DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to Application 18/576013 filed on 1/2/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12, 14-15, 24, 27, 29, 32, 35, 47 and 49-50 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS)s comply with 37 CFR 1.97 provisions. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered the IDS.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 24, 27, 29, 32 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 (lines 4-5) recites “…configured at least a specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice,” should be amended to state “… configured at least the specified random access resource …” because it refers to claim 1 limitation in line 10.
claims 24, 27, 29, 32 are objected to because they depend on canceled claim 16. Examiner interprets the claims to depend on claim 15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 9-12, 15, 24, 27, 29 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 preamble requires “…at least one of the resource configuration information or the slice information…” [emphasis added] then step 1 requires “the resource configuration information and the slice information.” [Emphasis added] This inconsistency renders the claims indefinite because the scope of claim 2 is not clear.
Claim 3 includes similar limitations as claim 2, thus the same rationale applies. Examiner interprets the limitation to require one or the other despite that the cited art teaches both.
Claims 9-12 are also rejected for depending on rejected claim 2.
Claim 14 is rejected because the claim calls for “in response to meeting a/the preset fallback condition,” with different outcomes. In other words, the same condition requires a different outcome “not performing a resource fallback;” or “determining a second random access resource to be fallen back to.” This makes the scope of claim 14 not clear and indefinite. Examiner selects the first condition and outcome.
Claims 15, 24, 27, 29 and 32 are also rejected for depending on rejected claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 35, 47 and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Murray et al. (hereinafter Murray) US 2017/0367120 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Murray teaches a random access method, performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 20 is a diagram that illustrates a Random Access Procedure using Common PRACH Resources), comprising:
receiving resource configuration information sent by a base station (¶0363-¶0364 & Fig. 20; UE receives eNB [base station] configuration parameters. The configuration parameters for the common PRACH resource may be signaled to the UE using the extensions to the PRACH-Config IE);
determining slice information of a target network slice that triggers a random access (¶0358; When initiating the random access procedure [triggers a random access], the UE selects the PRACH resource based on the service being requested. Resources from the corresponding slice [target network slice] may then be used for completion of the random access procedure. See also ¶0370 & Fig. 21; configuration parameters are to configure resources corresponding to a service specific slice. For example, when initializing the random access procedure [triggers a random access], the UE selects a preamble from the appropriate group and service-specific subset based on the slick-specific services);
determining a first random access resource according to at least one of the resource configuration information or the slice information (¶363-¶364, ¶0370 & Fig. 20; determining by the UE a common PRACH resource [first random access resource] based upon selecting a preamble corresponding to a service-specific slice where the slice is one of a plurality of slices indicated by the configuration parameters. For example, when initializing the random access procedure, the UE selects a preamble from the appropriate group and service-specific subset based on the slick-specific services. This means that first/second/third etc. access resource is being selected based on slick-specific services);
and initiating the random access based on the first random access resource (¶0363-¶0364, ¶0370 & Fig. 20; initiating by the UE a PRACH procedure by transmitting to the eNB a random access preamble based upon the common PRACH resource);
wherein the resource configuration information is used to configure at least one of: a common random access resource (¶0329 & ¶363-¶0370 & Fig. 20; see random access procedure using common PRACH resources. For example, the configuration parameters for the common PRACH resource may be signaled to the UE using the extensions to the PRACH-Config IE); a specified random access resource corresponding to at least one network slice; a two-step random access resource; a four-step random access resource; a two-step common random access resource; a four-step common random access resource; a two-step specified random access resource; or a four-step specified random access resource.
Regarding Claim 2, Murray teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the first random access resource according to at least one of the resource configuration information or the slice information comprises: determining that the base station has configured at least a specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice, according to the resource configuration information and the slice information (Fig. 23 & ¶0394; random access procedure using slice specific resources. See also ¶363-¶364, ¶0370 & Fig. 20; determining by the UE a common PRACH resource based upon selecting a preamble corresponding to a service-specific slice [specified random access resource] where the slice is one of a plurality of slices indicated by the configuration parameters. Note that this means that the base station has or has not configured specified random access resource yet since the base station merely in the selecting phase. See also ¶0358; When initiating the random access procedure [triggers a random access], the UE selects the PRACH resource based on the service being requested. Resources from the corresponding slice [target network slice] may then be used for completion of the random access procedure);
determining the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice as a candidate resource (Fig. 23 & ¶0394-¶0399; When higher layers request the initiation of the random access procedure, the MAC entity first selects a slice [candidate resource] from which the PRACH preambles will be selected. The slice that is selected by the UE is determined based on device type/service requested. This means that the “specified random access resource” will be the one that is selected. Thereafter, the MAC entity performs random access resource selection in accordance with the procedure described in section 5.1.2 of 3GPP TS 36.331 or any other procedure designed for random access resource selection);
and determining the first random access resource based on the candidate resource (Fig. 23 & ¶0394-¶0399; When higher layers request the initiation of the random access procedure, the MAC entity first selects a slice [candidate resource] from which the PRACH preambles will be selected. The slice that is selected by the UE is determined based on device type/service requested. Thereafter, the MAC entity performs random access resource selection in accordance with the procedure described in section 5.1.2 of 3GPP TS 36.331 or any other procedure designed for random access resource selection).
Regarding Claim 3, Murray teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the first random access resource according to at least one of the resource configuration information or the slice information comprises: determining that the base station has not configured a specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice, but has configured the common random access resource, according to the resource configuration information and the slice information (Fig. 23 & ¶0394; random access procedure using slice specific resources. See also ¶363-¶364, ¶0370 & Fig. 20; determining by the UE a common PRACH resource based upon selecting a preamble corresponding to a service-specific slice [specified random access resource] where the slice is one of a plurality of slices indicated by the configuration parameters. Note that this means that the base station has or has not configured specified random access resource yet since the base station merely in the selecting phase. See also ¶0358; When initiating the random access procedure [triggers a random access], the UE selects the PRACH resource based on the service being requested. Resources from the corresponding slice [target network slice] may then be used for completion of the random access procedure);
determining the common random access resource as a candidate resource (Fig. 23 & ¶0394-¶0399; When higher layers request the initiation of the random access procedure, the MAC entity first selects a slice [candidate resource] from which the PRACH preambles will be selected. The slice that is selected by the UE is determined based on device type/service requested. Thereafter, the MAC entity performs random access resource selection in accordance with the procedure described in section 5.1.2 of 3GPP TS 36.331 or any other procedure designed for random access resource selection);
and determining the first random access resource based on the candidate resource (Fig. 23 & ¶0394-¶0399; When higher layers request the initiation of the random access procedure, the MAC entity first selects a slice [candidate resource] from which the PRACH preambles will be selected. The slice that is selected by the UE is determined based on device type/service requested. Thereafter, the MAC entity performs random access resource selection in accordance with the procedure described in section 5.1.2 of 3GPP TS 36.331 or any other procedure designed for random access resource selection).
Regarding Claim 9, Murray teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein determining the first random access resource based on the candidate resource comprises one of: in a case where the candidate resource comprises one of the common random access resource (Fig. 23 & ¶0394-¶0399; When higher layers request the initiation of the random access procedure, the MAC entity first selects a slice [candidate resource] from which the PRACH preambles will be selected. The slice that is selected by the UE is determined based on device type/service requested. Thereafter, the MAC entity performs random access resource selection in accordance with the procedure described in section 5.1.2 of 3GPP TS 36.331 or any other procedure designed for random access resource selection), the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice, the two-step random access resource or the four-step random access resource,
determining the candidate resource as the first random access resource (¶0329 & ¶363-¶0370 & Fig. 20; see random access procedure using common PRACH resources. For example, the configuration parameters for the common PRACH resource may be signaled to the UE using the extensions to the PRACH-Config IE);
in a case where the candidate resource comprises the common random access resource, determining the two-step common random access resource or the four-step common random access resource as the first random access resource;
in a case where the candidate resource comprises the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice, determining the two-step specified random access resource or the four-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource; in a case where the candidate resource comprises the two-step random access resource, determining the two-step common random access resource or the two-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource; or in a case where the candidate resource comprises the four-step random access resource, determining the four-step common random access resource or the four-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource.
Regarding Claim 35, Murray teaches a random access method, preformed by a base station (Fig. 20), comprising:
sending resource configuration information to a user equipment (UE) (¶0363-¶0364, ¶0370 & Fig. 20 (0); eNB [base station] transmits to a UE configuration parameters via signaling);
wherein the resource configuration information is used to configure at least one of: a common random access resource (¶0329 & ¶363-¶0366 & Fig. 20; see random access procedure using common PRACH resources. For example, the configuration parameters for the common PRACH resource may be signaled to the UE using the extensions to the PRACH-Config IE); a specified random access resource corresponding to at least one network slice; a two-step random access resource; a four-step random access resource; a two-step common random access resource; a four-step common random access resource; a two-step specified random access resource; or a four-step specified random access resource.
Claims 47 & 49 are substantially similar to claim 1, thus the same rationale applies.
Claim 50 is substantially similar to claim 35, thus the same rationale applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6-7, 10-12, 14-15, 24, 27, 29 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray in view of Rastegardoost et al. (hereinafter Rategardoost) US 2020/0314913 A1.
Regarding Claim 4, Murray further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the first random access resource according to at least one of the resource configuration information or the slice information comprises:
determining that the base station has configured at least a specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice and the common random access resource, according to the resource configuration information and the slice information (Fig. 23);
Murray does not expressly teach in response to determining that a signal quality is greater than a first threshold, determining the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice as a candidate resource;
in response to determining that the signal quality is less than or equal to the first threshold, determining the common random access resource as the candidate resource;
and determining the first random access resource based on the candidate resource.
Rastegardoost is analogous art because Rastegardoost is directed to a random access procedure. See ¶0278 & Fig. 12.
Rastegardoost also teaches in response to determining that a signal quality is greater than a first threshold, determining the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice as a candidate resource (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example, in ¶0281-¶0282; a UE may initiate a contention free random access procedure based on a beam failure indication from a lower layer. For example, a base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources for beam failure recovery request associated with at least one of SS blocks and/or CSI-RSs. If at least one of SS blocks with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks or at least one of CSI-RSs with a RSRP above a second RSRP threshold amongst associated CSI-RSs is available, a UE may select a random access preamble index corresponding to a selected SS block or CSI-RS from a set of one or more random access preambles for beam failure recovery request);
in response to determining that the signal quality is less than or equal to the first threshold, determining the common random access resource as the candidate resource (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example,¶0281-¶0285; a UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure. If a base station does not configure a UE with at least one contention free PRACH resource associated with SS blocks or CSI-RS, the UE may select a random access preamble index. If a base station configures a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources associated with SS blocks and at least one SS block with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks is available, the UE may select the at least one SS block and select a random access preamble corresponding to the at least one SS block. If a base station configures a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources associated with CSI-RSs and at least one CSI-RS with a RSRP above a second RSPR threshold amongst the associated CSI-RSs is available, the UE may select the at least one CSI-RS and select a random access preamble corresponding to the at least one CSI-RS);
and determining the first random access resource based on the candidate resource (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. The base station then determines the first random access resource based on the procedure which is similar to the candidate resource. For example, the Msg1 1220 may be one or more transmissions of a random access preamble. For a contention based random access procedure, a UE may select a SS block with a RSRP above the RSRP threshold. If random access preambles group B exists, a UE may select one or more random access preambles from a group A or a group B depending on a potential Msg3 1240 size. If a random access preambles group B does not exist, a UE may select the one or more random access preambles from a group A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Rategardoost into the system of Murray in order to indicate random access resources of an uplink bandwidth part of a cell, that comprise two-step random access resources and four-step random access resources. Determining that the two-step random access resources comprise contention-free two-step random access resources, the wireless device selects from among a two-step random access type and a four-step random access type, the two-step random access type (abstract). Based on the two-step random access type, a preamble is transmitted to the base station using the two-step random access resources (abstract).
Regarding Claim 6, Murray teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the first random access resource according to at least one of the resource configuration information or the slice information but does not expressly teach comprises:
determining that the base station has configured the two-step random access resource or the four-step random access resource, according to the resource configuration information;
determining the two-step random access resource or the four-step random access resource as a candidate resource; and determining the first random access resource based on the candidate resource.
Rastegardoost teaches comprises: determining that the base station has configured the two-step random access resource or the four-step random access resource, according to the resource configuration information (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures);
determining the two-step random access resource or the four-step random access resource as a candidate resource (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. The base station then determines the first random access resource based on the procedure which is similar to the candidate resource); and determining the first random access resource based on the candidate resource (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. The base station then determines the first random access resource based on the procedure which is similar to the candidate resource. For example, the Msg1 1220 may be one or more transmissions of a random access preamble. For a contention based random access procedure, a UE may select a SS block with a RSRP above the RSRP threshold. If random access preambles group B exists, a UE may select one or more random access preambles from a group A or a group B depending on a potential Msg3 1240 size. If a random access preambles group B does not exist, a UE may select the one or more random access preambles from a group A).
Regarding Claim 7, Murray teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the first random access resource according to at least one of the resource configuration information or the slice information but does not expressly teach comprises:
determining that the base station has configured the two-step random access resource and the four-step random access resource, according to the resource configuration information and the slice information; in response to determining that a signal quality is greater than a second threshold, determining the two-step random access resource as a candidate resource; in response to determining that the signal quality is less than or equal to the second threshold, determining the four-step random access resource as the candidate resource; and determining the first random access resource based on the candidate resource.
Ratsegardoost teaches comprises: determining that the base station has configured the two-step random access resource and the four-step random access resource, according to the resource configuration information and the slice information (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example, in ¶0281-¶0282; a UE may initiate a contention free random access procedure based on a beam failure indication from a lower layer. For example, a base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources for beam failure recovery request associated with at least one of SS blocks and/or CSI-RSs. If at least one of SS blocks with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks or at least one of CSI-RSs with a RSRP above a second RSRP threshold amongst associated CSI-RSs is available, a UE may select a random access preamble index corresponding to a selected SS block or CSI-RS from a set of one or more random access preambles for beam failure recovery request); in response to determining that a signal quality is greater than a second threshold, determining the two-step random access resource as a candidate resource (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example, in ¶0281-¶0282; a UE may initiate a contention free random access procedure based on a beam failure indication from a lower layer. For example, a base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources for beam failure recovery request associated with at least one of SS blocks and/or CSI-RSs. If at least one of SS blocks with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks or at least one of CSI-RSs with a RSRP above a second RSRP threshold amongst associated CSI-RSs is available, a UE may select a random access preamble index corresponding to a selected SS block or CSI-RS from a set of one or more random access preambles for beam failure recovery request); in response to determining that the signal quality is less than or equal to the second threshold, determining the four-step random access resource as the candidate resource (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example, ¶0281-¶0285; a UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure. If a base station does not configure a UE with at least one contention free PRACH resource associated with SS blocks or CSI-RS, the UE may select a random access preamble index. If a base station configures a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources associated with SS blocks and at least one SS block with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks is available, the UE may select the at least one SS block and select a random access preamble corresponding to the at least one SS block. If a base station configures a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources associated with CSI-RSs and at least one CSI-RS with a RSRP above a second RSPR threshold amongst the associated CSI-RSs is available, the UE may select the at least one CSI-RS and select a random access preamble corresponding to the at least one CSI-RS); and determining the first random access resource based on the candidate resource (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. The base station then determines the first random access resource based on the procedure which is similar to the candidate resource. For example, the Msg1 1220 may be one or more transmissions of a random access preamble. For a contention based random access procedure, a UE may select a SS block with a RSRP above the RSRP threshold. If random access preambles group B exists, a UE may select one or more random access preambles from a group A or a group B depending on a potential Msg3 1240 size. If a random access preambles group B does not exist, a UE may select the one or more random access preambles from a group A).
Claims 11-12: common resource was selected in claim 1, thus the art does not need to teach two step specified random access because the claims are written in an alternative format. Despite that, Examiner still cites to Rastegardoost.
Regarding Claim 10, Murray teaches the method according to claim 9, but does not expressly teach wherein in the case where the candidate resource comprises the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice, determining the two-step specified random access resource or the four-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource comprises: in the case where the candidate resource comprises the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice, determining that the base station has configured at least the two-step specified random access resource and the four-step specified random access resource according the resource configuration information; and performing one of: in response to determining that a signal quality is greater than a second threshold, determining the two-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource; or in response to determining that a signal quality is less than or equal to a second threshold, determining the four-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource.
Rastegardoost teaches wherein in the case where the candidate resource comprises the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice, determining the two-step specified random access resource or the four-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures) comprises: in the case where the candidate resource comprises the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice, determining that the base station has configured at least the two-step specified random access resource and the four-step specified random access resource according the resource configuration information (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures); and performing one of: in response to determining that a signal quality is greater than a second threshold, determining the two-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; see different threshold and different scenarios); or in response to determining that a signal quality is less than or equal to a second threshold, determining the four-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource (common resource was selected, thus the art does not need to teach two step specified random access because the claims are written in an alternative format).
Regarding Claim 11, Murray teaches the method according to claim 9, but does not expressly teach wherein in the case where the candidate resource comprises the two-step random access resource, determining the two-step common random access resource or the two-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource comprises: in the case where the candidate resource comprises the two-step random access resource, determining that the base station has configured the two-step common random access resource and the two-step specified random access resource according to the resource configuration information; and performing one of: determining the two-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource; in response to determining that a signal quality is greater than a second threshold, determining the two-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource; or in response to determining that a signal quality is less than or equal to a second threshold, determining the two-step common random access resource as the first random access resource (common resource was selected, thus the art does not need to teach two step specified random access because the claims are written in an alternative format).
Rastegardoost teaches wherein in the case where the candidate resource comprises the two-step random access resource, determining the two-step common random access resource or the two-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource comprises: in the case where the candidate resource comprises the two-step random access resource, determining that the base station has configured the two-step common random access resource and the two-step specified random access resource according to the resource configuration information (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example, in ¶0281-¶0282; a UE may initiate a contention free random access procedure based on a beam failure indication from a lower layer. For example, a base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources for beam failure recovery request associated with at least one of SS blocks and/or CSI-RSs. If at least one of SS blocks with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks or at least one of CSI-RSs with a RSRP above a second RSRP threshold amongst associated CSI-RSs is available, a UE may select a random access preamble index corresponding to a selected SS block or CSI-RS from a set of one or more random access preambles for beam failure recovery request); and performing one of: determining the two-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example, in ¶0281-¶0282; a UE may initiate a contention free random access procedure based on a beam failure indication from a lower layer. For example, a base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources for beam failure recovery request associated with at least one of SS blocks and/or CSI-RSs. If at least one of SS blocks with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks or at least one of CSI-RSs with a RSRP above a second RSRP threshold amongst associated CSI-RSs is available, a UE may select a random access preamble index corresponding to a selected SS block or CSI-RS from a set of one or more random access preambles for beam failure recovery request); in response to determining that a signal quality is greater than a second threshold, determining the two-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource; or in response to determining that a signal quality is less than or equal to a second threshold, determining the two-step common random access resource as the first random access resource
Regarding Claim 12, Murray teaches the method according to claim 9, but does not expressly teach, wherein in the case where the candidate resource comprises the four-step random access resource, determining the four-step common random access resource or the four-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource according to the resource configuration information comprises: in the case where the candidate resource comprises the four-step random access resource, determining that the base station has configured the four-step common random access resource and the four-step specified random access resource according to the resource configuration information and performing one of: determining the four-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource in response to determining that a signal quality is greater than a first threshold, determining the four-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource; or in response to determining that a signal quality is less than or equal to a first threshold, determining the four-step common random access resource as the first random access resource
Rastegardoost teaches wherein in the case where the candidate resource comprises the four-step random access resource, determining the four-step common random access resource or the four-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource according to the resource configuration information comprises: in the case where the candidate resource comprises the four-step random access resource, determining that the base station has configured the four-step common random access resource and the four-step specified random access resource according to the resource configuration information (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example, in ¶0281-¶0282; a UE may initiate a contention free random access procedure based on a beam failure indication from a lower layer. For example, a base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources for beam failure recovery request associated with at least one of SS blocks and/or CSI-RSs. If at least one of SS blocks with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks or at least one of CSI-RSs with a RSRP above a second RSRP threshold amongst associated CSI-RSs is available, a UE may select a random access preamble index corresponding to a selected SS block or CSI-RS from a set of one or more random access preambles for beam failure recovery request);
and performing one of: determining the four-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example, in ¶0281-¶0282; a UE may initiate a contention free random access procedure based on a beam failure indication from a lower layer. For example, a base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources for beam failure recovery request associated with at least one of SS blocks and/or CSI-RSs. If at least one of SS blocks with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks or at least one of CSI-RSs with a RSRP above a second RSRP threshold amongst associated CSI-RSs is available, a UE may select a random access preamble index corresponding to a selected SS block or CSI-RS from a set of one or more random access preambles for beam failure recovery request); in response to determining that a signal quality is greater than a first threshold, determining the four-step specified random access resource as the first random access resource; or in response to determining that a signal quality is less than or equal to a first threshold, determining the four-step common random access resource as the first random access resource (common resource was selected, thus the art does not need to teach four step specified random access because the claims are written in an alternative format).
Regarding Claim 14, Murray teaches the method according to claim 1, but does not expressly teach further comprising: in response to meeting a preset fallback condition, not performing a resource fallback; or in response to meeting the preset fallback condition, determining a second random access resource to be fallen back to; and reinitiating the random access based on the second random access resource, wherein the preset fallback condition comprises one of: a number of failures of the random access initiated based on the first random access resource reaching a first fallback threshold; a first fallback timer expiring; or receiving a random access resource fallback indication message corresponding to the target network slice.
Rategardoost teaches further comprising: in response to meeting a preset fallback condition, not performing a resource fallback (Figs. 23-24 & ¶0439-¶0440; device may or may not fallback to a 2 step procedure or 4 step procedure based on a threshold. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to realize that signal is below a threshold, then no resource fallback. For example, the wireless device may initiate a RACH-less procedure if the dedicated PUSCH (RACH-less) resources are configured and/or the RSRP of the configured downlink reference signal associated with the RACH-less resources is above a threshold. The wireless device may initiate a contention-free (CF) 2-step RACH procedure via dedicated 2-step RACH resources (PRACH and PUSCH and mapping of PRACH and PUSCH) if configured, and/or the RSRP of the configured downlink reference signals associated with the 2-step RACH resources is below the threshold, and/or the RACH-less procedure fails. The wireless device may initiate a contention-based (CB) 2-step RACH procedure via common 2-step RACH resources (PRACH and PUSCH and mapping of PRACH and PUSCH) if dedicated 2-step RACH resources are not configured, and/or the RSRPs of all of the configured downlink reference signals are below the threshold, and/or the RACH-less procedure fails. The wireless device may initiate a contention-based (CB) 4-step RACH procedure via common PRACH resources if 2-step RACH resources are not configured, and/or the RSRPs of all of the configured downlink reference signals are below the threshold, and/or the RACH-less procedure fails);
or in response to meeting the preset fallback condition, determining a second random access resource to be fallen back to; and reinitiating the random access based on the second random access resource, wherein the preset fallback condition comprises one of: a number of failures of the random access initiated based on the first random access resource reaching a first fallback threshold;
a first fallback timer expiring;
or receiving a random access resource fallback indication message corresponding to the target network slice.
Regarding Claim 15, Murray in view of Rategardoost teaches the method according to claim 14, Rategardoost further teaches wherein in response to meeting the preset fallback condition, not performing the resource fallback comprises one of:
in response to meeting the preset fallback condition when the random access is initiated by using a specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice as the first random access resource, not performing the resource fallback;
or in response to meeting the preset fallback condition when the random access is initiated by using the common random access resource as the first random access resource, not performing the resource fallback (Figs. 23-24 & ¶0439-¶0440; this limitation is obvious because common random access resource is being used. For example, the wireless device may initiate a RACH-less procedure if the dedicated PUSCH (RACH-less) resources are configured and/or the RSRP of the configured downlink reference signal associated with the RACH-less resources is above a threshold. The wireless device may initiate a contention-free (CF) 2-step RACH procedure via dedicated 2-step RACH resources (PRACH and PUSCH and mapping of PRACH and PUSCH) if configured, and/or the RSRP of the configured downlink reference signals associated with the 2-step RACH resources is below the threshold, and/or the RACH-less procedure fails. The wireless device may initiate a contention-based (CB) 2-step RACH procedure via common 2-step RACH resources (PRACH and PUSCH and mapping of PRACH and PUSCH) if dedicated 2-step RACH resources are not configured, and/or the RSRPs of all of the configured downlink reference signals are below the threshold, and/or the RACH-less procedure fails. The wireless device may initiate a contention-based (CB) 4-step RACH procedure via common PRACH resources if 2-step RACH resources are not configured, and/or the RSRPs of all of the configured downlink reference signals are below the threshold, and/or the RACH-less procedure fails).
Regarding Claim 24, Murray teaches the method according to claim 16, but does not expressly teach wherein the first random access resource is the two-step specified random access resource, wherein determining the second random access resource to be fallen back to comprises one of: determining that the base station has configured the four-step specified random access resource according to the resource configuration information and the slice information; and determining the four-step specified random access resource as the second random access resource; determining that the base station has configured the common random access resource according to the resource configuration information and the slice information; and determining the second random access resource from the common random access resource according to the resource configuration information and a signal quality; or determining that the base station has configured the common random access resource according to the resource configuration information and the slice information; determining to be capable of falling back to the common random access resource to reinitiate the random access, according to first indication information sent by the base station; and determining the second random access resource from the common random access resource according to the resource configuration information and a signal quality.
Rategardoost teaches wherein the first random access resource is the two-step specified random access resource, wherein determining the second random access resource to be fallen back to comprises one of: determining that the base station has configured the four-step specified random access resource according to the resource configuration information and the slice information (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example, in ¶0281-¶0282; a UE may initiate a contention free random access procedure based on a beam failure indication from a lower layer. For example, a base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources for beam failure recovery request associated with at least one of SS blocks and/or CSI-RSs. If at least one of SS blocks with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks or at least one of CSI-RSs with a RSRP above a second RSRP threshold amongst associated CSI-RSs is available, a UE may select a random access preamble index corresponding to a selected SS block or CSI-RS from a set of one or more random access preambles for beam failure recovery request); and determining the four-step specified random access resource as the second random access resource; determining that the base station has configured the common random access resource according to the resource configuration information and the slice information; and determining the second random access resource from the common random access resource according to the resource configuration information and a signal quality; or determining that the base station has configured the common random access resource according to the resource configuration information and the slice information; determining to be capable of falling back to the common random access resource to reinitiate the random access, according to first indication information sent by the base station; and determining the second random access resource from the common random access resource according to the resource configuration information and a signal quality.
Regarding Claim 27, Murray teaches the method according to claim 24, but does not expressly teach wherein determining the second random access resource from the common random access resource according to the resource configuration information and the signal quality comprises: determining that the base station has configured the two-step common random access resource according to the resource configuration information; determining that the signal quality is greater than a third threshold; and determining the two-step common random access resource as the second random access resource.
Rategardoost teaches wherein determining the second random access resource from the common random access resource according to the resource configuration information and the signal quality comprises: determining that the base station has configured the two-step common random access resource according to the resource configuration information (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example, in ¶0281-¶0282; a UE may initiate a contention free random access procedure based on a beam failure indication from a lower layer. For example, a base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources for beam failure recovery request associated with at least one of SS blocks and/or CSI-RSs. If at least one of SS blocks with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks or at least one of CSI-RSs with a RSRP above a second RSRP threshold amongst associated CSI-RSs is available, a UE may select a random access preamble index corresponding to a selected SS block or CSI-RS from a set of one or more random access preambles for beam failure recovery request); determining that the signal quality is greater than a third threshold; and determining the two-step common random access resource as the second random access resource.
Regarding Claim 29, Murray teaches the method according to claim 16, but does not expressly teach wherein the first random access resource belongs to the common random access resource, wherein determining the second random access resource to be fallen back to comprises one of: determining that the base station has configured the four-step common random access resource according to the resource configuration information and the slice information; and determining the four-step common random access resource as the second random access resource; determining that the base station has configured a specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice according to the resource configuration information and the slice information; and determining the second random access resource from the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice according to the resource configuration information and a signal quality; or determining that the base station has configured a specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice according to the resource configuration information and the slice information; determining to be capable of falling back to the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice to reinitiate the random access, according to second indication information sent by the base station; and determining the second random access resource from the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice according to the resource configuration information and a signal quality.
Rategardoost teaches wherein the first random access resource belongs to the common random access resource, wherein determining the second random access resource to be fallen back to comprises one of: determining that the base station has configured the four-step common random access resource according to the resource configuration information and the slice information (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example, in ¶0281-¶0282; a UE may initiate a contention free random access procedure based on a beam failure indication from a lower layer. For example, a base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources for beam failure recovery request associated with at least one of SS blocks and/or CSI-RSs. If at least one of SS blocks with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks or at least one of CSI-RSs with a RSRP above a second RSRP threshold amongst associated CSI-RSs is available, a UE may select a random access preamble index corresponding to a selected SS block or CSI-RS from a set of one or more random access preambles for beam failure recovery request); and determining the four-step common random access resource as the second random access resource; determining that the base station has configured a specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice according to the resource configuration information and the slice information; and determining the second random access resource from the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice according to the resource configuration information and a signal quality; or determining that the base station has configured a specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice according to the resource configuration information and the slice information; determining to be capable of falling back to the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice to reinitiate the random access, according to second indication information sent by the base station; and determining the second random access resource from the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice according to the resource configuration information and a signal quality.
Regarding Claim 32, Murray teaches the method according to claim 29, but does not expressly teach wherein determining the second random access resource from the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice according to the resource configuration information and the signal quality comprises one of: determining that the base station has configured the four-step specified random access resource according to the resource configuration information; and determining the four-step specified random access resource as the second random access resource; or determining that the base station has configured the four-step specified random access resource according to the resource configuration information; determining that the signal quality is greater than a fourth threshold; and determining the four-step specified random access resource as the second random access resource.
Rategardoost teaches wherein determining the second random access resource from the specified random access resource corresponding to the target network slice according to the resource configuration information and the signal quality comprises one of: determining that the base station has configured the four-step specified random access resource according to the resource configuration information (¶0278-¶0449 & Figs. 12-32; contention based random access and contention free random access procedures, two step or four step procedures for random access resource configuration methods for the identified random access procedures. For example, in ¶0281-¶0282; a UE may initiate a contention free random access procedure based on a beam failure indication from a lower layer. For example, a base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more contention free PRACH resources for beam failure recovery request associated with at least one of SS blocks and/or CSI-RSs. If at least one of SS blocks with a RSRP above a first RSRP threshold amongst associated SS blocks or at least one of CSI-RSs with a RSRP above a second RSRP threshold amongst associated CSI-RSs is available, a UE may select a random access preamble index corresponding to a selected SS block or CSI-RS from a set of one or more random access preambles for beam failure recovery request); and determining the four-step specified random access resource as the second random access resource; or determining that the base station has configured the four-step specified random access resource according to the resource configuration information; determining that the signal quality is greater than a fourth threshold; and determining the four-step specified random access resource as the second random access resource.
Conclusion
MAHRAN ABU ROUMI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2455
/MAHRAN Y ABU ROUMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455