such that the liquid plugs are discharged from the outlet into the fluidic tubing and dispensable from the fluidic tubing (can be dispensed to filtration or other structure, Fig. 1B); a measurement device connected to the fluidic tubing for measuring properties of the liquid plugs flowing through the fluidic tubing before dispensing therefrom ([0119], Fig. 1B video microscope; phototransistor, [0136]), the measured properties comprising a flow rate of the liquid plugs ([0030]); the measurement device configured for measuring the flow rate of the liquid plugs flowing through the fluid tubing before dispensing therefrom ([0030]); and
a control module configured for controlling the liquid pumps and adjusting the flow conditions based on the measured properties of the liquid plugs, wherein the liquid plugs are representative of different flow conditions (feedback control regarding the pressure for the system, inclusive of the pumps, [0032] [0061-63] [0136]), wherein the flow rate of the liquid plugs is variable based on the different flow conditions to thereby facilitate dispensation from the fluidic tubing (feedback control regarding the pressure for the system, inclusive of the pumps, [0032] [0061-63] [0136]).
Koswara teaches a system substantially as claimed. Koswara does not disclose the measurement device comprising a first photodetector and a second photodetector disposed at a fixed distance from each other, the photodetectors configured for measuring the flow rate of the liquid plugs flowing through the fluid tubing before dispensing therefrom.
However, in the same field of endeavor of using photodetectors to analyze the flow of liquid plugs/drops through a tube (abstract), Dawe teaches the measurement device comprising a first photodetector and a second photodetector disposed at a fixed distance from each other (col. 1 ll. 60 to col. 2 ll. 21; col. 3 ll. 34-61), the photodetectors configured for measuring the flow rate of the liquid plugs flowing through the fluid tubing before dispensing therefrom (col. 1 ll. 60 to col. 2 ll. 21; col. 3 ll. 34-61).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Koswara to use two photodetectors as in Dawe because the abstract of Dawe teaches that doing so is an accurate way to determine volume of flow irrespective of velocity changes in the system.
Regarding claim 2, Koswara as modified teaches wherein the flow conditions comprise volume and flow rate of the liquid reagents (process decision variables include flow-rate which are being achieved in part by the syringe pumps, [0032] [0061]; also volume to precision, [0023] [0077]).
Regarding claim 3, Koswara as modified teaches a mass flow controller for controlling the fluid pump (flow controller of the syringe pumps, [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Koswara as modified teaches wherein the mass flow controller is configured to control the fluid pump to communicate the carrier fluid at up to 5 secm (configured to control the flow rate nL to mL is within the range of up to 5 sccm, [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Koswara as modified teaches wherein the mass flow controller is configured to automatically compensate for fluid pressure changes (feedback control regarding the pressure for the system, inclusive of the pumps, [0030] [0032] [0061-63] [0136]).
Regarding claim 6, Koswara as modified teaches wherein the measured properties further comprise volume (Koswara [0023] [0030]; as modified, photodetectors of Dawes measure volume (time between detection of front and back of plug, divided by speed, times area of tube), col. 1 ll. 60 to col. 2 ll. 21; col. 3 ll. 34-61) and intensity (photodiode detection of light excited by a light source, [0080-81]) of the liquid plugs ([0032] [0136]) that are measured by the photodetectors (as modified, photodetectors of Dawes measure volume (time between detection of front and back of plug, divided by speed, times area of tube), col. 1 ll. 60 to col. 2 ll. 21; col. 3 ll. 34-61; intensity by photodiode detection in Koswara [0080-81]).
Regarding claim 9, Kurosawa as modified teaches wherein the control module is configured for training a machine learning model using training data derived from the measured properties (use of control theory with feedback control constitutes machine learning, [0025] [0032] [0097]).
Regarding claim 10, Koswara as modified teaches wherein the machine learning model is trained to iteratively generate new sets of flow conditions (feedback control iteratively generates new flow conditions, adjustment in response to sensor input changes flow conditions, and this continues as feedback continues to lead to adjustments, [0025] [0032] [0097]).
Regarding claim 11, Koswara as modified teaches wherein a liquid plug is dispensable from the fluidic tubing by drop casting as a thin film on a substrate (droplet generator on a moving arm that has a tubular channel that the liquid passes through, [0089-95]).
Regarding claim 12, Koswara as modified teaches a tube holder coupled to the fluidic tubing for facilitating dispensation of the liquid plugs (moving arm is attached to and holds the droplet generator, this constitutes a tube holder because the dispenser has a tubular channel that the liquid passes through/is the fluid chamber, [0089-95].
Regarding claim 13, Koswara as modified teaches an actuation assembly for dispensing the liquid plugs over an area (droplet generator actuates, such as a piezoelectric droplet-on-demand generator, [0089]; the droplet generator moves over the area of a stationary substrate, [0095]).
Regarding claim 14, Koswara as modified teaches wherein the tube holder is coupled to the actuation assembly such that the tube holder is moveable horizontally (droplet generator moves along stationary substrate, as explained relative to the alternative of moving the substrate, movement is in x and y directions, [0095]).
Regarding claim 15, Koswara as modified teaches wherein the tube holder and actuation assembly are integrated in a 3D printing machine (ink-jet printing in x, y, and z directions over a stationary substrate to dispense droplets comprise the components for 3D printing, [0092] [0095]).
Regarding claim 21, Koswara as modified teaches wherein the control module is configured to iteratively adjust the flow conditions to optimize one or more pre-selected properties of the liquid plugs (feedback control regarding the pressure for the system, inclusive of the pumps, [0032] [0061-63] [0136])
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koswara (US 2019/0176122) in view of Dawe (US 4,32,761) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirata (US 2017/0304535).
Regarding claim 8, Koswara in view of Dawe teaches a system substantially as claimed. Dawe does not teach the relevant wavelength of the photodetector.
However, in the same field of endeavor of using photodetectors to analyze passing liquid (abstract, [0163]), Hirata teaches wherein the photodetectors comprise infrared photointerrupters ([0203]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Koswara to use infrared photointerrupters because Dawe is silent as to the wavelength and [0203] of Hirata teaches infrared photointerrupters performing the same task in the same technical context to detect the passage of liquid and therefore the modification would have predictably performed the function.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 29, 2025, with respect to the rejections under 35 USC 102, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections under 35 USC 102 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed December 29, 2025 with respect to the rejections under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the photo detectors of Dawe cannot measure the flow rate of a series of liquid columns flowing through a fluid tubing. This argument is not persuasive, because, as pointed out in col. 4-5 of Dawe, knowledge of the diameter of the tube and the timing recording at the photodetectors is sufficient to calculate the speed of the plug and the volume of the plug, hence the volumetric flow rate of the plug and the volume that has been delivered over time by the plugs.
Applicant argues that Dawe’s device requires the velocity to be constant to accurately measure the drop volume. This is a misreading of col. 5 ll. 34-39. By “independent of velocity”, Dawe means that the method works at higher or lower velocities. This is the faulty premise underlying Applicant’s argument that the modification would impermissibly change the principle of operation and is accordingly unpersuasive.
Applicant next argues that Koswara is not interested in the flow rate. This argument is not persuasive as [0030] of Koswara teaches a flow rate sensor connected to the chip for regulation. Applicant’s final argument is that an additional flow rate sensor would be redundant. This argument is not persuasive as the modification is to use the flow rate sensing of Dawe.
Applicant’s remaining arguments are derivative of the arguments addressed above and are similarly unpersuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Harvie, Optical determination of flow-rate and flow-uniformity in segmented flows teaches a mixer and dispenser of segmented flows with a first photodetector and a second photodetector disposed at a fixed distance from each other, the photodetectors configured for measuring the flow rate of the liquid plugs flowing through the fluid tubing before dispensing therefrom.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744