Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Examiner’s Remarks - Claim Objection
The examiner suggest that the applicant replace the term “equipment” to either “device or apparatus”. The examiner maintains the objection.
Examiner’s Remarks - 35 USC § 112
The examiner withdraws the rejection in view of applicant’s claim amendment(s).
Examiner’s Remarks - 35 USC § 103 – Independent claims 1 and 16
The applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 16 to include the new feature(s) of, “receive, at the application entity from the first network function, a credential generated by the first network function; send, from the application entity to the second network function, a message comprising the credential; receive a result of the authentication from at least one of the first and second network functions, the application entity being authenticated by the second network function in response to the second network function verifying that the credential is associated with the first network function”. In view of the new claim amendment(s) the examiner introduces the teachings of prior art reference CHOYI et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2024/0064144) to the record. The examiner contends that CHOYI teaches trust relationships and utilizes credentials for access control. See rejections below.
The examiner notes that applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 16 pertaining to prior art reference GUO have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the GUO reference. See rejections below.
Examiner’s Remarks - 35 USC § 103 – Independent claims 9 and 12
The applicant has amended independent claims 9 and 12 to include the new feature(s) of, “wherein the application entity is authenticated by the second network function in response to the second network function verifying that the CCA token, received by the second network function from the application entity, is associated with the first network function”. In view of the new claim amendment(s) the examiner introduces the teachings of prior art reference CHOYI et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2024/0064144) to the record. The examiner contends that CHOYI teaches trust relationships and utilizes credentials for access control. See rejections below.
The examiner notes that applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9 and 12 pertaining to prior art reference GUO have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the GUO reference. See rejections below.
With regards to applicant’s remarks of, “Chang therefore contains no entity corresponding to the claimed application entity that receives a credential from one network function and carries it to a second network function with which it has no prior trust relationship. Moreover, the access token of Chang is generated by mechanism 316-the element the Office Action maps to the second network function-and not by the element mapped to the first network function”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that applicants’ current independent claim structure does not restrict or limit the implementation/interpretation of the said application entity. As such, the examiner contends there are many reasonable implementations/interpretations that are afforded from such claim structure. Additionally, the examiner notes that applicant’s argued feature(s) of, “application entity that receives a credential from one network function and carries it to a second network function with which it has no prior trust relationship”, is currently not explicitly recited in the claim current independent claim structure.
With regards to applicant’s remarks of, “There is no third-party issuer that generates a credential vouching for a different entity. Further, Tran expressly provides that "A service registry 106 can have an existing trust relationship with each of the first application 108, the second application 110, and the third application 112," id. at 1 [0019], so Tran does not describe authentication of an entity across a trust gap at all”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that applicant’s argued feature(s) of, “there is no third-party issuer that generates a credential vouching for a different entity” and “authentication of an entity across a trust gap” are not explicitly recited in the current claim structure of applicant’s independent claims. (EMPHASIS)
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “equipment”. The examiner recommends that the applicant replace “equipment” with “device or apparatus”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2015/0074395 and Chang hereinafter) in view of TRAN (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0219863) and further in view of CHOYI et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2024/0064144 and CHOYI hereinafter).
As to claims 1 and 16, Chang teaches a network equipment (NE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (i.e., …teaches in par. 0005 the following: “The system/apparatus may comprise one or more processors and a memory coupled to the one or more processors.”);
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the NE to (i.e., …teaches in par. 0005 the following: “The system/apparatus may comprise one or more processors and a memory coupled to the one or more processors.”):
send, from an application entity, a request to a first network function to authenticate the application entity to a second network function that does not have a trust relationship with the application entity (i.e., …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “To establish the trust relationship, administrator 308 of device 302 initiates a registration request to register the one or more applications with the one or more resources via a user interface (UI) to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306. Administrator 308 may then submit the registration request and, by sending the registration request via trust relationship establishment mechanism 306, trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 may send the registration request to trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 as an authorized registration request. Those skilled in the art will recognize that trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 may send additional credential data in the registration request to trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 to enable trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 to validate authenticity of subsequent request in a next trust establishment operation.”),
the request comprising at least one verifiable parameter for authenticating the application entity (i.e., …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “may include in the registration request one or more registration artifacts, such as a redirection uniform resource identifier (URI), a requested scope that identifies a role of the requesting one or more applications, a local state of device 302, an identifier representing the administrator 308, a public key or certificate for the one or more applications, any additional authentication data associated with the application or the user of the application, the one or more resources to be accessed, or the like.”. …teaches in par. 0035 the following: “If trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 verifies that the redirection URI included with the access token request is the same as the redirection URI provided with the registration request, the trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 sends an access token back to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 via trust relationship establishment mechanism 316.”);
and a processor that establish a trust relationship between the application entity and the second network function wherein the application entity can communicate with the second network function in response to the application entity being authenticated (i.e., …teaches in par. 0035 the following: “the access token may be used by resource-side system to grant application side devices and users authorized access to resource side resources.”).
Chang does not expressly
the first network function having a trust relationship with the application entity and the second network function.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Tran.
TRAN teaches in par. 0020 the following: “The service registry 106 can authenticate the registration requests using the pre-established trust relationship. The system 100 creates the trust relationship by binding each of the first application 108, the second application 110 and the third application 112 to a service instance of the service registry…”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to implement the teaching of Chang with the teachings of TRAN by having their system comprise an enhanced application security process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to configure application security, wherein the enhanced application security process helps to prevent unauthorized applications in the network and makes it easier to ensure network system security.
The system of Chang and Tran does not expressly teach:
receive, at the application entity from the first network function, a credential generated by the first network function;
send, from the application entity to the second network function, a message comprising the credential;
receive a result of the authentication from at least one of the first and second network functions,
the application entity being authenticated by the second network function in response to the second network function verifying that the credential is associated with the first network function.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference CHOYI.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “receive, at the application entity from the first network function, a credential generated by the first network function”, teaches in par. 0019 the following: “a credential registration and provisioning”. CHOYI teaches in par. 0037 the following: “an access tokens refer to credentials used to access protected resource”. Teaches in par. 0040 the following: “The SLMF 310 may use the services of a Credential Management Function (CMF) 312,”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “send, from the application entity to the second network function, a message comprising the credential”, teaches in par. 0049 the following: “a set of generated credentials shared can be shared between two entities and can be used in order to generate another set of credentials”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “receive a result of the authentication from at least one of the first and second network functions”, teaches in par. 0037 the following: “the authorization server can vouch that an entity has the appropriate privileges”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “the application entity being authenticated by the second network function in response to the second network function verifying that the credential is associated with the first network function”, teaches in par. 0074 the following: “The credentials may be used both by the Devices as well as the Del 604 in order to mutually authenticate the messages sent between the Devices and the Del 604.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to implement the teaching of Chang and TRAN with the teachings of CHOYI by having their system comprise an enhanced security management process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to manage access control within a network, wherein the enhanced security management process helps to prevent unauthorized access within the network and makes it easier to ensure network access is controlled.
As to claims 2 and 17, the system of Chang, Tran and CHOYI as applied to claim 1 above teaches trust relationship, specifically Chang teaches a NE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to receive, from the first network function, a network address identifier ("NAI") of the second network function (i.e., …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “To establish the trust relationship, administrator 308 of device 302 initiates a registration request to register the one or more applications with the one or more resources via a user interface (UI) to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306. Administrator 308 may include in the registration request one or more registration artifacts, such as a redirection uniform resource identifier (URI), a requested scope that identifies a role of the requesting one or more applications, a local state of device 302, an identifier representing the administrator 308, a public key or certificate for the one or more applications, any additional authentication data associated with the application or the user of the application, the one or more resources to be accessed, or the like.”), and a client credential assertion ("CCA") token associated with the first network function (i.e., …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “To establish the trust relationship, administrator 308 of device 302 initiates a registration request to register the one or more applications with the one or more resources via a user interface (UI) to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306. Administrator 308 may include in the registration request one or more registration artifacts, such as a redirection uniform resource identifier (URI), a requested scope that identifies a role of the requesting one or more applications, a local state of device 302, an identifier representing the administrator 308, a public key or certificate for the one or more applications, any additional authentication data associated with the application or the user of the application, the one or more resources to be accessed, or the like.”).
As to claim 7, the system of Chang, Tran and CHOYI as applied to claim 1 above teaches trust relationship, specifically Chang teaches a NE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to determine application entity information for the application entity, the application entity information comprising at least one of an application entity identifier, an application identifier, and management information for authenticating the application entity with a mobile wireless communication network (i.e., …teaches in par. 0003 the following: “an authorization code and a symmetric key”).
As to claim 8, the system Chang, Tran and CHOYI as applied to claim 7 above teaches trust relationship, specifically Chang teaches a NE of claim 7, wherein the management information comprises a service description associated with the application entity (i.e., …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “scope that identifies a role of the requesting one or more applications” …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “any additional authentication data associated with the application”.),
the service description translated into a slice blueprint at the second network function to derive an application identifier (i.e., …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “scope that identifies a role of the requesting one or more applications” …teaches in par. 0034 the following: “verifiable authentication data,”.).
As to claim 9, Chang teaches a network equipment (NE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (i.e., …teaches in par. 0005 the following: “The system/apparatus may comprise one or more processors and a memory coupled to the one or more processors. The memory may comprise instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform various ones of, and combinations of, the operations outlined above with regard to the method illustrative embodiment”);
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the NE to (i.e., …teaches in par. 0005 the following: “The system/apparatus may comprise one or more processors and a memory coupled to the one or more processors. The memory may comprise instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform various ones of, and combinations of, the operations outlined above with regard to the method illustrative embodiment”):
generate, at a first network function, a client credential assertion ("CCA") token for the first network function (i.e., …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “…device 302 initiates a registration request to register the one or more applications with the one or more resources via a user interface (UI) to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306. Administrator 308 may include in the registration request one or more registration artifacts, such as a redirection uniform resource identifier (URI), a requested scope that identifies a role of the requesting one or more applications, a local state of device 302, an identifier representing the administrator 308, a public key or certificate for the one or more applications, any additional authentication data associated with the application or the user of the application, the one or more resources to be accessed, or the like.”);
send from the first network function, an authentication request to a second network function for authenticating an application entity (i.e., …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “then submit the registration request and, by sending the registration request via trust relationship establishment mechanism 306, trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 may send the registration request to trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 as an authorized registration request.”),
the authentication request comprising the CCA token of the first network function (i.e., …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “…device 302 initiates a registration request to register the one or more applications with the one or more resources via a user interface (UI) to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306. Administrator 308 may include in the registration request one or more registration artifacts, such as a redirection uniform resource identifier (URI), a requested scope that identifies a role of the requesting one or more applications, a local state of device 302, an identifier representing the administrator 308, a public key or certificate for the one or more applications, any additional authentication data associated with the application or the user of the application, the one or more resources to be accessed, or the like.”),
receive, at the first network function from the second network function, a response to the authentication request comprising a network address identifier ("NAI") for the second network function (i.e., …teaches in par. 0033 the following: “response back to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 via trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 using the redirection URI provided by the trust relationship establishment mechanism 306.”);
and send, from the first network function to the application entity, the response to the authentication request comprising the NAI for the second network function and the CCA token of the first network function for establishing a security association between the application entity and the second network function (i.e., …teaches in par. 0033 the following: “response back to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 via trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 using the redirection URI provided by the trust relationship establishment mechanism 306.” …teaches in par. 0035 the following: “verifies that the redirection URI included with the access token request matches the redirection URI provided with the registration request. If trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 verifies that the redirection URI included with the access token request is the same as the redirection URI provided with the registration request, the trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 sends an access token back to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 via trust relationship establishment mechanism 316. … the access token may be used by resource-side system to grant application side devices and users authorized access to resource side resources”).
Chang does not expressly teach:
the application entity having a trust relationship with the first network function and not the second network function.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Tran.
TRAN teaches in par. 0025 the following: “Each of the first application 108, second application 110 and third application 112 can perform authentication of the respective invocation request using the received token through the service registry 106.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to implement the teaching of Chang with the teachings of TRAN by having their system comprise an enhanced application security process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to configure application security, wherein the enhanced application security process helps to prevent unauthorized applications in the network and makes it easier to ensure network system security.
The system of Chang and TRAN does not expressly teach:
wherein the application entity is authenticated by the second network function in response to the second network function verifying that the CCA token,
received by the second network function from the application entity, is associated with the first network function.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference CHOYI.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “wherein the application entity is authenticated by the second network function in response to the second network function verifying that the CCA token”, teaches in par. 0074 the following: “The credentials may be used both by the Devices as well as the Del 604 in order to mutually authenticate the messages sent between the Devices and the Del 604.”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “received by the second network function from the application entity, is associated with the first network function”, teaches in par. 0047 the following: “The AF may have a trust relationship with the TEL The AF and the Dev_A may perform a security association by means of an authentication process (either directly or indirectly) by leveraging the trust relationships with the TEL An associated security context may be created that is shared between the Dev_A and the AF.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to implement the teaching of Chang and TRAN with the teachings of CHOYI by having their system comprise an enhanced security management process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to manage access control within a network, wherein the enhanced security management process helps to prevent unauthorized access within the network and makes it easier to ensure network access is controlled.
As to claim 10, the system of Chang, Tran and CHOYI as applied to claim 9 above teaches trust relationship, specifically Chang teaches a NE of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to determine a first secret token at the first network function in response to a request to authenticate the application entity to the second network function that has a trust relationship with the first network function and does not have a trust relationship with the application entity (i.e., …teaches in par. 0033 the following: “response back to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 via trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 using the redirection URI provided by the trust relationship establishment mechanism 306.” …teaches in par. 0035 the following: “verifies that the redirection URI included with the access token request matches the redirection URI provided with the registration request. If trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 verifies that the redirection URI included with the access token request is the same as the redirection URI provided with the registration request, the trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 sends an access token back to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 via trust relationship establishment mechanism 316. … the access token may be used by resource-side system to grant application side devices and users authorized access to resource side resources”).
As to claim 11, the system of Chang, Tran and CHOYI as applied to claim 10 above teaches trust relationship, specifically Chang teaches a NE of claim 10, wherein the authentication request further comprises the first secret token, an identifier for the first network function, and an application identifier for the application entity for verifying the authentication request and authenticating the application entity (i.e., …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “may include in the registration request one or more registration artifacts, such as a redirection uniform resource identifier (URI), a requested scope that identifies a role of the requesting one or more applications, a local state of device 302, an identifier representing the administrator 308, a public key or certificate for the one or more applications, any additional authentication data associated with the application or the user of the application, the one or more resources to be accessed, or the like.”).
As to claim 12, Chang teaches a network equipment (NE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (i.e., …teaches in par. 0005 the following: “The system/apparatus may comprise one or more processors and a memory coupled to the one or more processors. The memory may comprise instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform various ones of, and combinations of, the operations outlined above with regard to the method illustrative embodiment”);
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the NE to (i.e., …teaches in par. 0005 the following: “The system/apparatus may comprise one or more processors and a memory coupled to the one or more processors. The memory may comprise instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform various ones of, and combinations of, the operations outlined above with regard to the method illustrative embodiment”):
receive, at a first network function, an authentication request from an application entity device that does not have a trust relationship with the first network function (i.e., …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “… request via trust relationship establishment mechanism 306, trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 may send the registration request to trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 as an authorized registration request.” …teaches in par. 0033 the following: “Upon trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 receiving the registration request from trust relationship establishment mechanism 306, trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 validates that the registration request is a valid registration request from an associated trust relationship establishment mechanism.”.),
the authentication request comprising a client credential assertion ("CCA") token of a second network function that has a trust relationship with the first network function and the application entity (i.e., …teaches in par. 0032 the following: “device 302 initiates a registration request to register the one or more applications with the one or more resources via a user interface (UI) to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306. Administrator 308 may include in the registration request one or more registration artifacts, such as a redirection uniform resource identifier (URI), a requested scope that identifies a role of the requesting one or more applications, a local state of device 302, an identifier representing the administrator 308, a public key or certificate for the one or more applications, any additional authentication data associated with the application or the user of the application, the one or more resources to be accessed, or the like”);
send, from the first network function to the application entity, an authentication result in response to verifying the CCA token, the authentication result comprising a CCA token of the first network function for establishing a security association between the application entity and a third network function (i.e., …teaches in par. 0033 the following: “response back to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 via trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 using the redirection URI provided by the trust relationship establishment mechanism 306.” …teaches in par. 0035 the following: “verifies that the redirection URI included with the access token request matches the redirection URI provided with the registration request. If trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 verifies that the redirection URI included with the access token request is the same as the redirection URI provided with the registration request, the trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 sends an access token back to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 via trust relationship establishment mechanism 316. … the access token may be used by resource-side system to grant application side devices and users authorized access to resource side resources”).
Chang does not expressly teach:
verify, at the first network function, that the CCA token is associated with the second network function.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Tran.
TRAN teaches in par. 0023 the following: “The second application 110, authenticates the invocation request from the first application 108 using authentication token 126. The second application 110 authorizes the request because token 126 contains the initial token 124 that represents the user, showing that the first application 108 is acting on behalf of that user.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to implement the teaching of Chang with the teachings of TRAN by having their system comprise an enhanced application security process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to configure application security, wherein the enhanced application security process helps to prevent unauthorized applications in the network and makes it easier to ensure network system security.
The system of Chang and TRAN does not expressly teach:
wherein the application entity is authenticated by the third network function in response to the third network function verifying that the CCA token of the first network function,
received by the third network function from the application entity, is associated with the first network function.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference CHOYI.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “wherein the application entity is authenticated by the third network function in response to the third network function verifying that the CCA token of the first network function”, teaches in par. 0074 the following: “The credentials may be used both by the Devices as well as the Del 604 in order to mutually authenticate the messages sent between the Devices and the Del 604.”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “received by the third network function from the application entity, is associated with the first network function”, teaches in par. 0047 the following: “The AF may have a trust relationship with the TEL The AF and the Dev_A may perform a security association by means of an authentication process (either directly or indirectly) by leveraging the trust relationships with the TEL An associated security context may be created that is shared between the Dev_A and the AF.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to implement the teaching of Chang and TRAN with the teachings of CHOYI by having their system comprise an enhanced security management process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to manage access control within a network, wherein the enhanced security management process helps to prevent unauthorized access within the network and makes it easier to ensure network access is controlled.
As to claim 13, the system of Chang, Tran and CHOYI as applied to claim 12 above teaches trust relationship, specifically Chang teaches a NE of claim 12, wherein the transceiver at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to receive, at the first network function, a first secret token in the authentication request and authenticating the application entity in response to the first secret token matching a first secret token that is previously-received from the second network function (i.e.,…teaches in par. 0035 the following: “access token request is validated, then trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 verifies that the redirection URI included with the access token request matches the redirection URI provided with the registration request.”).
As to claim 14, the system of Chang, Tran and CHOYI as applied to claim 13 above teaches trust relationship, specifically Chang teaches a NE of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to: receive, at the first network function, an application identifier for the application entity in the authentication request (i.e., …teaches in par. 0034 the following: “The access token request includes the redirection URI, verifiable authentication data, as well as the symmetric key. Trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 then submits the access token request using the authorization code previously received from trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 and sends the access token request to trust relationship establishment mechanism 316.”),
the application entity authenticated in response to the received application identifier matching an application identifier that is previously received from the second network function (i.e., …teaches in par. 0034 the following: “Further, by sending the access token request via trust relationship establishment mechanism 306, trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 may send the access token request to trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 as an authorized access token request. Those skilled in the art will recognize that trust relationship establishment mechanism 306 may use credential data sent to the trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 in a previous operation to create verifiable authentication data in the access token request.”);
and in response to authenticating the application entity (i.e., …teaches in par. 0035 the following: “Upon trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 receiving the access token request from trust relationship establishment mechanism 306, trust relationship establishment mechanism 316 validates that the access token request is an authorized registration request from an associated trust relationship establishment mechanism by verifying the authorization code.”),
send, from the first network function, the application identifier and an application entity identifier to the third network function for use in authenticating the application entity with the third network function (i.e., …teaches in par. 0035 the following: “The access token does not have an expiration time period and is signed with a token issuer public key. Those skilled in the art will recognize that a finite expiration time and a renewal token may be used to renew the access token in another embodiment.”).
As to claim 15, the system of Chang, Tran and CHOYI as applied to claim 12 above teaches trust relationship, specifically Chang teaches a NE of any of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to:
generate, at the first network function, a second secret token at the first network function, the second secret token sent to the third network function for use in authenticating the application entity with the third network function (i.e., …teaches in par. 0033 the following: “The symmetric key being a one-time use key that is generated per request and has an expiration time period.” …teaches in par. 0035 the following: “a renewal token may be used to renew the access token”.);
send, from the first network function, the second secret token to the application entity for use in authenticating the application entity with the third network function (i.e., …teaches in par. 0034 the following: “generates an access token request to be sent to trust relationship establishment mechanism 306. The access token request includes the redirection URI, verifiable authentication data, as well as the symmetric key”. …teaches in par. 0035 the following: “a renewal token may be used to renew the access token”.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Applicant’s recital of, “send, from the application entity, a management message to the second network function using the NAI of the second network function, the second management message comprising an application entity identifier, an application identifier, and the CCA token of the first network function;
and receive, from the second network function, a second secret token, an NAI of a third network function, and a CCA token associated with the second network function in response to the CCA token associated with the first network function being verified.”.
Dependent claim 4 is allowed by way of its dependency on dependent claim 3. Dependent claim 5 is allowed by way of its dependency on dependent claim 3. Dependent claim 6 is allowed by way of its dependency on dependent claim 5.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Applicant’s recital of, “send, from the application entity, a management message to the second network function using the NAI of the second network function, the management message comprising an application entity identifier, an application identifier, and the CCA token of the first network function; and receive, from the second network function, a second secret token, an NAI of a third network function, and a CCA token associated with the second network function in response to the CCA token associated with the first network function being verified”.
Dependent claim 19 is allowed by way of its dependency on dependent claim 18. Dependent claim 20 is allowed by way of its dependency on dependent claim 18.
Contact Information
/BRYAN F WRIGHT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2497