DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicants
This communication is in response to the Application filed on 1/2/2024.
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/8/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 8 line 9 recites “…from collected bring imaging data”. This ought to be “…from collected brain imaging data”. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph [0033] line 2 recites “…from collected bring imaging data”. This ought to be “…from collected brain imaging data”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim is drawn to a “computer readable storage medium” comprising stored data. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification concludes that the claim as a whole covers a transitory signal, which does not fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter (In re Nuijten). Therefore, claim 11 does not fall within a statutory category. The Examiner recommends amending claim 11 to include "non-transitory computer-readable medium" to overcome the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2010/0099975 to Faro et al (hereafter, “Faro”).
With regard to claim 1 Faro discloses testing method on decision uncertainty (paragraphs [0031, 0050, 0063, 0073]), comprising: acquiring brain imaging data of a subject in a period from its receiving a target problem to its making a judgment on the target problem (paragraphs [0047, 0084, 0090]); extracting brain activity signals from a region of interest (ROI) in the brain imaging data, the ROT including at least one of the anterior cingulate cortex, the lateral frontopolar cortex, and the ventral striatum (paragraphs [0037, 0040, 0042, 0043, 0054, 0075]); and obtaining, based on the brain activity signals, a first test result reflecting a degree of certainty of the subject on correctness of the judgment (paragraphs [0069-0070, 0074-0078]).
With regard to claims 10-11, claims 10-11 are rejected same as claim 1 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to claims 10-11 Faro discloses a device with a memory and a processor at paragraphs [0008, 0040-0042, 0049, 0067, 0100, 0102] for example, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 1 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2010/0099975 to Faro et al (hereafter, “Faro”) in view of CN111783887A to Zhang et al. (hereafter, “Zhang”).
With regard to claim 2, Faro teaches the method of claim 1. However, Faro does not expressly teach inputting the brain activity signals into a pre-constructed test model to obtain a first test result reflecting a degree of certainty of the subject on correctness of the judgment, wherein the test model reflects a mapping relationship between the brain activity signals of the ROI and the first test result.
Zhang teaches inputting the brain activity signals into a pre-constructed test model to obtain a first test result reflecting a degree of certainty of the subject on correctness of the judgment, wherein the test model reflects a mapping relationship between the brain activity signals of the ROI and the first test result (page 11 first full paragraph where “optimizes the classification models, and the method for realizing lie detection identification is a new attempt and has good classification effect”; page 12 top paragraph where training in the step (5) is described and “Dp and the feature data of the middle training sample is sent into a least square support vector machine for training”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faro’s reference to have test model of Zhang’s reference. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to perform lie and truth identification on function magnetic resonance imaging feature data of the brain by means of a model, as suggested by Zhang.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang with Faro to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited arts of record fails to teach, disclose or suggest the limitation/feature of “constructing a test experiment based on a preset test problem and an experimental paradigm to test the subject; acquiring a first trial set and a second trial set from the test experiment, the first trial set being a set of experimental trials with complete certainty of the subject on correctness of its judgment, the second trial set being a set of experimental trials with complete uncertainty of the subject on a result of its judgment; constructing a first training sample set with certainty on judgment correctness based on brain activity signals extracted from the first trial set; constructing a second training sample set with uncertainty on judgment correctness based on brain activity signals extracted from the second trial set; and training model parameters of a basic model corresponding to the test model based on the first training sample set and the second training sample set, to obtain the test model”, recited in claim 3 and “wherein, before acquiring brain imaging data of a subject in a period from its receiving a target problem to its making a judgment on the target problem, the method further comprises: outputting a target problem, and continuously collecting brain imaging data of the subject through a brain imaging collection device; said acquiring brain imaging data of a subject in a. period from its receiving a target problem to its making a judgment on the target problem comprises: in the case that a first judgment result made by the subject in its judgment regarding the target problem is received, acquiring, from collected bring imaging data, brain imaging data in a period from outputting the target problem to receiving the first judgment result”, in claim 8; and “wherein, after obtaining a first test result reflecting a degree of certainty of the subject on correctness of the judgment, the method further comprises: acquiring self-confidence level information input by the subject regarding the judgment, the self-confidence level information reflecting a degree of certainty as reported by the subject on correctness of the judgment; comparing a degree of certainty reflected by the first test result with a degree of certainty reflected by the self-confidence level information, to obtain a comparison result; and obtaining a second test result based on the comparison result; wherein in the case that the degree of certainty reflected by the first test result is inconsistent with the degree of certainty reflected by the self-confidence level information, the second test result indicates that the subject is lying with an untruthful expression of intent”, in claim 9.
Conclusion
SHEFALI D. GORADIA
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2676
/SHEFALI D GORADIA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676