DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-6, filed 01/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new amendments and new prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki et al. (US 2012/0161558 A1) in view of Fukunaga et al. (Us 2022/0200398 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamasaki disclose an assembly (1) comprised of power electronics (3) comprising three-phase outputs (70, 74) and a three-phase motor (2) comprising three-phase inputs (23), the assembly (1) comprising N three-phase outputs (70, 74) and N three-phase inputs (23) with N>1, the N three-phase inputs (23) of the three-phase motor (2) face the N three-phase outputs (70, 74) of the power electronics (3), the N three-phase outputs (70, 74) and the N three-phase inputs (23) are located respectively at an outer periphery of the power electronics (3) and at an outer periphery of the three-phase motor (2; FIG. 1), a shape and perimeter of an external periphery (10) of the three-phase motor (2) is identical to that of an external periphery (110) of the power electronics (3).
Yamasaki does not disclose the N three-phase outputs and the N three-phase inputs are located respectively at an outer side of an external periphery of the power electronics and at an outer side of an external periphery of the three-phase motor.
Fukunaga discloses the N three-phase outputs (82) and the N three-phase inputs (4) are located respectively at an outer side of an external periphery of the power electronics (8) and at an outer side of an external periphery of the three-phase motor (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga to disclose the N three-phase outputs and the N three-phase inputs are located respectively at an outer side of an external periphery of the power electronics and at an outer side of an external periphery of the three-phase motor, for the advantages of a connector that can be sealed even when a refrigerant enters a wire harness, and the wire harness can be easily replaced.
Regarding claim 3/1, Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga was discussed above in claim 1. Yamasaki further discloses wherein the three-phase motor (2) includes at least three three-phase inputs (23; six inputs).
Regarding claim 4/1, Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga was discussed above in claim 1. Yamasaki further discloses wherein the three-phase motor (2) includes at least six three-phase inputs (23; six inputs).
Regarding claim 5/1, Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga was discussed above in claim 1. Yamasaki further discloses wherein the three-phase motor (2) and the power electronics (3) are cylinders with a circular cross-section (FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 7/1, Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga was discussed above in claim 1. Yamasaki further discloses wherein the power electronics (3) is comprised of inverters (60; ¶ [0074]-[0075]) connected to the N three-phase outputs (70, 74).
Regarding claim 8/1, Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga was discussed above in claim 1. Yamasaki further discloses wherein the N three-phase outputs (70, 74) are comprised of output phases (output from the inverters 60) and the N three-phase inputs (23) are comprised of input phases (input to winding wire 22), a connection between the input phases and the output phases (connection between the inverters and the winding) is made by a filter card (76, 77) for each three-phase output (70, 74) and input (23).
Regarding claim 10/8, Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga was discussed above in claim 8. Yamasaki further discloses wherein connections between the input phases (input to winding wire 22) and the output phases (output from the inverters 60) are comprised of a shunt (99) for each three-phase output (70, 74) and input (23).
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki et al. (US 2012/0161558 A1) in view of Fukunaga et al. (Us 2022/0200398 A1) as applied to claim 1 or 8 above, and further in view of Hotta et al. (US 2021/0344295 A1).
Regarding claim 2/1, Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga was discussed above in claim 1. Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga does not explicitly disclose wherein the three-phase motor is star-connected.
Hotta discloses wherein the three-phase motor is star-connected (FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga, further in view of Hotta to disclose wherein the three-phase motor is star-connected, as connecting a three-phase motor in a star or delta connection, or a combination of both, is very well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9/8, Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga was discussed above in claim 8. Yamasaki further discloses wherein a connection between the input phases and the output phases is made by a switching card (81-86) for each N three-phase output (70, 74) and input (23).
Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga does not disclose that the switching card is a static switching card.
Hotta discloses in ¶ [0040] that MOSFETs and static induction transistors are used as switching elements for the same purpose.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga, further in view of Hotta to disclose the switching card is a static switching card, as evidenced by Hotta in ¶ [0040] one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to easily change one semiconductor device for another to use as a switching element.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki et al. (US 2012/0161558 A1) in view of Fukunaga et al. (Us 2022/0200398 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugiura et al. (WO 2020/170901 A1).
Regarding claim 6/1, Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga was discussed above in claim 1. Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga does not disclose wherein connections between the N three-phase outputs of the power electronics and the N three-phase inputs of the three-phase motor are protected by a protective casing.
Sugiura discloses wherein connections (82) are protected by a protective casing (77).
The cover member (77) of Sugiura can be incorporated into Fukunaga to cover the exposed wire harness (63) connecting the power electronics to the motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yamasaki in view of Fukunaga, further in view of Sugiura to disclose wherein connections between the N three-phase outputs of the power electronics and the N three-phase inputs of the three-phase motor are protected by a protective casing, for the advantages of protecting the connectors from damage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834